Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

hye
post Mar 10 2010, 05:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Mar 10 2010, 05:09 PM)
anyone can confirm that bank rakyat credit card waived GST? this is told by the bank salesman
Hahaha! Yeah right ... definitely not! Probably this is a case of salesman/agent desperate for sales.
Easy to test ... ask him for B&W proof of the such promo. SCB normally will produce this (stating what promo you signed up for) and it is part of the docs that you need to sign @ point of application.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 10 2010, 05:31 PM
hye
post Mar 10 2010, 07:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Mar 10 2010, 07:01 PM)
actually Bank Rakyat will pay RM50 GST to goverment on behalf of the card holder. I've confirm this with Bank Rakyat and they have also send a txt message to all existing cardholder.

By the way I've asked Maybank to upgrade my card to platinum. looks like it has been approved but in M2U it not replacing the previous gold card instead they have put another platinum card. can we hold two same type of card at different level (platinum and gold)?
Interesting Bank Rakyat is doing this coz it could means they are very hard pressed for customers.
Anyway ... if it can appear in your M2U means no problems holding 2 cards @ different level provided they do not share the same account ID. It depends on the bank whether they allow this or not and this rule does not apply symmetrically across all banks.
hye
post Mar 12 2010, 10:50 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Mar 12 2010, 10:41 AM)
RHB is using such ways to ripping customer off. Looks like my GST RM50 is going to be closed case no settlement.
It is not the fault of the bank. It is always the case of the agent.
Many times have I mentioned that you need to get the offer in B&W from whoever tries to sign you up for the card. If you ask for B&W and no such offers exist ... the agent will immediately back off coz no one wants to lose their job.

Never ever believe in the agent blindly and if the offer is too good - it probably is. If you get caught ... I gotta say it's your own fault for believing the information blindly.
hye
post Mar 15 2010, 09:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys ... please read the thread although it is long and tedious.
Your questions has been answered many times and owning a credit card is very personal as it involves the way you spend.

Some like rewards ... some want to do EZPay ... some want to accumulate debt ... some want to do BT ... some want the bank to be (if possible) next door to their house coz lazy to drive and pay and the list goes on ......

If you like the card ... apply for it. Asking other people who don't understand your preference ... difficult la.
hye
post Mar 19 2010, 07:42 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 19 2010, 06:17 AM)
any link can view of it??..
None .... coz the offer apparently is being distributed via SMS. I doubt so any bank would publicly mention this in their website. The last time it happened (UOB), someone complained and an invisible hand asked to remove the offer.
hye
post Mar 19 2010, 09:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Mar 19 2010, 08:39 PM)
anyone heard of citibank free gps? is it worth it?
Nope. I wouldn't get anything less than a Garmin for GPS navigation. It's the access to the map updates that you need to think.
hye
post Mar 20 2010, 02:59 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Mar 20 2010, 12:15 AM)
i think gps is free. you only need to download the map b4 u go overseas to avoid going mobile data.
You are talking about GPS on mobile devices. What is being mentioned here is PND (Personal Navigation Devices for use in automobiles) such as Garmin Nuvi Series or Papago. There's no mobile data capabilities to begin with.
hye
post Mar 20 2010, 04:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Mar 20 2010, 03:52 PM)
Saw the annual fee is RM600 for platinum card. Any chance to waive it if they charge it in the first statement?
Look here and your question will be answered. Mind to double check with the bank before you take the plunge.
hye
post Mar 21 2010, 09:32 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Mar 21 2010, 07:31 AM)
Their platinum partners for 5x points also include departmental stores like Tangs, Isetan and Metrojaya, apart from the normal stores such as Jusco and Parkson.
Hopefully the promotion this time is permanent or at least could run longer.
A very exciting promotional offer from Citibank. Here's the complete list of department stores and hypermarkets this promo cover

Departmental Stores in Malaysia
1. Tangs
2. Metrojaya
3. Isetan
4. Parkson
5. Jaya Jusco
6. Robinsons

Names of Supermarkets/Hypermarkets in Malaysia
1. Cold Storage
2. Tesco
3. Giant
4. Carrefour
hye
post Mar 21 2010, 10:22 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Mar 21 2010, 10:17 AM)
If the 5x points could also extend to petrol stations and overseas purchases, that's perfect.
Yup ... agreed. I'm not too hopeful on petrol stations though.
hye
post Mar 23 2010, 06:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just to raise an alternative view on the choice of cards.

