13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Lecturer's salary and prospects in Malaysia

PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 06:01 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Feb 28 2010, 08:10 PM)
PhdExpert seems to be overrun. I think he wont be visiting this thread again. Just in case he does, i have a neutral comment for him tongue.gif
Far be it from overrun!

Please stop comparing overseas with malaysia. We are not overseas. I already said it is not fair to compare between us and other country.
Did you remember Malaysia wants to compete with ivy league universities? Did you know Malaysia want to be a top education hub?

I'm intrigued that one could be the top without comparing overseas with Malaysia. What a "Inin Malaysia" mentality you have there.

You keep saying that you have gold medal and whatever stuff and seems to be very proud of that. I respect you for being able to achieve that as I know that it is not something anyone can achieve.
Everyone should receive due recognition, and I do NOT need extra recognition or respect.

If you have the confidence, do contribute to our country by being the person who will bring Malaysia to the so called top tier conferences.
It's meaningless if I bring Malaysia to top tier conferences without being rewarded in due recognition. Without a proper point system, how does Malaysia gauge my achievement? You can't compare high quality publications with the low quality ones. High quality publications have very low acceptance rate. For instance, out of 100 papers submitted by the ivy league Unis, only 20-30 papers accepted in the good conferences, compared to 100 papers submitted by local Unis, and up to 70 papers accepted. In fact, no one bothers to read and cite those low quality publications as we know the publication avenues are money making.

If everybody starts to compare and go overseas, malaysia will not stand a chance to advance. SOmebody has to initiate the process for better future
Refer to the Poisson process for a single person like me. A single car won't congest the street.

Added on March 1, 2010, 6:02 am
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 1 2010, 05:54 AM)
1. like i said, it was what the applicants agreed upon. it depends on the availability and what the candidate themselves want. if they applied for permanent post, they wont be offered a contract.

2. err... promotion IS based on meritocracy. if u have evidence that it is not, then i suggest taking it up to MACC. i'm sure they'll love a field trip to the universities. and i'm not being sarcastic here. help us weed out the dumbasses.

that aside, we do use point system. that's what they yearly review are for.
Show me the ranking system then. Show me the meritocracy system too. Why are there Head of Department without list of publications in their homepage, even in Universiti Malaya website?

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 06:04 AM
azarimy
post Mar 1 2010, 06:19 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(PhDExpert @ Feb 28 2010, 10:01 PM)

Added on March 1, 2010, 6:02 am

Show me the ranking system then. Show me the meritocracy system too. Why are there Head of Department without list of publications in their homepage, even in Universiti Malaya website?
dude, if u can name one IPTA lecturer who have a complete publication list ONLINE, do share with us.

information in websites are managed by IT handler in individual faculties. the reliability and accuracy of the information highly depends on that particular person. we're not there yet. so instead of relying information on websites, i recommend contacting the individual faculties directly and acquire the information first hand.

so how do u want me to show the rating system? u wanna come to my place or should i come to yours? these information are not available online. if u havent stumbled upon it doesnt mean it doesnt exist, right? isnt that a fundamental rule in research? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 1 2010, 06:20 AM
TSpinkdevil88
post Mar 1 2010, 06:35 AM

176 posts

Cool down guys. Let's see what do I have here.

Chong Kwai Fatt's profile and all his publication list. He is a very famous tax lecturer and accounting students in Malaysia will know him as his text is used as the main text in our courses. Very impressive profile!!!

http://umexpert.um.edu.my/papar_cv.php?id=AAAJxnAAQAAAGEgAAC
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 06:35 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 1 2010, 06:19 AM)
dude, if u can name one IPTA lecturer who have a complete publication list ONLINE, do share with us.

information in websites are managed by IT handler in individual faculties. the reliability and accuracy of the information highly depends on that particular person. we're not there yet. so instead of relying information on websites, i recommend contacting the individual faculties directly and acquire the information first hand.

so how do u want me to show the rating system? u wanna come to my place or should i come to yours? these information are not available online. if u havent stumbled upon it doesnt mean it doesnt exist, right? isnt that a fundamental rule in research? biggrin.gif
dude, I'm intrigued how inefficient is the Malaysian way in its quest to be one of the top education hub.

