post Feb 27 2010, 12:14 AM

1,605 posts

Just look at your lecturer and u get part of the answer
SUSf4tE
post Feb 27 2010, 12:34 AM

1,605 posts

Oh i mean the flexible hrs and stuff.. about the salary how much is alot to u? different ppl will feel differently.. some need >10k and they will say alot some only need 6k
SUSf4tE
post Feb 27 2010, 10:44 AM

1,605 posts

PhDExpert.. I respect you for thinking about our own country and wanting to contribute back. But one point is please dont compare overseas salary with malaysian ringgit. Its not fair to the country.

1. Malaysia will definitely recognise your achievements with all the gold medalist and stuff that you have when u go for interview. But atfer that its your future achievements which is being considered.

2. I think its around rm5-6k which is way less than UK or watever country but is a comfortable starting salary to live in Malaysia. If you have so much confidence in your own ability then Im sure you will reach prof status in no time and earn more than rm10k or possibly 20k.

3. Not sure lol
SUSf4tE
post Feb 27 2010, 06:00 PM

1,605 posts

Yes i think science people like us in this forum need to group up and form our own discussion... For our own sake smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Feb 28 2010, 09:57 AM

1,605 posts

IPTS sounds good but I think the benefit of being government servant is better right Dr Azarimy.. because IPTA get more recognition compared to IPTS..thats what i think..
SUSf4tE
post Feb 28 2010, 08:10 PM

1,605 posts

PhdExpert seems to be overrun. I think he wont be visiting this thread again. Just in case he does, i have a neutral comment for him tongue.gif

Please stop comparing overseas with malaysia. We are not overseas. I already said it is not fair to compare between us and other country. You keep saying that you have gold medal and whatever stuff and seems to be very proud of that. I respect you for being able to achieve that as I know that it is not something anyone can achieve. If you have the confidence, do contribute to our country by being the person who will bring Malaysia to the so called top tier conferences. If everybody starts to compare and go overseas, malaysia will not stand a chance to advance. SOmebody has to initiate the process for better future

My 1 sen tongue.gif

SUSf4tE
post Mar 1 2010, 12:29 PM

1,605 posts

IPTA have so many bad things as said by PhdExpert. How about IPTS?

You only need Masters degree to work in IPTS. But if I dont plan in obtaining any phd degree will I get the chance for future promotion in IPTS or will my career progress be stagnant?
SUSf4tE
post Mar 1 2010, 03:41 PM

1,605 posts

Its not wrong to compare between countries. In fact its a good practice. That way we know how far behind we are. But Malaysia is improving its standards. Its not fair to compare between malaysia and American or Japan. Its better to compare between similar countries or maybe countries less advance than America or Japan. Maybe compare to TAiwan or something we can comprehend.
SUSf4tE
post Apr 21 2010, 03:16 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 21 2010, 02:07 PM)
Hi, I  hold a Phd and have been working in IPTS for 7 years.  I am in my early 30s and currently working as an associate professor while holding some admin position in the college as well.  I can tell you the pay is ok but not comparable to industry.  I take in about RM8000 a month and that is including RM1k allowance for my administrative position.  In terms of public university, i was offered as an associate professor as well and the pay is not that good, overall is RM7800 (Basic = RM5800 Allowances = RM2000).  Anyway, although you have an MSC from LSE, if you were to join private UCs or colleges, without a PhD, the most you can get is probably around 4K plus and not more than 5K.  This is a high end pay for a lecturer.  Most established private universities or universities college would not offer you a senior lecturer post as you will need to have some good publications, teaching experiencce etc.  For Monash in Malaysia, a lecturer will get you Rm7k plus while some senior lecturers get RM8-9k.  But again, you need to have good academic records (i.e. publications, research etc). 

If you apply to UTAR, you might get less than 4k (probably 3 plus).  So I would say try do a PhD in the UK before coming back to Malaysia to lecture if you want a good pay.  Thanks.
thanks very informative. smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Apr 21 2010, 08:34 PM

1,605 posts

will universty malaya salary be different from USM because its located in KL so higher living cost?
SUSf4tE
post Apr 21 2010, 09:21 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Apr 21 2010, 08:54 PM)
For a PhD (to be a full fledge lecturer in PHLI/IPTA) grad, our lecturer salary is a peanut. Better find some other jobs.
Starting rm7k+ is peanuts? How much do u earn?
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 07:32 AM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(futuristicwiz @ Apr 22 2010, 03:29 AM)
8 ISI ranked JOURNALS (you mentioned papers)? There are highly ranked and lowly ranked ISI journals, how do you differentiate among themselves? For instance, some ISI ranked journals are ranked at level A, B and C by Australian standard, there are good and bad journals in ISI ranked journals you know?

How about conference papers? Highly ranked conference papers have acceptance rate <15%, how do you count that?
i think he meant highly ranked ISI journal but forgot to type in the word. If not why would he mention he have 15 smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM

1,605 posts

Yeah!
Im from USM but there are alot of non bumis doing their masters and phd and being offred research officer post. How do u explain this? Maybe its only University Malaya culture but does not apply to all unis? There are a few non bumi lecturers and proffesors as well wink.gif
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 03:44 PM

1,605 posts

yup ROs r all contract

yup i know they are sponsoring student for phd but in the application it didnt say only bumis allow to apply. everyone is welcome smile.gif

about the salary i dunno how u got them tongue.gif

if true i also wanna apply lo n bring alll my family lol
SUSf4tE
post Apr 22 2010, 08:36 PM

1,605 posts

But not all Bumis are like what u said mr dreamer. Current trend, even the Bumis are aware and they are not supporting the government u mention anymore. Thtas what has been happening in the past but u need to see what will happen in the future. smile.gif

f4tE
SUSf4tE
post Apr 24 2010, 12:10 AM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(mazda626 @ Apr 24 2010, 12:08 AM)
Hi guys, i am newbie in this tread.

What the potential for PhD holder in private sectors ? In Malaysia...

Thanks alot.
Hi.

Depends on what kind of phd you are talking about. If its engineering can get rm10k smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Apr 24 2010, 10:39 PM

1,605 posts

dreamer, i respect your knowledge but why do u whine about malaysia while being a malaysian yourself? its getting boring
SUSf4tE
post Apr 24 2010, 11:04 PM

1,605 posts

oh i see your point dreamer. smile.gif

0.0303sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:57 AM