HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

davidmak
post Apr 22 2010, 12:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Apr 22 2010, 12:34 PM)
India will launch last week of May
I seriously hope they will launch in the first half of May for Malaysia. At least for initial availability. brows.gif
davidmak
post Apr 22 2010, 02:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 22 2010, 01:41 PM)
Desire vs HTC HD2 hmm.gif
I tried HD2. Go for Desire biggrin.gif
BB Bold 2 9700 is tempting though but I know Desire is more multimedia intensive.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 22 2010, 03:46 PM
davidmak
post Apr 22 2010, 03:45 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 22 2010, 02:28 PM)
both also powerful device..
if u get used to winmo then go for HD2 (screen bigger so far)
if u wan try Android OS, or some apps from A.Market then go for Desire.. (but this u still hv to wait lah..  wink.gif
When bro... when? Hehehehehe tongue.gif
davidmak
post Apr 22 2010, 05:32 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Apr 22 2010, 04:24 PM)
Desire is future proof with Android 2.2 coming out in 19 May with Adobe AIR!
I wonder if it will play nice with HTC's Sense UI. Otherwise, it could be a straight forward update. I guess Nexus One will get it first and followed by others.
davidmak
post Apr 23 2010, 10:44 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(draco82 @ Apr 23 2010, 10:23 AM)
So, can we say that in hardware desire which have higher ram and optical scroll is better. While software or application nexus 1 is better cause they always get the latest update from google while desire need to wait for htc developer? (If they do the update)
Software sure the Desire is better because you have HTC Sense UI (depending on your preference of course). But the Nexus One is a Google Experience phone so naturally new updates would go to Nexus One first. Updates will definitely come to Desire and would be fast. After all, Desire is HTC's flagship phone. I wouldn't be sure for future updates though. HTC may be dragging its feet like what happened to HTC Hero.

I wouldn't say this is a disadvantage but rather a problem created by the fragmentation of Android itself. Being open source, we get all sorts of OEM customizations to differentiate a product from the other.

But fret not because we have communities like XDA, HTCpedia, etc. While we may not be getting a Sense UI + Android 2.2 from them, we can at least flash it to a stock standard Google Experience variant. This is where the Nexus One has the flexibility. It can use Sense UI (via Modaco) and the stock standard ROM. So if you're a flasher tongue.gif the Nexus One is definitely the phone to have.

But I'm not happy with its issues though and I want as much RAM as possible on a device. So its Desire.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 23 2010, 10:44 AM
davidmak
post Apr 23 2010, 11:31 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Apr 23 2010, 11:23 AM)
Any idea on the usual estimated delay between the official release from Google and HTC? 1-2 months?
Personally, I haven't see any HTC updates from 1.6 to 2.1. I remember the Magic took an awful long time to get the HTC Sense UI (Android 1.6). The Hero will need to wait till June? Thats a long time in my book. Of course, we still see regular updates from HTC. Maybe 1-2 ROM updates in a year or more.

Frankly speaking, I'll be looking into custom modder scene after getting the Desire. Of course I'll stay stock until it is completely necessary or when HTC has abandoned us hehehehehe...
davidmak
post Apr 23 2010, 05:06 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 23 2010, 04:49 PM)
Not necessarily hardware problem mah... Android 2.2 on the way you know. So this is gonna be fun rclxms.gif
davidmak
post Apr 23 2010, 10:58 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Apr 23 2010, 10:33 PM)
hi there..am new to android...but quite anticipating for this desire...anyone know when is da availability? i hv jz checked from lowyat that da earliest will reach mid of may...which quite long to me...anyone hv any other information? plus they said starting from legend android market will be available in malaysia...not sure if it is true...any sifu here can give some insight abt this?
Actually Android Market has been available since Motorola Milestone started sale here. In fact, its even earlier if you count Nexus One and Milestone AP. So Legend is among the first to get Android Market but only limited to free applications. Google has made it clear that it has no plans to include Malaysia in the short term.

Mid of May? Sigh...We're like 2+ weeks away.
davidmak
post Apr 27 2010, 03:16 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Apr 27 2010, 02:59 PM)
Anyone need screen protector for their HTC Desire?
It is available now. Price at only RM7 each.

PM me if you are interested.
Thank you.  notworthy.gif
Regards,
AskarPerang
Hahahaha... phone haven't arrive, screen protector already available. This is what I call proactive man! Salute thumbup.gif

Sure will consider your product when I get my Desire hehehehe notworthy.gif
davidmak
post Apr 28 2010, 11:27 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Apr 28 2010, 11:04 AM)
Heard from SIS source that Desire coming out soon but price wise still not confirmed...expect HD2 pricing or thereabouts.
I was hoping between the price point of Legend and HD2 (yes, its a big gap). HD2's retail price is RM2699 now? So RM2499/2599 is right on track right? Damn these toys are expensive. tongue.gif

So much for HTC going on to say that the price for Desire would be something buyers happy about.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 28 2010, 11:29 AM
davidmak
post Apr 28 2010, 12:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(td00164306 @ Apr 28 2010, 11:57 AM)
I want to ask, let say if I ask my friend from UK buy this phone for me, can it be use in Malaysia?

