QUOTE(winongcf @ Mar 10 2010, 12:40 AM)
Just get info from my friend, cos he got friend working in ACCA KL office.Btw, may be you can try to email ACCA KL to ask la. Hope it will got, otherwise unfair for Dec 09 affiliate.
Business ACCA V6, Global Body for Professional Accountants
Mar 10 2010, 01:01 AM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(winongcf @ Mar 10 2010, 12:40 AM) Just get info from my friend, cos he got friend working in ACCA KL office.Btw, may be you can try to email ACCA KL to ask la. Hope it will got, otherwise unfair for Dec 09 affiliate. |
Mar 10 2010, 03:20 PM
98 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Are Big 4 employees nothing more than a modernized form of indentured servants?
PwC, Deloitte, E&Y, and KPMG: Big 4 employees modern indentured servants |
Mar 10 2010, 05:00 PM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang, Malaysia |
Anyone interested in buying F8's GTG text book? I have extra and selling it at cheap price. Pm me thanks.
Mar 10 2010, 09:51 PM
2,102 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(prole @ Mar 10 2010, 03:20 PM) Are Big 4 employees nothing more than a modernized form of indentured servants? Bravo, bravo. PwC, Deloitte, E&Y, and KPMG: Big 4 employees modern indentured servants |
Mar 11 2010, 06:22 PM
228 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(starz92 @ Mar 3 2010, 09:06 PM) PTPTN does not recognize professional papers such as CIMA/ACCA/CAT hence ACCA student can't apply for PTPTN. i'm tarc student who are currently studying...I not sure whether there will be an exception with the TARC(heard some rumours saying that TARC ACCA can apply for PTPTN) yeah...students able to apply PTPTN for both diploma and advanced diploma (ACCA... Added on March 11, 2010, 6:31 pm QUOTE(busyman @ Mar 4 2010, 04:44 PM) i'm now waiting for spm result.. TARC:i saw some different between tarc n other college.. i interested in CIMA, tarc provide, diploma> advance diploma > cima other college provide, diploma> degree> cima wat is d different between degree holder n advance diploma holder? n which type better? diploma(2yrs and 4mths)+Adv diploma(1yr and 8 mths)... btw adv diploma is equivalent to a general degree but without honours(Hons)... u can check this at JPA website.. if u wanna get a Bachelor Degree(hons),u can go for a summer course at SHU,UK.. it needs around RM30k,go or not going on the hand of students...it depends.. if u wanna finish CIMA faster and u're confident that u able to pass CIMA and tarc exams simultaneously,u can choose to study TARC... This post has been edited by searcher1106: Mar 11 2010, 06:31 PM |
Mar 11 2010, 09:53 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(prole @ Mar 10 2010, 03:20 PM) Are Big 4 employees nothing more than a modernized form of indentured servants? Is it real and happening ?PwC, Deloitte, E&Y, and KPMG: Big 4 employees modern indentured servants |
Mar 12 2010, 10:34 PM
Mar 12 2010, 10:36 PM
1,679 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Penang |
The salary part really less than macdonald worker?how much is the salary paid for those fresh graduates?
Can I go work overseas with ACCA? |
Mar 13 2010, 11:33 AM
5 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Hi everyone,
am currently interested in taking Acca. Spm leaver. Can anyone kindly post the booklist for ACCA and CAT here? In need to see through those books b4 pursuing the course |
Mar 13 2010, 11:38 AM
Can go to any college website that offer it to check it out.Can go to ACCA website to check it out too.
