5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V3, Malaysian Flashaholic Community!

metalmania
post Jan 12 2010, 05:17 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

A little bird came to see me this morning and told me some stuff...word has it a certain SSC P7 light module has landed on Malaysian shores....

You guys better keep an eye open for the Batman beam of light in our skies within these few days....

...very interesting little birdy.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 12 2010, 05:21 PM
metalmania
post Jan 12 2010, 07:14 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Jan 12 2010, 06:37 PM)
Tell lah...apa tu?
This one i think i will let the tawke break out the news...but very interesting..this attachment...i don think it will be a shuushhh thing tmr...

Tell me what is it about these little flashlights that fascinates you...is it the design?the lumen?or just fascinated by sticks running on batteries...i know the ladies are interested in those.. laugh.gif

My reason is not enough light when cycling....or should i say my "excuse" is not enough light when cycling biggrin.gif
Something tells me i will end up with Der Wichtel's Tripe SSC P7...cut one Maglite to maximum short and triple SSC P7...any floodier than that i have get a boat. End up with rayman's bike light

Der Wichtel's Tri SSC P7-Habis banjir....Lampu Banjir.. laugh.gif

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=228206

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 12 2010, 07:16 PM
metalmania
post Jan 12 2010, 09:03 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 12 2010, 08:11 PM)
I have a Der Witchel's Triple P7 kit built into my Camo Mag 3D powered by 4 AW IMR26500 with a PVC sleeve. Have to mod/cut the spring or get a golden shorty spring from KD. The output..simply AWESOME. This thing is very bright as you can see from the link given by metalmania. Mine is a single mode 100%. The driver will work between 4.2V to 20V range. Below 4.2V it will shut off.

Cheers,
LightJunk
haaa..saw in his posting there was one fellow from Kuching...so you are lurking here too..was wondering, i have one Mag4d ready for the mode running on 4X18650...i didn't cut any thing...i just removed the rear spring and put in a removable bracket... the 18650 is held by PVC just like yours..

Just curious did you use SSC or Cree? and where did you source it from? Kai?

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 12 2010, 09:06 PM
metalmania
post Jan 12 2010, 11:16 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 12 2010, 10:26 PM)
Striderman,

It's on its way to Borneo as we speak  nod.gif . Oh it comes with this.

That's it. No more gadget for me for the next few months  sweat.gif  cry.gif

cheers.gif

LightJunk
Fuhhh..that one brutal light..

This is what i was talking about

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 12 2010, 11:23 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 12:10 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 13 2010, 01:15 AM)
Philightsophy,

PM me how much is that Seraph P7 head.

LightJunk
Lightjunk

Wow...Maglite Digital Camo..did u source that locally? DigiCamo and Copper are quite hard to find, copper is even harder...any chance i can get you to send me a Digi camo if its local source?smile.gif

Don't know if this is something new to you guys, but i charged 2 x RCR123 and ended up with 1 charged to 4.3v and the other 4.2v, checked it on a multimeter.

Poped it in the flashlight and after a few minutes ran it back on the multimeter and both now run at 3.9v, later did another reading and both read 3.7 on the dot. Seem like the V equalize after running...

I thought the 4.3v would have extra juice than the 4.2v coz it has more V...thats sth new to me...

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 12:22 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 03:41 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 13 2010, 12:44 PM)
Here is the official introduction to my current collection together with specs.

From left to right (Rear)

1. FM 2C body, Surefire M2-BK head & Moddoo Triple R2 4-18V drop in runs by 2 AW IMR26500
2. FM 1C body, Surefire M2-BK head & Nailbender's SST-50 3 level 3-6V drop in runs by 1 AW IMR26500
3. Surefire M6 Scalloped Bezel (LF IMR-3T & LF IMR-M6 lamps, mdocod 2X18650 & 3X17670 battery holders)
4. Surefire M6 CB (MN20, MN21 & MB20 battery holder) (FM bi pin, WA1111 & WA1185 bulbs on the way)
5. Dual bored 2P 18650 Mag 1.25D host & SST-90 DD with d2flex runs by 2 AW IMR18650

From left to right (Front)

1. Fenix TK10 XR-E Q5
2. Nitecore Extreme R2 - my EDC
3. Surefire A2-HA-WH - my first Surefire
4. Surefire 6P bored to fit 18650 cell & Nailbender's Diamond Dragon drop in
5. Mini Mag - stock

Finally at the front most

Digi Camo Mag 3D Triple P7 DSVNI using 4 AW IMR26500 with Der Witchel P7 driver 4-20V

Almost forget, the rear most

Pelican Case 1400

LightJunk  biggrin.gif

Added on January 13, 2010, 2:57 pm

I got mine from here. PM him for your request. Reasonable price too.

RCR123 off the charger will give you between 4.2 to 4.3V range. Once used, it will drop to 3.7. You have both at 3.7V. That means your batteries are good. Maybe battery sifoo can elaborate further. Hope this helps.

