184 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

maeyi
post Dec 25 2009, 06:50 PM

47 posts

Hi, I would like to buy a camera.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  any
Budget: about 1K-1.2K
Your Location:  PJ
Preferable brand : Sony, canon or Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : beautiful scenery, and capture portrait in natural colour
Any specific models in mind? : Sony WX1, Canon 120IS or FS15?
Any specific features u want? :preferably low light capturing, eg in KLCC aquaria (can't use flash)

Appreciate the advise. Thanks!

lee_what2004
post Dec 25 2009, 10:57 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 25 2009, 01:52 PM)
if PnS i prefer Canon coz i also using 1 and the photo captured is very amazing despite a compact camera...
with ur budget u can get the powershot Axxx IS series...
Got considered A480, but ended up with Fujifilm FinePix S1500 for rm 850 with bag, 2gb and 4 battery with charger. Any comment about it? blush.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Dec 25 2009, 11:00 PM
TheWandererX
post Dec 25 2009, 11:17 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 24 2009, 09:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point and Shoot
Budget: Around rm 500, max rm 600
Your Location:   KL, Lowyat
Preferable brand :  any brand as long reputable
Type of photography u want to do :  scenery and portrait
Any specific models in mind? :  no idea
Any specific features u want? :  best can get within budget
A Canon A480/A1000IS might appeal to your needs. Canon most probably dominates the entry-level sector as they have managed to lower the price drastically and create a cheap and powerful camera.

QUOTE(jw5052 @ Dec 25 2009, 12:05 AM)
Sifu, may i know what is the difference of canan S90 and Digital IXUS 200 IS?
The S90 is a prosumer while the 200 IS is more towards style. Although the 200 IS is a really good camera, it can not beat the S90, because the S90 is a no-joke camera. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Dec 25 2009, 09:50 AM)
Thanks TheWandererX.

I have heard people saying that Nikon is good at capturing greenery subject where Canon captured a better skin tone color, I am wondering if this is true. As I prefer capturing landscape instead of portrait. I don't think I like either the D3000 & D5000. The Video function and the twisted screen annoyed me for an SLR, no offence though. that's my personal thought. that's why I am looking into Dxx series. I've got few friends having Canon, and I really think that I want a Nikon instead. Shall you provide me more options, thanks for the advise in advance. Cheers!
That is a really subjective comment. These can be altered using Picture Styles in both Canon and Nikon. The twisting screen.. yeah, I agree, maybe because I don't see a use for it in my usage. Different people use DSLRs for different reasons though.

QUOTE(icemanz @ Dec 25 2009, 12:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  no idea
Budget: 1000-1800
Your Location: perak 
Preferable brand :canon/sony 
Type of photography u want to do :wanna learn using DSLR 
Any specific models in mind? : dont know..newbie here 
Any specific features u want? :n/a
The best bet for you, seeing as you're a newbie, is to go for a Canon EOS 450D or a Nikon D3000, which both cost RM2k. You might be able to find one at RM1.8k, but hard.

QUOTE(stephy_06 @ Dec 25 2009, 02:36 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and Shoot Digital Camera
Budget : RM500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Sony,Casio
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Canon A480, Sony S930
Any specific features u want? :
Definitely the Canon Powershot series. Consider getting the A480/A1000IS. These two are considerably good cameras for their range. Other than that you might want to give the Panasonic Lumix a thought, but as far as I know their entry-level cameras aren't as good as the Canon's.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Dec 25 2009, 05:05 PM)
Thx ! Love Money and TheWandererX biggrin.gif
Now there is 1 cam in my mind-Panasonic Lumix LX3,wonder isit suitable for me?
Definitely suitable. It depends on your preferences though.

QUOTE(Decky @ Dec 25 2009, 06:47 PM)
Hi , yeah , I plan to get a DSLR soon to start a hobby in photography , and I have no idea what to get . lol , I would prefer something beginner friendly .
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget:Rm2k +/-
Your Location: Petaling Jaya
Preferable brand :  Nikon or Canon ?
Type of photography u want to do : Entry level hobby?
Any specific models in mind? :  nope
Any specific features u want? : Beginner friendly please
As mentioned previously, at this point of time, the two best entry-level DSLRs are the Canon EOS 450D/Nikon D3000. And as mentioned previously too, the 450D sits in between entry-level and the intermediate-level range. Therefore it is a wiser choice to go for it. No promoting though - you're free to choose the model to your liking.