Publication homepage is maintained by the lecturer, NOT by the IT staff. See the lecturers at overseas:

Japan: Japan publication list
UK:
Singapore: Singapore publication list
Australia: Australia publication list

and Malaysia: malaysia publication list

azarimy, do compare the others as well and be prepared to LYAO. haha... ranking system in Malaysia is NOT online yet. LMAO.

Singapore: Ranking in Singapore
Australia: Ranking in Australia

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 06:36 AM
TSpinkdevil88
post Mar 1 2010, 06:39 AM

176 posts

Check this link for other lecturer's profile.

http://umexpert.um.edu.my/cv_prof.php
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 06:40 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Mar 1 2010, 06:35 AM)
Cool down guys. Let's see what do I have here.

Chong Kwai Fatt's profile and all his publication list. He is a very famous tax lecturer and accounting students in Malaysia will know him as his text is used as the main text in our courses. Very impressive profile!!!
http://umexpert.um.edu.my/papar_cv.php?id=AAAJxnAAQAAAGEgAAC
Yeah, impressive, but in Malaysia only. All I see are publications in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Nan Yang Siang Pau. to be honest, I wonder how difficult it is to publish there. Please compare him with the lectures that I suggested and you know how well the others perform at overseas.

I'm NOT bragging here. I'm NOT superior. But, I'm telling the fact that our lecturers are mostly jaguh kampung. At overseas, most have NO standing at all.

UK:

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 06:40 AM
TSpinkdevil88
post Mar 1 2010, 06:51 AM

176 posts

Someone is expecting wall street journal to publish something on Malaysian Tax!
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 06:55 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Mar 1 2010, 06:51 AM)
Someone is expecting wall street journal to publish something on Malaysian Tax!
You got me wrong. Malaysian tax is published in Malaysia. New findings that could tackle the tax issues at large are published at overseas.

I put it that you are giving lame excuse to avoid publishing at top tier international conferences and journals.

Read the Japanese publication site, there is a section on Research Community Paper:

Japan Publication List

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 06:57 AM
azarimy
post Mar 1 2010, 06:59 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(PhDExpert @ Feb 28 2010, 10:35 PM)
dude, I'm intrigued how inefficient is the Malaysian way in its quest to be one of the top education hub.

Publication homepage is maintained by the lecturer, NOT by the IT staff. See the lecturers at overseas:

UK:

and Malaysia: malaysia publication list

azarimy, do compare the others as well and be prepared to LYAO. haha... ranking system in Malaysia is NOT online yet. LMAO.

Singapore: Ranking in Singapore
Australia: Ranking in Australia
u are comparing online facilities now? not sure i wanna get into this...

like i said, ours are maintained by central IT staff. i myself dont have access to my own page to update my misspelled name.

but here's a suggestion. since u've already got a number of international publications, what's stopping u from joining malaysian universities?
TSpinkdevil88
post Mar 1 2010, 09:30 AM

176 posts

http://staff.utar.edu.my/eweht/

http://staff.utar.edu.my/gohyk/

Look at a few more profiles i have found here. We have professors from MIT and Imperial College currently serving in Malaysia and they don't complain a thing about discrimination, salary and other stuff.
PRiNCe_cHaRM
post Mar 1 2010, 10:11 AM

Can someone evaluate?

This post has been edited by PRiNCe_cHaRM: Mar 1 2010, 10:12 AM
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 10:13 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Mar 1 2010, 09:30 AM)

Look at a few more profiles i have found here. We have professors from MIT and Imperial College currently serving in Malaysia and they don't complain a thing about discrimination, salary and other stuff.
For Prof. Ewe Hong Tat, I'm NOT qualified to evaluate as he is much more experience than I am. I suppose he is 15 years my senior.