Cheers,
LightJunk
OK got it..Digi Camo is nice

metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 04:55 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 13 2010, 04:28 PM)
Yea you are right, but I think susuman meant that the chemistry is more stable with a little overcharge/discharge compared with lithium cobalt

*I'll be adding both of your info (post link) in the batt section wink.gif
Just to add some observations:
Are you charging using WF-139? They are two versions of it that I know off, the older one will bound to charge more than 4.2v depending on the internal resistance of the battery. Basically, both charging terminals are individually monitored, so they will work differently depending on battery temp and age. My WF-139 charger so far has been charging and terminate @4.2v, sometimes I read more than that but I blame my DMM, it doesn't read very accurately sometimes, but sufficient for my general needs. So to your question and experience, I think it's normal. The more expensive chargers may handle a wider selection of Li-ION batteries and terminate accurately and without trickle charge.

Regarding your voltage equalization, I have this experience as well even with NiMH, but their voltage differences are all not too far apart off the charger, about 1-2%. I cannot explain the technically part on this.
hehe, i love those FM bodies!! drool.gif

Question, what's the brightness comparison in your eyes for LF IMR-M6 vs Surefire MN21? Is this be the right comparison? hehe
I think the one i have is the new one, it charges to 4.2V, i rarely leave the battery charging unattended. I use a program timer to charge, rarely does it reach 4.2, but since i'm using RCR123 to power up a 9v xenon i charge it to 4.2. LF SP-6 can fit 2 CR123 so got the V to 8.4V just slightly below the 9V limit for the xenon.

I think as far as charging goes , timer is a cheaper and safer option, can program to 1 hour intervals allowing cooling. I usually set it an hour and check with DMM, then charge another hour and check.

As for the charger i think its fine, don't need a better charger , you cam mod a RC charger which is very advance but cost can be high..but very do-able. There are many site's with step by step, perhaps i will leave that mod for a later day.

This is a good one to mod - http://www.rcplanet.com.my/webshaper/store...roductItem=3939
Considering the amount of batteries needed and flashlights, i think this is a worthy mod.

Just want to share one tip, if anyone is using 52mm plastic lens and wish to upgrade to glass lens with coating you can use 55mm camera lens filter, coating is entirely up to you or you can get UCL lens... smile.gif The lens in the picture is an old rosak lens filter, it has blotches..so can use on my Maglite D Cell, no more scratch on the lens...i also have Boro Lens and UCL . The filter lens is 52mm X 1.9mm

The picture is Maglite D cell bezel :-

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 05:20 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 05:25 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 13 2010, 05:20 PM)
2x RCR123 is save for your LF 9V xenon (SR/HO-9?). I'm using 2x IMR 18500. No issue with insta flash, and healthy for your Xenon hahaha (but you need an extender or SP-9 body).. and I think 2x IMR 18650 should be fine too smile.gif

Btw, are you using a program timer with a dialer type? That's a good idea actually. Have one working that'll switch the lights on outside and switches it off automatically in the morn.
Charging with timer is a splendid idea....there is no trickle charge definitely...and you can manage your charging to you daily schedule...
Experiment and experience will give you a good idea how many minutes needed to charge or full charge from flat...

Digital timer :- http://www.mudah.my/7-Days-Digital-Timer-4702491.htm

Analogue :- http://www.mudah.my/Programme-Timer-Socket...asa-4010447.htm

Cheap considering battery coat more

I'm using a digital timer and the lights for my turtle i use dial..turtle need light to bask they also lumen freak too..hahaa

remember to gauge your timer with stop watch to make sure its on que..i have few timers that are off..that god the turtles didn't fry. By the way the turtle's name is Flash and 17 years old Star Turtle...should i register LYN acc for him? tongue.gif

Lightjunk this picture is for you, finally able to upload the maglite cap mod

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 05:41 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 07:32 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 13 2010, 07:06 PM)
WHOA.. 17 years!? I've never taken care of any pets that long eheh blush.gif Your turtle Flash is welcome to register, and he'll be sifu for high powered incans only laugh.gif What lights do you use for basking?
deviate from topic a little..i should be using special bulb for him/her ( dont know the sex even after living for 17 years ) but i just use regular bulb, as long as it has heat for digestion and to keep warm..i actually got it for free after helping the tawke sell off a dog..it was the size of a 50cent back then..actually the name Flash is not from flashlight, but name was given for it speed...very fast for a turtle laugh.gif

The tawke told me of one gentleman offering RM3K for a turtle that size ( about the size of a plate ) i was thinking of Triple SSC P7 or even a Surefire.. biggrin.gif

Back to lights...like Lightjunk i have a few stuff heading my way and parts for Tri P7, i really need this light and hopefully a cut down Maglite from wquiles. Would love to own one of his Mag 1D bore to 4 X AA...so many possibilities.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=239209

metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 07:50 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

i see you have a 1D Mag from wquiles....this is the picture..there is a version 2 using less parts, just a note the inside of Maglite tail cap is coated, not conductive..need sanding to make it conduct..

the spring sits deeper inside the cap and the 4 legs complete the Neg- contact at the rim of the cap where the ori spring sits...why 4 legs i hear you ask! 4 is just enough to feed my paranoia... unsure.gif

Please excuse my soldering skills this is just the 1st version prototype..

