6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership V2, Official Owner's Lounge (V1 overloaded)

teikwing
post Feb 6 2010, 07:02 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 6 2010, 06:58 PM)
and got one in Iraq got EDD on 2 April sweat.gif
iraq, that said it all. but he did mentioned that he's able to receive his last order from Dell a month earlier than the given EDD? laugh.gif
teikwing
post Feb 6 2010, 07:45 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 6 2010, 07:38 PM)
No one ordered Lunar Shadow Gray?
it's something like Gunmetal Grey according to the AW source. wished i have went for that!
teikwing
post Feb 6 2010, 08:14 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 6 2010, 07:50 PM)
Hmm.. the pics from hardware heaven looks nice..

But.. ah well AlienFX would look nicer on a Black system tongue.gif
looked abit too sliver'ish ain't it? made my decision based on those shots by HH. if it's darker grey i would have get it. but that might be a pre-production unit and the final product might have a different shade of grey/sliver.

so, Cosmic Black or Lunar Shadow Grey for you? biggrin.gif
teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 01:06 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 12:37 AM)
hmmm ... still thinking ...
bcoz SU 4100 sound too slow for me ... wait new series of m11x ^.^
TBH, i'm currently on SU7300 on my Vostro and i don't feel any difference in terms of processing power and performance compared to a T7200 2.0Ghz. plus, it has been confirmed that SU7300 will have the option to overclock in BIOS to 1.73Ghz. unconfirmed info did mentioned that SU4100 will have the ability to overclock too.

*same clock speed for SU4100 and SU7300 and the only differences are the extra 1MB cache and VT on SU7300.

games nowadays are much more GPU-dependant (with few exceptions). if you're concerned about processing power, you should consider SXPS 13, 16 and many other laptops in the market which packs a i3/i5 or at least non-ULV C2D.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 7 2010, 12:43 AM)
New series also most probably using i5/i7 UM, which can say not really that much of improvement to be holding off your purchase now tongue.gif
second that. 20% max improvement over the current C2D and it's only going to be released in the 3rd quarter, according to a source from AW. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 7 2010, 01:10 AM
teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 01:02 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 7 2010, 12:46 PM)
oo bad they didnt use SU9400 at least.. 1.4GHz biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
nahh..the option to overclock to 1.73Ghz shall suffice. who needs a 1.4Ghz? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 12:53 PM)
SU 9700 or 9800 nicer ^.^
but the price >.< so better wait for i3 (aka ultra low voltage) which equal valence to Su series or i5 ^.^

by the way how is N450 processor ??
there you go

was it that hard?

teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 08:03 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Feb 7 2010, 07:18 PM)
dunno why today i cant check tmy Alienware M11X delivery status. Yesterday was still available....
same for me, mate. should be database update. hope it'll be at 'work in progress' tomorrow. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 11:25 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 10:35 PM)
mic wanna buy for 4k portable gaming laptop ??
but the GPU just slightly better then ur current laptop~ Moreover, the performance in gaming still affected by ur CPU !! anyone hv the benchmark of m11x ?? i wandering it over 7k 3dmark06 or not ?
4670 can hit up to 6.7k with P8700 but 7.7k with T9800. now it's su4100 ~
i think less then 6k score ^.^
QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 10:41 PM)
if it's using i3 or i5 then still can consider it ^.^
both processor and GPU still the latest unit, can last longer then the SU4100 !!
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:07 PM)
wow.. lower by banyak.. how banyak oh? erm, means if i can run mw2 full graphics at benq but cannot do it on mx11?

Added on February 7, 2010, 11:09 pmwow.. lower by banyak.. how banyak oh? erm, means if i can run mw2 full graphics at benq but cannot do it on mx11?
in summary, if you're looking solely at the CPU, many would have suggest to go for 14-15" gaming laptops with at least a P-series C2D, i3 or i5 instead, such as the SXPS, Studio, BenQ S42, Acer 5740, 4740 bla bla bla.

there's no such thing as worth it or not as in the end, it boils down to a person's preference.

get the M11x if:
1. you wanted mobility and gaming on-the-go (11.6" + GT 335m)
2. concerned about battery life (2-3 hours on gaming and 6 hours
3. sold by AlienFX and the backlit keyboard
4. Alienware branding

there are plenty of laptops out there which can outdo the M11x in lotsa areas (CPU, GPU, battery life wise). however, if you're looking for one laptop which packs all the features listed above, M11x is the one which packs everything into one single small package.