For Dr. Goh Yong Kheng, he is about 5 years my senior, so I'll evaluate his achievement. I'm intrigued he is a deputy dean at this young age, probably at 34 years old (I'm 29 years old).

Firstly, he obtained a scholarship from UK to pursue PhD. His scholarship "ORS (Oversea Research Students Awards), 2001-2003, by Universities UK for studying PhD at Imperial College London" was sponsored by the UK government to cover the DIFFERENCE between UK student and Overseas student tuition fees, that's about 6,000 quid per annum. Thus, Dr. Goh either covered his living expenses and UK student tuition fees (up to 10,000 quid per annum) himself, or he worked as tutor, research assistant, waiter, or salesman to support himself while in UK. He indeed had struggled a lot in UK.

Secondly, I evaluate his publications. There are 7 peer-reviewed publications (excluding PhD thesis). he has 5 journals and 3 conference research papers) and the publication avenues are as follows:

New J. Phys. 4, 81.1-81.9 (2002), 5-year Impact Factor = 3.544) = Excellent
Granular Matter, 6, 39-46, (2004), (refereed) 5-year Impact Factor = 1.618) = Excellent
Computational Science - ICCS2004, Ranked A by Australia = Excellent
ERAD 2004, vol. 2, 35-40, 6 pages, (2004). Acceptance rate <20% = Excellent
NHESS 5-year Impact Factor = 1.345) = Good
J. of Sci. & Tech. in the Tropics, vol. 1, no. 1, page 131 – 134, (2005)
Very Poor because First volume and First edition
Nat. Hazards Earth Syst. Sci., vol. 6, 285 – 291, (2006) 5-year Impact Factor = 1.345) = Good

Based on the evaluation, he has 4 good journals and 2 good conferences publications, all international. Those are top-tier publications. Although the quantity is low, but the quality is excellent. Having said that, as a deputy dean, he should have much more good publications, rather than merely six.

Compared to UK and Singapore, his achievement is rather low at this age and his position as a vice dean.

But in Malaysia, he is one of the top achievers. If you compared to the entire Computer Science department in USM, he is the top. You can compare with USM and Dr. Goh publication impak factor is more than anyone in the entire USM:

USM publication list

All in all, he is someone I salute lah... as his good publications are more than mine tongue.gif. But, we have a 5-year age gap. And, the flip side is he NEVER publish after his PhD graduation. What happens to him? He has stopped publishing since 2006. Slacker? Or the Malaysian Malas culture?

Currently, I have 2 good journals and 3 good conferences publications, and this is enough for me to get good position in UK and Japan.

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 10:44 AM
gloomberg
post Mar 1 2010, 11:31 AM

510 posts

I would need to agree on PhDExpert on this.
Being realistic, look at the job market. Would you hire a local grad or foreign grad, ceteris paribus (same qualification, experience, etc)? Needless to say, foreign grad would get the upper hand? Why? Well, the are too many reasons for that.

Malaysia is now lacking of a high quality human capital (well, u guys should know why), so paying a bit more for ppl such as PhDExpert is totally fine. Considering that the quality of education in our country is below par, hiring one that is good would entail better remuneration, and this is be practiced if we want to our country to improve. Well, face the reality, who would want to work for you, if the pay's low? Unless there's sth in it for them, for example research funds and etc.
jchong
post Mar 1 2010, 11:38 AM

5,989 posts

PhDExpert, I have read your various posts and your comments about the local higher learning environment.

