124 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V3, Malaysian Flashaholic Community!

TSpseudoblue
post Jan 22 2010, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Jan 22 2010, 11:19 AM)
Pseudoblue: emailed.
notworthy.gif My sanity is rescued!
polkiuj
post Jan 22 2010, 11:49 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Jan 22 2010, 11:22 AM)
Ok, someone educate me on the s1200 battery...haven't been keeping up to date...paiseh

polkiuj: yeah i saw that some time ago at cpf. Really haiku-ish but blue so its better. smile.gif USD400 or something like that right?
LiFePo4 are what susuman loves to use. =)

Its 130Eu not inclusive of anything.

Noo... Made in ITALY!!!!

Want want want want want... Anyone wants to buy my lights? =D
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 22 2010, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Jan 22 2010, 11:49 AM)
LiFePo4 are what susuman loves to use. =)
And i guess it may be his dream flashlight liao whistling.gif

strinq
post Jan 22 2010, 11:54 AM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

So the question is...will the s1200 be able to use normal 123's? Either rechargeable or not. Hope they can fit RCRs. Cuz if it really outputs 1200 lumens and uses batteries with lower capacity the runtime is gonna be so bad.
hoongern
post Jan 22 2010, 12:04 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Jan 22 2010, 11:54 AM)
So the question is...will the s1200 be able to use normal 123's? Either rechargeable or not. Hope they can fit RCRs. Cuz if it really outputs 1200 lumens and uses batteries with lower capacity the runtime is gonna be so bad.
If the drive current is very high, I would say it's unlikely. If it's low, probably yes. OTOH the maximum discharge rate from CR123s would be around 2A @ 2.4V - only 4.8W of power each. Whereas, the LiFePO4s can be driven to 2A with a decent capacity @ 2.8V - 5.6W each. They can actually tolerate 5Amp discharges, but with very low capacity. Look here.

Honestly I'm a bit puzzled by LiFePO4s - I would have thought IMR16340s would be a better choice for high current applications as they can provide 5Amps @ 3.1V = 15.3W of power each. Look here.

I'm not sure what drive current is needed for 1200 lumens from the SST50/90

Added on January 22, 2010, 12:15 pmAccording to the SST90 data sheet, 1000 lumens @ 3.2Amps (highest flux bin, not sure what 4Sevens is using). So to get 1200 lumens would be around 3.9Amps (a 120% flux increase) @ 3.25V = 12.6W of total power.

Now, guessing time.

If you have 3 cells, each cell would have to provide around 4.2W of power. For a LiFePO4, that would be around a 1.5A discharge (1.5A*2.9V_avg = 4.35W). For a CR123, that would be around 2A discharge (2A*2.2V_avg = 4.4W). For an IMR, that would probably be just over 1A current.

So actually with 3xCR123s, it could be *just slightly under* the limits.... although 2A is pushing it, afaik. And this is just at the beginning of the discharge when cells are full.

I dunno... ? I'm just making calculations which I think are correct, but I'm not sure. Go calculate it yourselves... tongue.gif

It also depends on how the circuit is designed and whether it will accept the higher voltages of Li-Co/IMRs

This post has been edited by hoongern: Jan 22 2010, 12:28 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 22 2010, 12:34 PM

Hey I hope the light can run with 123 primaries as well. A reliable option if your Lifes ran out and can't find a charging source sweat.gif Although you don't have to run it max.

Regarding the datasheet, their lux readings might be different than how 4sevens do it with OTF lumens. It might not be even driven up to 3.2A @ 3.2v. We don't know yet but the S1200 SST-90 might be possibly under driven. But that's a good logical guess biggrin.gif

The Olight SR90 however, looks like it'll be driven almost its full spec, still we don't know yet. As I think 9A would need something larger than SR90 still.
strinq
post Jan 22 2010, 01:29 PM

602 posts

any idea when 4sevens are going to release the specs?
Or this is all they're gonna reveal till the release dates? Been loafing around cpf and marketplace to get news but just lots and lots of speculations.

Oh yeah, the s1800 has 1800 LED lumens.
OTF is 1500 lumens.

A trifle disappointing.
I gather the s1200 will be about 900-1000 lumens OTF. Bolehlah.

The scary thing is that the M500 might be an MC-E with 500 emitter lumens. Then that would just kinda suck...

This post has been edited by strinq: Jan 22 2010, 01:33 PM
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 22 2010, 02:01 PM

The S1200 is very small wor.. 900 OTF will still wow. Compared to M1X with 450 OTF? The S1200 looks different than in the catalog. It also appears to have a different heat sinc material.