@Michaelbyz23:
it's been confirmed that M11x is able to run MW2 on medium settings with AA and AF off, max 64fps, average 34fps and min 23fps (one off occurrence). i believe HardwareHeaven's review would do much help to answer all of your doubts.

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/reviews.php?...d=924&pageid=14

@Jaroque:
there are always external monitors. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 7 2010, 11:29 PM
teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 11:42 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 11:28 PM)
haha~
720p only ^.^
how ever it install DDR3 ram but run at 800Mhz only !! from CPu benchmark SU4100 is 976 and p8700 is 2.3k ++ ^.^ huge different ~
what i can said netbook is netbook. unless they can solve the heat problem and power consumption within 11' ^.^
for example, hp netbook using amd + ati 4330 which result quit hot for that unit.
For me it's ok but abit waste since i seldom gaming but i sure angry bcoz i run multiple task. streamyx free netbook under my consideration bcoz i just need to online only !!
that's pretty much numbers on the papers. i believe when it comes to real-life multitasking/performance (surfing the web, videos etc.), i bet you wouldn't even feel the difference twice as much as the numbers. how much you're planning to do on an 11.6" anyway?

again, M11x is for one who wanted a portable machine for gaming, as gaming-wise, games nowadays more GPU-dependent and the SU4100/SU7300 is more than capable as a CPU for that purpose.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:32 PM)
i love all the things stated above. but the thing im scared is the screen and processor. screen mayb can handle with just buying an extra monitor and put at home tats all. processor, nvm la.. i wait and see how lo smile.gif

and btw, the battery charge/discharge only about 300 times.. so if i use it everyday sure not gonna last long. sad.gif
300 full charge/discharge, assuming you drain the battery out (100 -> 0% each day), it would be able to last you 300 days. however, in real life, i bet many would have charged it halfway before it was drained out totally.

plus, the battery is replaceable. smile.gif

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 7 2010, 11:41 PM)
i prefer waiting ... bcoz soon they will used i3 or i5 and hv external 12 cells ultraslim lition battery ^.^
i3 is to replace aka ultra low voltage processor !! it's worth to wait .. it sound like they hv alot of su processor ^.^ it's waste 335 with su ~.~
mind to clarify on the bolded statement? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 7 2010, 11:44 PM
teikwing
post Feb 7 2010, 11:51 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:44 PM)
You paid for the brand name, as well as an excellent service by dell. I can vouch for that wink.gif
QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 7 2010, 11:48 PM)
Brand yes , service from dell sarks .... Argued with dell twice and im still not satisfied  shakehead.gif
gotta agree with zad78. been purchasing numerous products from Dell over the past 5 years and i do not have any issue with their product's quality and services so far. M11X is my first AW and i am convinced that the it will not disappoint.

@Azurika:
guess you're one of the unlucky ones? smile.gif

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:48 PM)
please convince me more about buying this laptop pros and cons.. smile.gif i really wanna buy..hehe.. i found out a way to deal with the battery problem.

at manual there page 32 of 100 got say press fn and f2 can adjust it to whether to use batt or not. corect me if im wrong. hehe
for me, it's a go.

if you're in doubt, i would advise for you to wait for comments, opinions and reviews from those who have ordered and about to receive their units by end of Feb/early March. smile.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 7 2010, 11:50 PM)
I do wonder how well would a SU7300@1.3GHz+Nvidia GeForce GT335M 1GB GDDR3 would perform againts my P8600@.24GHz+Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 1GB DDR2

LoL.. I play COD:MW2 on Maxed Settings at 720p AAx2
HardwareHeaven's reviews pretty much covered that? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 7 2010, 11:56 PM
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 12:12 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 7 2010, 11:58 PM)
Mayb , but dell had giv my 2 other frens problems also =/ and everytime we call up dell technical support , is more like we are lecturing them on how to do their work -.-
Imagine if u told them ur screen is facing snowing artifact issues and their reply u with "Sir , did u put ur screen saver as snowing ? "  If tat was my laptop , id already ask him to look for another  job .
haha. whenever i came across such tech support reps i would just request for another. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 8 2010, 12:01 AM)
+1
Im not sure about the m11x , but i looks like it weight is similar to a 15' lappy outside @@ and face the fact , we know AW have a very compact heatsink = =
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 8 2010, 12:03 AM)
u mean very heavy isit? omg.. i tot it was 2kg at base? if add those 3 specs will add how many kg?

