Lecturer's salary and prospects in Malaysia

futuristicwiz
post Apr 21 2010, 03:35 PM

234 posts

Hello, I'm 31 years old, and am a Engineering PhD holder. I got Bachelor (Uni Malaya), Masters (NUS), PhD (Uni Tech. Sydney) and PostDoc (Uni Tokyo).

May I know what's salary will I expect? Thanks!

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 21 2010, 03:36 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 03:29 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 21 2010, 07:29 PM)
Not sure about USM.  However, the public uni which offered me an assoc prof is University Malaya.  They sent me a KPI and I got the associate professor post as I met the requirement of having at least 8 ISI ranked papers (I have around 15 ISI papers).  Professor (B) needs 25 ISI papers minimum while Professor (A) needs 35 minimum.  This is not including others such as phd students supervised, fundings etc.  But I was offered Rm7800 as mentioned in earlier posting (Basic 5800 allowances 2000).  Public universities' pay is quite fixed but USM being APEX I am not sure.  Anyway, this is no big secret, the pay are listed  in http://www.jobstreet.com.ph/jobs/2008/12/d...756389.htm?fr=J  for example.  ABout 1 - 2 months ago UM also advertised on The Star and they list out the salary.  Anyway, with your profile, try foreign universities instead of Malaysia, or try private unis such as Monash and Nottingham!
8 ISI ranked JOURNALS (you mentioned papers)? There are highly ranked and lowly ranked ISI journals, how do you differentiate among themselves? For instance, some ISI ranked journals are ranked at level A, B and C by Australian standard, there are good and bad journals in ISI ranked journals you know?

How about conference papers? Highly ranked conference papers have acceptance rate <15%, how do you count that?

futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 08:29 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 07:32 AM)
i think he meant highly ranked ISI journal but forgot to type in the word. If not why would he mention he have 15 smile.gif
What do you mean by HIGHly ranked? If impact factor below 1 is HIGH, I'm utterly speechless.

In Australia, High means grade A journal articles. I have journal articles with impact factors 3.00 and above, which are among the highest in my field. It's published by IEEE in US, rather than those unknown publisher like Taylor Francis or River or Clown!

Here's the journal ranking in Australia:
http://core.edu.au/index.php/categories/journals/12

An article with impact factor 3.0 is many times better than those below 1.0. Why? High impact factor journals are
1. Reviewed by Prof. or Academicians in US where PhD takes 5 years, rather than 3 years in other countries.
2. Have to go through multiple stages of reviews. For my articles, at TWO stages and it takes more than one year from first submission to final publication.
3. Highly regarded in US, UK, HK, Singapore, Australia, Japan and NZ. NOT Jaguh Kampung, the best in Malaysia!

In Singapore, the PhD graduation requirement is to publish at least ONE high impact journal. It's NOT quantity that matters, but QUALITY!

Here's the journal ranking in Singapore:
http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~wang06/SoC%20J...l%20Ranking.htm

We researchers know how to judge the quality of the publications, Malaysian lecturers could deceive the parents and students, but don't pray pray with us at overseas though.

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 08:33 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 01:14 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 22 2010, 10:07 AM)
Hi.  Please note that impact factor classification of high and low depends on the field as well.  International Journal of Production Economics (IJPE) has an impact factor of more than 2.0 but less than 3 but it is considered one of the top journal in its field.  Yes, I am referring to ranked A or B journals.  I did saw a news article from the UM VC saying they are looking at tier 1 journals, and the tier is based on the field, e.g. go to web of science, check the field of specialization, and look at the top whatever percent to rank the tier 1 journal in that field.  But I stand corrected. 

Anyway, an article that takes more than a year to review does shows that the reviewers are stringent, but hardly makes the journal's practise as being good as the turnaround time is too low.  For IT field, if a paper takes a year to review, another year to get published, the area might be outdated.  I am not trying to start off with a debate or something. This is my opinion and as an academician, I am sure some will agree or disagree with me. Anyhow, I think Malaysian universities looking at ISI is already a start.  Malaysia is a developing country, we are not US, UK, HK, Australia etc.  How do we be like that if we don't start? 

