184 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

TheWandererX
post Feb 24 2010, 05:07 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Feb 23 2010, 10:53 PM)
Oh damn..no warranty basically..how bout if i buy from harvey norman cuz there are in aust also..hmmm...what kinda problem can d5k get..hmmm
Not many. I've had my 1000D for almost 1 1/2 years and other than the shutter dying on me (which was covered by warranty) nothing has happened.

QUOTE(y_owez @ Feb 24 2010, 11:25 AM)
im eyeing on nikon d5k  rolleyes.gif nicely within ur budget

Added on February 24, 2010, 12:12 pm
this is the cheapest promo in aust i think

W/18-55mm VR & 55-200mm VR twin lens kit, bag, tripod, warranty and 4GB memory card. 12.3 megapixel. 11 point area AF.

with
• FREE E-Learning Course – learn how to get the most out of your camera!
• FREE VIP Membership – enjoy discounts, exclusive offers, news and reviews!
• FREE $200 Print Voucher – enjoy FREE prints from your new camera!
• Better Pictures Guaranteed – experienced printers with quality assured!

for the price of 1.4k aud ( around RM 4.2K ?? )

is it worth it?

cause now i check in garage sale, body + 1 lens + tripod,4gb is around RM2.8K.
so i want to know how much is that extra 1 lens? ( 4.2-2.8k ) around RM 1.4K?

Ps:promo until end feb.i wont get it till end march i think..so yea just want to know the packages
It's around 1k++. I think you should be able to bargain more - let's say Aust markup about 200 into the normal kit (RM3k) and the lens will go at around 1.2k. It's possible to bargain, I guess.

QUOTE(daniel2219 @ Feb 24 2010, 12:21 PM)
Hmm... Thks for ur info but if compare within Canon 500d wif Nikon d5k which is better??
Since canon 500d is 15mp.
D5000 uses the D90 sensor (intermediate-level body). Never judge a camera by its megapixels - doesn't mean that fewer megapixels = lousier quality.

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 24 2010, 02:24 PM)
lol, i don't think that u can compare canon n lumix though some lumix are using leitz's lens =D
Canon has a very strong background in digital camera lines already.

If budget isn't a problem and if i'm willing to wait...i would definitely go for Ixus 210 IS

PS: do u like dslrs?  biggrin.gif
I've tested quite a few Lumix'es (LX3, FZ28, FS15, TZ7, FS4.. the list goes on) and all of them perform very well, and can be compared to Canon. I chose a Lumix LX3 over a Canon Ixus for your info.

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Feb 24 2010, 04:34 PM)
hi guys, need recommendation. currently my budget is around 1k-2k. was planning to get 2nd hand DSLR. but money wise, im not sure as i wanted to try out photography. any1 can recommend any compact camera as i think my budget wont be getting any DSLR.

atm, im looking at sony TX1/7 and panasonic lumix DMC-FX65. my requirement is good picture quality among the price range of compact cameras.
You could get a used 450D/1000D/D60/D80, but I'm not sure if you're ready yet.

I'd go with the TX1 (Sony), TZ8/10 (Lumix) or the Powershot S90 (Canon). These are priced around RM1.5k, middle of your budget.
Netto Hikari
post Feb 24 2010, 06:12 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 24 2010, 05:07 PM)
You could get a used 450D/1000D/D60/D80, but I'm not sure if you're ready yet.

I'd go with the TX1 (Sony), TZ8/10 (Lumix) or the Powershot S90 (Canon). These are priced around RM1.5k, middle of your budget.
i have use D90, 500D, D5000 which all is borrow from frens to play with. not much of settings i noe as still learning about it. but 450D i cant find any 2nd hand with lens kit is below 2k. my fren told me not to buy 1000D as rumor has it that 2000D is coming around jun.

for the tx1, tz8/10 as compare with S90 any differences? mp doesnt matters as i want quality of the shots only.

Added on February 24, 2010, 6:26 pmbtw, i saw the bulk orders there got sell add-on for the panasonic LX3. is LX3 good enough?

This post has been edited by Netto Hikari: Feb 24 2010, 06:26 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 24 2010, 06:33 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Feb 24 2010, 06:12 PM)
i have use D90, 500D, D5000 which all is borrow from frens to play with. not much of settings i noe as still learning about it. but 450D i cant find any 2nd hand with lens kit is below 2k. my fren told me not to buy 1000D as rumor has it that 2000D is coming around jun.

for the tx1, tz8/10 as compare with S90 any differences? mp doesnt matters as i want quality of the shots only.

Added on February 24, 2010, 6:26 pmbtw, i saw the bulk orders there got sell add-on for the panasonic LX3. is LX3 good enough?
450D is being snapped up at the moment due to the price drop, expect to see used units coming in a few months.

Also, the TX/TZ compared to the S90: The S90 has a bigger sensor which might really make a difference. The TZ is also a superzoom though, while the S90 is a normal PnS - it has a 3.8x zoom, not really boast-able.
lugiamcg
post Feb 24 2010, 07:00 PM

640 posts

LX3, yes it has a very good image quality but i think the noise level is a lil high n the screen, u can't get the most out of 4:3...

PS: when i tested GF1, it's pretty impressive, but the price scare the s*** out of me. biggrin.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 24 2010, 07:07 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 24 2010, 07:00 PM)
LX3, yes it has a very good image quality but i think the noise level is a lil high n the screen, u can't get the most out of 4:3...

