Lecturer's salary and prospects in Malaysia

futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 03:29 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 21 2010, 07:29 PM)
Not sure about USM.  However, the public uni which offered me an assoc prof is University Malaya.  They sent me a KPI and I got the associate professor post as I met the requirement of having at least 8 ISI ranked papers (I have around 15 ISI papers).  Professor (B) needs 25 ISI papers minimum while Professor (A) needs 35 minimum.  This is not including others such as phd students supervised, fundings etc.  But I was offered Rm7800 as mentioned in earlier posting (Basic 5800 allowances 2000).  Public universities' pay is quite fixed but USM being APEX I am not sure.  Anyway, this is no big secret, the pay are listed  in http://www.jobstreet.com.ph/jobs/2008/12/d...756389.htm?fr=J  for example.  ABout 1 - 2 months ago UM also advertised on The Star and they list out the salary.  Anyway, with your profile, try foreign universities instead of Malaysia, or try private unis such as Monash and Nottingham!
8 ISI ranked JOURNALS (you mentioned papers)? There are highly ranked and lowly ranked ISI journals, how do you differentiate among themselves? For instance, some ISI ranked journals are ranked at level A, B and C by Australian standard, there are good and bad journals in ISI ranked journals you know?

How about conference papers? Highly ranked conference papers have acceptance rate <15%, how do you count that?

SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 07:32 AM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 03:29 AM)
8 ISI ranked JOURNALS (you mentioned papers)? There are highly ranked and lowly ranked ISI journals, how do you differentiate among themselves? For instance, some ISI ranked journals are ranked at level A, B and C by Australian standard, there are good and bad journals in ISI ranked journals you know?

How about conference papers? Highly ranked conference papers have acceptance rate <15%, how do you count that?
i think he meant highly ranked ISI journal but forgot to type in the word. If not why would he mention he have 15 smile.gif
dreamer101
post Apr 22 2010, 07:47 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Mar 5 2010, 09:20 AM)
Have you thought of what can we do to change this country?? Instead of thinking what the country can give you, please think of what can you give the country.
pinkdevil88,

How does helping RACIST ORGANIZATION discriminates its own citizens help the COUNTRY?? If YOU really CARE about the COUNTRY, you would do what you can to bring down THOSE organizations instead of HELPING to keep it alive.

I KNOW what I can do to change this country. I am boycotting ALL RACIST ORGANIZATIONS in Malaysia as much as possible.

If you THINK that you can get a better life by coming back, go right ahead. But, stop giving us this kind of BS.

I am much older than YOU. I have plenty of classmates that came back and tried to come back over the past 10 to 20 years. I can tell you plenty of sad stories on how they are treated.

I have a classmate that was an investment banker in UK. Now, he works as an accountant in his brother's factory earning 2K per month. But, people in my batch can be semi-retired in Malaysia since many of us worked in oversea for 10+ years. YOU do not have that option.

Dreamer

P.S.: My STANDARD advice for people is to work at oversea for 5 years and save what you can. Then, if you come back and things does not work out, you could

A) Settle for lower pay since you have savings to pay for house and car.

B) Move back out of Malaysia again.

Do not burn your bridges.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 22 2010, 08:37 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 08:29 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 07:32 AM)
i think he meant highly ranked ISI journal but forgot to type in the word. If not why would he mention he have 15 smile.gif
What do you mean by HIGHly ranked? If impact factor below 1 is HIGH, I'm utterly speechless.

In Australia, High means grade A journal articles. I have journal articles with impact factors 3.00 and above, which are among the highest in my field. It's published by IEEE in US, rather than those unknown publisher like Taylor Francis or River or Clown!

Here's the journal ranking in Australia:
http://core.edu.au/index.php/categories/journals/12

An article with impact factor 3.0 is many times better than those below 1.0. Why? High impact factor journals are
1. Reviewed by Prof. or Academicians in US where PhD takes 5 years, rather than 3 years in other countries.
2. Have to go through multiple stages of reviews. For my articles, at TWO stages and it takes more than one year from first submission to final publication.
3. Highly regarded in US, UK, HK, Singapore, Australia, Japan and NZ. NOT Jaguh Kampung, the best in Malaysia!

