Travel Bangkok V2

yukisee
post Mar 22 2010, 01:22 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 22 2010, 01:18 PM)
From Platinum if you want to walk you will reach Central Mall about 50 m away and from Central Mall you can use the skylink below the BTS to walk to Siam Paragon which is about 100 m away. All located near by. However from Platinum walk to Central is not so comfortable as there is one construction site on going and no shade when you cross the bridge. Remember to eat the chicken rice which is about 50 m away from platinum fashion mall . ( opposite the abandoned Pratunam Mall )
Oh..
means all by walking distance..
thats good..
so u will recommend budacco??
or there are any other hotel better??

that chic rice nice??
y u highly recommend??
haha laugh.gif
DarkNite
post Mar 22 2010, 01:46 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

This map will help you understand approximately as it is not ta scale but note where Budacco is and where Central world is.
To me it is too far to walk with heavy shopping bags and too near to take taxi.
Fatz_Cat
post Mar 22 2010, 02:18 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 22 2010, 01:46 PM)
This map will help you understand approximately as it is not ta scale but note where Budacco is and where Central world is.
To me it is too far to walk with heavy shopping bags and too near to take taxi.
wow...according to the map, baiyoke suite hotel is like opposite platinum fashion mall....is it true??...but i plan to stay at citin pratunam....coz many review it to be value for money thingy
andrewlim8
post Mar 22 2010, 02:30 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(yukisee @ Mar 22 2010, 01:04 PM)
Ohh..
mean that baiyoke suite is just nearer than budacco abit..
so budacco is walking distance to platinum, pratunam area..
how about siam paragon etc
it all depends on how physically fit u r !

i can walk from MBK to Baiyoke, which is roughly 4-5km (self estimation).

if walk from Budacco to Platinum Mall, is roughly less than 1km, u wont feel boring when u r walking to PM, as along the road, is full of shops n stores.
TSstimix
post Mar 22 2010, 02:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The map posted by Darknite as he said really not to scale...To get better picture of how far Citin or even Baiyoke Tower 2 (The highest building in Thailand), better check wikipedia link as below:

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=13.7544858&lon=1...itin%20pratunam

From rough estimate, Citin & Baiyoke tower 2 is about 600M away from Platinum Mall & about 1KM from Central world & 1.5km from the nerest Skytrain hor..
liesl
post Mar 22 2010, 02:59 PM

40 posts

Citin Pratunam has clean and comfortable rooms with a flat screen tv.
TSstimix
post Mar 22 2010, 03:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

But location to the Sky train & MRt station also very important in BKK. You dunwan to walk >1km to the nearest station too unless Shopping at Pratunam area is your main agenda.

BTW, not sure whether the new MRT line from Swarnabumi airport to BKK ready..bcos there is an obvious WIPstation on the North of Citin & Baiyopke tower2..
DrezzUp
post Mar 22 2010, 05:35 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 22 2010, 03:38 PM)
The map posted by Darknite as he said really not to scale...To get better picture of how far Citin or even Baiyoke Tower 2 (The highest building in Thailand), better check wikipedia link as below:

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=13.7544858&lon=1...itin%20pratunam

From rough estimate, Citin & Baiyoke tower 2 is about 600M away from Platinum Mall & about 1KM from Central world & 1.5km from the nerest Skytrain hor..
within the vicinity of Pratunam & Platinum Mall, there is no BTS or MRTA. From Platinum Mall, you may take tuk tuk - must bargain (immediately out side Platinum mall) head straight up to Ratchathewi BTS (Dun walk after your heavy shopping) or else if you staying nearby drop yr shopping bags at the hotel then walk to WTC (come out from Platinum mall keep right towards a T junction, turn right, u will pass by WTC) then can go Erawan shine, do some prayers for buddhist , just walk into the building behind the Erawan shine, I think is hyatt hotel, go up 2 floors or one floor to get into the pedestrian walking bridge . before u exit the building u may use the loo, very nice n clean. after u exit the building to the bridge -turn right. Head towards the BTS station- chidlom.(nearby the station there is Central chidlom - nice high end food court at the top floor.u can sit by the window. Serves all kinds of food, thai, western,indian, french etc...)

I suggest to take taxi from 10pm onwards if all ladies which head straight to your hotel instead of taking BTS and moreover u will be damn tired d.
zenwell
post Mar 22 2010, 06:22 PM

1,749 posts

I just only discover that there's Bangkok thread here. Just finished from V1 till current. First time i went to Bangkok is last year December for work purpose. I stayed in FuramaExclusive(Asoke). It is very near to the BTS and MRT but the price is very expensive. THB2790/nite corporate rate. Just a standard room. Then me and my frens booked AA tix to Bangkok on 28-30Aug2010. we booked on the last week of february and it cost RM406 perhead. looks like it is very expensive as compared to some of the other forumers prices here. Haih.