PS: when i tested GF1, it's pretty impressive, but the price scare the s*** out of me.  biggrin.gif
You can't expect clean, noiseless images. After all it is still a compact, not a DSLR.
daniel2219
post Feb 24 2010, 07:24 PM

D5000 uses the D90 sensor (intermediate-level body). Never judge a camera by its megapixels - doesn't mean that fewer megapixels = lousier quality.

So means that D5000 is more better than 500D? But wat i knw is that the D5000 can only use the latest lens which gt AF izzit rite? And does the lens wif AF exp?
TheWandererX
post Feb 24 2010, 07:37 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(daniel2219 @ Feb 24 2010, 07:24 PM)

So means that D5000 is more better than 500D? But wat i knw is that the D5000 can only use the latest lens which gt AF izzit rite? And does the lens wif AF exp?
I don't know, this will have to call for a side-by-side comparison (found on the dpreview.com site). Also, yes the D5000 can only focus with the newer AF lenses. They are not really expensive, so if you're not gonna upgrade in the short term, it's safe to go for it.
lugiamcg
post Feb 24 2010, 07:56 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 24 2010, 07:07 PM)
You can't expect clean, noiseless images. After all it is still a compact, not a DSLR.
yea true, error noted =D
sweetss
post Feb 24 2010, 08:46 PM

27 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital camera
Budget: RM1200
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Samsung,Olympus, Penasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Self Polaroid, snap close up objects etc: fd, scenery etc...
Any specific models in mind? : nope
Any specific features u want? : nope
navilink
post Feb 24 2010, 09:23 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(sweetss @ Feb 24 2010, 08:46 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Digital camera
Budget: RM1200
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Canon, Samsung,Olympus, Penasonic
Type of photography u want to do :  Self Polaroid, snap close up objects etc: fd, scenery etc...
Any specific models in mind? :  nope
Any specific features u want? :  nope

by self polaroid mean u wan to self-portrait? samsung st550 will meet ur requirement then..
Darius1204
post Feb 24 2010, 11:20 PM

i m newbie, always wanted a camera just for the sake of having one..

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital camera
Budget: below RM600
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Samsung, Panasonic, Sony, Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Scenery, Self portrait, Up close(food,etc,etc)
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon Coolpix L20
Any specific features u want? : nope

anyone would recommend a good and cheap camera for starters?
i mean like old models which are known to be user friendly and good quality..i saw Nikon Coolpix L20 on the net, and it looks good to me but need opinion,suggestion or feedback on better cam?
SUSPVCpipe
post Feb 24 2010, 11:47 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

hi. my sister is looking for dslr, her budget is around rm3000. what would you recommend?
SUSFeeD
post Feb 25 2010, 12:43 AM

303 posts

NIKON D3000 OR CANON 1000D

This is my first DLSR...never hold/use one before this...so which ???

i like nikon cause it's easier to use but canon got live view...how la

This is super serious thread yo..i leave the decision in /k/'s hand

lms2005
post Feb 25 2010, 10:25 AM

1,270 posts

450d & 500d builtin lens motor?
hornichiwa85
post Feb 25 2010, 10:53 AM

73 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and shoot camera
Budget : RM1500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? :
Any specific features u want? : Image stabilisation

This post has been edited by hornichiwa85: Feb 25 2010, 10:54 AM
dvlzplayground
post Feb 25 2010, 11:13 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Feb 24 2010, 11:47 PM)
hi. my sister is looking for dslr, her budget is around rm3000. what would you recommend?
nikon D3000 + 18-55mm kit lens + 35mm f1.8G lens + good UV filter smile.gif

or nikon D5000 + 18-55 kit lens + good UV filter

QUOTE(FeeD @ Feb 25 2010, 12:43 AM)
NIKON D3000 OR CANON 1000D

This is my first DLSR...never hold/use one before this...so which ???

i like nikon cause it's easier to use but canon got live view...how la

This is super serious thread yo..i leave the decision in /k/'s hand
dont compare functions, mostly are the same except live view n a couple of minor features. dont compare image quality too

what to compare is the controls and menu...which one u like better. e.g. i prefer nikon because can change focus point without having to press the Focus button 1st (well not sure if that's still applicable to newer canons)

it's also a good idea to get the brand most of ur friends/family use..that way easier for you to learn, or borrow lenses, flash, etc

QUOTE(hornichiwa85 @ Feb 25 2010, 10:53 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and shoot camera
Budget : RM1500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? :
Any specific features u want? : Image stabilisation
canon S90 or G11
hoon
post Feb 25 2010, 11:23 AM

168 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact/M43
Budget : RM2500+-
Your Location : Melaka
Preferable brand : Nope
Type of photography u want to do : Scenery, portrait, macro
Any specific models in mind? : LX3, PEN E-P1
Any specific features u want? : Easy to carry around, video recording
samurai1337
post Feb 25 2010, 11:28 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(hoon @ Feb 25 2010, 11:23 AM)
The newer PEN E-PL1 should be a good choice. E-P1 is also good but maybe slightly over your RM2500 budget
dvlzplayground
post Feb 25 2010, 11:41 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(hoon @ Feb 25 2010, 11:23 AM)
skip LX3 if ur budget is 2500 tongue.gif may i recommend panasonic GF1? IMO it's better than the oly, but also slightly above ur budget lah
hoon
post Feb 25 2010, 12:07 PM

168 posts

like lx3 bcoz the compact size.. n great in low light, macro and so on...
for pen e-p1, feel like the lense comes with the kit is nt so good? anyone can comment bout the lense compare to lx3?

184 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.3379sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:24 AM