Forgot to ask you wouldn't happen to have an extra P7 Laying around would you? smile.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 08:08 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 08:25 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

actually the tail cap spring does more than just that...if its to soft the battery will loose its contact from the top spring, test it by turning it on and taping the tail cap on palm..if its firm it shouldn't blink...this is particularly important on halogen lamps.

i experienced this on my bike lamps as they flicker when i hit a bump..

Springs shouldn't be to firm as too much pressure on the batts can ruin the top and bottom..i have proof of spring effect on battery +/- contacts.

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 08:27 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 08:52 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Jan 13 2010, 08:50 PM)
Hello fellow flashaholics,

As per philightsophy, my LF P7 should be arriving tomorrow!! Finally after 3 months of waiting... Tick tock tick tock...
you and me waiting.... rclxm9.gif
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 08:57 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 13 2010, 08:51 PM)
The problem with mine is that I am using 4 flat top AW IMR26500 cells. I need three 5 cent coins (yes, there is some use to it) for them to make contact. I need a slightly tough spring for positive contact.

You're right. I spoiled 1 of my batteries insulator because of the original Mag spring which I've cut/mod.
ohhh....i have 2 solutions for you..first magnets on the + of the first cell, 2-solder the + springs so that it bulges a little but this means taking everything apart..i can make contact with my AW 18650 with the solder trick.

You can get the magnets from fridge magnets...simple and cheap try find the silver ones they are a little stronger.

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 09:04 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 08:59 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Jan 13 2010, 08:55 PM)
Haha, you bought 1 too? Cool..

What host will you be u using? Im using my M6..  rclxms.gif
I say zenith..i humbly stand way below your surefires... cry.gif..its for my humble LF SP6 only....i can tembak you with my beam shot from here to ampang...hehee..you live close to me..i'm at setapak

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 09:01 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:06 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(LightJunk @ Jan 13 2010, 09:03 PM)
The 18650 has 3 dimples at the negative side. So it's ok unlike the 26500. Actually the three 5 cent coins are in between those cells. Just enough to cover the cavity on the positive side of the cell. It's being held there by the battery insulator.

Added on January 13, 2010, 9:05 pm

So do I  biggrin.gif . I just know the flash and the capture only.
A bit lost here..you mean to say the battery don't make contact to each other when stacked?

I'm look at zenith's Ultrafire 6PDL that he has posted up for sale and wondering if i will also get the 20 cent next to the flashlight if i buy the flashlight.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 09:11 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:20 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Hehe..so use to low end lights, my fingers are reluctant to press the "S" key...
By the way very nice collection of Surefire..fuuhhh..was shaking typing that tongue.gif

Just want to ask since you own a few, Surefire 6L and Solarforce, are they identical? and what are the possibilities of getting a knock off 6PDL. I ask this coz seen a few on ebay shipped from East Side of the world.

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 13 2010, 09:26 PM
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:32 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

ok..i understand..whats your plan for the shortened Maglight?
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 09:44 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

ooohhh..well planned, my next project is Tri P7
metalmania
post Jan 13 2010, 11:17 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Thanks for the feed back zenith..

As for the Tri P7, its not cheap, the entire reason can be blame on currency...thats why i'm stretching my projects for months..the level out the cost...
Even a Mag Single P7 would cost more than a off the shelf P7
metalmania
post Jan 14 2010, 10:44 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Jan 14 2010, 09:37 AM)
LMAO! Ultrafire 6PDL, that's the best typo ever laugh.gif
If you're still wondering. The Solarforce L2 looks identical only, but nothing alike. However, original Solarforce is a clone of Surefire, there is also a clone of Solarforce! and more clones like the Ultrafire you mentioned and also there are non-branded ones laugh.gif We're in zombie land I tell u. A proper identical knock-off would be the original Solarforce L2P if you're interested. I've held it from Rookiedaddy's and it's quite good. If you just want the look, the cheapo can work also. But your Seraph is better than all the cheapos!

OIC, i was just wondering, i know a many of them have the same design and the lumens promised are never below par, but rarely the promise is kept. I just like the design.

This arrived at 11am today...It's a Seraph P7 M Series Turbo Head powering it with 3x3.7 with tube extension...good news is its the parts used are the same size as Maglite, lens are 52mm, the reflector is one i've seen used on maglite..i will do a little exchange try fit ti the maglite when i get home...nice

The reflector is very much like Kaidomain's....which is good, i can try different reflector..this light is a flooder...i have to wait till night to post beam shots...

I will edit this post with more full review later tonight..so watch for it.. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 14 2010, 02:00 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0515sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:17 PM