Feb 18 2010, 04:40 AM
704 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Malaysia |
1st half summary
WTF Lukasz???!!??? Welcome back Sol and by the looks of things i.e. Porto tried to kick Cesc out of the game, i am anticipating a red card in this match. but unfortunately for us, Cesc is among those likely candidates to get 1 Added on February 18, 2010, 4:41 amand lay off Gael for their goal, it was a brilliant piece of skill from their Silvestre This post has been edited by toshio14: Feb 18 2010, 04:41 AM |
Feb 18 2010, 05:46 AM
final score
Porto (read : Lukasz Fabianzki) 2 - 1 Arsenal as a whole, that was an awful performances from the whole team bar Bakary who i thought was excellent and Sol who IMO proving to be a more than able cover for the central defensive area |
Feb 18 2010, 06:02 AM
i am pretty sure that we will do the job at the Emirates, what's more with all the regular guys coming back (yes Manny, that's including you). but this goalkeeper position had been costing us matches especially the more important matches for over 2 years now. surely we need to do something to address this
i'm not even sure if this is just the heat of the moment kind of thing, but if nothing was done to address this goalkeeper issue next season i am going to start having my doubts over Arsene. there, i've said it |
Feb 18 2010, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 18 2010, 06:05 AM) the position of the indirect freekick given correct or not ? thats the question for ref to answer.... ref was poor throughout, but we lose this to our own stupidity and as Cesc puts it "schoolboy error"and now i got my answer to why Manny keep on getting the start even after less than convincing displays this season |
Feb 18 2010, 06:11 AM
QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:08 AM) Sort of agree and disagree on your opinion, tho the goalkeeper department do have it problem, but as long we put a strong back four infront of Almunia, it actually pretty safe. Another reason is because it hard to find a good goalkeeper, most good goalkeeper that I know of and like are in the status of NOT FOR SALE by their respective club, unless AW willing to pay like 15m for goalkeeper like Given or that bold guy who last time play for Blackburn, which I seriously doubt AW will do. To get goalkeeper like Buffon or Cech standard would need more than 20m. yes, i do agree good goalkeeper costs a lot. but then we should ask ourselves, does it worth it? for me, goalkeeper is not a position to be played / tested / experimented around hence i think that spending money to get a good goalkeeper(s) is worth itbut of course we all would like Arsene to pull another Mad Jens again This post has been edited by toshio14: Feb 18 2010, 06:13 AM |
Feb 18 2010, 06:24 AM
QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:17 AM) Ya, but then, even if we are willing to spend like 20m on Buffon or some other goalkeeper that is near his standard and his price which can confirm near 100% to perform, their club most likely wont sell them. Buying goalkeeper of Given class which cost less and are easier to find don't guarantee a bullet proof performance. I believe if Given was playing for us, or that bold guy ( really cant remember his name, but I know he is good) that last time play for Blackburn, they would still perform like Almunia, because our back four do have a little bit problem, it a bit unbalance, both are too similar, we need a younger version of Campbell in the defense to balance it all off. that bald guy is Brad Friedel, now playing for Aston Villayes, we can never be sure a bullet proof performances by spending to get a good goalkeeper. heck, we get a world class goalkeeper in the form of Jens Lehman for a mere 1.5 million but my point still remain, something need to be done for our GK position. whether it's to buy a more proven GK or to fast track Vito and Chesney (i honestly given up on trying to spell his name correctly Added on February 18, 2010, 6:25 amand for the record, i am definitely willing to spend 20 million for Buffon This post has been edited by toshio14: Feb 18 2010, 06:31 AM |
Feb 18 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(sakaito @ Feb 18 2010, 09:29 AM) i watched the 2nd goal and was like WTF? Fabianski should've hold on to the ball until the ref asked for it. That's his error. u already caught the ball.. hold on to it la. haiya... bro, Lukasz did hold onto the ball until the referee asked for it. as i said earlier, we lost this due to our own stupidity but on their second goal the referee was practically a Porto player seriously, GK needs revamp. Fabianski has been a disaster ever since he arrived. 2 years and a lot of important games he cost us. time to cut the loses and invest in someone else. I'm all for promoting Don Vito to 2nd place behind manny. |
Feb 18 2010, 01:59 PM
the only argument to the awarding of the free kick was that Sol was not intentionally passing the ball back to Lukasz i.e. it's not a backpass. but surely that was stupid from Lukasz to pick up that ball when he can clearly see that the ball did touch Sol's left led
but to be fair to him, i thought he did delay the free kick enough so that the other players coming back to defend the free kick. Sol did tried to come back to defend but was blocked by the referee, but only Sol was there to make any meaningful defensive duties towards that free kick anyway, i did said last night that we only have ourselves to blame for not winning last night |
Feb 18 2010, 07:00 PM
i thought Aaron is currently out with injury?