It can be

- Maximize the ability to capture reward points from your spending.
- Banks which has the best fraud detection system
- The best CS among the local and foreign banks
- etc ....

And the list can go on and on. No single one banks can give you the best of the best as each as their own special offerings. Choose what you want from your cards and be aware of the limitations. e.g You want the best cash rebates but the bank is not generous in giving out points.

I started from being rewards points crazy and when I started to travel - it's the assurance that my card would not screw up nor not sticky with temporary CL increase is what matters to me most. Dining discount, merchant privileges and EZ Pay facility don't attract me much coz I know and aware I won't use them anyway.

Like I always mentioned many time ... cc is a very personal thing. Different people have different needs thus to me .. there's a no such thing as best card. There's always something your card can offer and can't - so choose wisely.
hye
post Mar 23 2010, 08:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Mar 23 2010, 06:53 PM)
Interesting explaination, currently what card u holding?
SCB and Citibank. They don't give me any problems when I travel, good enough for me.
I nearly got stranded in a foreign land because of UOB .... just a few bucks short of maxing my CL. I didn't realize it until I got back on how close to a disaster had I been. I asked for a temp in CL increase but I didn't realize they did not do it nor they followed my instruction on leaving it there for 2 months. Coz I had been on a back to back assignment.

No offense to local cards but I put a lot of emphasis on speed and efficiency of CS ... I can't afford to wait for more than 5 minutes on an international phone call in an emergency. E.g. Try MBB's speed in actually picking up the call ... probably 1 call itself will cost me a few hundred bucks !

Oh yes ... my main purpose is to raise awareness as a whole. Credit cards is not just about cash rebates (which is a popular theme these days), petrol rebates (bought about by the high petrol prices), overseas travelling, etc. It serve to protect and enhance the card holder's experience (not to mention getting rewarded) during whenever he/she is shopping either in a traditional brick and mortar shop or online. So choose your card wisely and don't be too foolish to apply cards just because they give good 'candies' at the point of application. I'm not saying this is a wrong approach because like others, I am attracted to freebies as well. But there need to be a deep thought in understanding your own personal needs (petrol, groceries, etc) and matching it with the card offerings and features.

I also worry the volume of questions in here related to EZ Pay, BT and the likes which could lead to an uncontrollable build of debt based on credit card. This 'future money' tool is attractive but it can be dangerous as well and many of my friends have fallen in its trap. So ... I have good intentions in reminding readers of this thread as to be mindful and careful when using this tool. Yeah ... I kindof hate it when someone say ... credit card is evil. Whether it is evil or not ... it is determine by the card holder.

Remember you can't get all in a card. That's why I hate the 'best card' recommendation whenever someone ask for it.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 23 2010, 09:41 PM
hye
post Mar 24 2010, 11:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 24 2010, 11:29 AM)
That is not the problem. The main problem is that no one is picking up the phone and calling back from overseas might cost them hundreds of Ringgit when someone eventually answer the phone.
Thank you for seeing my point. blush.gif
It is equally expensive as well when the CS is blur or too procedural to solve the problem. Takes longer to resolve and you pay more on roaming call charges.
hye
post Mar 24 2010, 04:07 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 24 2010, 03:33 PM)
lol..so good service..i swipe my card bout 2k also no body call me up??..wat a MBB..
Banks (not just MBB) won't call everybody and that's impractical. There are people who swipe RM20K (or more) in one go and won't get a call. And there are people who swipe RM50 and the bank goes on scrambling to call the card holder. So please ... don't have the impression banks MUST call you when you swipe (of what you think) a large amount. The decision to make a call to the card holder to confirm a transaction is not determined that way.

