12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

tanjinjack
post Apr 27 2011, 07:55 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Apr 25 2011, 11:18 PM)
it seems displaying surds as it is instead of in decimals makes a difference, according to my friend.
LOL, I remember the days I use 570MS to a point I would know the decimals for the popular surds, like 0.7071, 1.414, 0.577 etc.
Anyway, you are now a future engineer and we don't dwell on absolute values. Just use the correct one with reasonable decimals and you will hardly be penalised for that.

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Apr 25 2011, 11:38 PM)
Additionally its because the calculator can solve integration problems as well right?
All 570 model can do integration, also solving simulatenous equation, root finding, matrices and complex numbers.
TBH, the best thing in the silver 570 is the matrices interface. Revamped and is really cool and easy to use.

QUOTE(Zeuss1220 @ Apr 27 2011, 11:11 AM)
Okay. I just bought the internet package from SNS. The premium 384 kpbs for 48RM for one month. But I can't seem to get the WiFi reception from my room or in fact anywhere in my house. Btw I'm staying in 11 TTS 5/4. So if anyone wanna buy the package from me, please pm me. It lasts until 25 May 2011. Make sure ur laptop can detect the Exbb-SNS WiFi first.
Check with SNS. You are supposed to have it in your house, or you should ask for a refund.
tanjinjack
post Apr 28 2011, 01:59 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Apr 28 2011, 12:22 AM)
I read something about all 570 models being banned from SPM examinations because they could solve integration problems. I have been using 350 all my life, and it was my math lecturer who urged me to get a more recent model....haih money down the drain I suppose..
LOL. It is in fact rather grey to say if it should be banned or not. SPM bans programmable calculator, and 570 is not really programmable, except that you can use CALC to do iterations (which I don't think can be called "programmable"). But that's SPM.
I do enjoy the advantages it gives in doing the root findings though which I used quite extensively during my SPM time. The integration is more like checking answers at that time.

If you are really unhappy about natural display being banned, make noise la. You paid for the tuition fee already.
tanjinjack
post May 3 2011, 02:08 PM

4,122 posts

LOL, everybody in study mood already?
So short la study break, still reluctant to start study and first paper in coming Monday..
tanjinjack
post May 3 2011, 04:16 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 3 2011, 02:45 PM)
I have an EM1 computer test deadline tomorrow, still waiting for me to complete. hahaha.

@tanjinjack, when is the IMechE t-shirts ready to be collected?
Probably some days during the exam time. Sorry for the delay.
tanjinjack
post May 3 2011, 05:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(cutebubbles @ May 3 2011, 05:02 PM)
hi smile.gif looking into studying pharmacy in nottingham. just wanna ask to enter the course do we need to go for interview?

and also how's the environment like in nottingham? and the facilities such as the cafeteria and library ?  cos i heard the cafeteria is not very good sad.gif
Interview is not compulsory as far as I am concerned. Case-by-case basis. Some they admit directly, some go through interview. I could be outdated though.

Library is not big, but electronic access is quite large, with access over a lot of popular journal sites.
Cafeteria is not good, but food around Semenyih and Broga can be nice, of course you need a car to reach the towns.
tanjinjack
post May 3 2011, 08:38 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(cutebubbles @ May 3 2011, 06:54 PM)
oh ok thnx! smile.gif how far away are they ? is there any like mall or shoplots near nottingham? looks kinda deserted from google maps XD
About 4km away from Semenyih town, also 4km away (but the other direction) from Broga.
By car, it will take 5-10 minutes to reach those places. Tesco also.

Nearest convenience store would be the throat cutting one inside the campus.
Next on would be another convenience store in TTS, the nearest neighbourhood from the campus.

Nearest movies should be Jusco Cheras Selatan, 30-40 minutes away.
Next on would be MINES, which could be another 10 minutes.
tanjinjack
post May 4 2011, 02:41 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(cutebubbles @ May 3 2011, 09:15 PM)
oo ok thnx for the info biggrin.gif everything sounds so far ><"
Just imagine a palm oil estate, and suddenly out of no where appears a few block of buildings. That's UNMC. Tranquil and remote.
tanjinjack
post May 8 2011, 01:36 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 8 2011, 12:05 PM)
@seniors, got tips on how does one prep for Professional Studies? I've looked at the past year questions but have not one idea on how to answer them.
If it's still open book, then just read through the notes. Get to know where are the crucial facts here and there. Then go in, copy copy copy copy copy copy!!
It's the only 1.5 hour in my life that I spend my time writing non stop!
tanjinjack
post May 8 2011, 05:34 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 8 2011, 02:57 PM)
^Serious ah... The lectures talk about the rules and regulations and, it's very textbook stuff. But then the exam questions involves so much thinking, like so different from the usual technical stuff.
Is it? Maybe the way they ask have changed.
If it's about thinking, it's more open. Any answers, as long as reasonable and well supported, then you should score then. My thoughts though.
tanjinjack
post May 11 2011, 07:22 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ May 11 2011, 06:05 PM)
living on ground floor too?  laugh.gif

i call it the doomed floor, most bugs and mosquitoes here, and the hottest floor too...air ventilation literally nil, every night going to bed in sweat even after bath  sweat.gif
Top floors could be hotter, just a roof separating you and the source of hotness - the scorching fireball.

