120 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2010, Stoke 1-1 Liverpool- CURSED!

normeck
post Dec 17 2009, 09:23 AM

3,158 posts

sorry i didn't watch the game..from the post i would like to say...Gerrard and Masch in the midfield, that was good, Ngog on the starting line up, that was good (refer back to my previous post),....

well, there must be some under perform, some glitch from player..then they have to improve from time to time..cause you are Liverpool...

btw, congratz...enjoy...and dont forget we have a long way to go..

YNWA...
cherroy
post Dec 17 2009, 09:54 AM

25,802 posts

Conceded on 90th min again, doesn't do good for the defence side of confidence. If there is no Torres to score the second goal, then it is still winless again due to 90th min goal.
Duke Red
post Dec 17 2009, 09:56 AM

6,112 posts

Along with some other posters, I was hoping that we'd at some point drop Gerrard back in midfield to partner Masch and possible pair N'Gog up with Torres, or have Benayoun slot into the hole. Gerrard hasn't been at his best all season playing behind Torres and perhaps a change will have done him good.
kamkamparadise
post Dec 17 2009, 10:31 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 17 2009, 06:06 AM)
Lucas almost scored an own goal and he din prevent wigan's goal, Damn him.

Wat are our central defenders doing so high up in wigan place doh.gif  they should hav defended in their own zone

rafa pls buy better defenders doh.gif

bramble is good, buy him fr wigan
Bramble is a good defender but also error prone. not recommended.

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 17 2009, 06:07 AM)
What were you expecting? Us suddenly become a top-class team after such a long spell of poor performance? Thought they did enough, should've put away some chances. Sure, it's only Wigan but how important it is for us to keep pushing on for the win in order to regain the lost confidence. Next, Pompey!
Pompey should provide a good chance for a back to back win.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 17 2009, 09:56 AM)
Along with some other posters, I was hoping that we'd at some point drop Gerrard back in midfield to partner Masch and possible pair N'Gog up with Torres, or have Benayoun slot into the hole. Gerrard hasn't been at his best all season playing behind Torres and perhaps a change will have done him good.
Gerrard should be playing in the midfield to provide more cover and physical advantage. Lucas been doing well so far than his previous seasons but we need gerrard for that extra spark.
rushmode
post Dec 17 2009, 10:33 AM

221 posts

not a convincing win.. too nervous at the end there. but a win is a win.. fakkit.

i agree moving back gerrard and paired him with masch.. he done terribly in the hole this season.
TSsolstice818
post Dec 17 2009, 11:06 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Forget Alonso, Rafa and the rest... why I know the answer to the real problems at Liverpool.

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/opinion/co...icle257497.html

Don't take it seriously though.It's just something to cheer us up in the morning biggrin.gif
cenzor
post Dec 17 2009, 11:15 AM

alas... liv win
sahathai
post Dec 17 2009, 11:16 AM

174 posts

drop stevie deeper means Aquaman will be an expensive bench warmer..
vreis
post Dec 17 2009, 11:18 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

No, it means Aquilani becomes the linkman instaed of Gerrard & also means Lucas gonna warm the bench whistling.gif
TSsolstice818
post Dec 17 2009, 11:26 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Rob Beasley: Babel did interview with The S*n

http://www.koptalk.co.uk/200912131775/Live...th-the-sun.html

hyperyouth_firepower
post Dec 17 2009, 11:53 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

Good win, bad game!
livingmonolith
post Dec 17 2009, 11:53 AM

821 posts

gerrard does look to be losing some of his touches for the past couple of months, slack passings, overambitious crosses and shots.

while i understand that he may not be fully fit, i actually thought a 70%-fit gerrard will be able to terrorize defence more than what he's doing now. i guess i'm wrong. at the moment he's losing and conceding possession easily, and isn't snapping on opposition players' heels as frequently as he did.

torres has been holding up well on his own in front but i don't think he can save us every time with goals out of nowhere. we're having shortage of support from midfield and gerrard is one of the main culprit for that this season. he's been heavily relied upon that when he lost his form nobody else managed to do what he usually does.
ezikie1
post Dec 17 2009, 12:03 PM

hey guys....i dunno if this is just me....i saw kuyt ran all the way to the goaline to defend...during that wigan strike when that dude hit the crossbar in the 1st half...man thats dedication or wat? or its just rafa's tactics? and why r our defenders so erm..... static? rooted to the ground only...and need a midfielder to run back to defend the goaline....he wasnt even there when the setpiece was taken...

and btw did u guys see torres's goal? man he made it look like a stroll in the park...rclxms.gif
RedSiglap56
post Dec 17 2009, 12:04 PM

42 posts

3 more points to safety.

No I'm not being sarcastic. I want my team to win all the games, but watching the way Liverpool plays these days really deflates me!

When a manager insists on playing his blue-eyed boys even though they are just not good enough, then he himself is truly not good enough!

Drop Kuyt and Lucas, and put Gerrard on the bench for a spell and things will correct themselves for the Reds. Gerrard's attitude has always been a problem - complacent when the team is leading and immediately sours when the team concedes!

