wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

n900 ciplak

This post has been edited by .:BreT:.: May 4 2010, 12:36 AM
post May 4 2010, 12:39 AM

423 posts

fortunately ours are MADE IN KOREA.. ahahah.. funny thing is my 5800 battery is made in korea but phone made by nokia.. N900 the battery is made in china but phone made in korea.. ahaha.. swap the battery on the spot for all day use right after purchase it..

PLEASE add me to the owner list tongue.gif
terry007
post May 4 2010, 12:43 AM

We’re Certified Independent Repair Provider (IRP)
1,688 posts

anyone have the problem on certain widget after upgrade to pr 1.2?i have problem with my data monitor widget... wont update the kb.. keeping stay at 0.0...
super_evil_alien
post May 4 2010, 01:01 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ May 4 2010, 12:32 AM)
n900 ciplak

It's running symbian-like os.
One look & current user will know it's a fake.

Another way to differentiate real & fake is just by trying to carry it.Most of the nokla phones are lighter compared to real N900

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: May 4 2010, 01:01 AM
one1002
post May 4 2010, 02:33 AM

617 posts

btw,how much does an Arista Nokia N900 price?should be the same with those with Zitron and Avaxx warranty?

This post has been edited by one1002: May 4 2010, 04:19 AM
Eiraku
post May 4 2010, 04:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ May 4 2010, 01:01 AM)
Another way to differentiate real & fake is just by trying to carry it.Most of the nokla phones are lighter compared to real N900
Almost ALL other phones are lighter compared to the real N900... It's like a brick, with a fat ass penguin inside lol... biggrin.gif

On a lighter note (lol), anybody know of any Easy Deb Financial apps that CAN run on Maemo through Chroot without having to run to LXDE? Tried GNUCash and opening 1 account pissed all over my screen (ok button was covered up), and there was no way that I found to set the fonts to something that wouldn't do this. I was also wondering if we can make all the programs run with smaller fonts, some sort of Easy Debian wide appearance settings app? Haven't found it yet, forgive me if I missed something.

Maybe we should keep a list of Easy Deb apps that can work well native.

Oh, and anybody managed to make Blue Maemo work with their Vista PCs?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 4 2010, 04:26 AM
kfthoo
post May 4 2010, 08:39 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(terry007 @ May 4 2010, 12:43 AM)
anyone have the problem on certain widget after upgrade to pr 1.2?i have problem with my data monitor widget... wont update the kb.. keeping stay at 0.0...
i have no problem with my data monitor widget...running fine. so far only stardict program has problem loading the plugin...
meLi
post May 4 2010, 08:49 AM

674 posts

It is true ?

Be careful! Unofficial #N900 v1.2 firmware on web causing damage to devices! Don't download! Follow @nokconv for official announcements

Just read from Nokia Conversations Twitter. Refer here http://twitter.com/nokconv

TQ
Andy214
post May 4 2010, 09:14 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(terry007 @ May 4 2010, 12:43 AM)
Yes, for the unofficial/leaked PR1.2:
The Conversations Inbox widget isn't working.
The Data Plan Monitor widget isn't working. (Reason: Go to Settings->Phone; you will notice there is now 2 types of data counter; so the old data plan monitor need an update, but since the PR1.2 isn't official, I doubt they will update it now).

QUOTE(meLi @ May 4 2010, 08:49 AM)
It is true ?
Just read from Nokia Conversations Twitter. Refer here http://twitter.com/nokconv

TQ
From this site, this guy claims his colleague bought a HK version with PR1.2
http://amanda_hoic.mysinablog.com/index.ph...ticleId=2283480

I check the version, it's exactly the same version as the "leaked" version... so... if there is problem, then HK version should have the same problem.

So far, personally, the PR1.2 leaked version is more stable, faster, smoother than PR1.1.1. That's all I can say.

Added on May 4, 2010, 9:22 am
QUOTE(porselinaheart @ May 3 2010, 10:14 PM)
pls be aware guys, not every version of the leaked pr 1.2. is original. there are some which are an early beta released from a month ago for testing, and they are really buggy ( not to say that the most recent leaked RC isn't buggy at all).

if you intend to try out the RC pls make sure that it is the latest file, and that you can do without your app downloader, and coversation app (sms) for a while. For others, i've heard that the n900 will be released in hong Kong on the 5th officially running pr 1.2, so i guess we should see an update by then, cheers!
No one knows is it's beta released a month ago or not, those people at maemo-talk does not have any accurate source information. Some of them does not want to flash and doesn't like others that flash it.
Ari Jaaksi should be using this version and his blog claims it's good.
Recently, someone posted his colleague bought HK version N900 and the version is exactly the same as leaked version. Not sure true or not?

