English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, 10/3 03:45 ARS vs POR | FT: ARS 3-1 BUR

toshio14
post Feb 18 2010, 06:11 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:08 AM)
Sort of agree and disagree on your opinion, tho the goalkeeper department do have it problem, but as long we put a strong back four infront of Almunia, it actually pretty safe. Another reason is because it hard to find a good goalkeeper, most good goalkeeper that I know of and like are in the status of NOT FOR SALE by their respective club, unless AW willing to pay like 15m for goalkeeper like Given or that bold guy who last time play for Blackburn, which I seriously doubt AW will do. To get goalkeeper like Buffon or Cech standard would need more than 20m.
yes, i do agree good goalkeeper costs a lot. but then we should ask ourselves, does it worth it? for me, goalkeeper is not a position to be played / tested / experimented around hence i think that spending money to get a good goalkeeper(s) is worth it

but of course we all would like Arsene to pull another Mad Jens again tongue.gif

This post has been edited by toshio14: Feb 18 2010, 06:13 AM
jim18992
post Feb 18 2010, 06:12 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 18 2010, 06:05 AM)
the position of the indirect freekick given correct or not ? thats the question for ref to answer....
It kind of correct actually, I saw it happen in other matches before. But the problem is, players should stand on the ball or something to prevent the opponent to take a fast freekick when their own teammates are not ready yet. Campbell was actually trying to do this, just that when he realize Fabianski mistake, it was too late, the Porto player already kick the ball already. I said this because I actually saw Campbell looking back and realize Fabianski gave back the ball to the referee and the referee place it on the ground, Campbell realize the problem and was heading toward the Porto player but was too late.
faintrulez
post Feb 18 2010, 06:13 AM

13 posts

yap, sumtimes GK has to be aggresive too. so dat wont be bullied by others.. ^^
jim18992
post Feb 18 2010, 06:17 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:11 AM)
yes, i do agree good goalkeeper costs a lot. but then we should ask ourselves, does it worth it? for me, goalkeeper is not a position to be played / tested / experimented around hence i think that spending money to get a good goalkeeper(s) is worth it

but of course we all would like Arsene to pull another Mad Jens againĀ  tongue.gif
Ya, but then, even if we are willing to spend like 20m on Buffon or some other goalkeeper that is near his standard and his price which can confirm near 100% to perform, their club most likely wont sell them. Buying goalkeeper of Given class which cost less and are easier to find don't guarantee a bullet proof performance. I believe if Given was playing for us, or that bold guy ( really cant remember his name, but I know he is good) that last time play for Blackburn, they would still perform like Almunia, because our back four do have a little bit problem, it a bit unbalance, both are too similar, we need a younger version of Campbell in the defense to balance it all off.

This post has been edited by jim18992: Feb 18 2010, 06:18 AM
toshio14
post Feb 18 2010, 06:24 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:17 AM)
Ya, but then, even if we are willing to spend like 20m on Buffon or some other goalkeeper that is near his standard and his price which can confirm near 100% to perform, their club most likely wont sell them. Buying goalkeeper of Given class which cost less and are easier to find don't guarantee a bullet proof performance. I believe if Given was playing for us, or that bold guy ( really cant remember his name, but I know he is good) that last time play for Blackburn, they would still perform like Almunia, because our back four do have a little bit problem, it a bit unbalance, both are too similar, we need a younger version of Campbell in the defense to balance it all off.
that bald guy is Brad Friedel, now playing for Aston Villa

yes, we can never be sure a bullet proof performances by spending to get a good goalkeeper. heck, we get a world class goalkeeper in the form of Jens Lehman for a mere 1.5 million

but my point still remain, something need to be done for our GK position. whether it's to buy a more proven GK or to fast track Vito and Chesney (i honestly given up on trying to spell his name correctly biggrin.gif ) is up to Arsene to decide. my worry is he decided to do nothing and stick with Manny and Lukasz for next season

Added on February 18, 2010, 6:25 amand for the record, i am definitely willing to spend 20 million for Buffon

This post has been edited by toshio14: Feb 18 2010, 06:31 AM
mengdez
post Feb 18 2010, 07:53 AM

No title
766 posts

Calm down guys, 2-1 still a good scoreline even we lost. smile.gif

SUSlittle_mozart
post Feb 18 2010, 08:18 AM

391 posts

The return of good old days rclxms.gif

SOS
noir7559
post Feb 18 2010, 08:28 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:24 AM)
that bald guy is Brad Friedel, now playing for Aston Villa

yes, we can never be sure a bullet proof performances by spending to get a good goalkeeper. heck, we get a world class goalkeeper in the form of Jens Lehman for a mere 1.5 million

but my point still remain, something need to be done for our GK position. whether it's to buy a more proven GK or to fast track Vito and Chesney (i honestly given up on trying to spell his name correctly  biggrin.gif ) is up to Arsene to decide. my worry is he decided to do nothing and stick with Manny and Lukasz for next season

Added on February 18, 2010, 6:25 amand for the record, i am definitely willing to spend 20 million for Buffon
GK blunder cost us again dis season. doh.gif . I wonder where will be standing now if we got Given @ the 1st place. And brad friedel was
another brilliant GK(watch his save vs rooney few weeks ago).

And bout buffon, if Buffon wanna leave Juve i wouldn't want him to go to any club except my Gunners, but i can see there's no way
he'll leave in some period of time. Juve did reject man city 50M offer 2 seasons ago and buffon keep staying even when Juve relegated.

