Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V35!, The Orange Legion

Sp00kY
post Jan 4 2010, 05:32 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(finejava @ Jan 4 2010, 05:27 PM)
just read the review on 24-70 zeiss...potong stim la...bokeh dia very ugly...

http://www.photozone.de/sony-alpha-aps-c-l...eiss_za_2470_28

noprob: niceeeee!!! need to learn panning from u la...
is that why mr bokeh (achew) bought a 135mm?
albnok
post Jan 4 2010, 05:33 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

finejava: While it doesn't have as nice bokeh as some other lenses, it's not a show-stopper. Some other lenses score badly in pixel-peeping tests but have great bokeh (the Minolta/Sony 35mm F1.4G is one such example.) Anyway the Zeiss lenses are more about microcontrast, overall contrast and resolution than anything. However it is widely known that your 85mm ZA has the best bokeh of all the ZA lenses. Some people prefer the Minolta 85mm F1.4G's bokeh due to its more painting-like rendering and less contrasty out-of-focus areas. If you've had the Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan you'd know what I am talking about. However I don't like how the 85mm F1.4G renders out-of-focus highlights, with multiple-colored rings, while the Zeiss is clean, with just one color ring (due to longitudinal chromatic aberration.)

The 24-70mm ZA is of course meant for event coverage for full-frame and is not primarily engineered for portraits. The 85mm and 135mm ZAs are meant to be portrait lenses.

The ultimate bokeh lens of course is the Minolta/Sony 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus. Very very different from any Soft Focus or Defocus Control lenses from any other brand!

noprob: Nice! Been seeing a lot of that since I've been playing NFS: Shift heh.

This post has been edited by albnok: Jan 4 2010, 05:35 PM
farex
post Jan 4 2010, 05:39 PM

52 posts

hi, newbie here... huhuh~ just got myself the a550, will attend 10 jan 2009 beginners workshop by sony... any members joining?
finejava
post Jan 4 2010, 05:43 PM

340 posts

albnok: aiya...trying to hinder myself from 24-70z...now u just recuperate it back...

btw...anyone have 24-70 by sigma?

This post has been edited by finejava: Jan 4 2010, 05:44 PM
Soony
post Jan 4 2010, 05:46 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(farex @ Jan 4 2010, 05:39 PM)
hi, newbie here... huhuh~ just got myself the a550, will attend 10 jan 2009 beginners workshop by sony... any members joining?
Woots , welcome to the alpha family =)
Nice camera you have there as ur first camera =P
albnok
post Jan 4 2010, 05:59 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

finejava: Many of us have the Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG Macro (the older one which is prone to gear stripping.) It looks good on its own but just do not compare it to the Zeiss! Big difference. The newer Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG HSM non-Macro has HSM and is optically much better - most say it stands tall among the OEM 24-70mm F2.8 lenses. However I don't know anybody with this lens and it does cost a fair bit more than the old version.
nashakir
post Jan 4 2010, 06:00 PM

176 posts

u start with a splendid dslr... good luck and have a good day shooting...

finejava : dont know who are using it.. but i saw some in wts... biggrin.gif
noprob
post Jan 4 2010, 06:01 PM

1,982 posts

Thanks bro .. i'm still learning too .. We can learn together , hehe
Btw congrates to ur new toy ! glad can contribute to make it real .. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 4 2010, 05:33 PM)
noprob: Nice! Been seeing a lot of that since I've been playing NFS: Shift heh.
Thanks albnok !