If the reply is meant to check if my articles are all in impact factor of less than 1, then is not true.  But I don't think I need to list all my publications here smile.gif  And of course, I agree that we should also try getting work experience in overseas which is why I am leaving to HK Uni in a few months' time.  Hope that in a few years time, I can gain better research experience and contrinute to Malaysia.

We should not be just criticizing all the time.  E.g. Someone wins an olympic medal, then we just say so what, in US, so many gold medals.. etc.  Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start whereby one day we might be classify as on par with unis in countries such as US, UK etc.
achong88, I bet to differ. Let me share my observation:

1. Malaysian universities spend about RM200,000 per year sending their BUMIPUTRA staff to do PhD at overseas. NON-BUMIPUTRA staff are only considered in rare cases.

2. If you are a staff in a public university with a Master degree, chances are you remain as a tutor, the BUMIPUTRA students that you taught several years ago becomes lecturer with a PhD degree from overseas sponsored by the university. Are you willing to take this???

3. Hence, promotion are only given to BUMIPUTRA. Non-Bumiputras are only promoted in rare cases.

4. What I mentioned above are RULE OF THUMB, the unspoken events happening in public universities although non-Bumi are NOT DISCRIMINATED as according to the Universities.

Don't even compare Malaysia with US, not even our close neighbour in Singapore. Far be it for us to achieve their accomplishment. We are just syok sendiri! Look at the high impact journals from Singapore yourself please.

Added on April 22, 2010, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 11:01 AM)
achong88,

Or, be STUPID.  Unless and until NEP is abolished, it will continue to slide down to IRRELEVANCE..

It has been going down for the past 30+ years while the neighboring countries are improving.  Let's NOT even talk about USA and UK.  We are not keeping up with Thailand and Indonesia.

<<Be positive, and Malaysian universities looking at ISI is a great start >>

Why bother when they keep paying ex-pat salary to FOREIGNER while rejecting qualified Malaysians??

Why bother when the promotion is still based on skin color??

Dreamer
Dreamer,

What make you think that NEP is the root cause? Nah... there are too many unspoken rules where the Vice Chancellor, Dean and Head of Department are biased against Non-Bumi. I have seen this myself. NEP abolished or stay are the same!

Malaysia has been getting worst since early 2000. We are heading nowhere.

This is the reason why I choose to remain overseas, an dhope to move to Singapore someday.

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 01:25 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 01:38 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 01:31 PM)
futuristicwiz,

<<What make you think that NEP is the root cause?>>

You are not OLD ENOUGH to know.  You do not know what IPTA was before NEP.  It was multi-racial and multi-cultural.

A) Right after NEP, UM was told to pass BUMI engineering student regardless of their level.

B) Over the past 30+ years, large number of non-BUMI lecturers and professors were FORCED OUT of IPTA.

My family have been in Klang for 150+ years.  We see it all.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

Nowadays, the baton is passed among the Bumis who benefit the Bumis. NEP is irrelevant anymore. Having said that, even private universities like Universiti Teknologi Petronas and Universiti Tenaga have their own set of unspoken "NEP" to benefit the Bumis through sponsoring them to do PhD at overseas!

My CGPA at Uni Malaya was close to perfect and first class, however, I was applying for a PhD scholarships, I was rejected because they only sponsor through JPA that has been racial biased.

There are too many unspoken "NEP". Like it or not, you gotta suck it up and move on if you are in MALAYsia.

I can't wait to move to Singapore next time! I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias.

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 01:41 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 03:19 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Apr 22 2010, 01:46 PM)
Yeah!
Im from USM but there are alot of non bumis doing their masters and phd and being offred research officer post. How do u explain this? Maybe its only University Malaya culture but does not apply to all unis? There are a few non bumi lecturers and proffesors as well wink.gif
f4tE,

Don't you know the university is sponsoring Bumis to do PhD overseas? For each sponsorship, it covers:

1. Salary as lecturer in Malaysia (e.g. RM5,000 per month)
2. Allowance at overseas (e.g. Australian Dollar $2,000 per month)
3. If bringing family to overseas, extra allowance is about AUS$500 per month

This is for 3 years with possible extension of 6 months.

Research officer in USM earns RM2,000 per month or less, right?

