Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V37!, The Orange Legion

dinraxxx
post Mar 5 2010, 06:35 PM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Mar 5 2010, 06:32 PM)
dinraxxx : Why only DSLR? That lens has mounts for Canon and Nikon too ma. :S
yeah using adapter.I remember the 1st A900 user here in forum show me the adapter.But I don't remember him lol.Anyways, I bought the D300s for all of my hardwork as a part timer.And D90 was a gift from dad for Mid year exams. smile.gif
ieR
post Mar 5 2010, 06:35 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Mar 5 2010, 06:25 PM)
but there are a lot of reviews tammy 10-24 soft at all apertures.. slow focusing...
@.@ wow,... this i really need to hear... how a UWA lens with short focus gear, is slow.... they have sooo much DOF, its even easy to use manual focus.... tongue.gif
Kul | Mo0
post Mar 5 2010, 06:37 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

I dont get you. Why need use adapter? Can straight away mount it in any bodies ma depending on what mounts of SP90 that was made. :S
ieR
post Mar 5 2010, 06:38 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

SP90 available in canon nikon and sony mount.

Sony doesnt has a Sony Alpha Lens 90mm.
dinraxxx
post Mar 5 2010, 06:38 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Mar 5 2010, 06:37 PM)
I dont get you. Why need use adapter? Can straight away mount it in any bodies ma depending on what mounts of SP90 that was made. :S
same as me too.Lol let's not confuse each other. rclxub.gif

Added on March 5, 2010, 6:40 pmNow I get you.Lol.Okay my explanation is I bought Sony Alpha 1st before Nikons.and if I sell the lens,It would be a waste of money.Sorry to confuse you bro.And dun want to get the 90mm for Nikon. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dinraxxx: Mar 5 2010, 06:40 PM
ieR
post Mar 5 2010, 06:42 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

u can easily sell it and buys a nikon mount on by topping like rm100... they are pretty cheap lens... anyway, there are a lot nikon selling the SP90 too... lol
dinraxxx
post Mar 5 2010, 06:45 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 06:42 PM)
u can easily sell it and buys a nikon mount on by topping like rm100... they are pretty cheap lens... anyway, there are a lot nikon selling the SP90 too... lol
I got Sigma 17-70,Nikkor 70-300,Nikkor 18-200 , Nikkor 50mm and Tokina 11-16 Fisheye lens.And I don't think I can add another Tammy SP90 for Nikon lol. shocking.gif shakehead.gif
eddybeh
post Mar 5 2010, 06:45 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 06:35 PM)
@.@ wow,... this i really need to hear... how a UWA lens with short focus gear, is slow.... they have sooo much DOF, its even easy to use manual focus.... tongue.gif
oops... mixed up the reviews i read...the focusing slow is other lens... sorry.... o ya, talking bout the tammy 10-24, there is a review tat said it's soft at all apertures.. is it tat bad?? i read it from here.. dyxum reviews for tammy 10-24

Added on March 5, 2010, 7:09 pmguys wanna ask... if at beach at night... wanna shoot people... anyway to make the af working? coz it will b pitch dark, rite?

This post has been edited by eddybeh: Mar 5 2010, 07:09 PM
nashakir
post Mar 5 2010, 07:15 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Mar 5 2010, 06:45 PM)
oops... mixed up the reviews i read...the focusing slow is other lens... sorry.... o ya, talking bout the tammy 10-24, there is a review tat said it's soft at all apertures.. is it tat bad?? i read it from here.. dyxum reviews for tammy 10-24

Added on March 5, 2010, 7:09 pmguys wanna ask... if at beach at night... wanna shoot people... anyway to make the af working? coz it will b pitch dark, rite?
+ F58 with AF assist rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

i tested it in a dark room.. working...
eddybeh
post Mar 5 2010, 07:16 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(nashakir @ Mar 5 2010, 07:15 PM)
+ F58 with AF assist   rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

i tested it in a dark room.. working...
thx.... will try it out.... but with F42..

