The internet will be throttle or data cap definitely....
I don't think it applies to iptv and stuff.
News Official TM High Speed Broadband (HSBB) Thread V2, TM HSBB Launching Live Now !
Feb 23 2010, 08:09 PM
518 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
The internet will be throttle or data cap definitely....
I don't think it applies to iptv and stuff. |
Feb 23 2010, 08:15 PM
16 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 23 2010, 07:41 PM) Of course. Even comcast caps it at 250GB per month. Use more than that, they cancel your account and ban you.Added on February 23, 2010, 8:16 pm QUOTE(Neptern @ Feb 23 2010, 08:09 PM) It will most probably be inclusive. Google comcast.http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/arti...inevitable.html This post has been edited by automan5891: Feb 23 2010, 08:17 PM |
Feb 23 2010, 08:37 PM
Nah iptv capping is ridiculous.If suddenly forgot to switch off or watch iptv 24/7 then internet no need use liao?
Damn it where is the pricing.... |
Feb 23 2010, 08:39 PM
16 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Feb 23 2010, 08:40 PM
4,649 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Tāmaki Makaurau |
Wow if that's the case I'd rather go for Astro Byond which has no limitation on watching time...
But once you subscribe HSBB, it comes with IPTV, Phone and HSI... Trapped... |
Feb 23 2010, 08:52 PM
358 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
any dependable sources say that iptv will be throttled when the bandwith is exceeded?
Feb 23 2010, 08:53 PM
Feb 23 2010, 09:19 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Feb 23 2010, 11:04 PM
That's what i thought...throttle iptv wtf.....doesn't make sense.
Feb 23 2010, 11:14 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
You guys need to understand how Triple Play service works
IPTV and Voice would not be affected at all , so you dont have to worry about your IPTV or Voice once you've hit your data limit (assuming TM enforces it , I bet they will enforce it). The moment you have IPTV , you can watch progammes on demand , something like from hulu or how BBC iPlayer actually works - provided if TM plans to take on this route ! |
Feb 24 2010, 12:35 AM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
So far the trial IPTV already fakap n discontinued until they fix it
Feb 24 2010, 12:57 AM
2,330 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.1.2 |
since like more and more trial user now....
Feb 24 2010, 01:03 AM
5,968 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Malaysia |
Feb 24 2010, 06:23 AM
4,451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(DeaDLocK @ Feb 23 2010, 10:49 AM) Sigh!!! Well done. My hats off to you I called them up and forced them to give me a free HSBB trial (because I am a private individual in a house but I have a RM688/month Streamyx Enterprise package for five years already). They said okay after I strongly persuaded them (hehe), but when they went to check my access, they said my exchange isn't activated yet! I live in Shah Alam and there is a FTTH box on the telephone pole outside my house, so I thought it should be okay. Added on February 24, 2010, 6:25 am QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Feb 23 2010, 12:17 PM) really?? i've been getting at least 600-800kB/s download speeds with utorrent, and that's with the download speed limited!! I'm not a tester, but looking from the hardware review their saying it's limited in simultaneous connections which benefit torrent downloads no problems torrenting with it so far... yup.. im able to reach same speed with G-based network and my wired pc... unless of course they started offering 100Mbps speed.. that would be a diff case.. hahaha Yeah that speed does look good, but isn't it logical it could be better with a better router for more connection with peers. Regarding iptv didn't someone mention something about it using your internet connection ? So say 50% is for internet usage, and the other 50% is for IPTV o_O: Then how about when your not using Iptv ???? Can you also not get the iptv so you can utilize 100% for internet only This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Feb 24 2010, 06:27 AM |
Feb 24 2010, 09:51 AM
648 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: TTDI |
I saw TM contractors fixing up the HSBB thing at my street recently in TTDI
Feb 24 2010, 10:27 AM
What channel does HSBB provide for IPTV ?
HDTV1 HDTV2 and HDTV3 ? |
Feb 24 2010, 10:46 AM
829 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: TTDI |
after 1 week of trial.. quite satisfied with my torrent speed.. could manage to get on average 2Mbytes/sec. Pretty impressive.. but browsing speed sometimes got few hiccups but not that bad... if TM implement the data Cap.. hope its around 250Gb per month..huhu...
Feb 24 2010, 10:56 AM
Validating
32 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
They are going to install at my house tomorrow at 9.30am
They say it will take the whole day. My question is.. will it really take the whole day? Because I need to run to office at 2:30pm |
Feb 24 2010, 11:00 AM
1,581 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I don't think they will count the data from IPTV to the overall bandwidth usage per month.
Furthermore, IPTV data stream will be purely local and its servers etc will mostly located in Klang Valley. So i don't think IPTV will be throttled or lagged (assuming if equipment didn't breakdown Internet will be for internet. IPTV will be for IPTV. There is more than enough bandwidth capacity of the fiber to support both. At minimum, fiber are able to achieve 100mbps. HDTV requires only about 5-10 mbps of bandwidth |
Feb 24 2010, 11:14 AM
4,451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 24 2010, 11:00 AM) I don't think they will count the data from IPTV to the overall bandwidth usage per month. But the package is 10mb isn't it ? So the Iptv will be using a slice of that 10mb am i right Furthermore, IPTV data stream will be purely local and its servers etc will mostly located in Klang Valley. So i don't think IPTV will be throttled or lagged (assuming if equipment didn't breakdown Internet will be for internet. IPTV will be for IPTV. There is more than enough bandwidth capacity of the fiber to support both. At minimum, fiber are able to achieve 100mbps. HDTV requires only about 5-10 mbps of bandwidth Theres also 2 types of ftth which are GPOn and GEPON. The more expensive one can handle simultaneously iptv and internet without one effecting the other. We are using the cheaper variant which means iptv will fight for bandwidth with internet usage for your pc Added on February 24, 2010, 11:15 am QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 24 2010, 11:00 AM) I don't think they will count the data from IPTV to the overall bandwidth usage per month. Well i hope so Furthermore, IPTV data stream will be purely local and its servers etc will mostly located in Klang Valley. So i don't think IPTV will be throttled or lagged (assuming if equipment didn't breakdown Internet will be for internet. IPTV will be for IPTV. There is more than enough bandwidth capacity of the fiber to support both. At minimum, fiber are able to achieve 100mbps. HDTV requires only about 5-10 mbps of bandwidth This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Feb 24 2010, 11:15 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0197sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:49 PM |