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 03:20 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 22 2010, 06:54 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 22 2010, 03:12 PM)
futuristicwiz,

<<I felt sorry to Dreamer though due to the racial bias>>

Why feel sorry for me??

Success is the BEST revenge!!

We are all doing well because of NEP.  We are a lot stronger and better.  My family are spread all over the world.  We no longer dependent on any single country for survival.  2/3 of my classmates are oversea.

Dreamer
Dreamer,

NEP is supposed to help the poor Bumis. Using it against academicians is a form of abuse. Being selective on certain race to pursue PhD at overseas is a clear form of human right violation. I have seen this countless times! Even my friend was complaining. He is a non-Bumi and was a tutor with a Masters degree teaching an undergraduate Bumi student. The university then sponsor the student to do Masters, and subsequently PhD. Few years later, my friend remained as tutor, while his own student was PhD holder and holding higher position.

Such an unfairness MUST BE CONDEMNED! Blatant unfairness!

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 22 2010, 06:57 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 24 2010, 04:24 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 23 2010, 08:51 PM)
1. It is so wrong to judge the quality of a journal solely on the IF.
It is so wrong to quash my point without good justifications from your side. It's by international standard researchers use Impact Factor (that covers citation) to justify the qualities of the journals.

You FAIL to understand the problem.

PhD holders MUST understand who is their employer aka the universities. In Australia, NZ, US, Singapore and HK, you are judged based on the ranking and impact factor of your journals and conference publications!

In Malaysia, impact factor is NOT considered well or any at all!

Human nature, you have no experience at overseas. You never know!

2. Do not make generalize statement on lecturers in Malaysia. You seemed to brag alot, saying overqualification in the other thread etc, but you have yet to reply on how many patents have you filled and how many papers have you published.
Who bragged? Read my previous mails to find out when I mentioned about humbleness! I have my own preference to choose not to tell, please respect.

FuturisticWiz

Added on April 24, 2010, 4:38 am
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 23 2010, 11:52 PM)
meebo,

<<I could survive way better than a bunch of well-spoiled kids even if another financial crisis come hit us again in the future.>>

You still do not get IT. 

A) All the financial crisis over the past 30+ years did not affect the 90+% environment.  They were protected by OIL MONEY.  So, the next one will be a lot worse.

B) YOU could survive.  But, what happen when a few hundred K of people that could not SURVIVE plus their families hit the street for the next crisis.  Do you mean that it WILL NOT affect you??  Do you want to be around when that happened??

Dreamer
Dreamer,

You have enlightened us for another time. Thanks. I truly believe we have been cushioned by the oil money thus far in any untoward economic crisis. Now that our oil is depleting in less than a decade, the real disaster is about to happen. Oil money has been contributing to more than 50% of the subsidies to 'help' the people, imagine what would happen when we no longer able to enjoy this: No more luxury scholarship packages to pursue PhDs and Masters at overseas for certain race. This is a good news as this has been clearly racial biased!

So far, the oil money has only benefited a certain race, clearly portrayed by a certain race domination in Petronas.

Our oil reserve in running out in 6 to 8 years from NOW. What's next? VSS? Government adsorbs the employees again? Anyway, we will learn to be stronger smile.gif

But then Dreamer, this might be a bad news as well! The tax payers in the country have been from the minorities. I wonder if the government is going to raise it, so that money could be channel to the non tax payers comprised of a certain race, therefore discrimination does exist in any situations!

FuturisticWiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 24 2010, 04:42 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 24 2010, 10:33 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2010, 10:13 AM)
That is the problem. How do you know IF is not considered WELL or AT ALL in malaysia? Again you are making a generalized statement. You asked people to respect your opinion yet you blatantly discredit all local lecturers with your remark. Humbleness? Point in case, you straight away questioned the quality of the 15 journals of our fellow forumer, and you claimed I have no overseas experience, how would you know? For sure you have your right not to tell, until you keep bragging about how overqualified you are and every lecturers in Malaysia is of lower standard than you.
1. Most Malaysian lecturers never shows a good list of publications in their professional website. Worst still, some never have a personal website. How do you expect the world to evaluate understand their quality at the first place?!

2. "questioned the quality of the 15 journals" is being professional, NOT bragging. People shows their FULL profile on website.

