HTC Legend, -Aluminium Unibody Construciton-
jutamind
Apr 10 2010, 06:43 PM
i'm new to android phones and here's a few basic questions about htc legend:
1. i understand that android os only install apps in the phone memory/ram. wont this cause htc legend to slow down if we install many apps in the ram, especially legend only have 300+mb of ram?
2. i also understand that to install apps in microsd card, we need to root the android phone, but this will void the warranty. question: if in the future when htc releases fixes/firmware updates, can a rooted legend still install the firmware updates?
3. how much is the available ram after booting up legend?
jutamind
Apr 11 2010, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(dreamitcentre @ Apr 11 2010, 01:35 AM) Thanks bro for the support and quick deal. Really nice dealing  Added on April 11, 2010, 1:37 amhihi.. i am holding my red color HTC legend now.. starting to loading games & apps. i got my favourite games "farm frenzy" in it. haha... do you load the apps to the phone memory or microsd card? will there be any slow down of the phone if u load many apps since there's a limit to the phone ram?
jutamind
Apr 11 2010, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(chinook @ Apr 11 2010, 06:24 PM) Yea, Wifi signal strength is weaker than other phones. Does anyone have problems with the ringtone volume? My phone's ringtone volume goes soft after a few seconds of ringing.. Seems to be a bug cuz it doesnt happen all the time. Happens probably like once every 10-15 calls. I have the 'Quiet ring on pickup' option disabled btw. does this mean it's harder to connect to wifi network if the available signal is weak?
jutamind
Apr 11 2010, 11:07 PM
any issues with bluetooth with legend? been seeing comments on problems with file transfer using bt
jutamind
Apr 13 2010, 03:04 PM
am looking into this htc legend vs iphone 3gs for my next phone. what do you think about these 2 in comparison?
mainly use my phone for calls, sms, some browsing, sync with my mails
jutamind
Apr 13 2010, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Apr 13 2010, 06:20 PM) any lock in period? what about the rates for voice & sms?
jutamind
Apr 13 2010, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(chinook @ Apr 13 2010, 08:21 PM) Sigh...went to the shop where I bought the phone and tried to show them this problem. The damn problem didn't occur the whole time I was there. As soon as I come home, I give it one try, and it happens again... i read somewhere that it's a feature of legend that if u pick up the phone when it rings, the ring tone will soften itself.
jutamind
Apr 13 2010, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(golvin @ Apr 13 2010, 08:28 PM) Celcom is having a promotion fair at Suria KLCC. HTC Legend with 1 year contract cost RM1318, with 12 months contract of RM50 commitment + RM148 unlimited data plan. Sign in on 16 April to get Legend at RM1168 for the same package. There's another package RM250 commitment but I forgot how much the price to pay for Legend in that package already. wah digi and celcom so fast alredi have promo...maxis leh?
jutamind
Apr 14 2010, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(twL @ Apr 13 2010, 11:41 PM) i think Digi's one is cheaper, u only need to pay RM999 for the phone and RM68 for unlimited internet usage, not RM148+... what about the rate for voice and sms? need to attach a separate voice plan?
jutamind
Apr 14 2010, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(twL @ Apr 14 2010, 09:42 AM) no, pay as per use, how much u use, how much u pay, mean RM68+calls/sms usage, if u do not make any call in the month, u only have to pay RM68+5% government tax. what about if i want to add supplementary line? what's the call and sms rate for this supplementary line? any monthly commitment fee?
jutamind
Apr 15 2010, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(r47z @ Apr 15 2010, 03:09 PM) DiGi already clarify via tweeter V wish 2 apologise 4 error.4 NEW DG Smart Plan phone deals,u do NOT nd 2 regis Postpaid+ Smart Plan.U just sign up 4d DG Smart Plan @ RM68. ok if i switch over to digi from other telco, i understand from the post above that i can only take 1 yr contract, i.e. phone RM1399 + RM300 advance payment? is this confirmed?
jutamind
Apr 15 2010, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Apr 15 2010, 03:32 PM) Yeah. I kicked some butts over that wrong statement. Sorry about it once again. I already got the confirmation from the guys handling the Smart Plan themselves. All you need is RM68 Smart Plan. Hi SweetPuff, can u confirm that for switching over to digi, can only take 1 yr contract @ 1399 for the phone + RM 300 advance payment?
jutamind
Apr 15 2010, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(twL @ Apr 15 2010, 06:21 PM) thank you for ur information, b4 this i thought the usage discount only from calls+sms+mms, the commitment fee of RM68 is not included. this dg smart plan can add supplementary line ah?
jutamind
Apr 16 2010, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Apr 16 2010, 08:56 PM) digi umbrella, i gave it to the malay guy... he got quite a tough time with me... oh, if you are using prepaid or postpaid from maxis or celcom, you cant get your phone straight away, they will have to port you first... sad, new number for me :/ the number not nice somemore... so u mean for other telco users, we can only get the sim and phone after porting over to digi? i can accept receiving the phone late, but not sim, since the other telco's sim card might be disabled and yet u dont have digi's sim. then u got no hp at all during the porting period. payment is after we get the phone & sim or at the moment u apply for porting?
jutamind
Apr 17 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(myrotikosong @ Apr 17 2010, 05:56 PM) No. My one doesn't come with screen protector. But, the guy put it on in front of me during the time purchased from Lowyat. may i know how much is the screen protector for legend? estimated price?
jutamind
Apr 17 2010, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(sode-no-shirayuki @ Apr 17 2010, 11:36 PM) Just came back from the digi roadshow, since the phone is subsidized by them, they only offered 1 year warranty from SIS if want to extend another year from Mobile Sure, i'll have to pay additional RM27 If you get from PDAexpert, you pay RM1999 with 2+1 years warranty (2 years from SIS + 1 year from Mobile Sure) who is Mobile Sure?
jutamind
Apr 19 2010, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(tbcheese @ Apr 19 2010, 04:36 PM) It's fast and smooth. The screen is great though if you want to enjoy the screen to the fullest get a glossy screen protector rather than those anti-fingerprint matte ones. Wifi is a bit weak and battery life is a bit weaker than I'm used to. Anyone wants to buy a 9 day old HTC Legend? No scratches... as good as new. Local SIS 2 yr warranty. Bought from dreamitcentre. Reason for sale is bro is offering to help get an N1. PM me your offers please. the screen is not working well with anti-finger matte screen protector, i.e. not smooth?
jutamind
Apr 19 2010, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(tbcheese @ Apr 19 2010, 04:44 PM) It works fine. Just that you don't get to enjoy the vibrant colours of the amoled screen as much. =) havent seen anti-finger matter protector before....it's not transparent or is it darker or is it rough surface? This post has been edited by jutamind: Apr 19 2010, 04:52 PM
jutamind
Apr 19 2010, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(tbcheese @ Apr 19 2010, 08:34 PM) I'm not sure how to describe it. It's a bit dull. Not glossy and shiny like the usual screen protector. do u buy it from lowyat.net? if yes from who and how much? am looking for anti finger matte screen protector as well.
jutamind
Apr 21 2010, 02:27 PM
anyone manage to get the htc legend phone via the DG Smart Plan package? i subscribe to this plan and until now, i still cant get hold of the phone....no stock!!!
damn....anything i can do to speed up? have taruh the digi dealer kau kau....
This post has been edited by jutamind: Apr 21 2010, 02:41 PM