Will he be checked by custom when he arrive in/depart from airport?

However, if I buy in UK, the VAT is applicable right?
If he is traveling or coming back by air, I don't see a problem. He'll be able to walk through the custom clearance section like any other traveler. Its not like they would run a check on everyone. If they picked him and found the package, just say its yours and you're bringing it back. Make sure receipt is available to proof that the item belongs to him.

As a tourist leaving the last airport in the UK, you should be entitled to a VAT refund (subjected to their limitations). You need to proof that you're a tourist, with a certain amount of VAT accumulated, etc... If your friend is a PR, on student visa, or on job permit, I think VAT restrictions apply.
davidmak
post Apr 28 2010, 04:28 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Apr 28 2010, 02:17 PM)
the price of htc desire will be at rm2290..
If this is true, all of us will give you a hug rclxms.gif

But my guess is RM2499.

QUOTE(zackloy @ Apr 28 2010, 03:50 PM)
Agreed but I still don't get why we still need to impose the tax (besides the obvious $$$ to the Govt)....isn't the Govt. pushing for adoption of tech?
Yes, but only for non-communication devices. Tech stuff like computers yes. Apparently custom officers are very sensitive to the word 'Communication Devices'. I had a few items sent over by my client. They made a wrong declaration by putting them into communication device category and there it goes.

For those who attempts to compute a breakdown in costing to get an estimated price, you can't really do that. Because our tax and duty structure is different here. HTC/SiS may even have a different price structure for Malaysia. Its normal for global companies to price a product higher in some regions to compensate for attractive pricing of the same product in another region. In other words, there are a lot of factors and variables to account for to get a clear indication what price it may be. Its as good as anyone's guess.

Don't we already know? People price a product however they want it be and there will still be people buying it. Its rampant here. Its only recently I see main brands like Apple playing nice with their product pricing. And so on... Frankly speaking, the Legend going for RM1999 is a good start for SiS. I hope it doesn't end there.
davidmak
post Apr 28 2010, 05:29 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 28 2010, 05:14 PM)
ZZZzzzz why need to guess ? just wait for the pricing , even if you give Rm1800~2000 , does it make a effect on real pricing ? nope , you are just comforting yourself and get disappointed eventually  sweat.gif  .. and dont compare with clove.uk pricing , this tax thingy aint 100% accurate , sometimes cheaper sometime expensive due to other factors. 

Even i said so ! I also want to give my guess tongue.gif  refer to  Legend and Nexus one Malaysia SIS set pricing
GOOGLE NEXUS ONE RM2280
HTC LEGEND RM1950
N1 already cost Rm2280 , so do you think Desire will be Rm2290 ? nope ~~~~~ It will be a bit more expensive than N1 ,  my guess is at least Rm2.4k
Bro... are you sure you're replying on the right thread let alone replying to the right post? Thats a flat out copy from my post on the Samsung Galaxy S thread. This is Desire thread.

And I'm the one discouraging price speculations based on converting prices from other countries.

Anyway, RM2290 for Desire isn't entirely baseless. True, the N1 is around this price. But its not available in this country. Availability through imports don't count. Still the RM2299 price point is left vacant in the Malaysian market.

Also... only geeks or enthusiasts like us care to buy or consider Nexus One. Normal people buy whatever phones officially sold in Malaysia. The statistics say it all. biggrin.gif
davidmak
post Apr 29 2010, 10:12 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 28 2010, 05:45 PM)
bro calm down ~~~ I quoted the wrong one , please check it , Editied already  biggrin.gif
No worries lar bro hehehehe... biggrin.gif
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 11:26 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 30 2010, 11:13 AM)
GREAT NEWS!! stock come today..but the price adjusted from supplier to 2340... sign~
AP or Ori? 2340 expensive ler hehehe...

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 30 2010, 11:16 AM)
RM2340?still ok lar the price..but i expect it to be RM2299
If Ori this is nice... but looking at the numbers 2340... most likely AP. Usually its 2x99 hehehe...
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 01:03 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

There's a reason why HTC Desire AP is expensive. Its hard to get, no signs of original units yet and it is highly sought after. Naturally, traders would like to take advantage on that. Its capitalism. Still we will have early enthusiast buying them.

We've seen these pricing trends for a lot of times. Let me quote some examples:

1. Nokia 5800. Nokia's very first Symbian S60 touch phone.
Took sometime to get here too. The AP came and was priced RM1800-2000. Then few weeks later, original units started selling and the price was a big shock. RM16xx and dropping, lower than what AP traders speculated. AP price went down to RM1300. Second hand AP units was being dumped at RM1000 and below. Original units finally settled at RM13xx +/-. This incident burnt a lot of fingers.