3. You are lack of knowledge what's happening around the world. Impact factor is of paramount importance, and yet you quashed my point at the first place without sound justification!

4. Read the comments from my previous mail below:
"Being a top PhD, it is only recognized regionally." Sorry, I don't agree at all. You'll understand if you are a PhD holder yourself. There is NO top PhD, but many second rated PhD holders in Malaysia. As a researcher, one must be humble and understand that research that could produce top tier publications (can't find in Malaysia) are all equally good. You can't compare. NO matter how top a researcher is, the key to success is being humble and learn from other researchers and industry practitioners because NO ONE could complete a research alone, it's teamwork. Without funding from industry, PhDers would be begging on the street!
Please stop your pathetic rant of "until you keep bragging about how overqualified you are and every lecturers in Malaysia is of lower standard than you." Fact is fact, it's difficult to find a real lecturer with PhD in Malaysia. What's there to argue about?! If you think Malaysia's lecturers are so good... then why are we falling behind our close neighbour Singapore, HK, Australia, NZ, UK and US? I remind you that I am being fair to compare our country with those developed countries because we are just short of less than a decade to reach year 2020 as a developed nation, and yet we could not achieve even 10% of their research capacity. You judge yourself.

Added on April 24, 2010, 10:39 am
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2010, 10:13 AM)
That is the problem. How do you know IF is not considered WELL or AT ALL in malaysia? Again you are making a generalized statement. You asked people to respect your opinion yet you blatantly discredit all local lecturers with your remark. Humbleness? Point in case, you straight away questioned the quality of the 15 journals of our fellow forumer, and you claimed I have no overseas experience, how would you know? For sure you have your right not to tell, until you keep bragging about how overqualified you are and every lecturers in Malaysia is of lower standard than you.

Added on April 24, 2010, 10:22 am

Dreamer, just for your information, if you wish to play the racial card, I am a Chinese so I do not belong in the culture.  I have refrained myself from commenting on your little debate on the meritocracy, NEP topic etc and I would like to keep it that way. I rather strive for the best than lament on the situation, bragged about own achievement and to soothe own feeling, proceed to say everyone else is inferior. Get my drift?
No one is bragging or being inferior in professional sense. Look at the professional website below:

http://www.ece.nus.edu.sg/staff/web.asp?id=eleckc&page=home

He is not bragging at all! He is just showing off his capability and publications and patents. You can browse them at in his website.

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 24 2010, 10:42 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 24 2010, 11:16 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(achong88 @ Apr 24 2010, 10:56 AM)
ISI journals are NOT the yardstick to justify the quality of the journal. My question is HOW many of those ISI publications are from the Premium and Leading???

http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~wang06/SoC%20J...l%20Ranking.htm

Publishing ONE journal article in Premium or Leading category takes MANY stages of reviews, at least 2 stages based on my experience. Therefore, it takes MORE THAN ONE YEAR to publish a journal article most of the times. Now, based on your attached document,

Professor Ng Seik Weing published 185 ISI journals in one year alone. This is IMPOSSIBLE considering that the review cycle of the Premium and Leading is so long, unless the ISI journals are of poor quality. Think logically, and you'll understand my points.

futuristicwiz
post Apr 24 2010, 11:47 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(firstamongequal @ Apr 24 2010, 11:29 AM)
WTF, first, you guys say Malaysian universities do not consider ISI, then when UM's website shows lecturers publishing in ISI, you say it is poor quality etc.  I think for you guys, you should just end the conversation by saying Malaysian universities sux, foreign countries better, malaysia is unfair due to NEP etc etc etc.  Typical Malaysians, complain complain complain.  If you guys claim that you have so many good things to offer to the country, do something? Yes yes, there is no chance for non bumi bla bla bla.  If you want to contribute, just contribute.  Don't think about money, opportunity etc. 
Fact is fact, nothing to complain. We are just telling fact. You don't like the fact, you should stop ranting.