In Singapore, the PhD graduation requirement is to publish at least ONE high impact journal. It's NOT quantity that matters, but QUALITY!

Here's the journal ranking in Singapore:
http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~wang06/SoC%20J...l%20Ranking.htm

We researchers know how to judge the quality of the publications, Malaysian lecturers could deceive the parents and students, but don't pray pray with us at overseas though.

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 08:33 AM
achong88
post Apr 22 2010, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 08:29 AM)
What do you mean by HIGHly ranked? If impact factor below 1 is HIGH, I'm utterly speechless.

In Australia, High means grade A journal articles. I have journal articles with impact factors 3.00 and above, which are among the highest in my field. It's published by IEEE in US, rather than those unknown publisher like Taylor Francis or River or Clown!

Here's the journal ranking in Australia:
http://core.edu.au/index.php/categories/journals/12

An article with impact factor 3.0 is many times better than those below 1.0. Why? High impact factor journals are
1. Reviewed by Prof. or Academicians in US where PhD takes 5 years, rather than 3 years in other countries.
2. Have to go through multiple stages of reviews. For my articles, at TWO stages and it takes more than one year from first submission to final publication.
3. Highly regarded in US, UK, HK, Singapore, Australia, Japan and NZ. NOT Jaguh Kampung, the best in Malaysia!

In Singapore, the PhD graduation requirement is to publish at least ONE high impact journal. It's NOT quantity that matters, but QUALITY!

Here's the journal ranking in Singapore:
http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~wang06/SoC%20J...l%20Ranking.htm

We researchers know how to judge the quality of the publications, Malaysian lecturers could deceive the parents and students, but don't pray pray with us at overseas though.

futuristicwiz
Hi. Please note that impact factor classification of high and low depends on the field as well. International Journal of Production Economics (IJPE) has an impact factor of more than 2.0 but less than 3 but it is considered one of the top journal in its field. Yes, I am referring to ranked A or B journals. I did saw a news article from the UM VC saying they are looking at tier 1 journals, and the tier is based on the field, e.g. go to web of science, check the field of specialization, and look at the top whatever percent to rank the tier 1 journal in that field. But I stand corrected.

Anyway, an article that takes more than a year to review does shows that the reviewers are stringent, but hardly makes the journal's practise as being good as the turnaround time is too low. For IT field, if a paper takes a year to review, another year to get published, the area might be outdated. I am not trying to start off with a debate or something. This is my opinion and as an academician, I am sure some will agree or disagree with me. Anyhow, I think Malaysian universities looking at ISI is already a start. Malaysia is a developing country, we are not US, UK, HK, Australia etc. How do we be like that if we don't start?

If the reply is meant to check if my articles are all in impact factor of less than 1, then is not true. But I don't think I need to list all my publications here smile.gif And of course, I agree that we should also try getting work experience in overseas which is why I am leaving to HK Uni in a few months' time. Hope that in a few years time, I can gain better research experience and contrinute to Malaysia.

We should not be just criticizing all the time. E.g. Someone wins an olympic medal, then we just say so what, in US, so many gold medals.. etc. Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start whereby one day we might be classify as on par with unis in countries such as US, UK etc.

dreamer101
post Apr 22 2010, 11:01 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 22 2010, 10:07 AM)

Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start whereby one day we might be classify as on par with unis in countries such as US, UK etc.

achong88,

Or, be STUPID. Unless and until NEP is abolished, it will continue to slide down to IRRELEVANCE..

It has been going down for the past 30+ years while the neighboring countries are improving. Let's NOT even talk about USA and UK. We are not keeping up with Thailand and Indonesia.

<<Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start >>

Why bother when they keep paying ex-pat salary to FOREIGNER while rejecting qualified Malaysians??

Why bother when the promotion is still based on skin color??

