TScherroy
post Nov 2 2010, 11:16 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 2 2010, 11:07 AM)
But this is a characteristic that is being observed everywhere, in Sgp REITs too, where the price remains behind the NAV most of the time. This trait is very much unlike other normal listed companies.
We need to know why, as we are just aftermath of greatest financial crisis, that cause a lot of oversea reit meltdown, so skeptic on reit is still everywhere.

While currently, economy is seems to be stalling, and people only willing to buy reit at discount rate. Nobody want to pay a premium on them as some investors may still scare about the market.

If flip back prior before 2008 crisis, reit was trading at premium mostly because the properties market looks rosy.

It is about investors risk appetite and optimistic about properties and particular reit sector.

Hansel
post Nov 2 2010, 12:02 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 2 2010, 12:16 PM)
We need to know why, as we are just aftermath of greatest financial crisis, that cause a lot of oversea reit meltdown, so skeptic on reit is still everywhere.

While currently, economy is seems to be stalling, and people only willing to buy reit at discount rate. Nobody want to pay a premium on them as some investors may still scare about the market.

If flip back prior before 2008 crisis, reit was trading at premium mostly because the properties market looks rosy.

It is about investors risk appetite and optimistic about properties and particular reit sector.
Cherroy, thank you. Well, on my part, I see many REITs, more so in the SG market, traded below their NAVs even before the crisis. Save or one or two, which traded above NAV, most are below.

Can't comment much about the local market though, have not followed that closely.

TScherroy
post Nov 2 2010, 01:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 2 2010, 12:02 PM)
Cherroy, thank you. Well, on my part, I see many REITs, more so in the SG market, traded below their NAVs even before the crisis. Save or one or two, which traded above NAV, most are below.

Can't comment much about the local market though, have not followed that closely.
You need to look on yield issue to compare with as well.

For eg.
A reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU only 5 cents. Little people want to buy this reit above the NAV, as yield is not attractive at all if above NAV level.

B reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU is 10 cents, most investors willing to pay above the NAV to get this reit, and yield is attractive.

Do remember, NAV is adjusted upwards due to property revaluation, but yield/rental wise will remain the same until there is renewal of lease with upwards revision on the rental rate.

Reit price moves more towards on yield issue as compared with NAV.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 2 2010, 01:51 PM
aeronic
post Nov 2 2010, 02:05 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

it has been while since i logged in
how are you guys my REITS friends doing?

Added on November 2, 2010, 2:06 pmi am still holding Capitamall, areit and sunreits

This post has been edited by aeronic: Nov 2 2010, 02:06 PM
Hansel
post Nov 2 2010, 02:45 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 2 2010, 02:50 PM)
You need to look on yield issue to compare with as well.

For eg.
A reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU only 5 cents. Little people want to buy this reit above the NAV, as yield is not attractive at all if above NAV level.

Ans : Agreed ! I do the same too.

B reit with NAV 1.00, but DPU is 10 cents, most investors willing to pay above the NAV to get this reit, and yield is attractive.

Ans : Agreed ! I do the same too.

Do remember, NAV is adjusted upwards due to property revaluation, but yield/rental wise will remain the same until there is renewal of lease with upwards revision on the rental rate.

Ans : Agreed on the whole, but there is still another way whereby a REIT can collect more rental, ie if the REIT makes an acquisition which is yield-accretive, and the interest paid (if the REIT chooses to use debt to fund the acquisition) is less than the rental collected. Then, rental-wise, it will go up.

Reit price moves more towards on yield issue as compared with NAV.

Ans : Well, I look at the NAV too for safety factor.

Thank you, Cherroy, my Ans as above.
asambuffett
post Nov 2 2010, 05:41 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Nov 1 2010, 09:02 PM)
who are "they"? many reits still trading below NAV.
they are any REITS.

they dun have to issue new shares to buy new properties, they can make term loans etc.

lets assume Qcapita market price rm1.03 and NAV is rm1.21. they want to buy a new property at rm50m.

so ... they can buy the property using loan of rm50m.

in the balance sheet, assets will be plus ~ rm50m and liability will also be plus ~ 50m too. This will results in NAV still maintain at same price @ rm1.21.

