blossom_123
post Oct 11 2012, 01:19 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Sep 11 2012, 09:25 AM)
Stuff I cooked up of late...
Prosciutto San Daniele e melone (raw ham with melon)

Bruschetta mista - tomatoes and basil, mushrooms and brie

Linguine al limone e basilico (Linguine with lemon and basil)
Japchae (fried sweet potato noodles with vegetables and pork belly)
Har lok (river prawns with a sweet sauce)
how to make the har lok sauce
leo-chan
post Oct 11 2012, 02:09 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(blossom_123 @ Oct 11 2012, 01:19 PM)
how to make the har lok sauce
Saute chopped ginger, shallots and garlic with the oil used to deepfry the prawns, till soft but not brown. Pour in dark soy sauce, tomato ketchup, lemon juice (just a bit), salt and light soy sauce to balance. Simmer for 5 mins to develop the flavours.

Cook it till slightly thick and toss in the pre-fried prawns to coat. do not overcook! The sauce will thicken naturally due to the sugar content in the dark soy sauce and ketchup.
blossom_123
post Oct 11 2012, 02:17 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Oct 11 2012, 02:09 PM)
Saute chopped ginger, shallots and garlic with the oil used to deepfry the prawns, till soft but not brown. Pour in dark soy sauce, tomato ketchup, lemon juice (just a bit), salt and light soy sauce to balance. Simmer for 5 mins to develop the flavours.

Cook it till slightly thick and toss in the pre-fried prawns to coat. do not overcook! The sauce will thicken naturally due to the sugar content in the dark soy sauce and ketchup.
Thanks for the recipe
chinese traditional food
post Oct 13 2012, 12:17 PM

I'm not a superb chef or what... I'm just love cooking since young, maybe because I live with my granny seeing her cooking for the whole family while she still can. The passion just grew.... brows.gif I decided to keep records of my granny recipes in somewhere safe and share with others, a site was born Chinese traditional food..

Some of the recipes are cooking for one and easy plus fast home cook food... Sorry, I only know how to make some Chinese food and Nyonya food.... Hope you guys enjoy browsing.... Sharing is caring~~~ rclxms.gif
D10yrspain
post Oct 24 2012, 10:53 PM

286 posts

Sorry for interrupting but does any sifu here knows what is butter milk? Is it possible to diy butter milk? I'm screwed at frying chicken but i searched only about butter milk would make the chicken stay crispy and delicious. It's pretty hard to buy butter milk here as i'm staying in kampung area Selangor. I've no doubt it is easier to get in KL but i hardly go there.
BTW very interesting thread, keep it up.

This post has been edited by D10yrspain: Oct 24 2012, 10:54 PM
adccs
post Oct 25 2012, 08:17 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(chinese traditional food @ Oct 13 2012, 12:17 PM)
I'm not a superb chef or what... I'm just love cooking since young, maybe because I live with my granny seeing her cooking for the whole family while she still can. The passion just grew....  brows.gif I decided to keep records of my granny recipes in somewhere safe and share with others, a site was born Chinese traditional food..

Some of the recipes are cooking for one and easy plus fast home cook food... Sorry, I only know how to make some Chinese food and Nyonya food.... Hope you guys enjoy browsing.... Sharing is caring~~~  rclxms.gif
Nice site u got there & yup...we will feel "SATISFACTION" when our friends gv thumb up for the foods. I also love to cook & very curious how a certain dish are cook. Usually I'll cook those dished that I like to eat & once I've successfuly cook it..I'll move on to try others dishes..when i've time biggrin.gif so I seldom re-cook those successful dishes cool2.gif

U mention that u have Nyonya food....but i didn't found it. I just hope that I could find some nice Kapitan Chicken recipe. Not many eatary selling nice kapitan chicken.....they claim that it is kapitan chicken but it more like rendang.

hope to see more recipes in ur site rclxms.gif
blmse92
post Oct 25 2012, 10:29 AM

603 posts

i like the first picture. yummeh! haha.. keep it out. well , i only know how to fried egg LOL
icemanfx
post Oct 27 2012, 07:41 PM

21,457 posts

Egg poached in red wine, creamed mushroom, sautéed onion, bacon, red wine reduction, inspired by Michel Roux.

Seductive ruffle stuffed chicken breast, confit of grilled potato.

Snails in garlic.

Lamb tenderloin, roasted potato, broccoli and sautéed mushroom.

