89 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Bottom

The Official HDPro Media Player Owner's Thread, All about the HDPro Media Player

ckboon
post May 31 2011, 01:40 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ May 31 2011, 01:04 PM)
today will send out new set let u test..

*need disconnect hdd first before update, safe.
hmm... in what case it's safe? as the corrupted thing occur after i upgraded/downgraded the firmware, make a copy, watch it, after 2 weeks only the file get corrupted.

** the file is copied after the firmware upgrade/downgrade, not before le...

and i would like to know is there a way to properly shut down the unit or i can just power off the switch while watching a movies halfway??

from what i understand it's running on linux backbone, and linux itself got a shutdown command. that's why i manage to see the message " shutting down, please wait!" on the screen once in a while..
yangxi
post May 31 2011, 01:51 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

suggest back to main menu (stay few second)... turn off from front panel switch.

u copy file from network ?

ckboon
post May 31 2011, 02:48 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ May 31 2011, 01:51 PM)
suggest back to main menu (stay few second)...  turn off from front panel switch.

u copy file from network ?
yes through network.

there's another problem when i return main menu when pressing the "menu" from the remote control as when i am in the previous mode, i press "menu" the sound of the preview movies will still continue to play.

Added on May 31, 2011, 2:56 pmi will transferred all downloaded TVB from my PC to HDpro each and everyday and then watch it from HDpro. 100% working after it had been transfer and watched on the spot. Weird thing is that suddenly some of the files will get corrupted by itself. no firmware upgrade/downgrade after the files had been copied over.

This post has been edited by ckboon: May 31 2011, 05:13 PM
birain
post Jun 1 2011, 02:31 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

i have a suggestion for those who have corrupted file while transferring into your media player. goto this website and download rapidcrc. run rapidcrc against your good files and put the crc into your filenames. rerun rapidcrc when you finish transferring the files over to the media player to make sure corrupted files are minimized. hope you guys can pinpoint the problem. smile.gif
ckboon
post Jun 1 2011, 09:52 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ May 31 2011, 01:36 PM)
filecopy currupt issue still investigate .  suggest u reformat again in march version. try ~
u meant format my HDD?? last time did tried on the march ver (without format) and this is time the corrupted file thing come in where almost all the files i copied cannot be play fully... meaning last 5mins it will stop. after i revert back to dec 2010 ver, the problem seem to be fix till recently.

i don't think i can format my HDD at the moment, it's almost full of 500G movies and i don't any extra HDD to copy all the movies le....
ckboon
post Jun 1 2011, 09:58 AM

458 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Jun 1 2011, 02:31 AM)
i have a suggestion for those who have corrupted file while transferring into your media player. goto this website and download rapidcrc. run rapidcrc against your good files and put the crc into your filenames. rerun rapidcrc when you finish transferring the files over to the media player to make sure corrupted files are minimized. hope you guys can pinpoint the problem. smile.gif
bro,
please understand the problem, rapidcrc or MD5 is good to compare files, but not for movies... imaging comparing a 15G files, it take forever and it will make my PC hang! and the problem i am facing is that file copy is in good condition originally as i can watch it from start to end, then after a few weeks/months it become corrupt, hence it doesn't make sense as well to run rapidcrc each and everytime!

** file copy from PC to HDPro original file size 600M, suddenly it 2weeks it become 0M. I dont think rapidcrc will help.

burdiespooler
post Jun 2 2011, 05:07 PM

15 posts

All my rmvb/mkv were stored in external hdd and i never use network transfer to internal hdd as
(i) slow transfer rate vmad.gif
(ii) slow my download as all link to modem router, network transfer really kill speed shakehead.gif
(iii) would not encounter corrupted file problem thumbup.gif
(iv) never use BT to download, consider slow as compare to DL
(v) internal hdd increase heat
(vi) portable and can share with others

The Best option still
(i) copy to your external hdd via PC usb port, faster if you have usb 3.0 or esata (am using it)
(ii) streaming from network, ever thinking to setup NAS but costly sweat.gif
(iii) burn your rmvb to DVD and play via external dvdrom, your file will never get corrupted rclxms.gif

My only problem now is rmvb from hliang with ads that 'reboot' my hd pro mini.
zhen^wei
post Jun 2 2011, 05:39 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(xtended @ May 31 2011, 01:31 PM)
Hdpro mini +
current: just updated to may 2011 firmware
*Datage logo/words on right top of the screen in these firmware

1.) work already
2.) owh, tq..