QUOTE(maeyi @ Dec 25 2009, 06:50 PM)
Hi, I would like to buy a camera.
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  any
Budget: about 1K-1.2K
Your Location:   PJ
Preferable brand : Sony, canon or Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : beautiful scenery, and capture portrait in natural colour
Any specific models in mind? : Sony WX1, Canon 120IS or FS15?
Any specific features u want? :preferably low light capturing, eg in KLCC aquaria (can't use flash)
Appreciate the advise. Thanks!
Definitely, if you could, the Canon Ixus 120 IS is better for non-flash situations. Good ISO handling coupled with a fast lens (f2.8-5.9 compared to the Sony's f2.4-5.9 and the Panasonic's f3.3-5.9) will be really a really good tool. Although the Sony has an f2.4-5.9, I still don't trust their ISO processing enough to recommend the Sony, although it has improved remarkably over its previous models.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 25 2009, 10:57 PM)
Got considered A480, but ended up with Fujifilm FinePix S1500 for rm 850 with bag, 2gb and 4 battery with charger. Any comment about it?  blush.gif
Not sure if I can comment. Not informed about the Fujifilm line, but as far as I know, Fuji is quite a good brand. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 25 2009, 11:22 PM
lee_what2004
post Dec 25 2009, 11:20 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

ok, many thanks biggrin.gif
Wuahaha
post Dec 26 2009, 12:38 AM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

Need advice for a budget PnS camera with large LCD and compact if possible. It's for my mom. tongue.gif
I wanted to give my old Canon A570IS but I think it's slow and big. blush.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS camera
Budget : <RM700
Your Location : PJ
Preferable brand : Panasonic or Canon or Others?
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait and Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic FS62, Panasonic FS15, Canon Ixus 95IS
Any specific features u want? : fast focus, image stabilizer, large LCD, compact

Please advice, thanks. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Wuahaha: Dec 26 2009, 12:39 AM
airmanz82
post Dec 26 2009, 12:54 AM

34 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : camera
Budget: RM1500+-
Your Location: Kuantan/Penang
Preferable brand : Sony/Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : people and scenery
Any specific models in mind? : A300(lens 18-70mm)@A350(lens 18-70mm)@olympus E520 (lens 14mm- 42mm and zoom lens 42mm - 140mm)
Any specific features u want? : Had decide either go for one of them but unable to decide. Need some advice

please help me coz this is my 1st dslr..

This post has been edited by airmanz82: Dec 26 2009, 02:36 AM
HyourinMaru
post Dec 26 2009, 12:57 AM

THORChad
502 posts

Alrite,thx TheWandererX biggrin.gif
Now i'm aiming for dat 1
senyii
post Dec 26 2009, 03:32 AM

519 posts

Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : panasonic/canon
Any specific models in mind? : LX3/T27 14mm- 42mm
Any specific features u want? : best night mode,extra zooming, nt so bulky,nice beach pic
! Love Money
post Dec 26 2009, 03:15 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Dec 26 2009, 12:38 AM)
Need advice for a budget PnS camera with large LCD and compact if possible. It's for my mom. tongue.gif

Any specific features u want? : fast focus, image stabilizer, large LCD, compact

based on ur budget for a PnS, it has a limitation on some feature like focusing speed...
PnS will never match the focusing speed like DSLR...
but both canon and panasonic is good camera...
or try out sony camera...

QUOTE(airmanz82 @ Dec 26 2009, 12:54 AM)
Any specific models in mind? : A300(lens 18-70mm)@A350(lens 18-70mm)@olympus E520 (lens 14mm- 42mm and zoom lens 42mm - 140mm)
Any specific features u want? : Had decide either go for one of them but unable to decide. Need some advice

i will try avoid olympus if posibble...
add the nikon D3000 into ur choice...

QUOTE(senyii @ Dec 26 2009, 03:32 AM)
Any specific features u want? : best night mode,extra zooming, nt so bulky,nice beach pic
Panasonic LX3 or canon G11
dvlzplayground
post Dec 26 2009, 05:04 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 26 2009, 03:15 PM)
based on ur budget for a PnS, it has a limitation on some feature like focusing speed...
PnS will never match the focusing speed like DSLR...
but both canon and panasonic is good camera...
or try out sony camera...
i will try avoid olympus if posibble...
add the nikon D3000 into ur choice...
Panasonic LX3 or canon G11
may i ask why avoid olympus?
JtxCool
post Dec 26 2009, 05:39 PM

99 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera (noobies)
Budget : RM2000
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Potrait
Any specific models in mind? : Recommend me, pls....
Any specific features u want? : newbies...need to learn...
TheWandererX
post Dec 26 2009, 06:14 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Dec 26 2009, 12:38 AM)

I think the FS15 will outperform the 61 and 95 IS. I don't really like the 95's performance. Not as satisfactory.

QUOTE(airmanz82 @ Dec 26 2009, 12:54 AM)

All these models are already old ones. A300 and A350 replaced by the A380, and the E520 replaced by the E620.

I definitely do not recommend aiming for ANY of these, as Sony and Olympus have improved a lot, and those models were, really... mediocre. You'd expect more from a DSLR. If it IS a must though, you should head for the A350, as the E520 was... not really good with high ISOs, and the A300 is a notch lower,... and worse. In fact, IMHO the A200 and the A300 were underperforming cameras. I have used both before and even the D60 performed much better.