Chocolate tart, inspired by Christian Constant

Prawn thermidor

Seafood pasta

Home made full cream yogurt

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Nov 19 2012, 12:45 AM
deodorant
post Jan 17 2013, 12:58 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Guys any tips on searing scallops? I salt-and-pepper them then into olive oil'ed non stick hot pan. But somehow the pepper burns and becomes like flakes of black and it makes the scallops look a little ... unpresentable.
icemanfx
post Jan 17 2013, 05:38 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 17 2013, 12:58 PM)
Guys any tips on searing scallops? I salt-and-pepper them then into olive oil'ed non stick hot pan. But somehow the pepper burns and becomes like flakes of black and it makes the scallops look a little ... unpresentable.
Then season after pan fried lor.

nanananabilah
post Jan 17 2013, 11:49 PM

303 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/153442

post there...for your recipe smile.gif
Ken211
post Feb 28 2013, 05:24 PM

69 posts

Can someone share the recipe of Chocolate tart, inspired by Christian Constant....

Thank you so much!

meaintpro
post Mar 18 2013, 02:33 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 27 2012, 07:41 PM)
Egg poached in red wine, creamed mushroom, sautéed onion, bacon, red wine reduction, inspired by Michel Roux.

Seductive ruffle stuffed chicken breast, confit of grilled potato.

Snails in garlic.

Lamb tenderloin, roasted potato, broccoli and sautéed mushroom.

Chocolate tart, inspired by Christian Constant

Prawn thermidor

Seafood pasta

Home made full cream yogurt
Wow!!!!!makes me hungry man!
andy lau62
post Mar 18 2013, 10:26 PM

Each cooking is an investment of time and $$$$. One of the key success factors is good ingredients. Sometimes, our day and cooking project can be spoilt by some irresponsible business outlets.

Recently we bought a can of Calmex (wheel brand) abalone from Mexico at Yin Onn (Ipoh) at Mid Valley Megamall during our trip to KL. We were told the can food contained 1.5 piece of abalones. When we actually opened it, it had 'more' than what we asked for 3 small pieces of abalone instead of 1.5 whole pieces. The much smaller pieces of abalone did NOT taste as good as the big ones which would have taken many years to reach its mature stage.

Lately, found that its price was much higher than similar packing elsewhere.

Beware when you shop at such outlet.
adccs
post Apr 24 2013, 03:30 AM

38 posts

Fried Spicy Cheezy Macaroni

Presentation are not so nice blush.gif

Ingredients : Macaroni, chicken meat, mix vegi, mayonnaise, oyster sauce, yellow onion, light soya sauce, Ceyenne pepper, Paprika, Kicap Manis, cheese slice, white pepper, black pepper & salt

AdamJoeSmith
post Apr 29 2013, 04:05 PM

I cook very rarely. I don’t like it very much. But this topic is really interesting.
kushy
post Apr 30 2013, 09:40 PM

30 posts

I love to prepare anything with eggplant.Today I made new item stuffed eggplant enjoyed a lot having it.
k3lvinNdad
post May 1 2013, 10:35 AM

Uulala
511 posts

Bookmarked icon_rolleyes.gif Very useful thread rclxms.gif
Shazzac
post May 3 2013, 11:44 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(D10yrspain @ Oct 24 2012, 10:53 PM)
Sorry for interrupting but does any sifu here knows what is butter milk? Is it possible to diy butter milk? I'm screwed at frying chicken but i searched only about butter milk would make the chicken stay crispy and delicious. It's pretty hard to buy butter milk here as i'm staying in kampung area Selangor. I've no doubt it is easier to get in KL but i hardly go there.
BTW very interesting thread, keep it up.
The reply might be a little late but you can buy heavy cream or cooking cream or whipping cream. Whip it till it separates - ie it will separate into butter + butter milk. Abit expensive but I read you can also add a little under 1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice. Let is sit for about 5 mins.
EmilyEmily
post May 4 2013, 06:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(leo-chan @ Sep 11 2012, 09:25 AM)
Stuff I cooked up of late...
Prosciutto San Daniele e melone (raw ham with melon)

Bruschetta mista - tomatoes and basil, mushrooms and brie

Linguine al limone e basilico (Linguine with lemon and basil)
Japchae (fried sweet potato noodles with vegetables and pork belly)
Har lok (river prawns with a sweet sauce)
looks delicious! notworthy.gif

49 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:52 AM