Gaining Weight, 50kg 165cm (very thin)

TSsnowberry
post Mar 28 2010, 10:40 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 28 2010, 10:01 PM)
2L of milk. is 20 of 100ml am i rite? if yes.

3g per 100ml
3x20 = 60g protein per day.

if whey 2.5kg can last you a month? if yes.

per serve is what? 30g protein?
then you need to take twice a day to catchup with milk

do the same with cals n fat. and see how. compare it this way is better.
WHEY PROTEIN
RM150 for 3000g packaging protein powder

1 scoop is 20g powder which contains 16g protein

3000g/20g = 150 scoops of 16g protein.

which means RM150/150 scoops = RM1 for 16g of protein.

MILK
100ml = 3.3g protein

2 liters for RM12 lets say.

500ml = 16.5g protein

RM12/4 = RM3

every 500ml cost(16.5g protein) = RM3

which means milk is more expensive than the whey from 4rings?

correct me if im wrong.

SticH
post Mar 28 2010, 10:45 PM

964 posts

I think milk having other nutrients as well, you cant compare them like this.
TSsnowberry
post Mar 28 2010, 11:24 PM

504 posts

must a person really do strength training and keep proper diet to gain weight and muscle?

some ppl is suggesting to gain weight to the targeted weight only start working out.

can some 1 explain it to me?
Majinity
post Mar 28 2010, 11:50 PM

792 posts

hahaha guess protein on milk is less than whey lol. its like darklight says, real meal > supplements all the way
Reubs
post Mar 29 2010, 12:00 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 28 2010, 11:50 PM)
hahaha guess protein on milk is less than whey lol. its like darklight says, real meal > supplements all the way
But how much calories can you get from whey compared to milk.
TSsnowberry
post Mar 29 2010, 12:09 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Mar 28 2010, 11:50 PM)
QUOTE(Reubs @ Mar 29 2010, 12:00 AM)
But how much calories can you get from whey compared to milk.
ok. now i get what u guys mean.

but do i have to gain weight 1st before hitting the gym? or just keep with proper diet above at the same time hitting the gym?

jamis
post Mar 29 2010, 10:12 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

NO u dont need to gain weight first b4 starting to train. Train and gain muscle weight tats wat u need.

Why milk only, where are the good names of beef, chicken, pork and fish? If u r staying by ur own, ur monthly expenses for food alone can simple spike to 700 -800 so 300+ is just a tiny amount for food. smile.gif
TSsnowberry
post Mar 29 2010, 10:22 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Mar 29 2010, 10:12 AM)
NO u dont need to gain weight first b4 starting to train. Train and gain muscle weight tats wat u need.
Why milk only, where are the good names of beef, chicken, pork and fish? If u r staying by ur own, ur monthly expenses for food alone can simple spike to 700 -800 so 300+ is just a tiny amount for food. smile.gif
oh..the milk is just for additional calorie..coz i always dun get the calorie i need therefore with milk easier to hit the calorie and protein. (2200 calorie and 110 protein)

and yea im gona take chicken beef and pork and maybe can tuna.

btw im still struggling to have a meal plan tat can easily hit 2200 calorie any suggestion?
arekey
post Mar 29 2010, 11:31 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Mar 29 2010, 11:22 AM)
oh..the milk is just for additional calorie..coz i always dun get the calorie i need therefore with milk easier to hit the calorie and protein. (2200 calorie and 110 protein)

btw im still struggling to have a meal plan tat can easily hit 2200 calorie any suggestion?
Oat & Rice

JonYeap
post Mar 29 2010, 01:39 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

rice is one of the highest carbs, u can gain lots of calories from there i assume. rice are indeed ur plan to go with.
jamis
post Mar 29 2010, 05:14 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Mar 29 2010, 10:22 AM)

Depends, if u r taking 180g protein and 200g - 400g carbs then u can try to fill up those calories gap with fat (seeds, nuts and etc). 1g of fat = 9kcalss, 1g of protein or carbs = 4 kcals. Have fun biggrin.gif

TSsnowberry
post Apr 1 2010, 10:17 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Mar 29 2010, 05:14 PM)
Depends, if u r taking 180g protein and 200g - 400g carbs then u can try to fill up those calories gap with fat (seeds, nuts and etc). 1g of fat = 9kcalss, 1g of protein or carbs = 4 kcals. Have fun biggrin.gif
on the label behind a food package...over there written 100g example 300kcals

did they counted the 1g of fat = 9 kcalss and proteins?
BelowAverage
post Apr 2 2010, 12:10 AM

1,274 posts

me 55kg at 183cm.
lagi worst than u kao kao~
cheezzzz
post Apr 2 2010, 11:32 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Mar 25 2010, 10:28 PM)
Hey man how are you?

my 5x5? going well. another 17 kg to gain!

Well i'm quite free now that's why I have the time to prepare my own meals. I'll be starting my classes in 2 weeks. So probably I'll have to eat out for lunch on the days where I have classes. But dinner I can prepare at home. Snacks like nuts you can always bring along. Milk? you can get that anywhere.
wow time really flies man. ur going for 80kg BW? I bet your lifts are crazy now bro.. looking forward to your great testimonies! biggrin.gif

Added on April 3, 2010, 1:25 pm
QUOTE(snowberry @ Mar 29 2010, 10:22 AM)

bro thats if you take 4L of milk a day which is too much if you jump straight, but hey if your body can take thats np.

eat more meals, your main breakfast lunch dinner eat more. have milk for snack, with banana,nuts,sandwiches. trust me I thought 2600kcals for my diet was a lot, until I input my calories into fitday... gosh 2600 is really nothing. people on GOMAD eat the same amount of food + their 4L milk, which gives 4000-5000kcals now that is a start to something.

i know you're studying too, im sure ur uni has sandwiches. chicken rice is easy calories, ask for breast meat and remember to eat your fruits and vege! I calculated if without milk I had to take 6-7 plates of chicken rice to reach my calorie and protein intake haha!