This post has been edited by eddybeh: Mar 5 2010, 07:35 PM
likito
post Mar 5 2010, 07:36 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Mar 5 2010, 05:19 PM)
i think i only mention about 1855 vs 1870 and not comparing with body's AF =D
yah , 1870 do not have internal focus motor , so it use body AF system . blush.gif
nashakir
post Mar 5 2010, 07:42 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Mar 5 2010, 07:16 PM)
good luck.. as long as it can assist.. hehe drool.gif

thumbup.gif
hazril
post Mar 5 2010, 07:48 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Mar 5 2010, 07:16 PM)
can la bro...dont worry... thumbup.gif
lugiamcg
post Mar 5 2010, 08:03 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 06:34 PM)
wait a little longer, the EVIL system will be out soon... it will has the IQ close to DSLR... better clarity to M4/3rd due to larger sensor. and FullHD video with AF!, u can just snap the video, go back and cut out the scene u like since fullHD is 1920x1080, that is big resolution. u can grab a mount to use Amount lens..

but i am praying, at least, give a flash hotshoe!~~~
and WX1 or similiar model are great alternative if u are not those bokeh freaks or high clean iso freaks. they do very well as a compact camera.
m4/3rd lens arent any cheap iether. and limited selections.
lugia (and someone i lazy read back):
when comparing 1855 and 1870, definately the AF speed are taken in account, so is SAM vs body motor. i take it the A300 AI/chip arent optimise for lens motor... coz it works really slow with 70200G too (played with friend's A200+70200G, slow also) but i believe, (have no tested, but it seem the A330 with SAM are pretty fast on my hand) SAM is generation dependent, anything after A900 would go faster? (since 70200G is really fast on A900)

the SAM motor, main reason is being real QUIET. that helps a lot in movie recordings. (SAM are prepare for the future video bodies...)
some of my friend tested, it seem on A550, AF-C works marvelously better with SAM lens. no comment.

and lugia.... MF LV check is not excately LV i guess(i dont see it taht way, the purpose of it wasnt LV at all)... the new model they call it MFcheck (i think, they removed the letter LV, LOL)... instead knowing there is a LV but u have to MF, might as well ignore it and pretend it doesnt exist LOL (joking)... but i agree with ur statement, A450 has LV, but not QLV. (btw, the fast AF LV is called QLV, quick live view)
Oo...sry boss, made a big time mistake there. Wait, means if i have to summarize ur exaplanation, i should say that all lens' focusing speed is mostly independent of their technologies but more dependent on the camera's capability, right?

Hmm, about that a450, sony uk's web specify something like 'Max.5 fps with viewfinder, max. 4 fps in live view mode (approx.) , max. 7 fps in speed-priority continuous mode'...so i thought it should have a LV laugh.gif or maybe Sony just copy paste from a550 without checking doh.gif

PS: EVIL seems too small to have a hotshoe mount laugh.gif

QUOTE(likito @ Mar 5 2010, 07:36 PM)
yah , 1870 do not have internal focus motor , so it use body AF system .  blush.gif
lol, sry bro, my mistake. Juz understood it through ieR's explanation =D
Fighteden
post Mar 5 2010, 08:03 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 02:33 PM)
well, performance wise, G and SSM's Zeiss does get the best out of top AF system(it does contribute to lowlight shooting, example of the A700's F2.8 sensor). and A900 will pushes the 70200G SSM to the limit (even better sensor to grab accuracy, and dual Bionz for processing and speed.

so, say, A2/3 series, they dont have F2.8 sensor (special sensor), and older sensor, it might not performce at best at lowlight. A550 has the newer AFsensor but not F2.8, but many review quote it's as good as F2.8 at lowlight. i have not tested it, so i have no comment.

i'd just say, the newer ur system/body/AFsystem, it will greatly benefit it.

for IQ wise, its very debateable... coz each lens has diff characteristic, and diff sweet spot, and also body dependent (FF and BF issue)

ksano
: i wont say the IQ is the same FF lens on FF or APS-C. standard FF lens are knowns to have softer corner(no comment on the premuim FF lens),... that why on APS-C... they dont see the corner because they only capture the centre area of the FF lens, which is the sharpest zone. hence, many people will say that APS-C has sharper IQ then FF.

and lugia the A450, i wont mind, coz the price is about the same as A330twinkit...