It is commendable that you're thinking of teaching locally but I do think you must prepare yourself for the culture shock. Yes, you are dismayed at the situation here regarding publication by lecturers, you want to work in a top flight uni environment and get your intellectual challenge, etc. Unfortunately, many places in Malaysia are not there yet. Academia in Malaysia is still a long way off from the overseas examples you quoted. It is changing though (albeit too slowly in my opinion). Anyway, the point is that the situation in Malaysia needs to be improved, but at the moment it is what it is. You will need to adapt to it otherwise you will be quite disappointed and eventually quit and teach overseas.
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 11:44 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Mar 1 2010, 11:31 AM)
I would need to agree on PhDExpert on this.
Being realistic, look at the job market. Would you hire a local grad or foreign grad, ceteris paribus (same qualification, experience, etc)? Needless to say, foreign grad would get the upper hand? Why? Well, the are too many reasons for that.

Malaysia is now lacking of a high quality human capital (well, u guys should know why), so paying a bit more for ppl such as PhDExpert is totally fine. Considering that the quality of education in our country is below par, hiring one that is good would entail better remuneration, and this is be practiced if we want to our country to improve. Well, face the reality, who would want to work for you, if the pay's low? Unless there's sth in it for them, for example research funds and etc.
Malaysia population: 27,000,000
Singapore population: 5,000,000
Australia population: 21,000,000

If one compares the high impact publications among these countries, it is appalling that our high impact publications comprised not even 5% of those in the countries with population way less than us!

Wake up! Jaguh Kampung!

attahun
post Mar 1 2010, 11:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Mar 1 2010, 09:30 AM)

i'd just like to say at the end of the day, its doing what you like and getting the means to live on..don't like it? move on..

whats the purpose of getting a PHD? to get better pay? to get recognition? to contribute back to society? go figure.. then u can decide better..

i never liked academics..the brother selling burgers next to my house has no academic achievement but is making more than me and he drives a bigger car, and i'm the engineer.. luckily i love my job..at least for now.. haha..

who knows, i might end up selling burgers one day? now, how to 'kill' the competition? hmm.gif tongue.gif
PhDExpert
post Mar 1 2010, 11:59 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 1 2010, 11:38 AM)
PhDExpert, I have read your various posts and your comments about the local higher learning environment.

It is commendable that you're thinking of teaching locally but I do think you must prepare yourself for the culture shock. Yes, you are dismayed at the situation here regarding publication by lecturers, you want to work in a top flight uni environment and get your intellectual challenge, etc. Unfortunately, many places in Malaysia are not there yet. Academia in Malaysia is still a long way off from the overseas examples you quoted. It is changing though (albeit too slowly in my opinion). Anyway, the point is that the situation in Malaysia needs to be improved, but at the moment it is what it is. You will need to adapt to it otherwise you will be quite disappointed and eventually quit and teach overseas.

Yes, you are right, the culture shock to work in my own country. This is rather amusing. As I have mentioned, starting remuneration of RM6,000-7,000 is absolutely acceptable for me. I could only hope for the best in terms of research funds distribution and promotion. After all, I have been studying at overseas for long, where FAIRNESS and Equal Opportunity are rather commonplace. If you happened to work at overseas before, I'm sure you could feel, deep down, the disappointment to get back to Malaysia only to endure the discrimination and to survive the office politics.

It does NOT matter whether Malaysia is a top notch research and education hub. The bottom line is, be fair and square. To attain this state, the meritocracy system must be transparent. All information that azarimi suggested are yet to be available online, so where is the transparency?

Azarimi stated that lecturer's publications are managed by the IT department. I'm sick of it! I could not find the USM Head of Department's list of publication while she has been working there for many years! Blatant ignorance!

And why non Malays are hired under contract, while Malays are full time lecturers? Why non Malays have to discuss and negotiate during employment, and why not grant them permanent position in the first place?

There are a host of questions!

