A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v2, FullHD Network Mediaplayer

Ngto
post Mar 31 2010, 02:09 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Mar 31 2010, 08:22 AM)
in case of using samsung LCD tv with the contrast and colour is high, which is better? ACRyan or WD Live
So subjective, the only way to get your answer is to borrow both the player and test it out yourself biggrin.gif .
Ngto
post Apr 2 2010, 10:10 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2010, 02:59 PM)
Apparently lotsa of complains on slow start-up if coupled wth YAMJ. & the currently the beta having some problem/crash when running Samba..as what I heard.

Also From the forum, One of the mod there confirmed there is no need to reformat HDD although it is encourage to do so.
With an interface like YAMJ don't expect to be fast as before. It will take up quite a bit of resources.
Ngto
post Apr 8 2010, 07:27 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 8 2010, 06:28 PM)
Which version is he using ?
That must be the Beta with the YAMJ.
Ngto
post Apr 9 2010, 11:00 AM

4,350 posts

Wah Media Player also got brain-storming workshop ah rclxms.gif
Ngto
post Apr 9 2010, 03:25 PM

4,350 posts

If Eugene himself is coming, better make sure he completes a very stable Firmware first, and also include DTS-MA and TrueHD bitstream or else he is gonna get bombarded left and right biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 9 2010, 03:26 PM
Ngto
post Apr 9 2010, 07:12 PM

4,350 posts

I thought Fat32 file size limit was 4GB?
Ngto
post Apr 11 2010, 02:36 AM

4,350 posts

Have you heard of the OK button biggrin.gif
Ngto
post Apr 12 2010, 09:35 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Charles_tkc @ Apr 12 2010, 06:28 PM)
my family just bought a full HD LCD..now im looking HD player..wat the basic needs...
First basic need is what sort of files do you intend to play and can you get hold of them?

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 13 2010, 10:23 AM
Ngto
post Apr 13 2010, 10:27 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(yaya1899 @ Apr 13 2010, 10:12 AM)
Just downloaded a TrueHD movie to test the real Blu-ray and realized that the TrueHD audio is not supported... shocking.gif
Old issue, already discussed it, left, right and center many times before. Don't expect TrueHD to be supported, ever!.

Right now , it can't even downmix it to stereo. AC Ryan blaming Realtek and Realtek just ignore and keep silent.
Ngto
post Apr 13 2010, 09:47 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ Apr 13 2010, 03:08 PM)
Sifu, how to avoid the problem? It can play nicely at 1st then can't play after a while...
like run a check disk? can it be done?
Also, how to check if it is hot?
Do you copy, move files to diff directories using POHD internal functions. Better avoid doing that and use PC to do that instead.

Last time while using earlier firmware I had some corruption problems. Since then I connect the POHD Internal HD to PC and do my housekeeping from there.
Ngto
post Apr 14 2010, 09:56 AM

4,350 posts

Just connect with the Cable provided lah (from the POHD USB Slave port to the PC USB port). The cable is the one with the Mini connector on one end and normal connector on the other. When your PC is switched on and you turn on the power of the POHD, the blue light will disappear after a few seconds and the PC will in turn detect it as a USB Drive.

Just use the POHD like any other External USB HD connected to your PC USB port. Make sure you use the "Safely Remove Hardware" feature when you want to disconnect the POHD from the Computer just to be safe (Just like any other USB device).

After you disconnect the cable, the POHD will power on back for normal functions.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 14 2010, 10:01 AM
Ngto
post Apr 14 2010, 10:00 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(byut74 @ Apr 14 2010, 05:55 PM)
I want to get POHD mini but got  a few question in my mind...

1. I don't home any home theater...can i play mkv file with DTS audio if i connect to my LCD TV
    Can i hear the sound.Do i need to convert the audio first.
If you only watch mkv files no need to bother about HD Audio problems biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 14 2010, 10:01 PM
Ngto
post Apr 15 2010, 10:33 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ufo91919 @ Apr 15 2010, 10:06 AM)
Sifus

Pls bear with me. Am quite illiterate on IT related matters.
I notice that quite a number of forumers mentioned mkv files. Is it the same as the RMVB files ??? icon_question.gif Because most of the movies that I watched  from internet carried the RMVB tag ...

Thanks !
Not the same, both different. But POHD and other Realtek players can play both.

MKV 'commonly' (not necessarily must be) contain movies ripped from Blu-ray and compressed (sometimes reduced to about 5 times it's original size) and resolution is up to 1080P. Quality is excellent considering it's compresssion ratio (common format H264)

RMVB can have decent resolution too, but however, for TVB series they are commonly compressed to lower resolution and low quality because a whole series will take up too much space.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 15 2010, 10:45 AM
Ngto
post Apr 15 2010, 11:40 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 15 2010, 10:50 AM)
With more and more people moving towards have bigger screen and better download bandwidth, I notice many places are now offering TVB series at 720p resolution.
That's the trend nowadays for anything smile.gif . If 20 episodes will take up 20GB or more. How long does it take you to DL. Just curious.
Ngto
post Apr 15 2010, 12:01 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(economist @ Apr 15 2010, 11:46 AM)
1 40 min tvb can be 1.1 gb or 600mb (dunno how they compress this)....for me using HF....u need about 10 mins for 100mb (on 1mbps streamyx)...so 10*10 is 100 mins
That means for you, if DL 20 episodes, will take less than 2days ? That's really fast.
Ngto
post Apr 20 2010, 09:05 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(8kelvin @ Apr 19 2010, 02:24 PM)

And I cant even copy a file from USB drive to PlayonHD, When I have selected the source and destination in File Copy, but no file copy when i press SELECT button.  doh.gif
Why do you not follow instructions found in Manual how to copy file. Let you do some homework first. Go check out the manual and see if you can find out which button to press to get the copy screen to appear biggrin.gif
Ngto
post Apr 26 2010, 12:26 AM

4,350 posts

Your USB Hard Drive require external power or not?
Ngto
post Apr 26 2010, 10:12 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Apr 26 2010, 02:38 PM)
u also using external blu-ray rom to make it work ??  rclxms.gif
sound good, then i can make order with someone selling avatar blu ray disc here  flex.gif
What he means is the normal BDMV Folder files stored on HDD.
Ngto
post Apr 28 2010, 10:51 PM

4,350 posts

If download too difficult for you can always buy from fellow forumers mah biggrin.gif
Ngto
post Apr 29 2010, 09:00 AM

4,350 posts

You mean you don't know there is a 'NEXT' button on the remote? doh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:33 PM