2. Motorola Milestone
Sold around RM2000-2200 for AP. 1 month later original units started selling and was priced at RM22xx. The AP price go down to RM15xx-18xx.

If we see any trends, original price will usually replace the AP's initial price point. So RM2399-2499 potential price point for Desire is very real. Of course this is just a guess. I see this as a strategy to compete with parallel importers. Trying to undercut their margin and discourage potential buyers.
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 01:51 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 30 2010, 01:22 PM)
for whatever phones , the price will eventually drop one .. because new technology come out . Try to compare 5800 with Desire , this maybe rude but I have to say 5800 is crap comparing to Desire ... So laters on , when a new phone come out , example Desire X2 , then Desire  is lame than Desire X2 , price will drop ... this theory apply to computer hardware too , or whatever that is related with "technoloy" . When a newer one come out , the old one will sure drop price ... but for people , most of the people still want the newer one !  let say you want Desire for Rm2.3k , later on , Htc say Evo 4G is available for GSM , Desire drop to Rm1.8k , Evo 4G is Rm2.3k . Under whatever phone you get, the price you paying is still Rm2.3k ... So what I mean is , you are waiting Desire to drop price .. What if another great phone release out ? With extraordinary features which cant be found in Desire , Do you still want Desire ? Then at tat time , you wait for the price of new phone to drop again ? then you keep waiting forever ....  Most of the people chasing the trend

PS: I said you wait for the price  , just an example , no offence
Actually I don't intend to compare 5800 with Desire. Its obvious. However, the examples are meant to show everyone here to not fall into that position to get your fingers burnt for buying AP now. You may be able to own a Desire now but with the same money or cheaper, you could have the original unit few weeks later. Why am I saying this? Because AP is RM2340 instead of RM2080 as originally indicated.

I think we all know 5800 is an affordable phone made of cheap materials and we all know where it stands in the market during its time.

Of course this post is not meant to down play the role AP traders play in this whole thing. For example, the HD2's price was super expensive at RM2899 and now RM2699. The AP traders brought down the price with AP units for RM20xx. Good price.

davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 02:42 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 30 2010, 02:01 PM)
hmm ....
you said there is no sign of original units ? HTC Desire official launch confirmed at Spore 14 May 8pm at Suntec.

S'pore HTC fan page http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?p...150124449655422
HTC Desire = SGD938 , from what I refer to post #763 , with this price it is sis set
Do you mean now it is Rm2340 , then next week become RM2000 ? a bit impossible  hmm.gif .. because why ? just few days later then price drop Rm340 ? nope .. and I have another reason wink.gif  . Now the Legend is about Rm2k for sis set , if Desire ap drop to Rm2k , Do you think still got ppl buy sis set Legend ? They rather get ap Desire instead of sis Legend for better features in trade off of 1 yr warranty . I mean most of the people , most of the people like me , prefer Ap set because it is cheaper , and 1 yr warranty is enough.  If you do root , 2 yrs mean for nothing .So ori will affect the ap price , but the other phone around also affect it , like Legend ~ Desire ... . So Rm2340 will last for 4 5 months .. until newer phone come out , or cheaper sis price .

For ,  HD2's price was super expensive at RM2899 and now RM2699 , because HD2 price is too high for people , so it is easy to drop to make it affordable.
QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
notworthy.gif I know Davidmak trying to say original price will bring down the price of AP set , because original is not around yet . My English very poor , so you guys might think I misunderstood him  icon_rolleyes.gif  need to improve my English , haha
QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 30 2010, 02:22 PM)
singapore and here make no difference... still will have people bring from Singapore and it not difficult to claim warranty because it is quite close. So singapore launch = M'sia launch ..  rclxms.gif
Its ok lar bro. Its just a discussion biggrin.gif.

Anyway Singapore has an announcement on upcoming Desire release. But no such announcement in Malaysia yet. So SG availability doesn't count. Although some people will automatically assume MY retail availability once SG sets are available because Singapore is just next door. Its easy to forgive such an assumption. However, one must also consider that normal consumers don't buy gadgets like us freaks hehehehe... And I'm speaking from the conventional consumers point of view. While many people likes the idea of buying an AP just to be the first to own something great, there are thousands who consider other needs like local support, peace of mind, the same of stories we've read, etc.