Someone showed the australian journal ranking ERA.. well, FYI, some of the ranked A journals are not ISI, while some ISI journals are not ranked well in ERA. Forget about ranking of journals.  You mean whenever a lecturers want to publish, he has to look at the ranking?? Perhaps the journal's theme is suitable, is is a relatively good journal, good editorial board members, papers there are of good standard etc?  What is the point of publishing in ISI journal when your paper is not cited at the end? What if someone publishes a paper in a non ISI journal but the paper is cited 1000 times?
You don't have the say to tell "Forget about ranking of journals" because the employers at overseas are looking at ranking! However you spin and explain about teh quality of your journal, lowly ranked is lowly ranked. No one is going to listen to your explanation.

Professor Ng Seik Weing published 185 ISI journals in one year alone. This is IMPOSSIBLE.  How do you know? Did you check the journal ranking? Did it show that they are poorly ranked journals? Nothing is impossible.
185 ISI journals is REAL IMPOSSIBLE. Don't fool people around alright? There is only one reason, that's he himself is the editor of the journal, and so he publish his own article in his own journal. Note that, such a journal is of POOR quality.

TOP tier journals publish about 15 articles from around the world per month, that's about 180 articles per year. how did he managed to published that 185 articles? BULLSHIT!

There are tens of thousands or even more journals in the ISI Knowledge, it's FAIRLY easy to publish one. Each journal could be as short as 8 pages.

It does not take a PhD to understand simple thing you know? I'm MORE interested to know how many of those 185 journal articles are of Premium and Leading levels by Singapore standard.

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 24 2010, 11:50 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 24 2010, 12:18 PM

234 posts

firstamongequal,

(1) Professor Ng Seik Weng, Dept of Chemistry (185)
(2) Assoc. Professor Dr. Lo Kong Mun, Dept of Chemistry (36)
(3) Professor Hapipah Mohd Ali, Dept of Chemistry (24)
(4) Professor Harith Ahmad, Dept of Physics (21)
(5) Assoc. Professor Dr. Sulaiman Wadi Harun, Dept of Electrical Engineering (21)
(6) Professor Khalijah Awang, Dept of Chemistry (18)
(7) Professor Zanariah Abdullah, Dept of Chemistry (17)
(8) Professor A Hamid A Hadi, Dept of Chemistry (12)
(9) Assoc. Professor Dr. Burhanuddin Kamaluddin, Dept of Physics (12)
(10) Professor Goh Khean Lee, Dept of Medicine (11)
(11) Assoc. Professor Dr. Zainol Abidin Ibrahim, Dept of Physics (11)
(12) Professor Wan Ahmad Tajuddin Wan Abdullah, Dept of Physics (11)
(13) Professor Ng Kwan Hoong, Dept of Biomedical Imaging (9)
(14) Professor Mohamed Kheireddine Taieb Aroua, Dept of Chemical Engineering (8)
(15) Professor Adeeba Kamarulzaman, Dept of Medicine (8)
(16) Professor Rajah Rasiah, Faculty of Economics & Administration (8)
(17) Assoc. Professor Dr. Noel Francis Thomas, Dept of Chemistry (8)
The first, second and third are from the Chemistry department. With respect, what make you think that Professor Ng Seik Weng could publish 149 more publications than Assoc. Professor Dr. Lo Kong Mun??? Prof. Ng alone could publish the same amount of those from the other top 10?! I have my right to suspect, OK? Even a layman smell something fishy. Or maybe MACC need to investigate if there is corruption?!

Bullshit! I don't have to proof his credibility, since it is publish by UM, the responsibility is on the university to explain. Otherwise, it is a scam.

BINGO

Reason why Professor Ng Seik Weng could publish so much journal articles:

Professor Ng Seik Weng Homepage:
http://kimia.um.edu.my/staff_new/seikweng/seikweng.htm

He is the Co-Editor of Journal Acta Crystallographica Section E (from 2003)
Impact factor of Acta Crystallographica is VERY LOW at 0.367

His publication list is here:
http://kimia.um.edu.my/staff_new/seikweng/...ns-seikweng.pdf

You will see essentially ALL publications are published in Acta Crystallographical!!!!! Some of the publications are:

Ng, S.W., Kumar Das, V.G., van Meurs, F., Schagen, J.D. & Straver, L.H. (1989).               Structure of       triphenyltin(IV) thiophene-2-carboxylate. Acta Cryst. C45, 568-570.

