6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V2, Official Owner's Lounge (V1 overloaded)

teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 01:23 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Feb 3 2010, 01:14 PM)
that price with the trade in dis from ur v13?
nope it's price for a new M11x. trading in my V13 for RM2560 (original price was RM2640), RM80 paid for delivery charges by Dell's forwarder to pick the V13 up. as long you return it within 14 days from received date, that's the only charges incurred.

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:18 PM)
dell rep said max 21days once order had been comfirmed including CNY holidays. So no worries =)

she said thats why they need 21days. i do post some of the chat log at NBR, go check it out.
she's the same SA who attended to my order. lol laugh.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 01:48 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2010, 01:33 PM)
Pulled the trigger and ordered the m11X. Specs as follows:-
Feel like dejavu all over again. The last time I got my m15x, it's because Jobs says BD drives on its MB lineup is a "bag of hurt", and now, thanks to the disappointing iPad, the m11x is mine. Switched from one A(Apple) to another A(Alienware). laugh.gif

Left the RAM as it is at 2GB, I plan to go up straight to 8GB and getting the RAM sticks from LYP. The same thing I did with my m15x. Dejavu again!
haha. well it's the same case for me, string. was looking for Apple to revise its MBP lineup but i couldn't wait any longer. Jobs gotta wait another year for me to succumb to Apple MBP mania. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Feb 3 2010, 01:34 PM)
Oic,u get dis from SA. because i customize 4gb and c2d it turn out RM3934.00 blush.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 1:35 pm

Hey bro, i going the same road as you.. biggrin.gif

You alr sell off ur MBA?
call for discounts! biggrin.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 02:34 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(EvilDevil118 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:57 PM)
Well one thing we can't customize is to have build in 3.5G modem. Actually there's I5 which is ULV as well called I5-520UM, I wonder if there's a possibility they might be available later.  drool.gif

I5-520UM
a forummer in NBR did mentioned about a processor revision in October. how true is that? take it with a pinch of salt. wink.gif

QUOTE(Unomi @ Feb 3 2010, 02:05 PM)
Hmm , but the m11x doesnt come with Dvd rom le... @ , @
Now i really cant made my mind between XPS 16 and ALienware m11x. any suggestion? the price gap is almost the same.
since price-wise both would almost the same, you'll have to look at the processor and graphics then, if gaming is your main concern. plus, portability = a 2KG 11.6" or a 2.9KG 16". smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 02:50 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 02:38 PM)
The HDMI output is more than 1080p

but.. well maybe the cpu will bottleneck on more than 1080p resolution..
SU7300 is more than capable to run 1080p resolution videos, as reported by plenty of SU7300 users. however, you will need good a video encoder such as CoreAVC. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 03:11 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 02:57 PM)
Thats why there's an OC feature.. which helps pumps up the processing power biggrin.gif
is the OC achievable by default? blink.gif

QUOTE(EvilDevil118 @ Feb 3 2010, 03:03 PM)
Well I quite trust Intel's roadmaps, sumore they posted it at their official webbie. Now the dillema will be how soon will it be delivered, possible to get I3 or I5 later on ?  drool.gif
But the price for I3 or I5 will push the cost higher, prolly another 500-750. Dell USA have the option of gettin their external DVDRW for USD 100. I believe at MY can get for around RM 175 - 200 ez.  rclxms.gif
well, the price might remain since 6-7 months down the road, Intel's Core i chips might been cheaper then. without the DVDRW = ripping my games on a cheapo desktop and transfer few GBs of .iso files to M11x. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 03:06 PM)
Hey guys do you realise customising the RM3999 spec is cheaper?? LoL

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/R...CRHXwuf0QwVGKu0

Compared with the RM3499 config
i can't seem to find the RM3999 page. any link?

EDIT: found it. didn't saw it earlier.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 3 2010, 03:15 PM
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 03:35 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 03:12 PM)
Isn't that the link i post to you?