Added on January 22, 2010, 3:41 pmHeys, I am a fan diffusers! biggrin.gif I like a flood light with balanced throw capabilites, not so much a thrower person though/yet, and luv the wall of light biggrin.gif Diffusers are really handy at close range especially in any outdoor situation. Be it hiking or even changing your car tires.

Sorry for the low res and over-exposed image. Will be taking a better pic soon
Top left to right bottom: Quark AA+Prism, TK40, RRT-0 + Olight T diffuser, TA21 + Olight M diffuser, MC10 + diffuser

I'm still looking for a diffuser for my TK40. The DIY I did which I posted abt in mycpf wasn't a long term solution sweat.gif I thought if anyone here have suddenly a "light bulb".

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Jan 22 2010, 03:41 PM
damonlbs
post Jan 22 2010, 04:05 PM

487 posts

EagleTac’s new UI and new models

Catalog
http://webpages.charter.net/tackledog/ET%202010.pdf

http://webpages.charter.net/tackledog/ET%202010-2.pdf
strinq
post Jan 22 2010, 06:44 PM

602 posts

Oh my, eagletac really lived up to its expectations.
300 OTF with XP-G.
Itu sgt bagus...

I love the looks of the lights. looks really... army style.
The PN20a, PC10A and the PC20C2 is catching my eye...
surefire v LED
post Jan 22 2010, 09:37 PM

Never Say Never But Say Never 2 Proton
4,349 posts

pc20c2 & pc20a2 is so good lookin drool.gif moneyflies.gif
seale_navy
post Jan 22 2010, 10:00 PM

387 posts

polkiuj...

what brand is the italian torch? does it has a website? european torch are cool and hard to find...
LightJunk
post Jan 23 2010, 12:36 AM

Hi Guys,

This is my first single P7 mod in a Mag 1D host. It's Direct Drive. Host custom made by wquiles of CPF.

I got the host last Wednesday and manage to finish the mod tonight. Took me 1.5 hours to finish. Below are what I've done. Hope you guys like it.

The host itself. What a beauty.

Britelumen's reflector and borosilicate lens.

Switch and sleeve done. Fine sand paper used for final finishing. Still a bit rough though.

Soldering completed. Not easy as it seems.

Battery sleeve, battery and deep tail cap mod. Spring sat right at the bottom of tail cap.

YESSSSS!

Completed host.

Finally. Beamshot 2 feet away from blue wall. thumbup.gif

I am really satisfied with this mod rclxm9.gif

Cheers,
LightJunk

more pictures in my sig

This post has been edited by LightJunk: Jan 23 2010, 12:49 AM
metalmania
post Jan 23 2010, 01:03 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

cayalah bro.....fuhhh...magnificent.... rclxm9.gif
TSpseudoblue
post Jan 23 2010, 01:06 AM

Wowie!! nice one LightJunk!!
LightJunk
post Jan 23 2010, 01:24 AM

Thanks metalmania, pseudoblue.

The sawing and soldering took me sometime.

Still an amateur at soldering. Luckily I didn't burn my fingers.

strinq
post Jan 23 2010, 01:26 AM

602 posts

Good job man!
Nice one.
metalmania
post Jan 23 2010, 01:46 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

well nice work...yes with a saw with rough teeth it usually latches it self to the object, use finer hacksaw blade..the usual blue or orange for finer cuts. Saw with rough spaced tooth like in the picture is for wood. Is that a Gerber?

Lightjunk- i see you have a number of big lights...any plans on getting the S1800 or sth that size?

This post has been edited by metalmania: Jan 23 2010, 01:48 AM
LightJunk
post Jan 23 2010, 02:00 AM

I don't keep those hacksaw blades. The Leatherman finer tooth will take me twice the time. So I sort to the coarser one.

Big lights for me...not at the moment. I've spent too much for the past 2 months sweat.gif . That mod above complete my collection of all common LEDs' except the MC-E though. Am eyeing the S1800 but wait till the price drop biggrin.gif or on sale.

Fyi...I've just saved $60 by doing the switch and battery sleeve mod myself.

This post has been edited by LightJunk: Jan 23 2010, 02:09 AM
Philightsophy
post Jan 23 2010, 03:07 AM

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Jan 21 2010, 09:16 PM)
new EagleTac Flashlight... monitor this thread...
Philihghtsophy, remember my order?  rclxm9.gif
Yup, I remember biggrin.gif

124 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:05 PM