Ng, S.W., Kumar Das, V.G., van Meurs, F., Schagen, J.D. & Straver, L.H. (1989).               Structure of       triphenyltin(IV) 3-pyridylcarboxylate. Acta Cryst. C45, 570-572.

Ng, S.W., Kumar Das, V.G., Lee, F.L., Gabe, E.J. & Smith, F.E. (1989). Structure of triphenyltin(IV) 2-       aminophenylsulfide. Acta Cryst. C45, 1294-1296.

Ng, S.W., Yip, W.H., Wang, R.J. & Mak, T.C.W. (1991). Structure of dicyclohexylammonium hydrogen       maleate. Acta Cryst. C47, 378-400.

Ng, S.W., Kumar Das, V.G., Yip, W.H. & Mak, T.C.W. (1991). Structure of triphenyltin 2-phenoxybenzoate.       Acta Cryst. C47, 1593-1595. Lo, K.M.,

Ng, S.W., Chen, W. & Kumar Das, V.G. (1992). Structure of triphenyltin glyoxalate O-       methoxyoxime. Acta Cryst. C48, 1657-1658. Ng, S.W. (1992). Structure of 1H-isoindole-1,3-(2H)-dione (phthalimide). Acta Cryst. C48, 1694-1695.

Ng, S.W. & Kumar Das, V.G. (1992). Structure of triphenyltin chloride-triphenylphosphine oxide (1/1)       complex. Acta Cryst. C48, 1839-1841.

Ng, S.W. & Kumar Das, V.G. (1992). Structure of triphenyltin 2-(4-pyridylthiol)acetate. Acta Cryst. C48,       2025-2026. 

You are FOOLed, my dear firstamongequal!!!!! As I have said, he is just publishing in his own journal! He is the editor, he could choose to publish his own publications at all right. Now you know how people could abuse power in academia.

I am a researcher myself, I have never seen such a strange thing, and this is happening in Malaysia. Gosh!!!!!

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 24 2010, 03:28 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 04:18 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 25 2010, 03:22 AM)
Seriously, i don't really know how to teach blush.gif
but no harm learning right? I guess we all start from zero.

if you ask me, how do i actually know i would like to be a teacher/lecturer....erm......well, i don't know.
I was hoping bro and sis here can share with me the pride of educating other.
likimikuku,

I'm a researcher myself and I aim to be a lecturer in future. I got my PhD from Aus fully funded by the Australian government. If you are a non-Bumi, the fact is you will hadly get a scholarship from our beloved Malaysian government, so you gotta be independent and strive to get a scholarship from overseas. Having said that, you could still try to get a scholarship from UTAR. You will be required to teach at UTAR for several years, living with pathetic RM2,800-4,000 per month (salary for Master's holder) before you get the chance to study PhD at overseas. Otherwise, you could teach and study PhD at the same time at UTAR.

If you have the passion to teach, in my opinion, you should not give it a pass. Help yourself to get a scholarship, and don't be silly to even think about financing yourself. You'll learn to teach while doing a PhD through:

1. Becoming a tutor and earn about AuD$20-AuD$25 per hour in Australia.
2. You need to do a lot of presentation in conference, seminar, talks... so you'll learn to be a lecturer as time goes by.

All in all, if you wanna go back to Malaysia and teach there for the rest of your life, there are abundance of opportunities. Just go back and get a job at UTAR and study your PhD there while getting a monthly salary of RM2,500-RM4,000 per month, note that you are required to teach for many hours without extra allowance or salary in return for your salary. If you wanna remain at overseas after PhD, get a scholarship from overseas, it's highly competitive!!!!!

futuristicwiz

Added on April 25, 2010, 4:23 am
QUOTE(howszat @ Apr 24 2010, 11:57 PM)
You really need to improve your English before you go anywhere near teaching.
You might get the same amount of grammatical errors in the Ang Moh's forums.