My specs

SU7300
4GB DDR3
500GB 7200rpm
3years Complete Cover

Its cheaper RM176 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
thanks for the heads up, bro! managed to contact my SA in time before payment is confirmed and switched to the RM3999 configuration with discount. icon_rolleyes.gif smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 04:15 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 03:35 PM)
LoL..
So its cheaper right? biggrin.gif
yeap much cheaper! thanks mate. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 3 2010, 03:49 PM)
but i dun wan de 500g!!! i cant degrade it too.....arghh, so its no diff for me =( SA will probably say, why dun top up another rm50 for 500g =.=

rm394x for 320g 4g su7300 damn it!!!!!
err you can actually get SU7300, 4GB DDR3 and 500GB HDD for RM38xx. smile.gif

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2010, 03:54 PM)
More importantly, when is this thing shipping?
was told a 3 weeks lead time is needed for delivery.
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 04:30 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(lalalulu23 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:20 PM)
how do u return and exchange it?
well, the normal way is to call and arrange with Dell CS, return your previously purchased system (within 14 days of receiving), and refund will be done within 2 weeks. then only order your new system. RM80 will be charged for forwarder pick up though. means it's not 100% refund.

however, to speed things up, you can choose to place the order for the new system first, contact Dell CS once your new order has been confirmed (payment made) on the return of your old system and the CS will process your request immediately. refund will still be done in 2 weeks but you don't have to wait longer for your new system. smile.gif

QUOTE(300078 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:21 PM)
3 weeks.... arrghhhh...... ok i am gonna order tmr.....
log a Dell Care report to expedite. biggrin.gif

@string:
3 weeks after your payment has been authorized. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 3 2010, 04:31 PM
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 04:31 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2010, 04:30 PM)
Urgggh. That'll be the second week of March, maybe even the third. sad.gif
why is that? 3 weeks from today/tomorrow would still be in February, no?
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 04:56 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2010, 04:52 PM)
Still, looks like this couldn't match my last Alienware purchasing experience. Ordered the m15x from Alienware UK on October 21st 2008, and order shipped on 29th. 8 days! Probably the CNY hols holding it up.
probably due to the worldwide launch (simultaneous country orders and high demand) and the CNY holidays. 8 days is seriously quick. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 05:12 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 3 2010, 05:03 PM)
yoyoyoyoyo, i contacted the senior manager and comfirmed my order already.

m11x cosmic black all default setting at 3499
+ 4g ddr3   
+ su7300
3 years premium + complete cover

he told me internal price for this machine have not been released so he cant comfirm the price with me. i will update later if i got it.

GOTCHA BABY!!!!      (extimate to get it around 3.7k hopefully)
yeap 3.7k is too optimistic. probably RM4.2k (online price RM4.4k).

i was quoted RM3753 with the following specs:

SU7300
4GB DDR3
320GB 7200rpm
1 year premier service + complete cover

do lemme know if you can get a better offer. smile.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 06:35 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Feb 3 2010, 05:18 PM)
Ya, i was a student. Do not have CC but do have debit card. How is possible for me to buy? sorry noob in buying dell product, never did it b4.
you can opt for bank transfer. but it might take up to 3 days to confirm the payment.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 06:07 PM)
im thinking of getting the mx11, hows it? the specs is great, just the processor is i think abit funny... >.<
is that 1.3/2m cache processor gonna work well on such high end laptop? no lag during gaming?
the SU7300 is more than suffice for gaming and normal usage, including multitasking. i have doubts on the processor myself when i am considering my purchase for the Vostro V13. after been through tons of reviews and few tests on my own when i received the laptop, i realized it's more than enough for my needs. web surfing (multi tabs), typing documents, iTunes running and with 600MB .avi Top Gear playing on WMP, no sweat for the proc. 1080p videos played flawlessly as well on CoreAVC player. IMO, i would rate it on par or slightly better than the old T7200 2.0Ghz performance. smile.gif

gaming-wise, videos from reviews says it all.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 06:25 PM)
anyone bought the mx11 yet? can post some picture on it? or the windows experience rate?
it's just been released today. bro. the earliest anyone can lay their hands on one would be in 3 week's time (for Malaysians). you can wait out for reviews from oversea users which get to orders theirs 2 days earlier. or these are few reviews found so far:

