84 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

faceless
post Oct 25 2010, 10:58 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I love it when the violin is used for gypsy folk song rclxms.gif Talking about violin, I wish Cassie was here.

Ahhh the Polycarbonate instruments. They made polycarbonate guitar for Jay Chou recently. They shape the guitar's body like a dragon. The instrument cost some millions just because it is Jay Chou's.

I am not inpressed with the two person guzheng. I heard of a butterfly guzheng form a fellow class mate. It is quite similar. the playing side is in the middle. A player sit there and play left (bass) and right side.

Sorry Karenalvin, cant help you on that. Hope the others here can.
la bella
post Oct 25 2010, 11:26 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 25 2010, 09:45 AM)
I know. You already hinted in your pervious post. This is MPO. They will never give us exactly what we want. It is the same situation "boh huh hair pun a sai" (we will settle for the shrimps if we cant get the fish). Listening to music in a philharmonic hall is a great experience. With the ettiquette at MPO we can even hear a pin fall on the floor.
If it is happy hour then we dont need to think twice about it. Just "sapu" the box A or F (sepuluh ringgit satu ticket sahaja). My memory tells me that there is only 4 or 6 seats for box A or F. I am sure we can get the numbers. If not then think of it as we had "pau" the box for our exclusive use smile.gif From the current indication of attendance, there is a high possibility that I may end up being in the box alone.  cry.gif  Subang may be in Xian. la Bella may end up being a performer since Empire is always recruiting talents.
QUOTE(empire @ Oct 25 2010, 10:11 AM)
faceless...My band will perform a few songs with our world class Violinist friend from Romania that night too. He is a beast on the Violin. He will play the technically challenging Gypsy folk songs. This is not for the faint hearted. His level of playing will kill many world class Violinists!

I will inform you guys the moment ticket is up for sale. :-)
I'll be the audience. Just now i called MPO box office, confirmed the tickets for the event on 8 Dec 2010 6.30pm is available for sale now. =) Ok faceless please get the box seats. There's 6 seats in the front box A/F. biggrin.gif Yeah the hall has awesome acoustic, I have watched countless concerts in the pass few years. laugh.gif It's just great.

Karenalvin
post Oct 25 2010, 11:52 AM

247 posts

oh, so how many of u going?
faceless
post Oct 25 2010, 12:56 PM

4,515 posts

la Bella,
Put up the MPO box office number here. I will call them to book the tickets. I can always pick them up later. The most important thing is to pau Box A/F. When I attended mei mei concert, I ended up with box G. Well, it was still box seat. It is too bad they need 8 for bulk discount and there is only 6 set in the best boxes.

Karenalvin,
You are welcome to join us. We are not an exclusive member club thingy. Any forumer who likes music and are willing to share their knowledge are our friend.
la bella
post Oct 25 2010, 01:29 PM

962 posts

faceless,
MPO Box Office Tel: 03-20517007.

Thanks ya.
faceless
post Oct 25 2010, 03:10 PM

4,515 posts

I have got a very badly informed box office staff. They cant tell me the performance for that night. Even when I asked if it was "Around the World", they cant confirm. I had been put on hold so long and they still cant tell me. They are going to call me back. Anyway I guess we will start booking when Empire tells us to. Maybe they are still in the process of finalisng the program.
subangman
post Oct 25 2010, 06:46 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 25 2010, 03:10 PM)
I have got a very badly informed box office staff. They cant tell me the performance for that night. Even when I asked if it was "Around the World", they cant confirm. I had been put on hold so long and they still cant tell me. They are going to call me back. Anyway I guess we will start booking when Empire tells us to. Maybe they are still in the process of finalisng the program.
Dear all..... I need 3 tickets pls. BOX Seat ONLY... Tha.

will post more upon reachin SZB.... no mood & damn tired + FLIGHT DELAY again. sweat.gif

user posted image my stupid BLUE HSDPA thumb now veri veri freakin slow....

This post has been edited by subangman: Oct 25 2010, 07:07 PM
Karenalvin
post Oct 25 2010, 11:08 PM

247 posts

so its on 8 dec right? how many going?

