Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

hye
post Mar 29 2010, 05:55 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Mar 29 2010, 05:29 PM)
Not really, if you have any existing credit card with 30k credit limit can try to apply.
As HSBC, their processing quite strict. But not sure for nowadays.
HSBC cc processing is very strict. No cutting corners.
OCBC Platinum is strictly via invitation. No big deal coz there's no good offering coming out from this card.

Ahah @siutimtim, you are back after a long absence .....
Please don't confuse the forummers ah .... the last time it was the UOB One Platinum.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 29 2010, 05:57 PM
hye
post Mar 29 2010, 08:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Mar 29 2010, 08:23 PM)
Haha, I am back! no one platinum anymore..

So is that mean normally if your income is lower than RM10k per month, you will not able to get the HSBC visa platinum? Really so difficult to get meh? I see SCB plat requirement is very low.
Different bank practice different policies. SCB easy to get doesn't mean HSBC (or any other banks) will follow.

Added on March 29, 2010, 8:59 pm
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 29 2010, 08:49 PM)
Maybank is very stingy, until now i still got credit limit which is below my one month (more like 0.8x) salary, even though i joined them 7 years ago, with perfect credit record.  laugh.gif
If you are not happy .... just cancel the card. By keeping the card, you are indirectly saying that "I'm happy ... so don't bother giving me upgraded CL".
If my needs are not met ... I just cancel the card. A few times CS icon_question.gif because I want to cancel.
Don't get me wrong ... I don't use blackmail or threatening tactics. I say it nicely but firmly.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 29 2010, 09:01 PM
hye
post Mar 30 2010, 08:48 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 30 2010, 08:00 AM)
i planning to get a PBB cc..n transfer all my debt from MBB to PBB..as the news paper advertise show 0% in 6mths..any advice??
Read the fine print of the T&C. If you are happy with it sign up, if not forget it.
Always always put their hidden mechanisms in the T&C - remember this rule, Banks are not charity. They are out to make money from you.
hye
post Mar 30 2010, 02:42 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Ballz8787 @ Mar 30 2010, 01:18 PM)
Hey guys,

I'm thinking of applying a credit card to purchase a notebook through EPP program. Any catch in this?

And another matter, if i make an online CC transaction which cost about RM4,000 but i wish to settle it by installment. How can I go about this? Are there any 0% installment offered by any banks on this matter?

Thanks in advance! smile.gif
Got catch ... you'll be in debt for 12 months at the least. If you don't want debt then don't do EPP, pay cash.
Do RM4K transaction and then do installment ... better do personal loan. There's no 0% installment, if you want such program ... then be prepared to pay interest. Even for 0% EPP, the merchant pay the fees to the bank (often you pay higher price or in LYN ... the merchant pass on the fees to the willing customer) ... no such thing as free lunch.

Can someone ask MOD to delete the earlier advert for loan ? It doesn't belong here + those are almost akin to 'Along' type of loans.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 30 2010, 02:44 PM
hye
post Mar 30 2010, 02:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Mar 30 2010, 02:44 PM)
HSBC visa plat doesn't have a dedicated helpline... all clients use the same general line.. why there is no dedicated line like other banks for the so call high class hsbc visa plat holder?

p.s : because he wants to have the most difficult to get, I mean really got standard punya platinum card.. thats why I come here to check around.
They don't need dedicated line. Internally they are very efficient and routes the call to a higher priority for Platinum customers.

P.S. Like that you can be my gf also ... then surely you also can get access to 'got standard punya platinum card'. Really ... platinum card no big deal, even if you flash it around @ the merchant also no big deal. Just make sure when you swipe there's no message "Card Declined" or "Please contact bank" good enough already.

The most (possibly) sought after card in this forum is not even a Platinum card - it is just a Titanium card with no attractive extra privileges or special petrol rebate that everyone is crazy about. Some of the regular guys here will agree with me. Plus ... it is no longer available for new application which makes it slightly more exclusive now.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 30 2010, 02:54 PM
hye
post Mar 30 2010, 04:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Mar 30 2010, 04:35 PM)
OCBC still issuing Great Eastern Titanium
No ... it is not the OCBC GE Titanium. OCBC you can still apply ... this card you can't anymore.
Oh well ... it is the SCB JustOne Titanium.