By the way, I've never said next week Desire price will go down to RM2000. A RM340 price drop in a few days would be disastrous and put many AP traders into trouble. Because buyers now know AP traders couldn't justify the RM2340 price point and will suffer a consumer backlash. I merely indicated that AP Desire price will most likely fall once Original sets are available. Why? Because original price will likely target the current AP price if SiS want to keep AP/parallel importers at bay (or teach them a painful lesson, we all know SiS hates AP traders). SiS knows and the consumer knows Ori > AP due to warranty support. A lot of people value this. Period. Lets not even talk about geek's perspective on warranty support and product reliability rendering Ori a waste of money. Thats the age old debate. tongue.gif

The only way AP price will stick or increase is if original retail price is higher or a lot higher than AP price. This is no fun talk. This is simple economics (of course it would be more complex in the real world). We've seen the trend before.

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
after the ori set  come,
normally price will drop 50 weekly..
but now dunno when ori will come weh..
mayb end of MAY or start of JUN hmm.gif
Yes, the key is we don't know when original units will come. But we know 2 things, its hard to obtain and everybody wants one. So AP price increase. Once SG sets are available, AP price will come down a little (assuming SG don't have stock issues).

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 30 2010, 02:43 PM
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 04:05 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 30 2010, 02:49 PM)
for exp the NEXUS, sg launch for some times d.. yet here not gonna launch wow..
dunno why the local SIS not fast fast geh...
mayb not target on this market?
or other reasons not take.. who knows? hmm.gif
Its not SiS's fault. People need to know there are 2 categories of Android phones. (1) with Google or Google phones and (2) OEM Google Phones made by HTC, SE, Motorola, etc). The Google phones are not meant for retail audience. Its targeted more to developers. If you're Google and you have a new OS nobody heard of, what is the strategy to bring it to mass adoption? The answer is content and platform. You will need developers to develop exciting or killer applications to get people excited and buy the phone. And for the developers to develop on Android, they need a platform. They need a working phone. This is where Google G1, Magic and now Nexus One comes in.

They serve to start up the entire eco-system to support Android and make it a competitive OS in the near future. That is why Nexus One is or G1 is so easy to hack. You can basically do everything you would want to do. Rooting, etc. Updates will naturally come faster to these phone because Google want to push the latest and greatest for developers to try on. These are the strategies necessary to make Android a competitive OS.

Now lets turn our attention to phones like HTC, SE, Motorola. These aren't developer phones and targeted for mass consumer. Naturally they have everything a consumer want. Do you think every consumer knows what is root access or even care to root? Not really.

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Apr 30 2010, 03:33 PM)
if I buy now at Rm2.3k ... and when sis set of 2.3k release , I wont feel any dissatisfied .. because I am going to root it after 2 4 months of usage . .. After root it will void the warranty , because a "unlock" sign will show when phone reboot .
Again, we don't represent the mass consumer. Not every regular consumer know what is root or whether root is good for them. They just want a phone and all those Android goodies. We're different. We're freaks remember? We tweak and try all sorts of stunts. Hehehehe... And yes you're entitled to your opinion. If you're gonna root the phone anyway to do some great apps, by all means. Guess ori or AP, it doesn't matter anymore. Still not every consumer will do that.

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 30 2010, 03:39 PM)
Cannot change to the stock root or something?
Don't think so unless we do a full flash and restoration. I remember when we upgrade to a later firmware/software revision, we will lose root access and everything returned to stock. Probably that is.

If we are familiar enough with how HTC do things or design around their hardware, nothing is really irreversible. Their WinMo phones are a good example. HSPL can be removed and re flashed with stock SPL. Their Android phones however deals with recovery firmware, etc. Slightly different food chain hehehe... but don't worry. We have XDA Developers. We'll get there soon enough. Hopefully rooting or custom flashing will be easier to regular users like you and me.
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 04:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 30 2010, 04:12 PM)
So , without rooting we can still do whatever there is to do right? Only that we cannot store those apps in SD card?
And i heard that App store doesnt support in Malaysia is that so?
Sorry for the nooby questions , didn owned a android device yet . Considering getting the Desire tho. Most probably the Ori.
Actually we don't lose much if we don't root. Root access is something like access with administrator rights on Windows so you can do whatever you want. In the context of Android or a mobile phone, the reason why we don't have admin rights on the phone or being locked out by manufacturers is so that the phone is secured and not compromised.

The notion of rooting an Android or iPhone or whatever phone for that matter is really all about piracy and getting warez installed tongue.gif. I mean come on, its obvious why people wants to root their phone. Thats the worst part of rooting. The good part of rooting however is to enabled hidden features not ready for prime time like apps installation in SD card or enable some alternate home brew applications to achieve features not originally intended on a phone.

Regarding the Android Market (or Apps Store) support Malaysian users. However, only free apps are available. I'm not sure why paid apps are not available for us. Maybe Google's payment system is not ready for Malaysian market. But you can use Market Enabler which will mask your telco ID to trick it to believe you're on an US telco. But to do this you need to root in order to use the application. So another point why rooting is good. Assuming you're using it for good reasons.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Apr 30 2010, 04:38 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0423sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:22 PM