Dreamer

futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 01:14 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 22 2010, 10:07 AM)
Hi.  Please note that impact factor classification of high and low depends on the field as well.  International Journal of Production Economics (IJPE) has an impact factor of more than 2.0 but less than 3 but it is considered one of the top journal in its field.  Yes, I am referring to ranked A or B journals.  I did saw a news article from the UM VC saying they are looking at tier 1 journals, and the tier is based on the field, e.g. go to web of science, check the field of specialization, and look at the top whatever percent to rank the tier 1 journal in that field.  But I stand corrected. 

Anyway, an article that takes more than a year to review does shows that the reviewers are stringent, but hardly makes the journal's practise as being good as the turnaround time is too low.  For IT field, if a paper takes a year to review, another year to get published, the area might be outdated.  I am not trying to start off with a debate or something. This is my opinion and as an academician, I am sure some will agree or disagree with me. Anyhow, I think Malaysian universities looking at ISI is already a start.  Malaysia is a developing country, we are not US, UK, HK, Australia etc.  How do we be like that if we don't start? 

If the reply is meant to check if my articles are all in impact factor of less than 1, then is not true.  But I don't think I need to list all my publications here smile.gif  And of course, I agree that we should also try getting work experience in overseas which is why I am leaving to HK Uni in a few months' time.  Hope that in a few years time, I can gain better research experience and contrinute to Malaysia.

We should not be just criticizing all the time.  E.g. Someone wins an olympic medal, then we just say so what, in US, so many gold medals.. etc.  Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start whereby one day we might be classify as on par with unis in countries such as US, UK etc.
achong88, I bet to differ. Let me share my observation:

1. Malaysian universities spend about RM200,000 per year sending their BUMIPUTRA staff to do PhD at overseas. NON-BUMIPUTRA staff are only considered in rare cases.

2. If you are a staff in a public university with a Master degree, chances are you remain as a tutor, the BUMIPUTRA students that you taught several years ago becomes lecturer with a PhD degree from overseas sponsored by the university. Are you willing to take this???

3. Hence, promotion are only given to BUMIPUTRA. Non-Bumiputras are only promoted in rare cases.

4. What I mentioned above are RULE OF THUMB, the unspoken events happening in public universities although non-Bumi are NOT DISCRIMINATED as according to the Universities.

Don't even compare Malaysia with US, not even our close neighbour in Singapore. Far be it for us to achieve their accomplishment. We are just syok sendiri! Look at the high impact journals from Singapore yourself please.

Added on April 22, 2010, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 11:01 AM)
achong88,

Or, be STUPID.  Unless and until NEP is abolished, it will continue to slide down to IRRELEVANCE..

It has been going down for the past 30+ years while the neighboring countries are improving.  Let's NOT even talk about USA and UK.  We are not keeping up with Thailand and Indonesia.

<<Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start >>

Why bother when they keep paying ex-pat salary to FOREIGNER while rejecting qualified Malaysians??

Why bother when the promotion is still based on skin color??

Dreamer
Dreamer,

What make you think that NEP is the root cause? Nah... there are too many unspoken rules where the Vice Chancellor, Dean and Head of Department are biased against Non-Bumi. I have seen this myself. NEP abolished or stay are the same!

Malaysia has been getting worst since early 2000. We are heading nowhere.

This is the reason why I choose to remain overseas, an dhope to move to Singapore someday.

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 01:25 PM
dreamer101
post Apr 22 2010, 01:31 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 01:14 PM)

Added on April 22, 2010, 1:16 pm

Dreamer,

What make you think that NEP is the root cause? Nah... there are too many unspoken rules where the Vice Chancellor, Dean and Head of Department are biased against Non-Bumi. I have seen this myself. NEP abolished or stay are the same! 

Malaysia has been getting worst since early 2000. We are heading nowhere.

This is the reason why I choose to remain overseas, an dhope to move to Singapore someday.
futuristicwiz,

<<What make you think that NEP is the root cause?>>

You are not OLD ENOUGH to know. You do not know what IPTA was before NEP. It was multi-racial and multi-cultural.

A) Right after NEP, UM was told to pass BUMI engineering student regardless of their level.

B) Over the past 30+ years, large number of non-BUMI lecturers and professors were FORCED OUT of IPTA.

My family have been in Klang for 150+ years. We see it all.