And bout last nite match, dragao was not an easy venue to play, so losing 2-1 was a lot better than losing 1-0. I'm confident we can turn
the deficit here in emirates..
IcyDarling
post Feb 18 2010, 08:32 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:46 AM)
My god, one word for this performance, utter disgrace to the Arsenal badge, shirt and club.

What I don't like is how the players play, they pass around and run around like they treating this as an exhibition or something, like they already guaranteed a place in the next round or going to win big during the home leg doh.gif  No heart to play to put it simple. AW really need to knock some sense into the players, they should treat every single match with respect, in football there nothing guarantee, there no guarantee that we can 100% win by 2 goal or 3 in the 2nd leg game, somehow the players don't see that.

Anyway, on the plus side, Campbell is my Arsenal MOTM, it been a long long long time since I see an Arsenal defender that I have confident in, Campbell is the major reason we haven't conceded more, the Porto player that he is marking is totally silent out.

And the negative side, what the hell is Fabianski doing in tht match? If he always perform like that, I rather let Mannone play than him. Come on, most of his mistake is like among the worse mistake a goalkeeper can make. doh.gif
i always thought the worse keeper in epl is ben foster of manchester united, but after watching fabianski play sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(faintrulez @ Feb 18 2010, 06:56 AM)
there are two school boys error at d back!! wat laa. aiyoyo.. both of d goals are free gift wei! aiyoyoyo... @_@

cant blame fabregas tho.. he's been very great.. all move involving him. but sadly he suffered more than 10 times foul by porto players.. i think they wan to break cecs's leg.. aiyo shameful la.. >.<"
more like trying to piss him off and make him kena technical fouls.
leymar7
post Feb 18 2010, 08:48 AM

86 posts

keep the faith
Sighh huhu
tenno
post Feb 18 2010, 08:55 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(mengdez @ Feb 18 2010, 07:53 AM)
Calm down guys, 2-1 still a good scoreline even we lost.  smile.gif
I dun care if we lost to whoever, but the manner that we lost.. two schoolboy gifted goals... haih... lucky we got tht away goal.. at least sumthing la.

We have serious probs in our goalkeeping dept... it needs a revamp...
cry4freedom
post Feb 18 2010, 09:00 AM

The Only Exception
938 posts

I am optimistic that we will beat the crap out of Porto at the Emirates.

Well, I don't have any comment about the fast indirect freekick, since it's still legal. Henry did the same during Chelsea and West Ham few season's back and I didn't see their manager whining.

But Fabianski, *facepalm*. Why not Don Vito Mannone?
tuan_arif
post Feb 18 2010, 09:04 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Feb 18 2010, 08:32 AM)
i always thought the worse keeper in epl is ben foster of manchester united, but after watching fabianski play  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
nod.gif
watever77
post Feb 18 2010, 09:10 AM

93 posts

denilson has been unaggressive and unenthusiactic when delaying , chasing opponents , why whyy ..
SUSlittle_mozart
post Feb 18 2010, 09:10 AM

391 posts

our capi said skool boy errors too
vandetta_10
post Feb 18 2010, 09:14 AM

115 posts

luckily i dont wake up to watch this game...else maybe another bad day for me...but as far as i can remember...if i watch any arsenal game early in the morning this season, arsenal never lost...hmmm...shud wake up next leg...hehe
youloong118
post Feb 18 2010, 09:19 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:02 AM)
But seriously, Campbell still a good defender although he is old, he remind me the days where the Arsenal back four is a far less scarier place for us Arsenal fans to see. Honestly for the past few season, whenever an opponent attack, it always give me a heart attack seeing how our defender defended, a lot of last ditch defending laugh.gif  What Campbell is doing is actually preventing situation that needed last ditch defending from happening in the first place. Too bad Keown cant play anymore tho tongue.gif
Agree . Campbell is still tough guy . But he is quite slow whistling.gif
sakaito
post Feb 18 2010, 09:29 AM

1,366 posts

i watched the 2nd goal and was like WTF? Fabianski should've hold on to the ball until the ref asked for it. That's his error. u already caught the ball.. hold on to it la. haiya...

seriously, GK needs revamp. Fabianski has been a disaster ever since he arrived. 2 years and a lot of important games he cost us. time to cut the loses and invest in someone else.

I'm all for promoting Don Vito to 2nd place behind manny.

Denilson and Nasri, WTF weh?

Sol proves he still got what it takes. eventhough he don't have the pace, but his positioning sense broke down a lot of plays.

arshavin and eduardo.. please come back this weekend. Song too. I don't think we can risk losing anymore points in EPL. Denilson has been a disappointment this season.

ok.. having said that, we are in a good position because of the away goal. it should've been 1-1 had it not been for that stupid goal.
SUSlittle_mozart
post Feb 18 2010, 09:32 AM

391 posts

you forget about wallcot? I seriously think this guy know to run only. No skill at all. I rate his as passenger for last nite.

overhype. maybe can challenge usain bolt only.
sakaito
post Feb 18 2010, 09:48 AM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(little_mozart @ Feb 18 2010, 09:32 AM)
you forget about wallcot? I seriously think this guy know to run only. No skill at all. I rate his as passenger for last nite.

overhype. maybe can challenge usain bolt only.
yep... walcott too. haih.. so many things wrong yet we're still in it with the away goal. a 2-0 in at Emirates will be good enough and i think we can.

but seriously, Denilson... what happened?

Fabianski vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

118 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:37 AM