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 25 2010, 04:23 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 06:23 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Apr 25 2010, 06:21 AM)
honestly, it would be

D = C > A > B for me.
What does pace of life mean to you? fast? Slow? Or what?

futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 06:46 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Apr 25 2010, 06:26 AM)
more flexible time i guess. and the constant novelty of attempting something new.
For lecturer at overseas, pace of life is FAST! Here's an idea what one has to do and its average MINIMUM time incurred:

1. As a core or secondary supervisor to about 5 Masters or PhDs (10 hours per week)
2. As a core or secondary supervisor to about 2 Honours year students (3 hours per week)
3. Teaching (8 hours per week)
4. Preparing tutoring materials for tutor to teach (2 hours per week)
5. Preparing teaching materials for class (5 hours per week)
5. Marking (2 hours per week)
6. MISC (Preparing exams, tests, quizzes, laboratory sessions, invigilating, working as examiner for PhD and Master's thesis from other universities) (2 hours per week)
7. Professional activities (International journal and conference paper review, organising conference, volunteering as journal editors) (2 hours per week)
8. Research (5 hours per week)
9. Giving talks, seminars, attending conference, keynote speaking, panelist and their preparation (1 hour per week)
10. Liaise with industry, government bodies, ministries, other universities for research collaboration an funding opportunities (1 hour per week)
11. Consultation (2 hours per week)
12. Management tasks (1 hour per week)

Total = MINIMUM 44 hours per week. My computation is very tight as I consider everything goes smoothly, it could be 30% more than that, so a more sensible value is 57.2 hours per week.

If you consider 5 working days, that's 57.2/5 = 11.44 hours per day
If you consider 6 working days, that's 57.2/6 ≈ 9.5333333
If you consider 7 working days, that's 57.2/7 ≈ 8.1714286

During semester break, lecturers have to take up visiting position at other universities or countries. Some begin their sabbatical visit. There are more management tasks.

My research supervisors in Australia and Japan have been complaining high amount of work load. They could hardly have time to relax! most of the time, they have to print my research papers, thesis, and other materials so taht they could work at home during weekend!

Now, this is not relax or flexible anymore sad.gif

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 25 2010, 06:56 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 07:42 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Apr 25 2010, 07:28 AM)
i would think with experience and a proper databank, 4 and 5 would be significantly less. and i would expect with traveling time and preparation, 9 would be significantly more. and several other items which i would expect to differ from your estimates, but point well taken.

still, most of those task dont sound like "work" to me (supervision, attend seminar/conference, visiting position, sabbatical, etc) , so maybe it is a good match smile.gif

and of all those, most arent very routine, which is another plus point for me. hmm....

didnt really do too well with my bachelor research though (got an A, but personally, i'd fail myself)  sweat.gif
Actually, research and consultation could easily take twice the amount of the time that I suggest. Yes, some of them are not real work, but then you have to fulfill the requirement, learn and write report what you gain at the end of the task. I truly believe management task is significant more rather than just 1 hour.

"attend seminar/conference, visiting position, sabbatical, etc" are the best opportunities to meet with prospective research fund providers and collaborators. It's much like business, you try to get funding and deal all the times.

All in all, the responses that I have got in Australia and Japan were NOT relax at all.

To my Australian and Japanese lecturers, Bachelor degree's projects are TOYS. No worry at all smile.gif

futuristicwiz

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 25 2010, 07:43 AM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 03:35 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 25 2010, 03:14 PM)
Hi futuristicwz,

That is great for you, having funded Australian government for you study. i am not realise on the "Teach and study for PhD" routine and i would like to know more about it, i will try to Google it.

But i am doubt that i will able to get any scholarship, as i am not on the "best/top of the class" quality kind of student. sweat.gif

Thank fro you advice mate.
1. If you don't have impressive academic results:

Working experience counts in your scholarships application. Looking for PhD funding is much like looking for a job.

1. You browse the University departments. (i.e. Department of Economics)
2. You understand their research. (i.e. click Research tab)
3. If you like their research, look at their researchers and lecturers. (i.e. click People or Staff tab)
4. See if the lecturer is looking for PhD student.
5. If yes, BINGO! Send your resume and cover letter to the lecturer.
6. The lecturer will come back to you in due course. Normally, HK and Singapore lecturers reply mails in a couple of days; Australia, UK and NZ takes longer; and Japan may take FOREVER or never reply you at all. That's my experience.
7. If the lecturer likes you to be a PhD student, there you go! You apply the scholarships, student visa, etc...

That's all.

2. If you have impressive academic results:

Applies for government based scholarships:
1. ORS in UK
2. NUS and NTU PhD scholarships
3. HKU, HKUST, CUHK... univeristy PhD scholarship
4. IPRS + University stipend scholarships in Aus
5. NZISRS or NZAID in NZ.

