12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

tanjinjack
post May 24 2011, 10:12 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, just find that it's easier for me to keep track about the members via Google Form.

Just head past the link and input the information asked.
http://goo.gl/6umag

Those who have PM-ed me please do it again. Thanks!
tanjinjack
post May 25 2011, 06:09 PM

4,122 posts

LOL, real life inteferes with my preparation for V4. Never mind, will do more as I can.
Got 7 entries (including me) now for the member lists, I am sure there's more of you.
Link here: http://goo.gl/6umag

Cottoncandyclouds, mind writing about your experience on-campus, as a female?
tanjinjack
post May 25 2011, 08:26 PM

4,122 posts

V4 first page (second revision)

changelog:
- added info on accommodation (please read and report back what can be added more)
- added info on extras (please check the "why accredit us", see what have I missed)
- added info on members (check your info if it's correct)
- added info on "why study here" (okay, read this and comment, this is crucial, let's make it attractive, thanks!)
- added Index (please comment if this is necessary)

still need:
- a caption for our subtitle in V4!
- reviews about accommodation
- your comments and opinions about this V4
- other members' registration!! (use this link: http://goo.gl/6umag)
- possibly a remake for the "why study here" section - thus need your input
- testers - just click some of the links to see if it brings you to the right place (scare I link wrongly only)
- testers - try out the code for the signature - I think the code is right, but need someone to just test it to confirm la. I can do it myself what, just confirm it works for me.

Last but not least,
THANKS A LOT for the support!

Non-XDA frequenters please ignore

Here's the V4 first page (second revision)

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 25 2011, 08:30 PM
tanjinjack
post May 25 2011, 11:20 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 25 2011, 10:04 PM)
^OMG bootloop!! New update spoilt my GPS!!! Triple wipe still cannot solve! lol

Maybe can compile a 'good food around town' section.

My non-exhaustive list:
Broga Pan Mee (w/ABC) {2.93655,101.909842}
Semenyih Pan mee [2.956777,101.839885]
Broga Ikan Bakar (further inside after chinese temple)
Semenyih Laksa (house beside food court)
Vegetarian set lunch *RM2 only!!* (buddhist shoplot place)
Various 'dai chao' (big fry) around town.
Various 'chap fan' (mixed rice) around town. [the mixed rice places around town are cheaper than the campus one, all of them are!]
Salted chicken
*MUST TRY* Satay Kajang Haji Samsuri (next to Kajang Stadium)

The coordinates copy paste into google maps.
At least can enter recovery means okay la. Wait till you cannot get into recovery then you cry.

Mixed rice I recommend "Uncle Thiam", near the Semenyih Central. The one in Old Village (corner one) is good, but the price is very unstable.
Somemore got Lao Fu Tze Nasi Lemak, then the Duck/Chicken/Char Siew Rice at the pasar malam there.

So, can I ask you to compile them up (don't use various various la, how to know which is which) so I can just quote it up and put into the Extras section.

BTW, how do you get fastboot to work? Get Android SDK and JDK and HBOOT driver? Last time I did that I cannot flash stuff via fastboot, use some other people script instead. Now feel like want to do it via fastboot.
tanjinjack
post May 26 2011, 02:41 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 26 2011, 11:36 AM)
@tanjinjack HOW did I leave out Lao Fu Tze?!! LOL

Thing is I'm not very sure of the exact location of the places. Friends bring me there. I included the coordinates of 2 places there only coz the rest I cannot pin point on GMaps. haha I'll try and see.

Fastboot I know you need to have the fastboot driver installed. I think you need an ENG HBOOT for your phone flashed as well. The rest I'm not sure coz I dun use fastboot myself. Flash recovery I either use ROM Manager or the flash_image binary.

Searched in XDA gave me this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=878786
No need the coordinate la. Just the name and perhaps a short description on how to get there will do (but how on earth they can find the entrance of Old Village, I miss that for my whole 1st year!).

Thanks for the link. Will look into it. Yeah, I know you need to get S-OFF and I got that already (thank god ours is one-off everything S-OFF, heard you all need two S-OFF. LOL.. and now newer devices has bootloader locked!!)

Recovery, radio all those flash via recovery itself very risky leh, if the updater script got problem then device can be bricked! Let's see what else can I find.

QUOTE(ken2kow @ May 26 2011, 01:08 PM)
tan, for foundation in Engineering + Sc is 7.5k alr (MALAYSIAN)
Thanks for the spot on, will correct it for the next revision!
tanjinjack
post May 26 2011, 03:31 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(A-Note @ May 26 2011, 03:21 PM)
omg dammit.. am i the last one finishing exams? pfftt tmr 3pm last paper T.T my friends in other course finish like 1 week before me
No no, there are people finishing their paper in coming Saturday 8pm - those Year 2 mechanical who had joint papers with the UK!
tanjinjack
post May 26 2011, 05:26 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 26 2011, 04:43 PM)
^for real? That's me next year!! Damn...
Yup, all the 20 credits are to be sat on 26th, 27th and 28th respectively, joint papers as well.
You better pray hard such timetables do not occur next year!
tanjinjack
post May 26 2011, 09:01 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 26 2011, 08:54 PM)
^joint papers do exist? All papers I took have a Malaysian Campus version, which got me thinking about this 'joint paper' thing. Like, we take exams in 5pm (which I understand is 9am in UK) but I can always get a malaysian variant of the paper (thru the portal, of coz). Care to elaborate?
It does exist la. Year 1 probably has no joint, or your MMF is joint? Yes, sometimes you can see you can download UNMC paper and UK paper, but you'll find both are actually the same. LOL.. scam.
tanjinjack
post May 26 2011, 11:01 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ May 26 2011, 10:53 PM)
Hrmm so far all papers are different. Even the one computer test I took say need to take at 5pm to do same time with UK side, at top of heading also write 'Malaysia Campus'.

