silkworm
post May 26 2005, 04:56 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(ray_ @ May 26 2005, 10:46 AM)
Thanks for the link.

I'm not sure you could qualify the "Local Storage" as L1 cache yet. I would think that L1 cache access should be synchronized at core's frequency. We'll need to see if "Local Storage" is running at core frequency or other slower bus frequencies.

But you got one thing right. The SPE does indeed have DMA. There are no description however on whether the SMFs are DMAs. It would be nice to know if they have a dedicated DMA channel for each SPU or virtual DMA channels supported by a few physical DMAs.

Actually, after reading the arstechnica article on the X360 CPU, I was reminded of something. The targetted application of the SPUs is mainly processing of streaming data, which is inherently cache-unfriendly. Cache in the memory hierarchy alleviates the memory-to-cpu bottleneck by leveraging temporal and spatial locality. 3D scene data and video decoding have neither locality. However, code that acts on this data has high locality. Hence, the SPE local store looks like it is more useful as I-cache + deep buffer for streaming data.

This sort of lines up with the "DSP-like" tag the SPEs have been given. Real DSPs also don't feature much in the way of data caches, since they're operated in more of a "fire and forget" way. Which makes sense, because unless you're playing a broken record, or pointing a camera at a painting, there's no way that the data into the DSP is going to repeat itself.

This post has been edited by silkworm: May 26 2005, 05:09 PM
SUSMatrix
post May 26 2005, 05:24 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ May 26 2005, 04:13 PM)
PS2 is capable of doing 5.1 during CG and DVD..
so its not exactly equivalent to DC. sorry..
Yes, it's slightly better than a DC. But i'm more interested in the real-time dobly digital encoding like those of the XBOX. PS2 can only do decoding of 5.1 for CG/DVD playback( although one or two games do make use of DTS encoding via software). Armed with a HT system, it really makes the PS2 version of the same game sounds like pop gun. DPL2 is nice but really no substitute for DD5.1 once you've experienced it.

ray_
post May 26 2005, 05:26 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(silkworm @ May 26 2005, 04:56 PM)
Actually, after reading the arstechnica article on the X360 CPU, I was reminded of something. The targetted application of the SPUs is mainly processing of streaming data, which is inherently cache-unfriendly. Cache in the memory hierarchy alleviates the memory-to-cpu bottleneck by leveraging temporal and spatial locality. 3D scene data and video decoding have neither locality. However, code that acts on this data has high locality. Hence, the SPE local store looks like it is more useful as I-cache + deep buffer for streaming data.

This sort of lines up with the "DSP-like" tag the SPEs have been given. Real DSPs also don't feature data caches, they're operated in more of a "fire and forget" way. Which makes sense, because unless you're playing a broken record, or pointing a camera at a painting, there's no way that the data into the DSP is going to repeat itself.
Ah...I've forgotten my facts. Most recent DSP iteration has i-cache not d-cache. I apologize for my error.

One noteworthy point though. It's almost certain that the DMA of the SPE would be utilized for isochronous transfer (streaming data), thus off-loading the core. The DMA would most certainly have a reduced pipeline, removing redundant stages normally required in a CPU pipeline. There wouldn't be any need to fetch/execute any instructions at all.

prazole
post May 26 2005, 07:19 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 26 2005, 05:24 PM)
Yes, it's slightly better than a DC. But i'm more interested in the real-time dobly digital encoding like those of the XBOX. PS2 can only do decoding of 5.1 for CG/DVD playback( although one or two games do make use of DTS encoding via software). Armed with a HT system, it really makes the PS2 version of the same game sounds like pop gun. DPL2 is nice but really no substitute for DD5.1 once you've experienced it.
so you have 5.1 speaker in your room isit?
i dun get to play in 5.1 surround in my room.. so i m not really complaining about this..
unless ur got the xbox hook up to 5.1 24/7 then its different story
PrivateJohn
post May 26 2005, 07:20 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 26 2005, 03:58 PM)
Only the "best selling games". I imagine they're having a nightmare trying to work on an emulator that works within such short timeframe. Imagine...all the PC emulators take years to stabilize and even then it won't run 100% correctly.

They've < 1 year to get a working emulator..Even if it works for a few games, it'll be a mighty achievement already!
If all games are compatible...imagine the royalties microsoft need to pay nvidia...is not like i gona play halo 1 again when i have xbox360...

ccb
post May 26 2005, 07:24 PM

5,572 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 26 2005, 07:20 PM)
If all games are compatible...imagine the royalties microsoft need to pay nvidia...is not like i gona play halo 1 again when i have xbox360...
not to mention intel,since it now uses IBM right instead of intel
prazole
post May 26 2005, 07:28 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 26 2005, 07:20 PM)
it is important for japanese gamer mar.. when they buy new phone.. old phone put in recycle bin one..
sumore they announced during conference.. sure thinking that if sony also got.. they have to do lo to keep up a good fight..

yeah, but i agree its not important to me!
ccb
post May 26 2005, 07:31 PM

5,572 posts

sony use their own technology ma so no nid to worry about royalties but if games like halo nid to pay 4 usd per game as royalty,sure a hard hit for MS la since million of copy have been sold,a unwise tactics for MS to fully support backward compability
PrivateJohn
post May 27 2005, 08:49 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Xbox 360 vs PS 3 Blogcast (MP3) - interview with Michael and Bruce from the Xbox Advanced Technology Group

That is the team that authored the Xbox 360 vs PS3 report that has caused quite the uproar in the gaming community. In this blogcast, Michael and Bruce address some of the questions that people have posted on this blog, as well as explain more of the inner workings of the Xbox 360.