Mar 13 2010, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(starz92 @ Mar 12 2010, 10:36 PM) The salary part really less than macdonald worker?how much is the salary paid for those fresh graduates? Per hour charge is really lesser.Can I go work overseas with ACCA? You know sometimes when other companies called for interviews of such, I was really tempted to just go but you gotta stick with your decision. Per hour rate is definitely lesser, technically you can go home on time but its impossible you can finish work that way. Most of the time, its not due to you but more to like external factors as well. Imagine this : You are given 1 week to do the task. But people give you the work at 3rd day so left only 4 days lo instead of 7 days. 10 people supposed to handle 50 files, 5 each. suddenly 3 person left, so now each handle 7 files. Fresh grad for audit, degree = Rm2450 or 2400, professional affiliate = Rm2600. This is standard, some pays more. Do expect they suddenly called you to work on weekends, mine is fixed since prefinal so just stay on weekends. I was once kena something like this. I was at a remote area on sunday (no connectivity), once reached home around 12am, got message around 4pm asking certain works to be submitted monday morning, so just do until 5 am then submit. Must constantly check email as well. They dont give laptop for nothing. You will need justify for every cents you earned. |
Mar 13 2010, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Mar 13 2010, 03:19 PM) Per hour charge is really lesser. oh i see.thanksYou know sometimes when other companies called for interviews of such, I was really tempted to just go but you gotta stick with your decision. Per hour rate is definitely lesser, technically you can go home on time but its impossible you can finish work that way. Most of the time, its not due to you but more to like external factors as well. Imagine this : You are given 1 week to do the task. But people give you the work at 3rd day so left only 4 days lo instead of 7 days. 10 people supposed to handle 50 files, 5 each. suddenly 3 person left, so now each handle 7 files. Fresh grad for audit, degree = Rm2450 or 2400, professional affiliate = Rm2600. This is standard, some pays more. Do expect they suddenly called you to work on weekends, mine is fixed since prefinal so just stay on weekends. I was once kena something like this. I was at a remote area on sunday (no connectivity), once reached home around 12am, got message around 4pm asking certain works to be submitted monday morning, so just do until 5 am then submit. Must constantly check email as well. They dont give laptop for nothing. You will need justify for every cents you earned. |
Mar 13 2010, 07:44 PM
9 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
I'm planning to do CAT in INTI Subang Jaya, any comments from all of you pros? xD
Btw, is there any personal loan for CAT/ACCA? bank or some kind hearted org..? Here's the list of lecturers INTI counselor gave me, pls leave comments on them INTI ACCA lecturers |
Mar 13 2010, 08:26 PM
56 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
who can help me solve tis Q??? plzplzplz
the following list of balances was extracted frm the book of Chelsea as at 30 June X5 Freehold land 56,000,000 (dt) Building-cost 524,000,000 (dt) Accumulated depreciation 1JulyX4 -Building 11,200,000 (cr) -Equipment 3,800,000 (cr) Bank balance 16,500,000 (dt) Inventory 30 June X5 127,400,000 (dt) Provision for doubtful debts 1JulyX4 5,200,000 (cr) Acc. receivable and payable 82,400,000(dt) 75,140,000(cr) Investment in Gov bond 25,000,000(dt) Interest received 6,100,000(cr) 8% fixed term bank loan 120,000,000(cr) Tax paid 35,000,000(dt) Interim dividend paid-ordinary shares 17,000,000(dt) Ordinary shares of RM1 each 300,000,000(cr) Share premium 50,000,000(cr) Retained profit 30 June X5 330,860,000(cr) total 902,300,000 Additional information: i. A newly employed staff member prepared the list of balances after he had prepared the income statement for the year ended 30 June X5. The retained profit on 1July X4 was RM200,200,000. ii.the following adjustment were not taken into consideration: a)An insurance policy for RM5,000,000 was taken out on the building. The insurance coverage is for the period 1 JAn X5 to 31 DEc X5. the whole amount was expensed off. b)Accrued utility bills was RM 1,800,000 c)The 8% bank loan was secured on 1Dec X4 and interest is to be paid annualy on 30 NOv . d)Bad debts of RM120,000 were nt provided ans the provision for doubtful debts is to be 5%. e) Depreciation charges hv nt been provided for and the company depreciates building at 2% on cost and equipment at 10% on net book value. f) Tax expense for the year was estimated to be RM37,000,000. The amount shown in the list above is the amount paid during the year. Profit for the year calculated has not been charges with the year's tax expense. Required: a) Prepare a schedule to calculate the adjusted profit after tax for the year ended 30 June X5. b) Prepare the balance sheet as at 30 June X5 This post has been edited by blurskyblue: Mar 13 2010, 08:30 PM |
Mar 13 2010, 08:36 PM