@AngelLingLing,

you also want to go BKK meh?
rayfoo
post Mar 22 2010, 06:51 PM

2,564 posts

BANGKOK, March 19 (TNA) – The State Railway of Thailand (SRT) will soft launch its Airport Rail Link in April, but commercial service will not be offered until July, Transport Minister Sophon Zarum said Friday.

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 22 2010, 03:06 PM)
But location to the Sky train & MRt station also very important in BKK. You dunwan to walk >1km to the nearest station too unless Shopping at Pratunam area is your main agenda.

BTW, not sure whether the new MRT line from Swarnabumi airport to BKK ready..bcos there is an obvious WIPstation on the North of Citin & Baiyopke tower2..
Fatz_Cat
post Mar 22 2010, 07:02 PM

209 posts

just bought my ticket...yippie...almost RM500 include xtra large luggage(30kg)...bangkok here i come
Vengeance_Mad
post Mar 22 2010, 08:54 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

How's the Red Shirt demonstration lately?
It is still wild ? cause I still see news about it this few days.
Am worried now as I'll be goin BKK during Songkran soon.
cy97
post Mar 22 2010, 10:18 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(yukisee @ Mar 22 2010, 01:22 PM)
Oh..
means all by walking distance..
thats good..
so u will recommend budacco??
or there are any other hotel better??

that chic rice nice??
y u highly recommend??
haha  laugh.gif
The chicken rice is nice and cheap... they also sell meat stick like satay. only 30 bath per plate.
Well i dun really like to stay at pratunam area. for shopping is fine but not for stay. baiyoke also not really nice, it is kind of run down and not really nice to walk especially at this kind of weather. I stay in citin pratunam before which is nearby budacco...The hotel room is ok but once you walk outside it is not the kind of experience you wanted.and very far from BTS.

I stay in Grand President Hotel located at Soi 11 , sukhumvit during my visit last month. The surrounding is nice with many nice restaurant. The downstair is a german restaurant, opposite is japanese and italian restaurant, the side is australian restaurant, as you walk down the street, you can find some stall but not too many, got saloon as well..... I book from Airasia at RM185 inclusive of American breakfast for 2. The food is nice too. It is fully furnished with small kitchen and fridge. Here are some photo i took for the hotel room and the stall along the road to hotel.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by cy97: Mar 22 2010, 10:24 PM
andrewlim8
post Mar 22 2010, 10:32 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 22 2010, 10:18 PM)
The chicken rice is nice and cheap... they also sell meat stick like satay. only 30 bath per plate.
Well i dun really like to stay at pratunam area. for shopping is fine but not for stay. baiyoke also not really nice, it is kind of run down and not really nice to walk especially at this kind of weather. I stay in citin pratunam before which is nearby budacco...The hotel room is ok but once you walk outside it is not the kind of experience you wanted.and very far from BTS.

I stay in Grand President Hotel located at Soi 11 , sukhumvit during my visit last month. The surrounding is nice with many nice restaurant. The downstair is a german restaurant, opposite is japanese and italian restaurant, the side is australian restaurant, as you walk down the street, you can find some stall but not too many, got saloon as well..... I book from Airasia at RM185 inclusive of American breakfast for 2. The food is nice too.  It is fully furnished with small kitchen and fridge. Here are some photo i took for the hotel room and the stall along the road to hotel.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
the chicken rice which u mentioned is not the famous one, as the real famous chicken rice shop doesn't sell meat stick(satay) which is same roll as your chicken rice but further down.

taxi fare in BKK is damn cheap, what is the point to take BTS?
DrezzUp
post Mar 22 2010, 10:51 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(andrewlim8 @ Mar 22 2010, 11:32 PM)
the chicken rice which u mentioned is not the famous one, as the real famous chicken rice shop doesn't sell meat stick(satay) which is same roll as your chicken rice but further down.

taxi fare in BKK is damn cheap, what is the point to take BTS?
I guess it depends on individual what they wanna experience BTS or Taxi. To me BTS is fast n jam free and take me to the destination I wanted though sometimes is a little walk and that's fine. And BTS won't take me rendezvous or take me for a ride. I would only use taxi during my arrival & departure and when I need to go back to hotel after a long day
jayelleenelial
post Mar 22 2010, 10:55 PM

153 posts

thanks for the extra information about Budacco.. but since there will be four of us (two backed out..sigh)... so cabs will be okay if wanna go Suan Lum/Chatuchak.. etc.