I noticed new issues, filecopy corrupted, copied .mp3 file to new destination in same hardisk,
  new copied file .mp3 corrupted sized only 64 kb..
curi use other brand firmware pula.
Yangxi brand no have own firmware one meh laugh.gif
yangxi
post Jun 2 2011, 05:56 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

not curi. I know insider ^^. can't tell much.
ckboon
post Jun 2 2011, 06:40 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(burdiespooler @ Jun 2 2011, 05:07 PM)
All my rmvb/mkv were stored in external hdd and i never use network transfer to internal hdd as
(i) slow transfer rate  vmad.gif
(ii) slow my download as all link to modem router, network transfer really kill speed shakehead.gif
(iii) would not encounter corrupted file problem thumbup.gif
(iv) never use BT to download, consider slow as compare to DL
(v) internal hdd increase heat
(vi) portable and can share with others

The Best option still
(i) copy to your external hdd via PC usb port, faster if you have usb 3.0 or esata (am using it)
(ii) streaming from network, ever thinking to setup NAS but costly sweat.gif
(iii) burn your rmvb to DVD and play via external dvdrom, your file will never get corrupted rclxms.gif

My only problem now is rmvb from hliang with ads that 'reboot' my hd pro mini.
there's a reason behind every story.
why i bought hdpro+ instead of hdpro mini or others? coz i saw that it can store 3.5" HDD instead of 2.5" inside. 3.5" is much better than 2.5" and price is cheaper compare to the later.

in a normal networking environment, transferring a file through LAN is the fastest compared to USB2 or USB3. throughput for LAN is 80MBPS, USB3 is 60MBPS and USB2 is 30MBPS, sure we can't compared with a stripped raid e-sata which can easily shoot up to 160MBPS. well, i didn't know that hdpro+ LAN suck till yangxi called me up and tell me.

definately i won't know my files will get corrupted till i purchased and use hdpro+, well can i say that it's too late? NO ONE WILL EVEN WANT TO GET A THING THAT WILL CORRUPT THEIR OWN DATA!

i am using BT to download all my movies which can easily reach download and upload of 5M each, hence i don't see any slowness of downloading using BT for me, yes i know streamyx do capping on BT and P2P and direct DL is the best solution, but they haven't apply it on UNIFI. smile.gif

i don't open hdpro+ 24/7, and the duration on use is less than my TV and my PC, and every hardware sure will dissipate heat! and yes i do burn almost all of my movies to DVD if allowed, but now i got a 10G+ mkv which can't be fitted into a DVD!

and my conclusion, i will use an external HD instead of internal HD if i know that all this problem will arise at the first, and i am not GOD and i can't predict what will happen! if so, i won't get HDpro+ but will get hdpro mini since it's more compact compare to HDpro+

no hard feeling, just express my view of point.
yangxi
post Jun 2 2011, 09:03 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

All Realtek player LAN write speed quite slow. average 1-2mb/s.

corrupt file, give me time check first... you told me only RMVB file got problem?

Hope u can get another hdd test.

Sorry for any inconvenience.

PoorMan
post Jun 2 2011, 09:04 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

I have always just play from network. Even massive mkv files. All my movies BT'd on PC hard disk. No copying here and there.

No problems so far. I'm using the old HDPro. LAN is wired and not wireless.
ckboon
post Jun 2 2011, 09:31 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Jun 2 2011, 09:03 PM)
All Realtek player LAN write speed quite slow. average 1-2mb/s.

corrupt file, give me time check first...    you told me only RMVB file got problem?

Hope u can get another hdd test.
Sorry for any inconvenience.
i think i needa change my statement already. Just now I scan my HDD using my laptop and then make a quick browse, and turn out not only RMVB is 0kb, now other files also effected, mkv, avi and etc....

it takes me almost 4hrs to copy all my movies to my laptop... will format the HDD later, tired now as i am troubleshooting my wife's PC and formatting at the same times.

i got 2 more HDD which is WD Caviar SE, 250G and 300G

are those HDD fit to use on HDpro+?

yangxi
post Jun 2 2011, 10:00 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

yap.. try test this. use DEC version to reformat this.
ckboon
post Jun 2 2011, 10:13 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Jun 2 2011, 10:00 PM)
yap.. try test this.  use DEC version to reformat this.
bro,

just to confirm, Dec ver cannot copy DVD to HDD? only march ver can?

do i have to reflash the HDpro with Dec firmware?
yangxi
post Jun 2 2011, 10:22 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

i think cannot, few people use this feature.

your 1st unit, can reflash back DEC version. or use can use 2nd unit test.

