104 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

SUSlogit85
post Sep 5 2010, 11:37 AM

1,814 posts

edit

This post has been edited by logit85: Sep 6 2010, 12:33 PM
jchong
post Sep 5 2010, 07:51 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 4 2010, 06:24 PM)
hey guys...
I've been into computer speakers world but have never knew much about HT world...

so I was wondering
-what's the best subwoofer recommended for music(and not movies)
-how cheap can a single active subwoofer costs (for subs not smaller than 8" driver)
-does most subwoofer have that variable low pass filter(like you can tune it to 40hz-160hz)

would appreciate if you guys can answer my question
QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Sep 5 2010, 01:49 AM)
any recommendations for an active (~RM1k+) sub?
solely for music use(once in a while movies), used in a small room so i'd prefer something tight and dynamic, need not to be loud, it is to compensate my bookshelf which doesnt go low enough

thanks smile.gif
Generally for music you would want a sealed sub. However, I'm not aware of any good sealed subs to fit within a tight budget (like <1k). Even something like the SVS SB10-NSD (10" driver) is 2.6k.

So you'd have to look at ported subs, for which the price range is very wide and you can find something to fit your budget.
power911
post Sep 5 2010, 08:31 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 5 2010, 07:51 PM)
Generally for music you would want a sealed sub. However, I'm not aware of any good sealed subs to fit within a tight budget (like <1k). Even something like the SVS SB10-NSD (10" driver) is 2.6k.

So you'd have to look at ported subs, for which the price range is very wide and you can find something to fit your budget.
aww sad... must it be in the thousand range? sad.gif
sealed subs are nice... ported isn't... I've experienced it

at least that question has been answered. thanks a lot

for the last question, what about that?
jchong
post Sep 5 2010, 08:58 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 5 2010, 08:31 PM)
aww sad... must it be in the thousand range? sad.gif
sealed subs are nice... ported isn't... I've experienced it

at least that question has been answered. thanks a lot

for the last question, what about that?
Well, I've not seen any reputable sealed sub in the hundreds range. I suspect a sealed sub involves more design work and higher parts cost, hence fewer low-cost models.

Most subs have an upper cut off (at the top end) using the crossover adjustment. This is to blend in with the main speakers. For the low end, generally there is no filter (only a few subs have it) i.e. the sub will perform until its mechanical/design limit at the bottom end.

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 5 2010, 09:00 PM
Beach_Boy
post Sep 5 2010, 10:18 PM

:D
8,456 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 5 2010, 07:51 PM)

looks like i might have to settle with the wharfedale's sw150(550SGD which is still within my budget, ~RM1-1.5k)
or up my budget to get the ASW610 or the SVS (both listed at 2.6k mellow.gif )
komag
post Sep 5 2010, 10:25 PM

300 posts

Where can buy this wharfedale's sw150 in penang ?
power911
post Sep 5 2010, 11:12 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 5 2010, 08:58 PM)
Well, I've not seen any reputable sealed sub in the hundreds range. I suspect a sealed sub involves more design work and higher parts cost, hence fewer low-cost models.

Most subs have an upper cut off (at the top end) using the crossover adjustment. This is to blend in with the main speakers. For the low end, generally there is no filter (only a few subs have it) i.e. the sub will perform until its mechanical/design limit at the bottom end.
hmm... I guess I'll have to build my own enclosure then hmm.gif

but then I've remembered yamaha got the low cut filter

Edit: lol that's a high cut filter doh.gif
so that means most subwoofers have this filter? awesome! drool.gif
that kinda makes me reconsider some subwoofers.
will have a look at some SVS subs (and will try to save up for them)

thx for the info notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 5 2010, 11:13 PM
dlyz
post Sep 6 2010, 08:07 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Hmmm, for me, high chance im delaying sub purchase sad.gif, going for bookshelf instead which is easier to drive than my floorstand. Most probably Dynaudio DM 2/8, will go audit this wednesday. Just audited DM 2/7 2 days ago.

But somehow or the other, i will get a sub in the near future smile.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 6 2010, 08:46 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Sep 6 2010, 08:07 AM)
Hmmm, for me, high chance im delaying sub purchase sad.gif, going for bookshelf instead which is easier to drive than my floorstand. Most probably Dynaudio DM 2/8, will go audit this wednesday. Just audited DM 2/7 2 days ago.

But somehow or the other, i will get a sub in the near future smile.gif
Time to upgrade your amp, perhaps? smile.gif
SUSlogit85
post Sep 6 2010, 12:33 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 5 2010, 09:10 AM)
It is RM14.5K, you sure buy going to? Pleas go and buy two fulfill to your dream of best sub listering tamil songs
what u listering to dual sealed sub which two subwoofer ??? for watching movie still doesn't suit movies how about music for dual sealed sub
dlyz
post Sep 6 2010, 05:48 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 6 2010, 08:46 AM)
Time to upgrade your amp, perhaps?  smile.gif
Hopefully i dont have to, will find out after i carry my amp over to audit tis wed at my friend's house. smile.gif Im gonna be dry after tis sad.gif

This post has been edited by dlyz: Sep 6 2010, 05:49 PM
shinzhizu
post Sep 7 2010, 12:48 PM

1,298 posts

i looking sub.. SW150 or Para PDR10.which is better? I going music 70% and 30% movie.
TShtkaki
post Sep 7 2010, 11:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would suggest that you consider sealed sub since you are mostly into music. Wharfedale SW250 or similar in this price point worth considering.
ronaldjoe
post Sep 7 2010, 11:26 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2010, 11:15 PM)
I would suggest that you consider sealed sub since you are mostly into music. Wharfedale SW250 or similar in this price point worth considering.
SVS SB 10 tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 7 2010, 11:35 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, out of his budget lah. Those subs that he mentioned is below RM2K.
chewkl
post Sep 7 2010, 11:55 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2010, 11:15 PM)
U forgot to ask him his living room/HT room size first. sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Sep 8 2010, 12:08 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
Top up bit lo. Hifi set up ain't cheap. sweat.gif
shinzhizu
post Sep 8 2010, 09:02 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
ya. looking below RM2k if possible..beside sw250?

Added on September 8, 2010, 9:08 am
QUOTE(chewkl @ Sep 7 2010, 11:55 PM)
U forgot to ask him his living room/HT room size first. sweat.gif
i use at my own room. 3.5m x 4m.

This post has been edited by shinzhizu: Sep 8 2010, 09:08 AM
Beach_Boy
post Sep 8 2010, 09:51 PM

:D
8,456 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Sep 8 2010, 09:02 AM)
ya. looking below RM2k if possible..beside sw250?

Added on September 8, 2010, 9:08 am
i use at my own room. 3.5m x 4m.
i think you'll have to settle with PDR10
local distro says that the SW150 EOL already
but i think SG distro might have left some old stock(why do i know? cuz im looking for one too, with the same criteria tongue.gif)

if really cannot get the SW150, i think i'll get the impact 10 or impact mini (~RM1.4-8k) instead smile.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 8 2010, 11:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

He is more into music. The vented sub mentioned suffers from overhang and rather boomy to say the least. Not sure whether Sunfire has any sealed sub within his budget.

104 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:46 PM