Added on March 1, 2010, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(attahun @ Mar 1 2010, 11:49 AM)
i'd just like to say at the end of the day, its doing what you like and getting the means to live on..don't like it? move on..

whats the purpose of getting a PHD? to get better pay? to get recognition? to contribute back to society? go figure.. then u can decide better..

i never liked academics..the brother selling burgers next to my house has no academic achievement but is making more than me and he drives a bigger car, and i'm the engineer.. luckily i love my job..at least for now.. haha..

who knows, i might end up selling burgers one day? now, how to 'kill' the competition? hmm.gif  tongue.gif
This is another quote from a typical Malaysian with "Ini Malaysia" mentality. You do what you like.

Oh yeah, Malaysia should stick to this mentality. Then, please don't mention any Apex University. To me, it's syok sendiri. Forget about getting into Ivy League... we do what we like mah... why compare with other Unis?

This post has been edited by PhDExpert: Mar 1 2010, 12:02 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 1 2010, 12:05 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(PhDExpert @ Mar 1 2010, 11:44 AM)
Malaysia population: 27,000,000
Singapore population: 5,000,000
Australia population: 21,000,000

If one compares the high impact publications among these countries, it is appalling that our high impact publications comprised not even 5% of those in the countries with population way less than us!

Wake up! Jaguh Kampung!
For someone with a Ph.D, your thinking sure is simple.

Our education is not comparable to them. Simply put, our education is still very.. undeveloped.
Our economy, is not as dynamic due to bureaucratic red tape, fear of political backlash etc
The better part of our people, will hop to greener pastures should the offer come to them.
As a result of a weak economy, funding for education is low.
Due to the departure of our best minds elsewhere, our education is weak, and so is our economy.

It's a vicious cycle, and not one that's so easily reversed as you hope it would. People are in constant search of a better life, and sad to say, for an academic, that better life lies out of our country (if you look at pay, social support and research ops). It's admirable, yes, that you want to work here. But fact is, the backward, jaguh kampugn culture is already entrenched. If you speak to people in the education field, very few will say they are out to change the world. It's sad, yes, but talking about it in a forum helps how?

You, saying whatever you want in a forum, will not change that.
If you want to change, start with yourself. Why don't you start doing something about it, rather than just talking about your grand plans about changing the country. Talk is cheap.
attahun
post Mar 1 2010, 12:24 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 1 2010, 12:05 PM)
For someone with a Ph.D, your thinking sure is simple.

Our education is not comparable to them. Simply put, our education is still very.. undeveloped.
Our economy, is not as dynamic due to bureaucratic red tape, fear of political backlash etc
The better part of our people, will hop to greener pastures should the offer come to them.
As a result of a weak economy, funding for education is low.
Due to the departure of our best minds elsewhere, our education is weak, and so is our economy.

It's a vicious cycle, and not one that's so easily reversed as you hope it would. People are in constant search of a better life, and sad to say, for an academic, that better life lies out of our country (if you look at pay, social support and research ops). It's admirable, yes, that you want to work here. But fact is, the backward, jaguh kampugn culture is already entrenched. If you speak to people in the education field, very few will say they are out to change the world. It's sad, yes, but talking about it in a forum helps how?

You, saying whatever you want in a forum, will not change that.
If you want to change, start with yourself. Why don't you start doing something about it, rather than just talking about your grand plans about changing the country. Talk is cheap.
haha..nice..
epic.engineer
post Mar 1 2010, 12:24 PM

13 posts

It's almost starting to sound like you're hoping that someone in this forum to PM you with an offer of RM6k to RM7k biggrin.gif

I find it odd that someone as "exposed" as you would have culture shock working here. I studied overseas as well, top 5 uni in the world for my field. I'm doing well. Sure i don't have a phd and i haven't published any fancy papers (i have reasons for that biggrin.gif). But those who are exposed to me will instantly recognize me as outstanding. It's me, not my papers. I want change too. So i will make that change. Humans cannot stop me, and they know it.

For someone who sounds as internally focused as you are, you're so dependent on action and recognition from others. I find that slightly amusing.

This post has been edited by epic.engineer: Mar 1 2010, 12:28 PM

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:20 PM