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 3 2010, 01:25 PM
TSsnowberry
post Apr 3 2010, 08:08 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Apr 2 2010, 11:32 PM)
wow time really flies man. ur going for 80kg BW? I bet your lifts are crazy now bro.. looking forward to your great testimonies! biggrin.gif

Added on April 3, 2010, 1:25 pm
bro thats if you take 4L of milk a day which is too much if you jump straight, but hey if your body can take thats np.

eat more meals, your main breakfast lunch dinner eat more. have milk for snack, with banana,nuts,sandwiches. trust me I thought 2600kcals for my diet was a lot, until I input my calories into fitday... gosh 2600 is really nothing. people on GOMAD eat the same amount of food + their 4L milk, which gives 4000-5000kcals now that is a start to something.

i know you're studying too, im sure ur uni has sandwiches. chicken rice is easy calories, ask for breast meat and remember to eat your fruits and vege! I calculated if without milk I had to take 6-7 plates of chicken rice to reach my calorie and protein intake haha!
those ppl that take 4L of milk per day is so much...and costly ._.

guess ill have to eat more chicken breast, btw oats also give quite a lot calorie right? and how come i always see ppl take banana and not other fruit ar?

1 more thing to ask...if intake more calorie to gain weight, but when u exercise/work out it burns the calorie, then how is it to gain weight?
cheezzzz
post Apr 3 2010, 10:16 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Apr 3 2010, 08:08 PM)
those ppl that take 4L of milk per day is so much...and costly ._.

guess ill have to eat more chicken breast, btw oats also give quite a lot calorie right? and how come i always see ppl take banana and not other fruit ar?

1 more thing to ask...if intake more calorie to gain weight, but when u exercise/work out it burns the calorie, then how is it to gain weight?
i agree bro. its not cheap. if you can get more chicken breast or beef or any form of lean meat, go for it.

banana is high in potassium and gives energy.oats yes, its a really good snack too! If you're one of those rare few chosen ones who love oats.. congrats hahaha.

good question bro.. i dont know the true answer, but what I believe is that if we eat accordingly to the amount of calories you need to gain weight , we are already eating extra calories than what is needed to maintain our weight, anymore means we will gain weight. workout burns calories but its nearly impossible to burn away all the calories from your daily diet unless you eat a peanut a meal.

without training u will gain weight oso if u keep that diet, but it wont be musclela.
jamis
post Apr 3 2010, 10:36 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Apr 1 2010, 10:17 PM)
on the label behind a food package...over there written 100g example 300kcals

did they counted the 1g of fat = 9 kcalss and proteins?
Yes, those are already been included. smile.gif
TSsnowberry
post Apr 15 2010, 03:01 PM

504 posts

am i able to do squats by holding 2 dumbbell left and right hand beside my waist and lap, then do the squats?

same thing to bench press by using dumbbell?

coz the gym i go to doesnt have a barbell.

no place to do inverted rows, what can i substitute with?

or is there a other way to do inverted row?

This post has been edited by snowberry: Apr 15 2010, 03:03 PM
cheezzzz
post Apr 15 2010, 04:01 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Apr 15 2010, 03:01 PM)
am i able to do squats by holding 2 dumbbell left and right hand beside my waist and lap, then do the squats?

same thing to bench press by using dumbbell?

coz the gym i go to doesnt have a barbell.

no place to do inverted rows, what can i substitute with?

or is there a other way to do inverted row?
hmm. if no barbell, use the leg press machine, sled machine thing for squats. i personally don like dumbbell squats. use smith machine, but form for squatting on that is a bit diff as opposed to using barbell.

inverted rows u can do on a smith machine wat. thats wat i usually do.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xhcHKlsxIY
that vid shows how to do inverted row if u cant even do one, with smith machine u can adjust the difficulty of the row.

there are a lot of substitutes.
http://www.exrx.net/Lists/ExList/BackWt.html

inverted row is written as supine row on that site, top right corner.
choose an exercise in dark blue n bold.
its actually a horizontal row, look for a horizontal row machine. i.e
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/BackGe...BSeatedRow.html

honestly if ur doing stronglifts, i would recommend joining a gym that has at least a barbell and a power rack. otherwise.. do a diff programme. 3 day split, chest/bi, back/tri, shoulders/traps/legs

google is your friend

TSsnowberry
post Apr 28 2010, 04:57 PM

504 posts

hey guys, since i am not able to attend a gym with barbell, i will have to change to another routine.

am i able to do chest/tri work out 3 times a week?

which means Monday - chest/tri, Wednesday - chest/tri, Friday - chest/tri

on monday i did

chest/bi
bench press
incline bench press
bench fly
the machine u use to push out for chest work out(sry duno what is it called).

on the other day i do not know what can i do.
back/tri

shoulders/traps/legs

theres dumbbells, the pull up machine where u can do crossovers, the machine u use to push out for chest work out.
what routine can i do for the other back/tri, shoulders/traps/legs, should i add dumbbell squat on each of the work out day?

This post has been edited by snowberry: Apr 28 2010, 04:59 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0205sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:52 AM