Added on February 8, 2010, 12:05 ami wanna ask one question, what is "avatar" means from dell.com.my customize page? and the wallpaper means the wallpaper they set for us as default isit? wat about avatar?
M11x weigh almost 2kg (1.99kg to be exact), more like a the weight of a 13". most 15" are well above 2.5kg. smile.gif

Avatar - login profile display photo. you can leave those at default and just change it when you receive your laptop.

QUOTE(Dackson @ Feb 8 2010, 12:02 AM)
Ya meh ? felt no different ?? it's su faster then T4100 ?? or T6600 ??
bcoz i felt slow for T6600 and T4100  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
bcoz soon they will used i3 or i5 and hv external 12 cells ultraslim lition battery ^.^
i3 is to replace aka ultra low voltage processor

if not mistaken
i7 is to replace the market line of quadcore processor.
i5 is to replace core 2 duo processor p series and the T series
i3 is to replace aka ultra low voltage processor ^.^

SU processor under aka ultra low voltage processor !! So it's better to wait they replace i3 on it !! U notice that more and more i7 and i5 processor in the market line.
they said if using i3 or i5 will shorten the battery life so i suggest they copy the idea from Hp and make ultra slim 12 cells lition ion batteries. Hence, it solve battery problem by adding slightly weight ^.^ 8 cells + 9 cells batteries ... how long can it last for ??
If not enough just add on another 12 cells ultra slim battery make it 8 + 24 ^.^
If branded laptop suppose hv branded unique design not only on appearance only !!
i3 is more like to replace the low-end C2Ds/old T-series. i5 for the P-series while i7 for the high-end C2Ds/C2Q. the new i Core processors will have their own batch of ULV's, namely:

i5-520UM
i7-640UM

Source

and the news about new batch of M11x with i5/i7 ULV's is yet to be confirmed and no one has mentioned about 12-cells in it.

do get your facts right, mate. no offense. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 8 2010, 12:15 AM
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 01:24 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Alucard @ Feb 8 2010, 01:15 AM)
thinking of getting m11x but I'm currently oversea and will be back in Malaysia next week and leaving again on 19th morning. Guys know how fast Dell can assemble and ship it out?
lead time for delivery is currently 2-3 weeks after confirmation of payment. will advise once i've got my EDD, hopefully by Mon/Tues. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 02:02 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Feb 8 2010, 01:34 AM)
You as well havent get EDD? the status just dont move. biggrin.gif
payment was only confirmed on Friday hence i believe it will only be build on Mon/Tues. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 8 2010, 01:40 AM)
One minute you say you envy Envy,then,the next minute you say you Eny design is ugly.Please make up your mind.

I doubt SU processors are weak,as reviews have mentioned that M11X manage to run Mass Effect 2 on max.At the same time,most of last year's big games are running on at least medium to max.M11X scored about 6000+ in 3D Mark 06 which put it about as good as a S57,at least.

Considering ME2 have rather steep requirements,shown below:

M11X still can run it on max.M11X may be small,but extremely powerful for something that small.Besides,ME2 is one hell of a great game.

Alienware always have the best heat management design as AW laptops are designed for long hours of demanding gaming. If an Alienware overheats easily,i doubt anyone would still pay so much for powerful hardware that cant game at all.

If you are looking for a consumer friendly laptop,you are looking at the wrong place.Alienware is designed for gaming,not something that you bring around to show off or just to surf net on it.

Since you have lots of bad experience with Dell and had hell lot of b****ing at the forums,i dont see why you should bother with another Dell product.

For those who gonna own M11X,please post some screenshots,graphics settings and fps for Battlefield Bad Company 2 when it release on 3rd of March. Im very keen to see how good this little laptop can handle this game.
well said, mate.

just an add-on: review of Samsung R480 with an i5 and GT 330m >>> http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?p=5841986, it managed a score of 6992 on 3DMark06. GT 335m is obviously going to be on par or score better than that.