This post has been edited by asambuffett: Nov 2 2010, 05:45 PM
groggy
post Nov 2 2010, 06:49 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ Nov 2 2010, 05:41 PM)
they are any REITS.

they dun have to issue new shares to buy new properties, they can make term loans etc.

lets assume Qcapita market price rm1.03 and NAV is rm1.21. they want to buy a new property at rm50m.

in the balance sheet, assets will be plus ~ rm50m and liability will also be plus ~ 50m too. This will results in NAV still maintain at same price @ rm1.21.
They can just take on more liability to buy assets but they usually dun do 100% debt financing. Otherwise, their gearing will sky rocket. They will do mixture debt and equity financing.
Hansel
post Nov 2 2010, 11:14 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ Nov 2 2010, 06:41 PM)
they are any REITS.

Yes, the above would be true until an evaluation exercise comes along. The the NAV will have a chance to either drop or increase, and hence, from your eg, will affect the gearing too.

Hansel
post Nov 2 2010, 11:19 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Nov 2 2010, 07:49 PM)
They can just take on more liability to buy assets but they usually dun do 100% debt financing. Otherwise, their gearing will sky rocket. They will do mixture debt and equity financing.
Debt Financing - affects gearing ratio.

Equity Financing - in the longer term, may affect NAV.
smartly
post Nov 3 2010, 10:43 AM

2,148 posts

Hektar expect to declare DPU tomorrow. smile.gif
AMFIRST's DPU likely to be next week. smile.gif
tomatotomatomy
post Nov 3 2010, 10:47 AM

242 posts

I bought Amfirst, SunReit and Qcap within these 2weeks.. Anxious for my virgin dividend.. wub.gif
veilside2010
post Nov 3 2010, 11:27 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 3 2010, 10:47 AM)
I bought Amfirst, SunReit and Qcap within these 2weeks.. Anxious for my virgin dividend.. wub.gif
I bought SUNREIT too...but this counter seem like wont move... and 1 year only give 7%..... whistling.gif
TScherroy
post Nov 3 2010, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

The one I eager to know is Stareit, aka their Q report without Starhill & Lot 10, and new properties injection.

I want to buy more. tongue.gif
whizzer
post Nov 3 2010, 11:58 AM

Money DOES grow on trees !!
943 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 3 2010, 11:29 AM)
The one I eager to know is Stareit, aka their Q report without Starhill & Lot 10, and new properties injection.

I want to buy more.  tongue.gif
We follow taikor tongue.gif
yok70
post Nov 3 2010, 12:04 PM

12,698 posts

me too! wait mid nov... biggrin.gif

tomatotomatomy
post Nov 3 2010, 12:06 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Nov 3 2010, 11:27 AM)
I bought SUNREIT too...but this counter seem like wont move... and 1 year only give 7%..... whistling.gif
I have confidence in Sunway. flex.gif

QUOTE(whizzer @ Nov 3 2010, 11:58 AM)
We follow taikor  tongue.gif
follow follow tongue.gif
smartly
post Nov 3 2010, 12:14 PM

2,148 posts

either do i. tongue.gif

AMFIRST seems to have very high vol today.
TScherroy
post Nov 3 2010, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

Added on November 3, 2010, 3:44 pm
QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Nov 3 2010, 12:06 PM)
follow follow  tongue.gif
This is titanic, so no follow follow one.
Only you jump, I jump. tongue.gif

Then sink.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 3 2010, 03:45 PM
veilside2010
post Nov 3 2010, 04:37 PM

411 posts

Buy SUNREIT !! Sure wont regret !! biggrin.gif
The most largest asset in malysia !! I think nx year sure RM1.30 !! smile.gif
whizzer
post Nov 3 2010, 04:46 PM

Money DOES grow on trees !!
943 posts

QUOTE(veilside2010 @ Nov 3 2010, 04:37 PM)
Buy SUNREIT !! Sure wont regret !! biggrin.gif
The most largest asset in malysia !! I think nx year sure RM1.30 !! smile.gif
This one more Titanical than StarReit laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:14 AM