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/reviews.php?reviewid=924
http://gear.ign.com/articles/106/1065816p1.html

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 3 2010, 06:37 PM
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 06:50 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

a pretty thorough review:
HardwareHeaven Alienware M11x Review

for those looking for WEI score for M11x:

as expected, the only thing holding the system back is the processor. smile.gif

and not to be missed, OVERCLOCKING option via BIOS.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 3 2010, 06:56 PM
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 07:20 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 07:16 PM)
I cant wait to place an order for it >.<
place your order now and you might have the chance to caress it by end of the month. biggrin.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 09:51 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 09:47 PM)
omg ur BenQ S57?? Do you know the GT335M is just only a little bit better than the HD4650? and BenQ S57 proc P8700@2.53GHz..

The M11x might not be much better than the S57 maybe only a little bit in the GPU performance, not the CPU though..

But it shud be nice..
i was like doh.gif too when he's planning to sell S57 and get M11x. haha.. S57 and S42 is known for their price/performance ratio mah. M11x wins in terms of portability though, although 11.6" seems...small. biggrin.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 10:22 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:04 PM)
lolz.. its over my budget edi smile.gif
the most i can get is the base specs.. hehez
for RM3499 you will be getting:

SU4100
2GB DDR3
320GB 72RPM HDD
1 year warranty and complete cover

assuming you're able to milk RM2.7K out of your S57 by selling it off, you will need to top up RM800 for the M11x. spec-to-spec wise, the only edge the M11x has over your S57 is only the graphics card, and that's only a slight improvement over the HD4650.

having that said, you will need to deeply reconsider your decision, unless you have extra cash to spare or you're looking for mobility and willing to sacrifice on processing power, HDD space and BD/DVD-ROM but retaining the gaming capability at the same time. decisions decisions. smile.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:14 PM)
RM3999 with rebates from Dell SA's sure can get about RM37XX? Worth it wor biggrin.gif
eh eugene you get that much of rebate from the RM3999 specs? i managed to discount till RM38xx only. sad.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 10:30 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:24 PM)
I didnt contact her anymore after i asked about the

SU7300
4GB DDR3
320GB 7200rpm

@RM4407 she gave to me at RM4157 ..

I didnt know the RM3999 config would be cheaper lol.. ah well.. after CNY i confirm my order with the SA again.. smile.gif
still that's a good bargain. wished i had the cash to opt for the 3 years complete cover. gonna upgrade only when the warranty is expiring.

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:24 PM)
hmmm... mx11 don have bluray dvd player? what player it has?
im going for mobility..
then what kind of specs should i upgrade?
none, it does not have any kind of optical media storage reader. well, take a look at Dell's web page and configure it to your liking.
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 10:39 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:31 PM)
@teikwing

Thats a bad choice upgrading when almost expired its going to cost u up to RM1.2k i heard.. the least RM900.. Really not worth it by the time..
ahh it gonna cost that much?! a normal Dell laptop would only cost RM400-500 for a year's extension. sad.gif
teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 10:56 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:51 PM)
oh well.. its what i saw somewhere around here.. smile.gif

a year RM400-500? Now u pay RM477 for 3 years smile.gif

Oh well think about it.. smile.gif
yeap it's always wiser to extend the warranty in your initial purchase. oh well, budget have been stretched to the max. gotta live with the one i've ordered for now. wink.gif

teikwing
post Feb 3 2010, 11:07 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:58 PM)
Good luck dude! Share with us ur unboxing video tongue.gif

Cosmic Black or Lunar Shadow Gray?
will do a proper unboxing just like the V13. smile.gif went for Cosmic Black. looks stealthy. Lunar Show Gray was abit too plain silver to my liking. wished they offered white!

looking to get my EDD by Friday i hope. woot! rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Feb 3 2010, 11:02 PM)
bro, ask yourself, how many times we really use the optical drive?
haha, unless we're hardcore mat jack sparrow. hahaha
hardcore jack sparrow pakai rip only lah on another PC/laptop. laugh.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:23 AM