Added on March 30, 2010, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Mar 30 2010, 03:15 PM)
I would suggest he apply for the Amex Platinum Charge card. It is definitely a platinum card with "standard"  tongue.gif
Hahaha ... wait till he sees the 'standard' Annual Fees that he has to pay!

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 30 2010, 04:53 PM
hye
post Mar 30 2010, 10:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(krylicius @ Mar 30 2010, 06:22 PM)
5% cash rebate is too little..haha..
Yes ... please. Can you please show us which card offer more than 5% cash rebate ? I would really like to know too and do share with us who can give you more than 5% cash rebate.
hye
post Mar 31 2010, 11:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Mar 31 2010, 10:39 AM)
I received statement from Bank Rakyat. They has waived the RM 50 service tax :-)

The T & C for waiver is just to use the card once in a year
Thanks for this info. Good news to those not wishing to pay the government the RM50 cc tax.
hye
post Mar 31 2010, 04:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(koayty @ Mar 31 2010, 04:21 PM)
Any bank besides citibank? I heard some people have a tough time cancelling their card. I want to avoid that problem in the future.
Card cancellation is easy if you do it properly. Those who had problems cut corners and ended up with problems.
BTW ... you don't have a card but already thinking to cancel a card + very particular .... shakehead.gif
hye
post Apr 4 2010, 09:50 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Apr 4 2010, 03:02 PM)
Standard Chartered only issue Priority Banking Visa Infinite to their priority banking clients for now.
How are they going to manage the non priority banking clients which have this Visa Infinite card they launched middle of year 2008?
Anyone have idea or information to share?
What do you mean ? Are you saying they don't care about the "old" version of the customers ?
I doubt so SCB would neglect their customers or any customers for that matter. They same applies for any banks. Anyone who is in the service industry should understand client relationship better - else they will be forced out of business very swiftly with customers shunning them.

Added on April 4, 2010, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(masterelr @ Apr 4 2010, 08:28 PM)
I'm planning to apply a Public Bank credit card. Its my first time applying for a card so any recommendation?
I thinking of either a Visa Classic or Visa Gold. After reading the description I really don't see any difference between to two. Maybe its just the colors. Can both of these cards be used to buy stuffs online? Or are there only certain cards that can do that? Such as a platinum card maybe?
I won't comment on the first card choice.
Visa Classic / Gold / Platinum (all) can be used online.

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 4 2010, 09:53 PM
hye
post Apr 5 2010, 05:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Apr 5 2010, 05:45 PM)
i was told by hsbc that you can't purchase a liquor/non halal products with amanah credit card! is it true?
To be more precise .. you can't buy anything which the Amanah credit card is not meant for. (Or Islamic based cc to be precise)
This is done via the merchant ID. A personal experience told to me is that you can't use such cards @ Hard Rock although you didn't buy any liquor.
hye
post Apr 5 2010, 10:22 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Apr 5 2010, 09:51 PM)
How about other bank Islamic base card like Bank Rakyat? That strict too?
It should be similar. The correct word to use is not about "strict" or not ... all Syariah compliant cards are designed that way. Don't flame them ... I'm sure it's all about consumers demands and market needs. Unfortunately we don't use the card that way and fortunately as well we have choices.

That's why I repeated say ... no such thing as "Best Credit Card". Each cc has its own specialty and with competition, card issuers compete through service differential to fit different consumer needs.
hye
post Apr 6 2010, 07:47 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 6 2010, 07:35 AM)
Citibank offers free GPS now for all cc application with easy requirement.

1. Apply 1 master, 1 visa, switch each 3 times within 60 days without minimum amount.

2. Apply 1 card, 1 BT, switch 3 times within 60 days without minimum amount.

worth?
Bro ... you better correct yourself on the "switch" word. I think you meant "swipe" or better use a simpler word "use".
It is up to the individual to determine whether the GPS Bay is good or not. For myself, I would not consider anything less than a Garmin. (or maybe a Papago PND) Getting map updates should be a priority. The GPS Bay screen is rather small and would be difficult to use while driving.