31 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(dreamadom @ Mar 13 2010, 07:44 PM) I'm planning to do CAT in INTI Subang Jaya, any comments from all of you pros? xD Do CAT if you're serious about becoming a chartered accountant, as it's the foundation for ACCA for those without STPM. A lot of people completed CAT but did not continue on after they realised they could not cope with the syllabus. I speak from experience as my CAT batch of 30, only half continued for ACCA. And out of those half, only 5 cleared CAT within 1 year (fastest) and moved on to ACCA. The rest half a year later.Btw, is there any personal loan for CAT/ACCA? bank or some kind hearted org..? Here's the list of lecturers INTI counselor gave me, pls leave comments on them INTI ACCA lecturers Most colleges had their open days this weekend. When I saw those fresh SPM grads coming for counselling, I laughed (inside) that those people have no idea what they're enrolling into or about to enter. Those sales people are just doing their job, making more customers to enrol into college, just conveniently ignore and forgot to tell them how hard ACCA is. In my coll, there are only about 20 or less ACCA affiliates every sem. And mind you, my college is the top in my town. The number dwindles as you progress higher. From a class of 60, by the end, it'll only be 10 or so. So pitiful. ACCA is tough. If you like accounting, do a BA minus the stress we faced. Cramming for all numbers, facts and theories within 5 months for exam is no fun, compared to our relaxed companions doing a/cing degree. Clear it in one go, or else you'd have to wait for another 6 months. Degrees mostly have a fixed time frame of 4 years, you know what's scary about ACCA? There's no time limit, it depends on you whether how many papers you wanna take at 1 sitting. The more you take, the faster you complete it, BUT ONLY if you pass it, that's it. That's why it can drag on and on if you don't pass. But the rewards are worth it. ACCA is externally marked, the whole world sits for the same exam at the same time, whereas degrees your lecturers, most likely or not, tend to give out tips, which defeat the purpose of us pursuing higher education. Though I hate the tension of ACCA exam, we learn a lot and I'm grateful for that. So yeah, please think carefully. About loan, I think fellow members in this forum have mentioned that PTPTN is not allowed as CAT/ACCA is a professional course. Personal loan, I'm not sure. But, you can try for individual college provider for their own tuition fee waiver. My friend did her CAT free, thanks to scholarship from the college. As for INTI, I don't know. I'm taking a P paper at an INTI's branch campus. To my horror, the lecturer confessed (after I asked) that this is the 1st time he's teaching this paper. Good god!!!! That means he doesn't know the trend of exam questions and style nor the syllabus. I hope I'll pass this sitting. Of course, please, don't take my word for it. There're aplenty of members here that passed ACCA in 1 go and offer useful advice. Thank you for those advice, very appreciate it. Regarding CAT, I found it a piece of cake. Too easy in fact. But watch out for T9 and T10, these are the only two papers I was disappointed with my marks. |
Mar 14 2010, 12:13 AM
1,035 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
i wou8ld like to know how it is possible for one who passed all ACCA papers to work overseas like Sg,NZ,canada....
This post has been edited by beyond_99: Mar 14 2010, 12:15 AM |
Mar 14 2010, 02:33 AM
Dear amber88,
I'm actually an STPM graduate*, the asterisk is because i failed I understand that ACCA is hyper tough, that's why i made up my mind to do CAT in advance. I could've chosen TARC diploma cum ACCA, but due to the lack of foundation in accounts, plus not wanting to take the risk of jumping into ACCA so fast, i plan to do CAT 1st, hope i'm making the right choice though Here's my plan, pls give moreeee advice CAT in INTI SJ ==> ACCA in KSA or OIC And amber88, I totally agree with the grads in edu fair thing u mentioned, i personally find edu fair a nuisance and waste of resources. Grads should make up their minds on wat to do by doing research online and asking experienced folks around. Then only should they call up a tuition provider for the course details, not going to some crowded fair whereby some of them are promoters and the true counselors are dead tired and effing busy that they cant provide you with 100% information and help that you TOTALLY need. And about scholarshipsssss, again it's my faulttttt -.- scored 7a's in spm including a1 in accounts, but now they change the scholarship system for the new spm marking system, making my results of a1 a2 useless in scholarship application of inti's.. and i don't think i'm still exempted for that paper *cries in agony my beloved experienced and working forumers out there.. Is there by any chance some bank loans or company loans i can try out??? Thank you so so so so sooooo much 20k++ might be a fraction of degree courses, but still, it's not exactly a small amount as well ): |
Mar 14 2010, 10:42 AM
31 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
@dreamadom
i suggest u take acca straight away. F1 to F3 will serve as your foundation, it's basically CAT in 3 subjects. |
Mar 14 2010, 02:42 PM
ACCA straight away?? umm... 3 papers shud be done in one sem ryte? means CAT's 2 sems cut into 1 sem???
Mar 14 2010, 04:29 PM
3 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
| Change to: | 0.0202sec