If you are mad about shopping, do read my crazy shopping post.
http://jayelleenelial.com/the-day-i-died-a...ent-to-bangkok/

biggrin.gif:D:D addicted liao.

Will def.try the chicken rice.

I also cancelled one room at Budacco today and the poor customer service fella tried so hard to tell me that the situation is under control in Bangkok, it is not in Pratunam area etc etc. But I cannot tell people's parents that.. because it will make everybody sound like irresponsible kids. and we can't have that trust issue now (coz planning for taiwan/shanghai/hongkong grad trip..:PpPPp)

Quite good lah..they only charge me 7% out of the total amount...so everybody only lose like RM16..

SIGH Hope all goes well for the rest of us who are still going. sad.gif But if my housemate and her sis back out.. my bf say just the two of us go..smile.gif)) Consolation!!

Oh and now I have to pay an extra Rm300 for air tickets. sad.gif

This post has been edited by jayelleenelial: Mar 22 2010, 10:56 PM
teckhooi
post Mar 22 2010, 11:04 PM

3,135 posts

Hi Guyz,

I Am Back For My Bangkok "Dangerous" Trip. Wa Ha Ha

Beside Pattaya, Bangkok,

Where I Can Go For Stay OverNight.

Any Recommend.

1st Day To Pattaya
The Rest Go Bangkok

I Will Go For 6 Days.
yukisee
post Mar 22 2010, 11:19 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 22 2010, 10:18 PM)

I stay in Grand President Hotel located at Soi 11 , sukhumvit during my visit last month. The surrounding is nice with many nice restaurant. The downstair is a german restaurant, opposite is japanese and italian restaurant, the side is australian restaurant, as you walk down the street, you can find some stall but not too many, got saloon as well..... I book from Airasia at RM185 inclusive of American breakfast for 2. The food is nice too.  It is fully furnished with small kitchen and fridge. Here are some photo i took for the hotel room and the stall along the road to hotel.
Is this hotel nearby platinum mall??

cy97
post Mar 22 2010, 11:38 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(yukisee @ Mar 22 2010, 11:19 PM)
Is this hotel nearby platinum mall??
This hotel is at Sukhumvit, ( like Jalan Sultan Ismail of KL ) which if you take BTS from Nana Station at Sukhumvit, you will stop at 2 station down the road at Siam ( if not mistaken ). Take a walk along the elevated walk bridge to Central Mall and just walk along the first floor air-con corridor at Central Mall if you dun want to shop there ( Central Mall like lot 10 here, branded stuff only) and come down, than you walk about 100 m, you will reach Pratinum mall. ( like Chowkit area in KL )

If this is the first time you go to bangkok, it is always nice for you to just explore yourself with the map.

It is never too far. Try their BTS and MRT, taxi for experience.

Okie i mistaken, the famous chicken rice that the forum-er mentioned was closed for lunch when i was there. I thought the small shop is the one....Well there is a newspaper cutting show that is one of 50 places to go in bangkok...mmmn...

I believe BTS combined with MRT can bring you to most of the places in Bangkok except China town ( Yaowarat ).. so just take taxi will do. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cy97: Mar 22 2010, 11:39 PM
DrezzUp
post Mar 22 2010, 11:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 23 2010, 12:38 AM)
This hotel is at Sukhumvit, ( like Jalan Sultan Ismail of KL ) which if you take BTS from Nana Station at Sukhumvit, you will stop at 2 station down the road at Siam ( if not mistaken ). Take a walk along the elevated walk bridge to Central Mall and just walk along the first floor air-con corridor at Central Mall if you dun want to shop there ( Central Mall like lot 10 here, branded stuff only) and come down, than you walk about 100 m, you will reach Pratinum mall. ( like Chowkit area in KL )

If this is the first time you go to bangkok, it is always nice for you to just explore yourself with the map.

It is never too far. Try their BTS and MRT, taxi for experience.

Okie i mistaken, the famous chicken rice that the forum-er mentioned was closed for lunch when i was there. I thought the small shop is the one....Well there is a newspaper cutting show that is one of 50 places to go in bangkok...mmmn...

I believe BTS combined with MRT can bring you to most of the places in Bangkok except China town ( Yaowarat ).. so just take taxi will do. hmm.gif
Just take MRTA to HuaLamphong station to get u to Yaowarat.But need to walk a bit or take the free shuttle if it is still available. Take boat oso can

129 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:44 PM