Warning: Parts of this blogcast get extremely technical.
Downloading and see what they goto say...

SUSMatrix
post May 27 2005, 09:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ May 26 2005, 07:19 PM)
so you have 5.1 speaker in your room isit?
i dun get to play in 5.1 surround in my room.. so i m not really complaining about this..
unless ur got the xbox hook up to 5.1 24/7 then its different story
Hee-hee. No. I play in the living room, with a customized 5.1 HT system...not the most expensive or greatest ever(cost me about RM3.5K then, 2 or 3 years back), but the amp and the woofer does the job nicely although the speakers are kinda cheap, but still decent enough.

Once you've load in Burnout 2/3 for both PS2 and XBOX version...you can clearly hear the distinct and accurate surround sound separation of the XBOX version and the solid thumping heavy bass and low frequency engines roars... that's how a video game suppose to feel!

And yes, it's hooked up to my HT system 24/7, as it sits in the living room, while my PSTwo sits in the bedroom.

I think even in bedroom, you can get a sub 1K 5.1 system which sounds pretty good nowadays and packs enough power for the bedroom without annoying the rest of your family members!

H@H@
post May 27 2005, 11:20 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(ccb @ May 26 2005, 07:31 PM)
sony use their own technology ma so no nid to worry about royalties but if games like halo nid to pay 4 usd per game as royalty,sure a hard hit for MS la since million of copy have been sold,a unwise tactics for MS to fully support backward compability
Hence the reason why the Xbox 360 is actually emulating the Xbox... It isn't putting a separate Xbox core into it like how they're doing with the PS3. They don't have to pay any royalties to anyone since they're not using nVidia chipsets (which would be weird as they're using an Ati chip in there laugh.gif)
prazole
post May 27 2005, 03:04 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 27 2005, 08:49 AM)
Xbox 360 vs PS 3 Blogcast (MP3) - interview with Michael and Bruce from the Xbox Advanced Technology Group
Downloading and see what they goto say...
i dun think they got good thing to say about the ps3..
they already counter ps3 specs with lots of graphs already
haha
xxboxx
post May 27 2005, 04:05 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 27 2005, 09:01 AM)
Hee-hee. No. I play in the living room, with a customized 5.1 HT system...not the most expensive or greatest ever(cost me about RM3.5K then, 2 or 3 years back), but the amp and the woofer does the job nicely although the speakers are kinda cheap, but still decent enough.

Once you've load in Burnout 2/3 for both PS2 and XBOX version...you can clearly hear the distinct and accurate surround sound separation of the XBOX version and the solid thumping heavy bass and low frequency engines roars... that's how a video game suppose to feel!

And yes, it's hooked up to my HT system 24/7, as it sits in the living room, while my PSTwo sits in the bedroom.

I think even in bedroom, you can get a sub 1K 5.1 system which sounds pretty good nowadays and packs enough power for the bedroom without annoying the rest of your family members!
i hook it to 5.1 also
the best thing about 5.1 is when playing racing games, you can hear from behind a car is closing in on you. and with games like star wars battlefront shocking.gif shocking.gif
PrivateJohn
post May 28 2005, 01:49 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Nintendo Screws Europe (again)
According to a Nintendo executive who was not named, Nintendo is "currently looking at mirroring the DS strategy, so Revolution would release in the US first in November, closely followed by Japan. Then we're looking at March 2007 for PAL territories."

Got it from evilavatar.

My question is...why next gen war everybody targeting US audience first...xb360, ps3, now revolution....US is like everybody's priority.
aleckian
post May 28 2005, 09:38 PM

111 posts

Well i think xbox will sell good in the north american market... microsoft hype there. but in japan ps3 still will rule

chinook
post May 28 2005, 11:39 PM

273 posts

hi all. this my frst post ever. hehe.
did anyone read bout da new revolution's specs? it's out on some india-based website. techtree.com if im not wrong. it says dat da revolution has a 4-core 2.5 ghz ibm proccessor, 512 mb ram, n an ati graphics card with 16mb of dram(not sure bout this). im not a fanboy of nintendo or anythin, in fact im an xbox fanboy but i think da nx-gen consoles war(specs wise) looks to have been won by de underdogs(kinda..) ,nintendo.
PrivateJohn
post May 29 2005, 07:02 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(aleckian @ May 28 2005, 09:38 PM)
Well i think xbox will sell good in the north american market... microsoft hype there. but in japan ps3 still will rule
If you did follow all their interview/article. You will notice that microsoft are never confident enough to comment about being the first in japan but only having a larger territory in japan than last gen. They kinda admit it.
Next gen their plan is to gain as much influence as they can in the first attempt (this christmas) in europe/america. Plus the xbox360 give away campaign in US.

carnby24
post May 29 2005, 06:19 PM

264 posts

Never argue with an idiot, he'll drag you down
to his level and beat you with experience.

Never argue with me, I'll drag you down
to my level and beat you with a ba

HEHEHEHE.....
bujanglapok
post May 29 2005, 08:18 PM

Am I a Senior Member?
2,277 posts

i'll buy console that have those top soccer games on it.
(u guess)
prazole
post May 29 2005, 08:29 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(thesexpistols @ May 29 2005, 08:18 PM)
i'll buy console that have those top soccer games on it.
(u guess)
haha.. easy
winning eleven ps2!

55 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:39 PM