After graduation with your PhD, I bet you'll NEVER ever feel like going back to MY anymore. Mark my words, please. You'll start to rant like me, how inferior are most Malaysian lecturers and researchers.

futuristicwiz
post Apr 25 2010, 07:22 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 25 2010, 04:46 PM)
Thanks again mate,

Now i have something to start with, i guess the only thing i can do now is finish my contract and get enough money for my Msc on 2011 Sept intake in UK.

Is half way, hope i won't get fire...   laugh.gif

Dude, may i ask how is the life of a PhD student?
All real PhDs must have gone through sweet and sour moments. You could see it as a good working experience in fact. Here's what I have done:

1. Skim through all new research papers that covers recent problems, issues, solutions, and technologies. You have NO time to read all research papers in details, that's why I said "skim through". Everyday, there are many publications produced around the world, there is no way to read the overwhelming research outcomes in details.
2. Carry out research: write papers, perform platform implementation, perform simulation and analysis.
3. Tutoring.
4. Marking student's papers.
5. Attending conferences, seminars and talks to listen to or to give talks.
6. Peer review other researcher's outcomes.
7. Sleep in the laboratory when deadlines draw near. You can bring your sleeping bag along. You gotta have your publications done on time.
8. Stock pile maggie mee in the laboratory, just in case you have got no time to eat.
9. Have a luggage in your lab, just in case you have got no time to go back, and you can take a shower in the Uni.

That's part of my life dring my PhD and postdoc. Japanese are way too hardworking compared to Aussie. Gosh, everyone works like robot in Japan. I might appear nonsense to sleep, eat and shower in the Uni, but that's true because I completed my PhD at UTS within TWO years though it normally takes 3 years. The normal students are more relaxed actually. I purposely wanted to quick quick finish it to start my postdoc and earn more.

futuristicwiz

Added on April 25, 2010, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 25 2010, 07:16 PM)
likimikuku,

<<Dude, may i ask how is the life of a PhD student?>>

As far as I can tell, they are UNDERPAID SLAVE WORKERS.

Dreamer
I second this! cry.gif But then, if one convert the net income from the stipend per month, one could earn up to AUD$1,500 = RM 4,400 per month. That's NOT bad though smile.gif

In Malaysia, PhD stipend is about RM2,000 only, that's REAL pathetic! I didn't even consider in teh first place!

But then, of course one has to be prudent and SAVE, SAVE and SAVE... that's the mantra loh...

High workload, low allowance... HIGH expectation to publish in journal man...

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 25 2010, 07:31 PM
futuristicwiz
post Apr 26 2010, 03:51 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 25 2010, 08:15 PM)
futuristicwiz,

I slept on the average of 4 hours per day when I do BSEE and MSEE.  I worked 2 part-time jobs = 40 hours per week while doing my degrees.  I did 20 semester hours per semester too.  But, I graduated with 5 years of working experience.  I get a speed up on my career and get paid for 5 years of working experience.

NFL = No Free Lunch.  Pay now or pay later.

Dreamer
Sigh... I really understand your circumstances. I bet its's close to NIL that the XY new generation study and work like you nowadays. I could be the only student who complete my PhD in TWO years. I did not work part time much and fully concentrate on my research. The Ang Moh PhD students were astonished by my progress as they could easily stress out. Some called me "crazy" and "stupid" because I failed to relax!!!

futuristicwiz

Added on April 26, 2010, 3:56 am
QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 25 2010, 10:51 PM)
Futuristicwiz & Dreamer,

Thank for the heads-up, it does sound like a hard way.
Appreciated all the advices/tips given…
BTW, which sector are you guys. Anyway, I am in the construction industry.
If you have the motivation to pull through, it's NOT hard at all. Malaysian lecturers are producing many craps, so if you were to study there, you'd produce crappy publications that no other developed nations bother to read and recognise you. I have shown a BS example by a Uni Malaya prof. in a post in this thread.

I'm doing signal processing in EE.

This post has been edited by futuristicwiz: Apr 26 2010, 03:56 AM

0.0316sec    1.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:16 PM