This post has been edited by yangxi: Jun 2 2011, 10:24 PM
ckboon
post Jun 2 2011, 10:32 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Jun 2 2011, 10:22 PM)
i think cannot,  few people use this feature.

your 1st unit, can reflash back DEC version.  or use can use 2nd unit test.
so i think is the march ver because i remember i did copy DVD to HDD last time, but forgot which version, either Dec or Mar.

My unit is already on DEC ver when the file corrupt happen. What i meant is that do i needa reflash it? i scare the stock DEC got problem since it already corrupted so many files of mine sad.gif

jhleo1
post Jun 2 2011, 11:01 PM

4,381 posts

I had updated to May 2011 firmware which the DIY version. Since 2011 firmwares, I not transfer BIG sizes of files thru networking. Just now I transferred one RMVB around 300MB, my PC hang immediately. I found out also my HDPRO+ hang as well even reboot both PC & Player. I restore all versions of firmwares in 2011 but no luck. Well it back to NORMAL after restore back to OFFICIALLY YANGXI DEC 2010 firmware. So Yangxi, please check those DIY firmware AGAIN. Thanks.
burdiespooler
post Jun 2 2011, 11:28 PM

15 posts

@ckboon
mbps not equal to mb/s
100mbps fast ethernet max speed is 12.5 mb/s (in theory) average speed is 6 mb/s as you will never able to fully utilize all 100 mbps.
USB 2.0 average transfer speed for external hdd is 20-25 mb/s in win 7 environment. If you use winxp it will drop but can use apps like teracopy to max the transfer speed (which only good for big size files).
So, USB 2.0 is definitely faster than 100mbps fast ethernet. Considering Realtek player write speed is only 1-2 mb/s, it will not beat usb 2.0 even you running gigabit.
As for DVD, i suggested you to burn rmvb files not your 10gb mkv file. For most full HD / HD mkv, DVD DL is enough.
What i did is burn all rmvb to dvd, but none of mkv to DVD DL as comparing cost per gb, external hdd is a lot cheaper than DVD DL.
Your Unifi can reach 5 mb/s? wow that is super fast and it is almost 40mbps. My area don't have unifi, still using streamyx.
Guys, which unifi package can reach 5 mb/s? I want to sign up when it is available in my area. (Hopefully it is not 5mbps as actual max speed is only 625kb/s)

This post has been edited by burdiespooler: Jun 2 2011, 11:32 PM
yangxi
post Jun 2 2011, 11:45 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Jun 2 2011, 11:01 PM)
I had updated to May 2011 firmware which the DIY version. Since 2011 firmwares, I not transfer BIG sizes of files thru networking. Just now I transferred one RMVB around 300MB, my PC hang immediately. I found out also my HDPRO+ hang as well even reboot both PC & Player. I restore all versions of firmwares in 2011 but no luck. Well it back to NORMAL after restore back to OFFICIALLY YANGXI DEC 2010 firmware. So Yangxi, please check those DIY firmware AGAIN. Thanks.
will take down the link. sad.gif will report manufacture this.

* In march firmware, need reformat hdd again.

Added on June 2, 2011, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(burdiespooler @ Jun 2 2011, 11:28 PM)
@ckboon
mbps not equal to mb/s
100mbps fast ethernet max speed is 12.5 mb/s (in theory) average speed is 6 mb/s as you will never able to fully utilize all 100 mbps.
USB 2.0 average transfer speed for external hdd is 20-25 mb/s in win 7 environment. If you use winxp it will drop but can use apps like teracopy to max the transfer speed (which only good for big size files).
So, USB 2.0 is definitely faster than 100mbps fast ethernet. Considering Realtek player write speed is only 1-2 mb/s, it will not beat usb 2.0 even you running gigabit.
As for DVD, i suggested you to burn rmvb files not your 10gb mkv file. For most full HD / HD mkv, DVD DL is enough.
What i did is burn all rmvb to dvd, but none of mkv to DVD DL as comparing cost per gb, external hdd is a lot cheaper than DVD DL.
Your Unifi can reach 5 mb/s? wow that is super fast and it is almost 40mbps. My area don't have unifi, still using streamyx.
Guys, which unifi package can reach 5 mb/s? I want to sign up when it is available in my area. (Hopefully it is not 5mbps as actual max speed is only 625kb/s)
realtek 1073 Lan write speed much slower . all brand same.

This post has been edited by yangxi: Jun 2 2011, 11:46 PM

89 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:48 AM