Dreamer

futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 01:38 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 01:31 PM)
futuristicwiz,

<<What make you think that NEP is the root cause?>>

You are not OLD ENOUGH to know.  You do not know what IPTA was before NEP.  It was multi-racial and multi-cultural.

A) Right after NEP, UM was told to pass BUMI engineering student regardless of their level.

B) Over the past 30+ years, large number of non-BUMI lecturers and professors were FORCED OUT of IPTA.

My family have been in Klang for 150+ years.  We see it all.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

Nowadays, the baton is passed among the Bumis who benefit the Bumis. NEP is irrelevant anymore. Having said that, even private universities like Universiti Teknologi Petronas and Universiti Tenaga have their own set of unspoken "NEP" to benefit the Bumis through sponsoring them to do PhD at overseas!

My CGPA at Uni Malaya was close to perfect and first class, however, I was applying for a PhD scholarships, I was rejected because they only sponsor through JPA that has been racial biased.

There are too many unspoken "NEP". Like it or not, you gotta suck it up and move on if you are in MALAYsia.

I can't wait to move to Singapore next time! I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias.

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 01:41 PM
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM

1,605 posts

Yeah!
Im from USM but there are alot of non bumis doing their masters and phd and being offred research officer post. How do u explain this? Maybe its only University Malaya culture but does not apply to all unis? There are a few non bumi lecturers and proffesors as well wink.gif
likimikuku
post Apr 22 2010, 01:50 PM

564 posts

I will ask my question again when you guys cool down.
dreamer101
post Apr 22 2010, 03:12 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 01:38 PM)
Dreamer,

Nowadays, the baton is passed among the Bumis who benefit the Bumis. NEP is irrelevant anymore. Having said that, even private universities like Universiti Teknologi Petronas and Universiti Tenaga have their own set of unspoken "NEP" to benefit the Bumis through sponsoring them to do PhD at overseas!

My CGPA at Uni Malaya was close to perfect and first class, however, I was applying for a PhD scholarships, I was rejected because they only sponsor through JPA that has been racial biased.

There are too many unspoken "NEP". Like it or not, you gotta suck it up and move on if you are in MALAYsia.

I can't wait to move to Singapore next time! I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias.

futuristicwiz
futuristicwiz,

<<I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias>>

Why feel sorry for me??

Success is the BEST revenge!!

We are all doing well because of NEP. We are a lot stronger and better. My family are spread all over the world. We no longer dependent on any single country for survival. 2/3 of my classmates are oversea.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 22 2010, 03:14 PM
highwind85
post Apr 22 2010, 03:16 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM)
Yeah!
Im from USM but there are alot of non bumis doing their masters and phd and being offred research officer post. How do u explain this? Maybe its only University Malaya culture but does not apply to all unis? There are a few non bumi lecturers and proffesors as well wink.gif
Maybe some of those ROs are employed on a contract basis...It is quite difficult to get a permanent position..
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 03:19 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM)
Yeah!
f4tE,

Don't you know the university is sponsoring Bumis to do PhD overseas? For each sponsorship, it covers:

1. Salary as lecturer in Malaysia (e.g. RM5,000 per month)
2. Allowance at overseas (e.g. Australian Dollar $2,000 per month)
3. If bringing family to overseas, extra allowance is about AUS$500 per month

This is for 3 years with possible extension of 6 months.

Research officer in USM earns RM2,000 per month or less, right?

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 03:20 PM
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 03:44 PM

1,605 posts

yup ROs r all contract

yup i know they are sponsoring student for phd but in the application it didnt say only bumis allow to apply. everyone is welcome smile.gif

about the salary i dunno how u got them tongue.gif

if true i also wanna apply lo n bring alll my family lol
amiee
post Apr 22 2010, 03:45 PM

24 posts

Have you thought of what can we do to change this country?? Instead of thinking what the country can give you, please think of what can you give the country.

Quote:
" I'm 29 years old. At this age, I gotta think more about my own future.

As for "what can you give the country", I might consider that 20 years later lah...