But anyway, who knows right? Possibly some of the leaked firmware available for download have problem? Many people who flash it claims it stable and works better than PR1.1.1. The few that face problems, could be downloading the "problematic" version, who knows? Or maybe is because something they do or some apps they install. You know, people always jump to conclusion before finding out the problem, easy way out. To verify, they can re-flash again and don't install any app.
When I first flash, I encounter one problem in Desktop 4, where it won't go back to normal mode after go to Customization mode. Later I found out it was the OM Weather widget's fault. After remove the widget, everything works as normal, I re-add it back, it's working as normal too. Possibly due to its been there since PR1.1.1, and there're some changes in hildon desktop for PR1.2.

QUOTE(one1002 @ May 3 2010, 10:45 PM)
what i meant was FAKE NOKIA N900 now..got here in malaysia?the fake N900..? rclxub.gif  vmad.gif  shakehead.gif
Who knows, if there is China version, who knows someone might bring into Malaysia? Most important, is to know whether there is FAKE NOKIA N900, doesn't matter got in Malaysia or not. If there is, then there is possibility it will be available in many country. There're always scammers around.

QUOTE(jin90 @ May 3 2010, 10:53 PM)
Guys, is it possible to update the flash player to play such games like warstorm on the n900? haha doh.gif
Flash Player 10 is coming in future.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 4 2010, 09:24 AM
bizness
post May 4 2010, 11:12 AM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

My phone got line at the back of the phone where the design in finland wording at..cz sliding it too much??..anyway when i wipe it off with the cloth,it goes out..happen to you guys?
super_evil_alien
post May 4 2010, 11:46 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

@Andy

Has your scrolling & battery improved with PR 1.2?
I'm having some trouble with not-so-smooth scrolling sometimes with PR 1.2.Rare though.

Another unnoticed thing in PR 1.2 is Nokia have improved the internet detection/connection.Standard PAP keys used in universities are working perfectly now.So far no IP detection problem also.
.:BreT:.
post May 4 2010, 11:56 AM

wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

my n900 starting to have those tiny hair line scratches on the screen sad.gif

This post has been edited by .:BreT:.: May 4 2010, 12:06 PM
Ninja
post May 4 2010, 12:04 PM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Only problem I encountered using PR1.2 leaked update, was web browser crashed. But only once. Other than that, very smooth menu operation eventhough not overclock. Love the new browsing speed.
jloi
post May 4 2010, 12:10 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

i guess i shall wait the official update of PR1.2 smile.gif..some1 said it will b available tmrw rite?
super_evil_alien
post May 4 2010, 12:29 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ May 4 2010, 12:04 PM)
Only problem I encountered using PR1.2 leaked update, was web browser crashed. But only once. Other than that, very smooth menu operation eventhough not overclock. Love the new browsing speed.
So far mine haven't crashed.
But it refused to change to potrait mode few times.

QUOTE(jloi @ May 4 2010, 12:10 PM)
i guess i shall wait the official update of PR1.2 smile.gif..some1 said it will b available tmrw rite?
Tomorrow is the N900 official launching in HK.Dunno whether there will be official launching of PR 1.2 also.
Andy214
post May 4 2010, 12:31 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ May 4 2010, 11:46 AM)
@Andy

Has your scrolling & battery improved with PR 1.2?
I'm having some trouble with not-so-smooth scrolling sometimes with PR 1.2.Rare though.

Another unnoticed thing in PR 1.2 is Nokia have improved the internet detection/connection.Standard PAP keys used in universities are working perfectly now.So far no IP detection problem also.
Battery seems better, not sure.

Scrolling, seems in menu, kinetic scrolling feature is not available???

Connection; Yes, PR1.1.1 have some problem, which you can manually fix through editing some file.
So, PR1.2 should have fixed it.

So far, I find this leaked PR1.2 more stable and have better performance, but not up to my expectation (especially since they delay for soooo sooooo long). Probably the official release, there should have more changes.

Facebook Chat account is now integrated, but still missing MSN/LIVE, Yahoo, etc.
My previous Facebook Chat using Jabber account is not compatible (altough using same id or chat account id), so have to merge everything again, headache.