This post has been edited by Karenalvin: Oct 25 2010, 11:09 PM
empire
post Oct 25 2010, 11:45 PM

2,549 posts

Faceles...I'm surprised the staff doesnt even know what act is on 8th Dec! MPO Concert booking Dept has already emailed me the confirmation many weeks ago.

Yes...it will be 'Around the World' with Fairytale Festival Band. It will feature Mr K.G (me) on Vocal, Mandolin, Mandola and Grand Piano....Ms Amanda on Dizi, Clarinet, Vocal, Irish Tin Whistles, Ms Gin on Violin and Erhu and Ms Vivian on Cello,Guzheng and Vocal.

You will hear excellent Folk and Pop music from Japan, Korea, South America, Middle East, Ireland, China, India, Malaysia, Romania, Australia, Sweden, USA, Africa and many more!

It will be Concert filled with laughters....not serious like those heavy weekend Classical concerts on MPO. There will a lot of Jokes from me on stage :-)

subangman
post Oct 26 2010, 12:27 AM

562 posts

Faceless : if u r going to pickup the tickets; i need 3pax pls.
Wed. kita jom pi St. James Gate. will scout around pasar seni if there is a joint.

Empire : u wan to join in bru ? or any other forumer pls dun b shy if u r free. .. after 5pm .

user posted image SZB biggrin.gif
faceless
post Oct 26 2010, 09:43 AM

4,515 posts

Empire,
I called them at about 14:00. I was actually on hold for 20 minutes and they still cant give me an answer. At 18:00 they finally called me back and told me the title of the performance is "Around the world in 1 day". It should be yours. They told me there is a MPO violin as the leader (His name sounded like some Nut Mar ...). I guess that should be your performance (since you had given me some idea of a violin feature). It was under happy hour so I "pao" the BoxA (all six seat) smile.gif as planned. Let us know what time your show ends.

Subang,
From the above message, you know I had your tickets. Anyway, we will meet tomorrow at the front entrance of Pasar Seni (the one that faces the LRT).

la Bella,
I got your ticket too.

BOX A
Box A is a confirmed booking. With 3 seats for Subang, 1 for la Bella and 1 for me; we still 1 seat available. If there is more joining hopefully we can get Box F. Most likely we cant fill Box F, so we are not going to pao Box F. It will be nice if we can exceed 8 to get RM1 discount but the discount is no big deal. I need to pay them by this Thursday to secure the booking. So please let me know by tomorrow if you wish to join us to save me from making an extra trip there.

The tentative program would be to go stright KLCC after work for a pre concert get together. You still need to get your tickets from me. I can be there as early as 17:20. The venue would either be Chilli of Burger King. Post concert gathering would depend on participation.

This post has been edited by faceless: Oct 26 2010, 10:24 AM
la bella
post Oct 26 2010, 11:19 AM

962 posts

Thanks faceless. Will be attending the concert. I think i need to get off work earlier about 5pm. Normally i off work at 5.30, it's a bit rush for the 6.30 concert. May join you guys for a post concert gathering.

Empire, your band seems interesting and fun. By the way, how long is your show? one hour?

empire
post Oct 26 2010, 11:34 AM

2,549 posts

Kudos to Faceless for your enthusiasm! It's heart warming to see you folks supporting my Band. Yes..it's 'Around the World in 1 day". That's our show.

SUbang...I cant join you guys esok...got 3 long meetings in the evening. sigh...

La Bella...yes...1 hour...but I think we will perform longer :-)

faceless
post Oct 26 2010, 11:38 AM

4,515 posts

It had always been a rush for most people. The irony is they call this the Jam Buster. They had used lines like, "Why get caught in traffic jam? Join us for the MPO Happy Hour". The problem is people who dont work near KLCC will have to beat the jam to get there. biggrin.gif

la Bella,
We will meet at the queue to get in the Box A. If I remember right, we had to get in 15 minutes before the concert. So we will meet at 6:15pm. I will confirm the time again after looking at the ticket on when we should enter the concert. Since this is not your first time at MPO, you should know what I am talking about.
empire
post Oct 26 2010, 02:10 PM