This post has been edited by noprob: Jan 4 2010, 06:02 PM
finejava
post Jan 4 2010, 06:02 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 4 2010, 05:59 PM)
finejava: Many of us have the Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG Macro (the older one which is prone to gear stripping.) It looks good on its own but just do not compare it to the Zeiss! Big difference. The newer Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG HSM non-Macro has HSM and is optically much better - most say it stands tall among the OEM 24-70mm F2.8 lenses. However I don't know anybody with this lens and it does cost a fair bit more than the old version.
yeah, i was reading on the 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG HSM vs 24-70mm Zeiss, the review says the zeiss is better than the HSM by bit...and the price is like almost double...so wanna know what do they mean by bit...
hkhk
post Jan 4 2010, 06:08 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 4 2010, 05:32 PM)
is that why mr bokeh (achew) bought a 135mm?
Achew have the 2470 before he bought the 135Z leh..
eddybeh
post Jan 4 2010, 06:23 PM

830 posts

2009? 2010 is it?? haiya....... i went sarawak tat time ad......... cant attend......... cry.gif

Added on January 4, 2010, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 4 2010, 04:32 PM)
eddybeh: Go take pictures of your colleagues, your family, your housemates, etc. No need to find events just to take pictures!
thx for the advice... i didn write tat.... i think my housemate did it when i was asleep just now..... blush.gif

This post has been edited by eddybeh: Jan 4 2010, 06:37 PM
Kul | Mo0
post Jan 4 2010, 06:44 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

ahtsong : How much you got it for le?

CF cards are better than memory sticks is it?
ieR
post Jan 4 2010, 06:54 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

just read the review on 24-70 zeiss...potong stim la...bokeh dia very ugly...

http://www.photozone.de/sony-alpha-aps-c-l...eiss_za_2470_28

finejave, the test was on crop sensor, i assume on FF another story? brows.gif brows.gif
eddybeh
post Jan 4 2010, 07:11 PM

830 posts

is this the lens which come with the a550 kit? i cant remember but it sounds like the lens i tried on the a550 the other day...

Added on January 4, 2010, 7:16 pmor may b not.... the price sound a little impossible... 4998 for the whole kit.. and they offered me a free VG as well.... wakaka.... sorry ya... very blur and noob...

This post has been edited by eddybeh: Jan 4 2010, 07:16 PM
farex
post Jan 4 2010, 07:30 PM

52 posts

heheheh~ thanks guys...

eddybeh: yeh 2010... sorry for the typo... still remember this year is 2009... ahahha~

nashakir: thanks, got it with 18250... i thought of getting the A330/a380 but since just heard that this came out with the CMOS sensor immediately change model... huhuh~
lwliam
post Jan 4 2010, 07:36 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Jan 4 2010, 07:11 PM)
is this the lens which come with the a550 kit? i cant remember but it sounds like the lens i tried on the a550 the other day...

Added on January 4, 2010, 7:16 pmor may b not.... the price sound a little impossible... 4998 for the whole kit.. and they offered me a free VG as well.... wakaka.... sorry ya... very blur and noob...
they'd normally bundle the 16-80 zeiss with the A550, definitely not the 24-70...

edit: wait, 5k for A550 with lens and VG? hmm.gif a bit too steep for it to be 16-80

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jan 4 2010, 07:49 PM
eddybeh
post Jan 4 2010, 08:00 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jan 4 2010, 07:36 PM)
they'd normally bundle the 16-80 zeiss with the A550, definitely not the 24-70...

edit: wait, 5k for A550 with lens and VG?  hmm.gif a bit too steep for it to be 16-80
thx for correcting... biggrin.gif
achew
post Jan 4 2010, 08:02 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 4 2010, 05:33 PM)

The 24-70mm ZA is of course meant for event coverage for full-frame and is not primarily engineered for portraits. The 85mm and 135mm ZAs are meant to be portrait lenses.

The ultimate bokeh lens of course is the Minolta/Sony 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus. Very very different from any Soft Focus or Defocus Control lenses from any other brand!
yea...was "hired" as my friends wedding photographer yesterday...basically my 135 only did like 30shots??mostly use b4 the event really start..just walking around to shoot some candid...and my 2470 gotten around 600+ shutters....
post Jan 4 2010, 08:31 PM

304 posts

Just bought a A200 2nd hand..... how i extend warranty...
ieR
post Jan 4 2010, 08:35 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(1212345656 @ Jan 4 2010, 08:31 PM)
Just bought a A200 2nd hand..... how i extend warranty...
u canT, u only can extend the day u brought it

This post has been edited by ieR: Jan 4 2010, 08:41 PM

125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:28 AM