30-40+ fps recorded on the R480 for ME2 on high. since M11x was able to handle ME2 on maxed-out settings as well with above average fps,

We were most surprised by the M11x's ability to run Mass Effect 2 with every visual effect turned on and resolution set to maximum (1366 x 768). Not only did Mass Effect 2 run at maxed out specs, but it consistently ran above the industry standard of 30 frames-per-second. The average framerate for Mass Effect 2 at max specs on our M11x was around 45 frames-per-second, although at times it reached up to 50 or 60 frames per second. Source: IGN M11x Review

i believe we can conclude that the i5 has little of no effect on the gaming performance of the R480, thus clears the doubt some had on the CPU bottleneck/gaming capability of the SU4100/7300. smile.gif

QUOTE(Alucard @ Feb 8 2010, 01:43 AM)
phew luckily didn't pull the trigger on my credit card, 2-3 weeks is just too long as I won't be in Malaysia by the time it arrives and I won't be back for another 6-8 months!
probably get it off online from Dell at the country where you're gonna be at? smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 8 2010, 02:05 AM
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:10 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

an excerpt of the email from Dell Customer Care:

Good morning.

First thing in the morning opened up my system, I have checked the Alienware order status for you and gladly to update you that it is now being processed at production floor for parts assembly; building; and testing in which will roughly takes up about 3-4 working days. Once system is tested fine, it will be bundled up and transit to forwarder for delivery arrangement. Anyway, since order is still at production, I shall keep myself busy still to look after this order status and update you again once it has been built and tested fine.

finally! such a great news on a Monday morning. rclxm9.gif

teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:18 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 8 2010, 09:15 AM)
damn!... LoL.. if its really built within 4 working days.. lol.. den its like 2 weeks or less? tongue.gif
fingers-crossed that there will be no part shortages and issues with shipment though. looks like its on schedule for delivery next week! thumbup.gif
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:25 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Feb 8 2010, 09:18 AM)
CNY ALERT!! lol

If the SA can answer you that way, trust him/her. If she lied, then... laugh.gif
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 8 2010, 09:21 AM)
thats rather earlier compared to the US tongue.gif Great!

Anyway Dell Malaysia surely didnt state it as pre-order.. So it shud arrive soon biggrin.gif
probably M11x is are being build locally or those in China are working overtime just to fulfill all these crazy number of orders? rolleyes.gif

anyway, i am trying not to be too optimistic on the delivery. any date before end of Feb, i'll be happy enough. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:29 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Feb 8 2010, 09:27 AM)
Yea man, its nice to have our good delivered on time, but its even better for it to be delivered before time! lol

Anyone interested in the Alienware Orion Backpack? tongue.gif
bring in the messenger bag and you can count me in. the backpack too huge for my M11x lah. laugh.gif
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:33 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Feb 8 2010, 09:30 AM)
trust me the messenger is bigger! btw, the new batch of orion is not as the one shown in my thread. it has got only 2 compartments. a much compact bag. will upload pictures later today smile.gif
ahh really but it looked smaller? plus, already have plenty of backpacks lying around. yet to claim my Targus for replacement. lol

will the price differ since it's smaller? biggrin.gif
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 09:39 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Feb 8 2010, 09:35 AM)
the price is same as the thread. lol.

the one i got, 3 compartments, was the final batch for the scan fast edition and its cheaper somehow -.-

u check out my thread later tonight. will let you know biggrin.gif
alright, mate! still the price is reasonable. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 8 2010, 09:39 AM
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 10:31 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

here's something interesting:

price for a similar spec-ed M11x (SU7300, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD) which cost RM3999 here, costs $14199 in Hong Kong.

direct conversion puts that to almost RM6.3K! sweat.gif

Source
teikwing
post Feb 8 2010, 10:55 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:47 AM)
wow.. if i order by this week can i receive it on the same date as u onot bro? smile.gif

really interested.

new alienware laptop bag? how big? price is rm400+?
you gotta confirm with your SA. being optimistic, you can look at end of Feb the latest (3 weeks from now). or else, it's March.

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:49 AM)
not necessary to own an alienware laptop bag.. I'd rather spend it on Alienware TactX Mouse or something else tongue.gif
an external monitor perhaps? still, the bag is one helluva backpack. biggrin.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0294sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:05 AM