What do you expect from me? I'm just a small fry. In Malaysia, most people looks at your qualification and experience (aka age/seniority) before they listen to you!"

PhDExpert, just out of curiosity, when you said it that way, what does it take then for you to listen to others?
highwind85
post Apr 22 2010, 06:45 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 03:44 PM)
yup ROs r all contract

yup i know they are sponsoring student for phd but in the application it didnt say only bumis allow to apply. everyone is welcome smile.gif

about the salary i dunno how u got them tongue.gif

if true i also wanna apply lo n bring alll my family lol
That's the problem...They seldom take in non-bumi ROs...Research institutes in universities such as MARDI (UPM) and MGI (UKM) do have permanent ROs...but they are employed by SPA and not the university. When you are on contract, you'll have lower salary, lesser employee benefits and won't know when your boss wanna terminate your service as your salary comes from research grant. And If you decide to convert to permanent position, you'll have to go thru SPA interview. 2 of my seniors who worked as ROs attended such interview but got rejected on the spot...not even put in the backup list..Now one of them is working with sime darby and will be sponsoring her PhD studies soon..
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 06:54 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 03:12 PM)
futuristicwiz,

<<I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias>>

Why feel sorry for me??

Success is the BEST revenge!!

We are all doing well because of NEP.  We are a lot stronger and better.  My family are spread all over the world.  We no longer dependent on any single country for survival.  2/3 of my classmates are oversea.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

NEP is supposed to help the poor Bumis. Using it against academicians is a form of abuse. Being selective on certain race to pursue PhD at overseas is a clear form of human right violation. I have seen this countless times! Even my friend was complaining. He is a non-Bumi and was a tutor with a Masters degree teaching an undergraduate Bumi student. The university then sponsor the student to do Masters, and subsequently PhD. Few years later, my friend remained as tutor, while his own student was PhD holder and holding higher position.

Such an unfairness MUST BE CONDEMNED! Blatant unfairness!

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 06:57 PM
dreamer101
post Apr 22 2010, 08:33 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 06:54 PM)
Dreamer,

NEP is supposed to help the poor Bumis. Using it against academicians is a form of abuse. Being selective on certain race to pursue PhD at overseas is a clear form of human right violation. I have seen this countless times! Even my friend was complaining. He is a non-Bumi and was a tutor with a Masters degree teaching an undergraduate Bumi student. The university then sponsor the student to do Masters, and subsequently PhD. Few years later, my friend remained as tutor, while his own student was PhD holder and holding higher position.

Such an unfairness MUST BE CONDEMNED! Blatant unfairness! 

futuristicwiz
futuristicwiz,

<<Being selective on certain race to pursue PhD at overseas is a clear form of human right violation.>>

That is nothing compare to FORCING people out until it is 90+% over the past 30+ years. Then, people are FORCED to migrate in order to find a job and survive. Especially on on specialized government control industry.

<<Such an unfairness MUST BE CONDEMNED! Blatant unfairness! >>

We do not talk. We act. We vote with our money and our feet.

1) We DO NOT INVEST on any GLC or GLIC.

2) We DO NOT INVEST in Malaysia

3) We DO NOT do business with any GLC or GLIC as much as possible.

4) We boycott all 90+% business

5) We sponsor our children and relatives to go oversea.

Seriously, I do not feel sorry for non-bumi. It has been 30+ years. Those that cannot adapt would had died long long ago.

I feel sorry for those people that are protected. OIL MONEY is running out. Their days of reckoning are here within the next 5 years. Imagine people that do not have to work and compete for 30+ years. Then, their source of income is gone. Can you imagine what will happen to them??

I seen a few batches that VSSed from GLC. They had NEVER work before. I feel sorry for them. But, they DESERVE the punishment. None of us can escape the punishment from God / Karma. We all got what we deserved eventually. Justice will be served.

Dreamer
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 08:36 PM

1,605 posts

But not all Bumis are like what u said mr dreamer. Current trend, even the Bumis are aware and they are not supporting the government u mention anymore. Thtas what has been happening in the past but u need to see what will happen in the future. smile.gif

f4tE

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:57 AM