2,549 posts

Faceles...la Bella is a sweet young thing :-D
subangman
post Oct 26 2010, 02:29 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 26 2010, 11:38 AM)
It had always been a rush for most people. The irony is they call this the Jam Buster. They had used lines like, "Why get caught in traffic jam? Join us for the MPO Happy Hour". The problem is people who dont work near KLCC will have to beat the jam to get there. biggrin.gif

la Bella,
We will meet at the queue to get in the Box A. If I remember right, we had to get in 15 minutes before the concert. So we will meet at 6:15pm. I will confirm the time again after looking at the ticket on when we should enter the concert. Since this is not your first time at MPO, you should know what I am talking about.
dun worry... ppl like me will come early b4 the jam begins and perhaps b tipsy b4 the show... LOL rclxm9.gif

Added on October 26, 2010, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(empire @ Oct 26 2010, 02:10 PM)
Faceles...la Bella is a sweet young thing :-D
so there will b 3 SYTs there with 1 ah pek & 1 Kor kor... LOL

This post has been edited by subangman: Oct 26 2010, 02:31 PM
faceless
post Oct 26 2010, 03:01 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Oct 26 2010, 11:34 AM)
Kudos to Faceless for your enthusiasm! It's heart warming to see you folks supporting my Band. Yes..it's 'Around the World in 1 day". That's our show.

La Bella...yes...1 hour...but I think we will perform longer :-)
No problem. You can make up for it by performing longer. With MPO ettiquette we cant be shouting "encore, encore, encore" but if we give you a standing ovation then you know what to do, right?

QUOTE(subangman @ Oct 26 2010, 02:29 PM)
dun worry... ppl like me will come early b4 the jam begins and perhaps b tipsy b4 the show... LOL  rclxm9.gif
If you are there early let me know, I will join you if I had a quiet afternoon.

This will look more like a family gathering tongue.gif Maybe should get another SYT and make the neighbours jealous.

Oneperson,
You seem very quiet on this. You joining us? Its is the best seat on the house at RM10 only. It is at KLCC so you need not concern yourself with transport. You dont even have to worrry about getting home late too.
la bella
post Oct 26 2010, 04:18 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Oct 26 2010, 02:29 PM)
laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif

faceless,

MPO less strict during happy hours, should be no problem for shouting encore! biggrin.gif
empire
post Oct 26 2010, 05:05 PM

2,549 posts

FOlks...if you shout "Encore"...pls shout it very LOUD! The Louder the better...so that MPO will call us back for another round in 2011!

faceless
post Oct 27 2010, 09:38 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Oct 26 2010, 04:18 PM)
faceless,
MPO less strict during happy hours, should be no problem for shouting encore!  biggrin.gif
If I knew about this during mei mei concert I would have brought in the wineskin wink.gif

QUOTE(empire @ Oct 26 2010, 05:05 PM)
FOlks...if you shout "Encore"...pls shout it very LOUD! The Louder the better...so that MPO will call us back for another round in 2011!
Hey, how can you bribe your audience before the show. icon_idea.gif Box A will take the lead and shout but you have to work for it, bru. Entertain us well and we will bring the roof down so that we get to do it again next year smile.gif

Subang,
You had to tell mei mei sifu to do a repeat with MPO. I am sure we can muster another group to bring the roof down. icon_rolleyes.gif

Box A
Box A is filled. I will be picking up the tickets at lunch time later. Empire you can consider Box A your official cheerleader rclxm9.gif Do a good job and make us proud to say we know that guy up there. Now if there are still people interested we will work on gettting box F. For information Box A is taken by
3 Subang
1 la Bella
1 Karenalvin
1 Me
6 Total
Now perhaps we can throw in some ideas for the post concert gathering. Since it is schedule to finish at 7.30pm we can have dinner. Even if we manage to get an encore 8pm is still not too late for dinner. Any other ideas just post it.

Karenalvin,
A musician is known by their instrument. Tell us what instrument you play?

This post has been edited by faceless: Oct 27 2010, 09:41 AM

84 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:15 PM