To make the call or not, most banks use an internal Risk Management system which flags the operator (to call you up. a more advanced system blocks your card until the card holder is contacted) should you trigger an anomaly in your usual spending pattern. (or a pre-determined pattern by the bank)

For example ... several years back RHB will practically call the cardholder on the first transaction made on a new card irrespective of whatever amount that is being swiped. (Pre-determined pattern by the bank)
or another example (happened before the chip card was introduced where petrol fraud was rampant back then) .... suddenly your card is being swiped @ Caltex petrol station - historically the banks sees you as using Shell. (Anomaly in spending pattern)

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 24 2010, 06:44 PM
hye
post Mar 25 2010, 03:36 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Mar 25 2010, 01:33 PM)
We have been reminding people many times, never ever believe entirely what sales agents tell you, unless it is in B&W.
My sentiments exactly. Unfortunately every now and then there will be a poor soul pouring out the same grievances.
And demanding that the bank do something about it.
hye
post Mar 25 2010, 03:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 25 2010, 03:36 PM)
It is always good to have a black and white trail. Do you have any letter that you submit or fax it ? If you tel call in, do you have the date and time and the CS person name you spoke to ? If you walk in counter, do you record down the queue number, counter number, CS name on desk and date & time ?

I encounter this many times, for these request waiver or cancel card or dispute, always write down the details.

So, when you are in this situation, just submit email/letter with the details:
e.g. I called in 03-20208888 on 20th Nov 2009, 10:35am and spoke to Ms. Susan. She confirmed over the phone that my CC card (1234-5678-9876-5432) is cancelled. Therefore, please check in your system and revert back the amount.
Agreed. When it comes to asking for AF waiver from CS, never trust them.
For all you know when are just promising you and no further action is taken. Do remember that CS has no power to waive your AF, they just note down your request and pass it over to another department. Unless the bank has a good online CRM which enables efficient ticket of a customer's request ... problems like this will happen.

Added on March 25, 2010, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 25 2010, 03:43 PM)
the CS did not give me any paper about the cancellation of the card. She just cut the card in front of me, asked me to sign a paper and that's it. How can I get them to stop from ever sending me anything on credit cards again?
You could have @ that point of time asked for proof that action was taken. Something like countersign, that way the fella knows he/she is being tracked.
On another note, you would have noticed the card has been effectively cancelled or not via the online system. Card is still there means still active.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 25 2010, 04:00 PM
hye
post Mar 25 2010, 07:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 25 2010, 07:26 PM)
is it the GST compulsory to pay once u apply card after they announce the active date??..
Yes of course. What makes you think you can escape from it ?
Got nothing to do with the bank issuing credit card, it is the establishment which need to pay it to the government.
If you meant the RM50 tax, banks reluctant to waive (and where got such thing ?) coz it is the gov asking for this money. By asking to waive, banks have to fork out their money and pay the gov. AF is the decision of the bank, so they can decide to waive it and got nothing to do with anyone else.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 25 2010, 07:50 PM
hye
post Mar 28 2010, 07:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Mar 27 2010, 11:51 PM)
hi do u mind to explain why is better to hold a real amex?
u mean charge card?
i dont want the platinum amex charge card because of the annual fees is mad..
You seems reluctant about the real AMEX ? And perhaps consider the HLB version
Well ... it is your choice. The folks here are just giving you recommendations.

Possibly HLB is much more convenient in terms of your accessibility to paying the bills.
If you go for the real AMEX then you need to go to MBB.
hye
post Mar 28 2010, 10:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Mar 28 2010, 09:06 AM)
nope just so happened i got offered from MBB plat charge card and HLB platinum amex
so choosing one among AMEX
but amex plat charge card annual fee is killing..rm2380 as a.f
any amex plat charge card owner here?? mind to share how to waive the annual fees for amex plat charge card?
Bro ... this is a credit card forum not charge card. Please ask this question in the right place.
Anyway ... I can tell you the answer also - AMEX plat charge card is non-waiverable. Probably explains why no one wants to answer you.
hye
post Mar 28 2010, 11:51 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(krylicius @ Mar 28 2010, 11:26 AM)
I would like to ask..when applying for a new cc,banks normally request salary slip and bank statement..

Lets say i'm applying for Citibank credit card and my salary is credited to my Maybank account,will Citibank (or should i say have the right)to cross-check with Maybank whether the statement is correct?..or they just check with CCRIS?.

Anyone can help?..
This checking is done by all banks and not just Ctibank or Maybank.
CCRIS contains common info gathered from all banks and shared with all banks. Not only for CC ... but banks will check you when you want to apply loan or even open an account. It is part of any banks T&C so if you reject the checking, the bank will say "Thank you and Good Bye, Please try elsewhere".

You sounded like you have something to worry about. (Or maybe not)

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:33 AM