124 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V3, Malaysian Flashaholic Community!

metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:32 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

ok..i understand..whats your plan for the shortened Maglight?
LightJunk
post Jan 13 2010, 09:35 PM

P7 direct drive. Heat sink & emitter are here already.

This post has been edited by LightJunk: Jan 13 2010, 09:36 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:44 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

ooohhh..well planned, my next project is Tri P7
strinq
post Jan 13 2010, 09:50 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

Wah become chat room already... biggrin.gif
Zen|th
post Jan 13 2010, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 13 2010, 06:20 AM)
Hehe..so use to low end lights, my fingers are reluctant to press the "S" key...
By the way very nice collection of Surefire..fuuhhh..was shaking typing that  tongue.gif

Just want to ask since you own a few, Surefire 6L and Solarforce, are they identical? and what are the possibilities of getting a knock off 6PDL. I ask this coz seen a few on ebay shipped from East Side of the world.
Lol is this question directed to me??

I have never owned any Solarforces...
About the knock-offs... I have not really purchased anything international.. Mine's all local..

Added on January 13, 2010, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 13 2010, 06:44 AM)
ooohhh..well planned, my next project is Tri P7
How much am I looking at for a set up like tat?

This post has been edited by Zen|th: Jan 13 2010, 09:57 PM
LightJunk
post Jan 13 2010, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Jan 13 2010, 09:52 PM)
How much am I looking at for a set up like tat?

Like mine:

Mag 3D - RM140
P7 LED (3) - $26X3 = $78
Der Witchel Tri P7 kit (Single Mode 100%) - EU45
Batteries 4 AW IMR26500 - $15X4 = $60
Wires, epoxy & thermal grease - $60(approx)

Roughly around RM650 - 800 inclusive of shipping.

That is excluding what I did. I mod the switch & did the soldering myself. I also source my own battery sleeve. Modders at CPF charge you for these by the hour ie. $40/hour.

But it was satisfying for me. My first Mag P7 mod.

This post has been edited by LightJunk: Jan 13 2010, 10:26 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 11:17 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Thanks for the feed back zenith..

As for the Tri P7, its not cheap, the entire reason can be blame on currency...thats why i'm stretching my projects for months..the level out the cost...
Even a Mag Single P7 would cost more than a off the shelf P7
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 14 2010, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Jan 13 2010, 09:13 PM)
Haha can.. I can give you 40 cents.. Btw its not an Ultrafire my friend,
its a Surefire.. Don la call it an Ultrafire...  sad.gif
LMAO! Ultrafire 6PDL, that's the best typo ever laugh.gif

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 13 2010, 09:20 PM)
Just want to ask since you own a few, Surefire 6L and Solarforce, are they identical? and what are the possibilities of getting a knock off 6PDL. I ask this coz seen a few on ebay shipped from East Side of the world.
If you're still wondering. The Solarforce L2 looks identical only, but nothing alike. However, original Solarforce is a clone of Surefire, there is also a clone of Solarforce! and more clones like the Ultrafire you mentioned and also there are non-branded ones laugh.gif We're in zombie land I tell u. A proper identical knock-off would be the original Solarforce L2P if you're interested. I've held it from Rookiedaddy's and it's quite good. If you just want the look, the cheapo can work also. But your Seraph is better than all the cheapos!

metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 10:44 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 14 2010, 09:37 AM)
LMAO! Ultrafire 6PDL, that's the best typo ever laugh.gif
If you're still wondering. The Solarforce L2 looks identical only, but nothing alike. However, original Solarforce is a clone of Surefire, there is also a clone of Solarforce! and more clones like the Ultrafire you mentioned and also there are non-branded ones laugh.gif We're in zombie land I tell u. A proper identical knock-off would be the original Solarforce L2P if you're interested. I've held it from Rookiedaddy's and it's quite good. If you just want the look, the cheapo can work also. But your Seraph is better than all the cheapos!

OIC, i was just wondering, i know a many of them have the same design and the lumens promised are never below par, but rarely the promise is kept. I just like the design.

This arrived at 11am today...It's a Seraph P7 M Series Turbo Head powering it with 3x3.7 with tube extension...good news is its the parts used are the same size as Maglite, lens are 52mm, the reflector is one i've seen used on maglite..i will do a little exchange try fit ti the maglite when i get home...nice

The reflector is very much like Kaidomain's....which is good, i can try different reflector..this light is a flooder...i have to wait till night to post beam shots...

I will edit this post with more full review later tonight..so watch for it.. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 14 2010, 02:00 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 14 2010, 02:04 PM

wow.. what a beauty! drool.gif thumbup.gif
damonlbs
post Jan 14 2010, 02:23 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 14 2010, 10:44 AM)
OIC, i was just wondering, i know a many of them have the same design and the lumens promised are never below par, but rarely the promise is kept. I just like the design.

This arrived at 11am today...It's a Seraph P7 M Series Turbo Head powering it with 3x3.7 with tube extension...good news is its the parts used are the same size as Maglite, lens are 52mm, the reflector is one i've seen used on maglite..i will do a little exchange try fit ti the maglite when i get home...nice

The reflector is very much like Kaidomain's....which is good, i can try different reflector..this light is a flooder...i have to wait till night to post beam shots...