QUOTE(A-Note @ May 11 2011, 06:23 PM)
yesss! sad.gif my toilet bowl those cockroach grave... kill liao flush toilet bye bye haha... and no air ventilation = shyt loads of molds.. last year i shift in the whole room is just covered by those white molds ._. stay here like this too long will kena cancer
so far no mosquito... but alot cockroach and millipedes D: i shower oso have to shower with them around so disgusting D:

Added on May 11, 2011, 6:25 pmthank god im shifting to TTS this year end ~.~ more peaceful at night ._.
My experience tells me that during rainy seasons, there are more cockroaches. Be sure the cover for the water outlet is closed, get something to stuck for the door gap etc. to combat cockroaches. Of course, some slippers or rolled newspapers for the best weapon.

Regarding ventilation, try removing the magnetic mosquito net on the grill. It does improve air ventilation, especially with a fan to keep the air in the room moving. Of course, opening the door will help for air ventilation, too, but not so for safety reason.

Added on May 11, 2011, 7:24 pmBut has the condition deteriorate so badly? Cockroach killing was once a weekly routine (Redang) for me, but for every day?

Didn't the cleaners clean properly for those molds?

Pioneer just doesn't care about their reputation!

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 11 2011, 07:24 PM
tanjinjack
post May 22 2011, 04:25 PM

4,122 posts

SPAM~~ finish exam... wahahahaha
tanjinjack
post May 22 2011, 05:03 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 22 2011, 04:34 PM)
go make V3!!!
Rest first la... if I got mood I go do hah.. But I do V4 la...
tanjinjack
post May 22 2011, 05:43 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 22 2011, 05:17 PM)
lol sry typo 3 and 4 next to each other only. Damn materials got so much to cover. Then tuesday got DM1, boring-est lectures ever....
And you start to wonder if <insert topic name> is ever covered in the lectures.
Yeah, they are the 20 credits modules, definitely more stuff to cover.
tanjinjack
post May 22 2011, 06:10 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 22 2011, 05:45 PM)
dun even have mid term to at least relieve the pressure a bit. These brits are cruel...

Quantum of solace is that exams for DM1 is 40% of module.
YET, there is SOOOO MUCH to cover. LOL..
Just live with it, because you have DM2 next year!
tanjinjack
post May 23 2011, 02:11 PM

4,122 posts

Okay, I am just a bit bored so I might want to make the V4.
Post here or PM if you think you have stuff we must include.

Should we just add stuff or make a total overhaul with fresh new look (how fresh can it be with the limited editing function on this board, LOL)?

Comments comments!!
tanjinjack
post May 23 2011, 09:31 PM

4,122 posts

Alright, the overhauled first page is 50% complete. Show you all and please suggest the part you think need amendents.

tanjinjack
post May 24 2011, 01:27 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(hellriser @ May 23 2011, 11:48 PM)
anybody?
taijinjack?  eXPeri3nc3? u guys know?
Generally, use a widely accepted scale, like 80-100 for A, 60-79 for B etc. and take A as 4, B as 3 etc. Then times the respective credits, add them up and divide by 120 (one year worth) credits.
Alternatively, you can use your average and see your class, maps that to a CGPA you think fit.
Like, if you have first class, then you can expect yourself to have a CGPA of first class.

Why do you want it in the first place?
tanjinjack
post May 24 2011, 06:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ May 24 2011, 11:01 AM)
Suggestion!! Those who are already studying there/will be studying there this year, send a private message to jinjack with our details like course, which year, graduating in, so he get to organize them and include it in the front page.

And the pay RM1000 to get offer letter matter is already listed in General Course Guide (2011/12), but it's not listed in the website yet.

Sweet, that will make it easier to let readers know about it. Maybe you can consider retake it in a better lit room for easier reading?

Added on May 24, 2011, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(thealy @ May 24 2011, 10:32 AM)
You guys are awesome for replying oh-so-very quickly and honestly!

I was wondering, what is the timetable like for the engineering course? Like how many hours a week? Do we get to arrange it or it is fixed? And usually, what time will your class ends? I'll be doing first year of civil engineering. Just wanna see if I should stay on campus or travel back and forth everyday.
Earliest class starts in 9am and latest can be 6pm.
Roughly 20 hours per week inclusive of lab classes. Not sure if Civil has more of those though.

If it's within 30 minutes of travel, it is alright. If it's more than that, you can consider staying instead.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 24 2011, 06:55 PM
tanjinjack
post May 24 2011, 07:00 PM

4,122 posts

One more thing.
Can any of you who are in studying on-campus contribute in the accommodation section? Write out your experience and also include the various types of rooms and rentals, along with any service it brings (SNS, cleaning etc.).

If any of you from university arranged off-campus (Edu Square etc.), please contribute as well.

I will write for privately arranged off-campus.

Maybe we can add in a section about facilities, talking about the TISCRA and the little green library. Of course, the humongous research building!

And YES, please PM to include your username in the next version!
tanjinjack
post May 24 2011, 07:23 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 24 2011, 07:14 PM)
^I have always wondered why TCR is called 'TISCRA'? I understand it if it's common practice to pronounce T-C-R quickly and be writted as TISCRA, but 'TISCRA' even appeared on officially printed materials as well! I is confused.
As far as I am concerned, there is a "long form" of it. TCR is Teaching Computer Room, TISCRA.. whatever..
Maybe we can email IS Office to ask about it?

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0257sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:19 AM