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 6 2010, 07:50 AM
hye
post Apr 6 2010, 07:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(x5_416 @ Apr 6 2010, 12:21 PM)
hi guys i just got my card from citibank and this morning i ordered a laptop from dell by installment, which is over the card's credit limit by rm1k. I only got an order acknowledgment email from Dell, no calls from the bank. I was wondering if the bank will normally call in this situation or does it mean the transaction is rejected automatically? If i want to call the citibank for checking am i suppose to call the "Credit Limit" line?
Likely Citibank will reject it. Citibank installment plans works like this ...
- The full payment amount is taken out from your credit line.
- Given back as you pay the monthly installment.

Since your laptop is over by RM1K ... quite unlikely isn't it ? Whether the bank calls you or not, it would not impact the outcome of the installment plan had your purchase qualify and you had enough CL. Sorry ...
You can call to confirm.
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 09:40 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Apr 7 2010, 08:54 AM)
Does "online payment" made by credit card considers "swipe"?
You need to study the fine print further. Sometimes for these types of promos, banks (or sometimes promos done by VISA/Mastercard) would exclude online transactions / online payment / installments.
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 04:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 7 2010, 01:37 PM)
Hi all, base on your opinion and experience, if average, my salary monthly got 2.5k..but my basic only rm1.3k and + fixed allowance got RM1.5k, will bank approve my application?
It depends on your luck on how would the bank would want to recognize your total income. Do note the agents/bank sales reps will all say yes to you but the approving party is actually the bank's credit / risk team. You can't call them or talk to them. Additional supporting document such as your bank statement where the salary goes to and EA form will help. First time applicant is always the hardest and the bank will ask you for so many things.

If you can prove that your fixed allowance is consistent (appears in all your 3 months payslip) then maybe got chance. (I said got chance ... not definitely the bank will acknowledge it). Otherwise the bank will solely view the basic and that's it ... you won't qualify.
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 06:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mierulz @ Apr 7 2010, 05:39 PM)
Hi...did anybody knows any credit card issuer that not so particular or not bother about ccris record...my ccris record quite bad and my application frequently rejected
If you can clear your bad CCRIS records then all banks would welcome you. If not, nobody wants to give you credit facility. You should know yourself if your CCRIS record is bad due to your own doing or not.
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 07:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 7 2010, 07:04 PM)
Low never mind..as long as I can get..3k will be enough..lol  biggrin.gif
FD secured credit card?? can you provide me the link?
sorry..I'm new for this  wink.gif
This is not a published method of applying credit card but it is possible. So there's no such link exist if you are looking for it.
You need to place an amount in FD which the bank will treat it as security. You can have the card so long you don't withdraw your FD, you do that and your card is cancelled.

Your CL will depend on the bank. Likely in best case scenario it'll be 1:1, matching the FD that you place but definitely not exceeding your FD value. Not so best scenario, your CL is less than your FD value.

Before you run out to do this ... please inquire the banks whether they allow you to do this. Coz not all banks will provide this service. Go and do your homework on which bank has it.
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 10:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Street Force @ Apr 7 2010, 10:29 PM)
nod.gif
when i first heard from my friend i was shocked too,
coz i've got my first reject from the bank.
and then i try my 2nd time one year after. Done
but in between those 1yr period, i've got another rejection too
Such cool off period does exist. It is just not officially acknowledged by the bank.
It range between 3-12 months actually but definitely not 16 months. (Even the number sounds odd) Possibly the rejection is due to other reasons. Unless your friend works in credit control or risk management for the bank which are often responsible for approving/rejecting cc applications, I see no reason to believe what your friend tells you.

No concrete proof ... don't bother believing it. rclxub.gif
hye
post Apr 7 2010, 11:22 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 7 2010, 11:17 PM)
means that your credit limit will restore slowly monthly..
you swipe 1k for installment..
1000 / 12 = 83.33333333333333
so starting from first month(after you pay bank), your credit limit is 2000 + 83.33333333333333 = 2083.33333333333333..  smile.gif
for the following month, just add 83.33333333333333...  thumbup.gif
Hold on. Not all banks practice the same thing when it comes to installment / CL calculations.
My earlier answer applies to Citibank but I can't remember how does Maybank works. There are banks which will only fully released the CL once all payment is paid up.

The answer above is correct for Citibank at least. Slight correction to the above would be they would round the CL to the nearest ringgit.

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 7 2010, 11:23 PM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0584sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:41 PM