Feb 19 2010, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(jim18992 @ Feb 19 2010, 06:24 PM) There no flop in Arsenal team currently (Fabianski don't count cause he never actually have a run of games, though few of the game he play actually do make me feel i never thought Samir performed well enough to justify his price tag for the 1 season and a half he'd been with us so far. he's certainly is 1 of the main reason for our toothless attack for these past gloomy months we have for our striking departmentJust that sometime the player just off form, like Nasri, he is currently off form, he did perform well last year. Also, sometime I felt it the fault of the tactic that make some of our player perform under par, for example how can AW put Ashavin against giant like Rio Ferdinand and such up front alone? |
Feb 19 2010, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(vcxv @ Feb 19 2010, 08:44 PM) I thought georcuff is the next zidane? the second season syndrome is when you have an excellent / good first season. i don't think we can say that at all for SamirNasri was inconsistent this year. Probably the 2nd season syndrome the thing that frustrate me is that he has it in him to play the front 3 role better. we saw it during the FA Cup match against West Ham. he played the wide attacking role in the front 3 excellently in that match. beats the hell out of me why he did not do that more often though |
Feb 21 2010, 01:30 AM
great result as i put this as 1 of the 4 difficult league matches that we have until the end of the season
Manu Eboue was excellent, add so much more to our attack. Alex Song and Samir also very very good. i like Alex Song tackle towards the end so much, it's all about desire to win the ball back for us. special mention to Manny who save our asses again for the second consecutive league matches. now that the Manny from last season |
Feb 26 2010, 07:46 PM
Mar 1 2010, 11:15 PM
get well soon Aaron. you will be missed, but the lads had learned their lesson and fight till the end to win the match. let's win the remaining 10 league matches and win the league for Aaron
all the senior players stepped up mentally after the incident. Cesc, Sol and Gael in particular were very important in keeping the team from crumbled down after that incident. Gael was the 1 who kept TV checked after the incident when it seems like TV was really2 disturbed by the tackle. and i thought Gael was excellent throughout the match people can say what they want, but 3 very bad leg injury incidents in the space of 5 years are serious. and make no mistake, this is all came from the stereotype comment that is "you can beat Arsenal if you rough them up, kick them a lil bit". and somehow, the referee also buy into this kind of thinkig. call me paranoia or whatever, our opponents always allowed to tackle, kick, disrupt us for multiple times before even being warned by the referee. and when we did it, usually we will get a booking at the very first tackle. and i still remember Billy Gallas used to received a yellow when he asking from some explanation from the referee when he was our captain. and still i did not see any action from the FA (nor did i expected any though) this is not me wishing for injury to any other players, but we will surely see different reactions and follow up actions if <insert England "star" player name here> at the end of such incident. i cannot imagine the reaction from all of them; media, so called pundits and the FA if Rooney is to receive that kind of tackle come May and last but not least, EFF U Shawcross, Pulis and Stoke City |
Mar 1 2010, 11:36 PM
anybody knows who Cesc was showing the "shut up" sign to nearing the end of that match?
Mar 1 2010, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(kanelee @ Mar 1 2010, 11:46 PM) QUOTE(1809 @ Mar 1 2010, 11:46 PM) thanks. indeed a proper gesture. i love Cesc, not Henry-love level just yet but he's getting therewhat with all this talk about no intent la, malice la. how the EFF can you prove intent anyway. the f*cker broke Aaron leg, and he should be punished accordingly for it oh, while i'm still remember EFF U also Delap This post has been edited by toshio14: Mar 1 2010, 11:53 PM |
Mar 5 2010, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(sakaito @ Mar 4 2010, 11:46 PM) anyway, c*nts! i'm expecting a reaction from the boys and will be very disappointed if we do not sit on top of the league table after the match against Burnleyhttp://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id...england&cc=4716 please boys... 5 goals or more against them. and sol, break a leg... literally. then we'll see what the pundits gonna say. |
Mar 5 2010, 12:23 AM
yup, 1st and foremost 3 points is a must. but if there's any game that we should be taking advantage to increase our goal differences, it will be Burnley at home. add to the fact that i'd like to see the boys show some kind of reaction to Aaron injury, i am expecting us to sit on top of the table after this match
as we are at home, and would like to get a lot of goals so i will play this team Al Manu Eboue - Solman - TV - Gael Abou - Cesc - Samir Nik - Dudu - Andy this is assuming Abou and Andy are fit 100% to start. bring in Theo at around an hour mark (hopefully with us leading at least by 3 goals) to kill them This post has been edited by toshio14: Mar 5 2010, 12:23 AM |
Mar 5 2010, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(Aeroberg @ Mar 5 2010, 05:33 PM) f*ck la all this people. reading that piece really make me angry. thought i'll never talk about the incident again but the cluelessness of most people forced me to talk about this againhow hard it is to understand that whatever intent the f*cker has or not does not matter. look at the fact la woi, there's a tackle (at best, it's a reckless tackle), and then there's a broken leg. nak tengok apa lagi, prepare to receive the punishment la. whoever keep on talking about intent is clearly do not have a single f*cking clue. people who keep on saying the tackle wasn't malicious also do not have a clue, and they all can go to hell for all i care and why the hell should Arsene retract his comment about the tackle. sometimes i do wonder if these people speak English or not, you know them being an English people. see, our boss is a highly intelligent and an excellent human being. he did not criticize the Stoke f*cker, but he criticize the tackle. see the difference in that you stupid Stoke manager and stupid English media (this goes to Paul Parker by the way, sorry excuse for a 'pundit'. a big f*ck u to all the way from Malaysia). our boss said the TACKLE was horrendous and unacceptable, what is so wrong with that? for what i want to be sorry with the Stoke f*ckers about that. anyway, it's not like the Stoke f*cker never had any history regarding bad tackle. ask Jeffers and Adebayor about that tough week eh Ryan? try be the 1 in hospital with broken leg at 2 places at the age of 19 then Theo, shut up la wei. Arsenal pay your undeservedly high salary la, ingat sikit This post has been edited by toshio14: Mar 5 2010, 05:52 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:17 AM |