(A330 has LV, A450 doesnt, but greater iso, DRO, and auto HDR, 7fps then A330)... how to compare?
Vgrip? You mean battery grip? A330 doesn't support battery grip?

Actually i got a good offer for A330 (3 months old) and selling out my A300 to get it with RM50 topup only smile.gif
So i am getting my new body hopefully next week Tuesday .. can't wait

Banzai_san
post Mar 5 2010, 08:05 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 5 2010, 01:56 AM)
dreadlessdream: OIIIIIIIIIIIIII..... i shot that pic laaaaaa.... Norazfizal ke u?????? A700 la tuhhhh, sengaja buy my A700 to go shoot your wedding laaa...

waaah... so nice la you william. Bought the A700 for bro dreadlessdream's wedding rclxms.gif smile.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 5 2010, 02:00 AM)
For those who ask here's a quick reference!

Nice tip again from albnok... I think I need to copy and save this into my pc for future reference.
Thank you rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 02:33 PM)
-------- 8< --- snip --- 8< ----------------
so, say, A2/3 series, they dont have F2.8 sensor (special sensor), and older sensor, it might not performce at best at lowlight. A550 has the newer AFsensor but not F2.8, but many review quote it's as good as F2.8 at lowlight. i have not tested it, so i have no comment.
-------- 8< --- snip --- 8< ----------------

Some extra info on A550 focus sensors I read very recently. Thought I'd share with you guys/gals smile.gif

"The A500 and the A550 are equipped with sophisticated TTL phase detection autofocus (AF) system to assure quick, accurate focusing in almost all picture-taking situations. It utilize 9 focusing detection points including a cross-hatched center point. The location and angle of each focus detection point -- called Focus Area by Sony -- is denoted on the viewfinder screen. The central point is the most sensitive because it reads both vertical and horizontal patterns."

pg 112 - The focusing system.
"Magic Lantern Guides - SONY A500 A550" by Peter K Burian.

Im still reading and learning the basics from books, manuals and reading others postings blush.gif ... noobie me tongue.gif

btw, the blue phase sounds something similar to A700 2.8 sensor? but A700 is trigger when using 2.8 lenses ... if Im understand it correctly ... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Mar 5 2010, 10:00 PM
The Wonder
post Mar 5 2010, 08:40 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

the SAM motor, main reason is being real QUIET. that helps a lot in movie recordings. (SAM are prepare for the future video bodies...)
some of my friend tested, it seem on A550, AF-C works marvelously better with SAM lens.

SAM not really that quite, SSM is smile.gif .
hkhk
post Mar 5 2010, 09:53 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

lugia (and someone i lazy read back):
when comparing 1855 and 1870, definately the AF speed are taken in account, so is SAM vs body motor. i take it the A300 AI/chip arent optimise for lens motor... coz it works really slow with 70200G too (played with friend's A200+70200G, slow also) but i believe, (have no tested, but it seem the A330 with SAM are pretty fast on my hand) SAM is generation dependent, anything after A900 would go faster? (since 70200G is really fast on A900)
err. are u saying 70-200G is slow? 70200G is SSM lens. I believe it is slow due to the Weaker AF system on A200/A300 body compare to the A700-A900. The Key here is the different AF system used in those 2 class of body.. nothing related to the motor i think..

This post has been edited by hkhk: Mar 5 2010, 10:14 PM
ieR
post Mar 5 2010, 11:04 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

lugiamcg: well, AF speed, is influence by SOOOOoo many factor that, is so subjective. there is NO way to Generalize ALL lens characteristic. each lens has diff gearing, diff length, diff IF or EF design, diff gear size, and lot more.... even technology plays a factor, and camera body.

when u compare direct 1 point to another point, like SSM vs SAM or SAM vs body motor, it's easy to compare because we neglect the gearing possibility...

A450 cant 4fps with MF LV check. it cant, the mirror flip cant flip that fast~ unless it has mirror lock up features. i cant comment, i dont own a A450. however so, it has a LV but its for MFLVcheck, which is not practical because it does not activate AF.