Disappointed that there's still no contacts grouping, individual/group ringtone assign,... no extra profiles (still the same 2 profile) and the profile is very/extremely basic.

Still no MMS integrated.

Still in Flash 9.

No SMS/Conversations storing in folders (e.g. Forwarded grettings, jokes, etc, previously I can keep in specific folder to re-use again during festive seasons, etc to blast to my friends, now cannot do anymore).

Maps is better, but still lacks saving of location, how can?

QUOTE(Ninja @ May 4 2010, 12:04 PM)
Web Browser crash is common even in old firmware.

QUOTE(jloi @ May 4 2010, 12:10 PM)
I don't know, I've already give up waiting and listening to all those "guessing" of when official will be available. I took the risk to try out the leaked version as the way I see it, I've been living with some annoying bugs in PR1.1.1, and Nokia have delayed it for so long! At least they should release some minor updates to fix some of the bugs first. If they can't handle major updates, then don't... I kind feel they emphasize more on MeeGo, previously, they mentioned they will release the 1st test of MeeGo on certain date (can't remember) and they really release it on the date promised. But PR1.2, there's not a single news, it was known since late February, there's even videos in YouTube, later we get updates of PR1.1.1 which is to prepare for PR1.2,... and later, the SDK... it's been a month since the SDK release?
5800 already got one major update, and recently, the X6? What about N900? Everyone was left in the dark. Probably Nokia themselves isn't confident of the release date.

HK already get PR1.2, as shown in someone's blog, which has the SAME firmware version with the leaked version. Not sure if the HK version is real, if it's real, then what is Nokia doing?

Anyway, whatever it is, at least now I don't have to bother and wait. Nokia also never bother to inform or announce to anybody the possible release date, many people in maemo-community is checking update everyday like an idiot, some even up to the extend few times a day. At least if Nokia announced officially a date, people don't have to fuss, worry, stressed, etc and nobody needs to flood the download server everyday to check for updates.

Cannibal
post May 4 2010, 01:25 PM

287 posts

i want built in chinese input cry.gif
jloi
post May 4 2010, 01:32 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 4 2010, 12:31 PM)

I don't know, I've already give up waiting and listening to all those "guessing" of when official will be available. I took the risk to try out the leaked version as the way I see it, I've been living with some annoying bugs in PR1.1.1, and Nokia have delayed it for so long! At least they should release some minor updates to fix some of the bugs first. If they can't handle major updates, then don't... I kind feel they emphasize more on MeeGo, previously, they mentioned they will release the 1st test of MeeGo on certain date (can't remember) and they really release it on the date promised. But PR1.2, there's not a single news, it was known since late February, there's even videos in YouTube, later we get updates of PR1.1.1 which is to prepare for PR1.2,... and later, the SDK... it's been a month since the SDK release?
5800 already got one major update, and recently, the X6? What about N900? Everyone was left in the dark. Probably Nokia themselves isn't confident of the release date.

HK already get PR1.2, as shown in someone's blog, which has the SAME firmware version with the leaked version. Not sure if the HK version is real, if it's real, then what is Nokia doing?

Anyway, whatever it is, at least now I don't have to bother and wait. Nokia also never bother to inform or announce to anybody the possible release date, many people in maemo-community is checking update everyday like an idiot, some even up to the extend few times a day. At least if Nokia announced officially a date, people don't have to fuss, worry, stressed, etc and nobody needs to flood the download server everyday to check for updates.
chill bro smile.gif
btw is ovi map 3 is confirm in nokia n900? it would b awesome rclxm9.gif
i have been jealous on my dad 5800 tat have ovi map3 so much..cant wait it release to N900 rclxms.gif
heeman
post May 4 2010, 02:12 PM

Hi! Newbie reporting in.
Got mine last evening. Still trying to figure out many of its applications and functions smile.gif
BTW, I found that USB cable caharging is extremely slow or not working at all. Anyone experienced this?
Cannibal
post May 4 2010, 02:21 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(heeman @ May 4 2010, 02:12 PM)
Hi! Newbie reporting in.
Got mine last evening. Still trying to figure out many of its applications and functions smile.gif
BTW, I found that USB cable caharging is extremely slow or not working at all. Anyone experienced this?
my 3 years old laptop suffer low usb power. i cannot manage to charge while plug in my external harddisk to the usb port next to it.

yes, usb charging is slow. use 3pin charger u can have ur phone fully charge in 1 hour

156 Pages « < 150 151 152 153 154 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:41 PM