I tried papers from both sides in maths 1 & 2, fluids, thermo, materials, mechanics of solids 1. All are different for both sides.
Check out MM3CAI module, you know what I mean.
tanjinjack
post May 28 2011, 12:34 PM

4,122 posts

Real life kicks in and I am having a hard time to sit down to just keep on edit the home page. I see most of you do not have comments on it, can I assume that you all agree with whatever's on there? (Or you simple do not care)

Upcoming changes include:
-correct foundation tuition fee
-include a Food section, contributed by DJFoo000
-maybe some wording changes
tanjinjack
post May 31 2011, 06:19 PM

4,122 posts

Hey guys, since we are now on 2,577 posts (this one would be 2,578th). What do you think if I just make V4 first. The V4 homepage will have the latest suggestions included and more edit can be done when others have the stuff ready.

What do you all think?
tanjinjack
post May 31 2011, 07:03 PM

4,122 posts

V4 home page, third revision

Changelog:
-Added "Entry requirement"
-Updated fee of foundation
-Added sub-section "Accommodation review" (under construction) in "Accommodation"
-Added sub-section "Nice food around Nottingham" in "Extras"
-Added "Academic calender"
-Updated members list

I still need:
-a caption for our subtitle for V4!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tanjinjack
post May 31 2011, 07:45 PM

4,122 posts

Okay, all these come from Wikipedia, which come from some other sources.

These refer to UK campus, but I think can be used. biggrin.gif
"the nearest Britain has to a truly global university"
"a prime alternative to Oxbridge"
"among the most sought-after in higher education"

Official motto:
Latin: Sapientia urbs conditur
English: A City is Built on Wisdom

How about these?
"10 years in Malaysia"
"as big as 101-acres"
"3,800 students and counting!"
tanjinjack
post May 31 2011, 11:40 PM

4,122 posts

Haha, I am more towards the "10 years in Malaysia" at the moment.
Maybe, "10 years in Malaysia, 3,800 students and counting!"

That is nice. Will add it in for the next revision (probably the official one).

QUOTE(XIII @ May 31 2011, 10:49 PM)
"3,800 students and counting!" sounds good.

Also how bout more info on achieving Professional Engineer status in Malaysia when considering the BEng / MEng thing?
Got this from our student handbook.

tanjinjack
post Jun 3 2011, 10:10 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Jun 3 2011, 09:58 PM)
hello guys, i have a few questions hope u guys cn answer.

Does the tuition fee of rm36500 for engineering inclusive of all the fees eg miscellaneous fee, books, registration fee etc? i hope theres no hidden charges here n thr lol

everything including accomodation seems to be so expensive, i wonder do u guys feel the money spent worth it?
No, no library fee, no exam fee, no security fee, no lab fee etc.
I only recalled paying for my lab coats and safety boots (which I can't assume them to supply to us).
Oh, I also pay for my library fines!

Even for printing credits, you get RM50 each year unless you seriously overspent.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jun 3 2011, 10:10 PM
tanjinjack
post Jun 7 2011, 12:33 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 7 2011, 12:21 AM)
single room to accomodate 2 person? what a stupid idea
Double the fun?
Oh, I mean the management counting the money.
tanjinjack
post Jun 7 2011, 10:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Jun 7 2011, 09:24 PM)
Is it possible to walk from Edu Square to campus?  icon_question.gif

Is this thread quieter than usual because of the summer hols?  unsure.gif
Yes, possible, in fact very viable. They are in TTS5 after all, nearest to the bridge to uni.

No idea why is it quieter. But expect it to grow more busy as Sept comes, our main intake!
tanjinjack
post Jun 19 2011, 06:23 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(violetcaster @ Jun 19 2011, 03:04 PM)
i wanted to know what are the chances of getting a place in the uk nottingham uni after spending 1 year in the malaysian campus.im doing ba finance accounting and management.is it a guarenteed or most likely a place in the uk or a 50-50 chance of not going.im planning to do a 1+2 program.please help.tq
Just need to have a decent academic score and $$! Of course, following all the procedures, too - application etc.

tanjinjack
post Jun 20 2011, 01:00 PM

4,122 posts

LOL, I believe they release course by course and maybe batch by batch also. I have been waiting mine and nothing is out yet. No mood to work at all, just keep on refreshing only..

Added on June 20, 2011, 1:04 pmBTW, did any of you got the "Available from 27 June 2011" when originally it was today. I got it, by upon refresh, it goes away. Buggy buggy portal.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jun 20 2011, 01:04 PM
tanjinjack
post Jun 21 2011, 09:42 PM

4,122 posts

Apparently I got my result already. Some of my friends aren't able to view the exam transcript column at all. Some can view it, but with modules shown, without marks. This is weird. Hopefully things settle down tomorrow.

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0560sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:02 AM