QUOTE(blaze270284 @ Feb 2 2010, 10:52 PM)
thanx. One more question, I have a house in my Kampung which I is left empty and only visited during hari raya. What is the cheapest way of installing astro? I don't want to pay every month just to watch it during hari raya..
When u subscribe to byond, keep your old dish & cable, return old decoder.
During balik kampung, bring your byond decoder, smart card & old dish, cable as well. Just install the dish & cable by yourself.
I did it twice successfully.
1. 1st when i subscribe to astro, i live in centralized dish apartment. So, installer just installed splitter & decoder. I insist to get the dish which they refuse to give firstly. Luckily, when i move to new house i need the dish. I install it by myself (yes, only me - drill the wall & so on). I manage to get signal strength 69 (almost same like in my previous apartment which is 68).
2. At my parent house when they move to new house, i get signal strength 71.
The key thing is:
- you need to believe in yourself
- observe closely on existing angle dish (using normal compass will do, you'll notice it's actually facing West) & don't forget reading on adjustable angle (0-90 degree)
- During your dish adjustment, bring your tv as close as at the dish. So u can notice if u had adjust the angle properly. Old decoder is more user friendly actually during this process (you will hear beep beep sound).
If you still not sure, u still can pay astro installer (RM80-100) to install it for you. Of course u can't get real good signal strength with byond using old dish, but it still work. I don't have any special equipment, just compass only.
But don't forget to bring back your decoder & smart card after balik kampung. else, u won't watch astro at your home
btw, this question is out of topic actually.