Ngog needs more games to improve his skills while Aquilani needs more games to prove his reputation. Insua needs to improve on his defensive skills (what?!).

The rest of the players are actually world-class - including Skrtle! (I remember very clearly how people praised his performances prior to his injury. Please be reminded also that he is a key player for Slovakia in the world cup!)

Top clubs in both the PL and Europe will stumble over each other to acquire players like Torres, Benayoun, Masch, Agger, Reina, Johnson (yes - a full-back with skill, pace and enthusiasm - why not?), Gerrard & Aurelio.

I really think that even Riera and Babel are very good players, who would flourish if they play for a different manager!

So, except for Alonso & Arbeloa, we are looking at the same team that struck fear in the PL last season and which could have left Chelsea trailing by 10 points now ... instead of the other around .. sighhhhhh!
Duke Red
post Dec 17 2009, 12:09 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Dec 17 2009, 11:18 AM)
No, it means Aquilani becomes the linkman instaed of Gerrard & also means Lucas gonna warm the bench  whistling.gif
It also means we have the option of changing our shape if we need to, instead of being stubbornly persistent. Having options never hurt.

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Dec 17 2009, 11:53 AM)
gerrard does look to be losing some of his touches for the past couple of months, slack passings, overambitious crosses and shots.

while i understand that he may not be fully fit, i actually thought a 70%-fit gerrard will be able to terrorize defence more than what he's doing now. i guess i'm wrong. at the moment he's losing and conceding possession easily, and isn't snapping on opposition players' heels as frequently as he did.

torres has been holding up well on his own in front but i don't think he can save us every time with goals out of nowhere. we're having shortage of support from midfield and gerrard is one of the main culprit for that this season. he's been heavily relied upon that when he lost his form nobody else managed to do what he usually does.
Though Gerrard and Torres has formed a partnership, I still think Stevie is most effective playing in a deeper role and it has all to do with what I think is his trademark, which is to knock the ball forward into spaces, chasing it down while steaming at full speed towards goal. If we manage to find someone to pair Torres with upfront, it'll draw some attention away from Stevie giving him more room to work. Right now, he's often restrained. Playing him deeper also helps us defensively because he is one of the better defenders amongst attacking midfielders.
TSsolstice818
post Dec 17 2009, 12:26 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Liverpool's £62m stake looks underdone

What a remarkable conjuring act that would be if George Gillett and Tom Hicks do somehow manage to secure £124m in return for a stake in Liverpool. The Daily Telegraph yesterday indicated that there are two or three parties interested in picking up one of two unspecified stakes in the club, each available for a mere £62m.

Apparently, despite all evidence to the contrary, the co-owners believe Liverpool to be worth of £500m to £600m. So for that £62m you can buy yourself a little over 10% of a club that still has to spend more than £300m on building a new stadium.

Now £62m, neatly, bought Randy Lerner 100% of Aston Villa and, unlike Liverpool, it was not making a cash loss of £11m a year. Nor, unlike Liverpool, had Villa's auditors said there was a "material uncertainty" casting "significant doubt on [the club's] ability to continue as a going concern". That material uncertainty, deferred when Liverpool refinanced a £290m loan in July, could return when its repayment is required. A spokesman for the co-owners did not come back with answers yesterday about when that will be. Previously, the club's lenders have not extended their loans for more than a year. The current loan's maturity could well be only seven months away.

Nor did the spokesman say whether the £60m that is supposed to be repaid since that July refinancing has been handed over on schedule. Nor was there any response to a question about whether interest payments will rise next year. But with so much clarity about what £62m will buy, who could resist?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/de...llett-tom-hicks
JonC
post Dec 17 2009, 01:03 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

I guess Wigan was "too physical" to start Aquilani lah? rolleyes.gif I gave the game a miss so i don't have another bad day at work. Good to know that we win although it was tougher than it should have been. I'll take the 3 points anyway they some.

The only thing i'm upset is the fact that i missed the celebration for Shanks during half time. sad.gif Love that great man to bits.
alexander89
post Dec 17 2009, 01:08 PM

78 posts

Well done liverpool.. Ngog finally score.. haha
hk_loo
post Dec 17 2009, 01:29 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 17 2009, 09:54 AM)
Conceded on 90th min again, doesn't do good for the defence side of confidence. If there is no Torres to score the second goal, then it is still winless again due to 90th min goal.
biggrin.gif where can think like this ...

then wigan also thinking, without conceded the 2 goals, they already won 0-1 ...
cherroy
post Dec 17 2009, 01:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Dec 17 2009, 01:29 PM)
biggrin.gif  where can think like this ...

then wigan also thinking, without conceded the 2 goals, they already won 0-1 ...
Reason why I said so, because Liverpool got dump out CL due to the 2 goals conceded near the end of match against Lyon, it becomes like a habit now.

It has to do with confidence issue to keep a clean sheet. Goals are leaking almost every match, that's the concern.

120 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:30 AM