Fighteden: depend on ur NEEDS, but if not for mobility, u are making a big mistake letting go the A300! A330 does not have a battery grip option (i prefer to call it Vgrip as Vertical Grip (or vertical orientation grip)). sony was thinking that Entry level is pure entry (family shooter), u dont need fancy tools to make it look big... u wan big, go BIG... like A4xx,5xxx,7xx,8xx,and 9xx biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Mar 5 2010, 08:05 PM)
btw, the blue phase sounds something similar to A700 2.8 sensor? but A700 is trigger when using 2.8 lenses ... if Im understand it correctly ...  hmm.gif
nope... A700 has all of A550 + extra F2.8 sensor. so it triple the sensitivity. but new tech AF is always more sensitive/accurate/smarter

the vertical and horizontal sensor, we call it cross sensor, cross as a '+' shape. all models has cross sensor for the centre AF point (sony calls it focus area =.=)

QUOTE(hkhk @ Mar 5 2010, 09:53 PM)
err. are u saying 70-200G is slow? 70200G is SSM lens. I believe it is slow due to the Weaker AF system on A200/A300 body compare to the A700-A900. The Key here is the different AF system used in those 2 class of body.. nothing related to the motor i think..
i didnt generalize 70200G as slow lens... i said it was slow on a A200, hence, yea, it could be body dependent too... but i wont say weaker, it did lock on first focus, it did not hunt, but it felt bout a little faster then 55-200 @.@ hence, i judge is on A200 is slow?

seriously, i cant really judge, might be the sensor itself, or the body tells the SSM to go slow, the optimum of the AF sensor speed? it was kinda slow on A200,... but i heard from a friend of A900, he said it was really really fast... i have no comment, unless someone with A200 and A900 with 70200G can do a control test and tell us the result...

the major noticeable thing is, its total silent... u keep asking urself, is the lens focusing? or not?

This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 5 2010, 11:07 PM
neo_lam
post Mar 5 2010, 11:23 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 5 2010, 11:04 PM)
lugiamcg: well, AF speed, is influence by SOOOOoo many factor that, is so subjective. there is NO way to Generalize ALL lens characteristic. each lens has diff gearing, diff length, diff IF or EF design, diff gear size, and lot more.... even technology plays a factor, and camera body.

when u compare direct 1 point to another point, like SSM vs SAM or SAM vs body motor, it's easy to compare because we neglect the gearing possibility...

A450 cant 4fps with MF LV check. it cant, the mirror flip cant flip that fast~ unless it has mirror lock up features. i cant comment, i dont own a A450. however so, it has a LV but its for MFLVcheck, which is not practical because it does not activate AF.

Fighteden: depend on ur NEEDS, but if not for mobility, u are making a big mistake letting go the A300! A330 does not have a battery grip option (i prefer to call it Vgrip as Vertical Grip (or vertical orientation grip)). sony was thinking that Entry level is pure entry (family shooter), u dont need fancy tools to make it look big... u wan big, go BIG... like A4xx,5xxx,7xx,8xx,and 9xx biggrin.gif
nope... A700 has all of A550 + extra F2.8 sensor. so it triple the sensitivity. but new tech AF is always more sensitive/accurate/smarter

the vertical and horizontal sensor, we call it cross sensor, cross as a '+' shape. all models has cross sensor for the centre AF point (sony calls it focus area =.=)
i didnt generalize 70200G as slow lens... i said it was slow on a A200, hence, yea, it could be body dependent too... but i wont say weaker, it did lock on first focus, it did not hunt, but it felt bout a little faster then 55-200 @.@ hence, i judge is on A200 is slow?

seriously, i cant really judge, might be the sensor itself, or the body tells the SSM to go slow, the optimum of the AF sensor speed? it was kinda slow on A200,... but i heard from a friend of A900, he said it was really really fast... i have no comment, unless someone with A200 and A900 with 70200G can do a control test and tell us the result...

the major noticeable thing is, its total silent... u keep asking urself, is the lens focusing? or not?
u r right...even a fast lens on a slow body cant fully utilizes the SSM...

125 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:26 PM