I will edit this post with more full review later tonight..so watch for it.. rolleyes.gif
i m interested in getting a Seraph P7 setup

what is the total length of the light. i dont like my lights to b too long biggrin.gif
metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 02:32 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Total length is exactly 20cm..weight is about 250 to 300g

The RM10 didn't come with the head...zenith use 20 cent biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 14 2010, 02:33 PM
damonlbs
post Jan 14 2010, 02:41 PM

487 posts

thanks metalmania

the setup is not small n not big biggrin.gif

metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 02:45 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

I can conclude anything else at the moment coz i;m at the office , but i will do a more detail review and perhaps check the current draw..
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 14 2010, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Jan 14 2010, 02:23 PM)
i m interested in getting a Seraph P7 setup

what is the total length of the light. i dont like my lights to b too long biggrin.gif
Yo Poison Master, you can still run the light with a single SP-6 body with 2x AW RCR123 batteries (8.4v). According to mdocod's review, with 2x Li-ions it draws about 1.4A. So with 2x AW RCR should still be safe for the batts even drain down to 7.0v, and for the clicky switch brows.gif Though I don't think you are concern abt runtime right, you just want to be blasted for abit tongue.gif

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 14 2010, 02:32 PM)
Total length is exactly 20cm..weight is about 250 to 300g
Nice measurement biggrin.gif

I was thinking if you want more runtime, you can opt for SP-9 body with 1.5 extender. Run 3x 18500 or 2x 18650 brows.gif

metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 03:12 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Yes thats true...this light is my support light when riding only...i carry another more conservative light with me.

I use the dimmer light to get to the trail and switch to brighter light off road..usually the dimmer light gets the most workout the off road trail is not too long..

I need more power biggrin.gif..now its running on 3x3.7..it can take 13v...just thinking if the extra 1.9v will make any difference..hahaa...
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 14 2010, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 14 2010, 03:12 PM)
Yes thats true...this light is my support light when riding only...i carry another more conservative light with me.

I use the dimmer light to get to the trail and switch to brighter light off road..usually the dimmer light gets the most workout the off road trail is not too long..

I need more power biggrin.gif..now its running on 3x3.7..it can take 13v...just thinking if the extra 1.9v will make any difference..hahaa...

You can try if 2x RCR has the same brightness with 3x RCR. If it is the same, then the regulator is working well to give a constant current to the LED at around its working voltage from 6v - 13v, so i dont think giving an exact 13v would improve the brightness, the driver will just buck it.
metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 03:45 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 14 2010, 03:22 PM)
You can try if 2x RCR has the same brightness with 3x RCR. If it is the same, then the regulator is working well to give a constant current to the LED at around its working voltage from 6v - 13v, so i dont think giving an exact 13v would improve the brightness, the driver will just buck it.
Yes , i was thinking of the same thing, usually they have a tolerance value..slightly below 13v or above 13v, manufacturer usually round up numbers to be on the safe side and protect their product. I've pushed a flashlight driver before and it was brighter.

no mater how much V put in the buck will hold back the extra V more or less like a choke..judging from the glow of the LED and heat generated i don't think the Led is doing much work..i think it can do more..i mean just a quick glimpse at the P7 while its on i can see the 4 sections of the led...i've seem P7's working before and it looks nothing like this...i think it can do more

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 14 2010, 03:56 PM
damonlbs
post Jan 14 2010, 03:57 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 14 2010, 02:55 PM)
Yo Poison Master, you can still run the light with a single SP-6 body with 2x AW RCR123 batteries (8.4v). According to mdocod's review, with 2x Li-ions it draws about 1.4A. So with 2x AW RCR should still be safe for the batts even drain down to 7.0v, and for the clicky switch brows.gif Though I don't think you are concern abt runtime right, you just want to be blasted for abit tongue.gif
Nice measurement biggrin.gif

I was thinking if you want more runtime, you can opt for SP-9 body with 1.5 extender. Run 3x 18500 or 2x 18650 brows.gif
Good afteroon Mr.President rolleyes.gif

not correct i want mega brightness with mega runtime brows.gif

im greedy tongue.gif

--------------------------------------------------------

more poison

metalmania

if u got $$ mayb u shold get the

Lupine Betty x Pro
http://www.lupine.de/web/en/products/lightsets/betty/xpro/

or DX P7 bike light
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=232163

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.25149

or a custom like this

7 UP

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=251079

just curious what bike like you using? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by damonlbs: Jan 14 2010, 04:14 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 14 2010, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(metalmania @ Jan 14 2010, 03:45 PM)
..judging from the glow of the LED and heat generated i don't think the Led is doing much work..i think it can do more..i mean just a quick glimpse at the P7 while its on i can see the 4 sections of the led...i've seem P7's working before and it looks nothing like this...i think it can do more
You can see the 4 sections? I think you've been testing your light long enuf, your batteries are probably low and it fell out of regulation, your brightness reduced. hmm.gif

124 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:02 AM