If you would accept recommendations though, I suggest you look for a used Canon EOS 450D. I can't help repeating it but it's the best camera you can get at an entry-level price.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Dec 26 2009, 12:57 AM)
Alrite,thx TheWandererX biggrin.gif
Now i'm aiming for dat 1
No problems mate.

QUOTE(senyii @ Dec 26 2009, 03:32 AM)
Extra zooming will lead you to the TZ7. LX3 has a measly 2.5x zoom range only. If you're willing to sacrifice image quality for zoom range, then get the TZ7; if not, get the LX3. You won't regret it.
happy_cs
post Dec 26 2009, 07:22 PM

Hi, may I ask whether the price of Nikon D5000 for RM3650 with the below accessories are reasonable or expensive?
- lense 18-55mm
- 4gb + 8gb memory card
- tripod (the quality are quite good)
- nikon bag
- additional of 2 yrs warranty
- blower kit

thanks in advance... smile.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 26 2009, 07:33 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(happy_cs @ Dec 26 2009, 07:22 PM)
Hi, may I ask whether the price of Nikon D5000 for RM3650 with the below accessories are reasonable or expensive?
- lense 18-55mm
- 4gb + 8gb memory card
- tripod (the quality are quite good)
- nikon bag
- additional of 2 yrs warranty
- blower kit

thanks in advance...  smile.gif
All those extras can't push the price up so substantially. On its own (just the kit, no extras, no card etc) will amount to RM3k street price. The memory cards don't cost much. What brand is the tripod? There's no way to determine if the quality is good just by looking at it. It has to be from a reputable brand. Cause you never know, other brands might claim theirs is made of carbon fiber, but really its only made out of plastic.

Expect the price of this whole set to be around RM3200, at most, RM3300. No more. 3650 is nuts. I could get an extra 50mm 1:1.8D with the extra RM450.
happy_cs
post Dec 26 2009, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 26 2009, 07:33 PM)
All those extras can't push the price up so substantially. On its own (just the kit, no extras, no card etc) will amount to RM3k street price. The memory cards don't cost much. What brand is the tripod? There's no way to determine if the quality is good just by looking at it. It has to be from a reputable brand. Cause you never know, other brands might claim theirs is made of carbon fiber, but really its only made out of plastic.

Expect the price of this whole set to be around RM3200, at most, RM3300. No more. 3650 is nuts. I could get an extra 50mm 1:1.8D with the extra RM450.
Thanks for the info... smile.gif
bluesfingers
post Dec 26 2009, 10:53 PM

148 posts

hi, i am another newbie looking forward for my very 1st DSLR..very confusing to go for Nikon or Canon

[I]Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: RM2000-4000
Preferable brand : Canon 450d, 500d or Nikon D90

after reading thru thousand of reviews, recomendations, debates, arguments i almost finalised myself to get a canon 450d kits which i believe best suit my requirements as a newbie and can save a little bit since the 450d price reduce substantially (approx. RM2300) instead of D90 kits (approx RM4000) different by RM1700, albeit the D90 offerd a better 18-105mm lens.
what halted me from my earlier decision? Just have a image quality comparison in "Image Resourse", i compare canon 450d, 500d & even 50d with D90 by "New Indoor (INB) 400" image, SHIT!!! maybe my eye got problem ...Canon hands down to Nikon easily, D90 looks picture look more stunning, detail, better light tone, color tone..
is that any reason why?

rclxub.gif please advice

! Love Money
post Dec 26 2009, 11:36 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 26 2009, 05:04 PM)
may i ask why avoid olympus?
it is just my personal opinion and my experience so far...
myself use canon both PnS and DSLR and my company got 1 olympus PnS...
the noise control sucks to the bottom... very bad camera i have ever used in my entire life...
and i read the review from DPreview... majority olympus camera are underperform...
5w33
post Dec 27 2009, 02:01 AM

638 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSRL
Budget: 3k - 4k
Your Location: Sunway
Preferable brand : Nikon? Canon?
Type of photography u want to do : Still newbie, no idea yet.
Any specific models in mind? : D90? or D5000?
Any specific features u want? :
sukun
post Dec 27 2009, 04:09 AM

471 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  point and shoot
Budget: <RM1000
Your Location:  
Preferable brand : reputable imaging brand 
Type of photography u want to do :  average-Joe kinda photography
Any specific models in mind? :  
Any specific features u want? :  large lcd, using AA batteries, no fancy touch screen

soon will travel abroad study. any recommendation?
odd_mochi
post Dec 27 2009, 04:14 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 24 2009, 04:52 PM)

I shall repeat this - never go for a D60, although it is cheap because it is discontinued. The D3000 does much better if you want a RM2k DSLR.

Now, as you have an extra 1.5k, why not consider the D5000/500D? These two have video, if you want the function.

If you don't want the function though, my advice is to quickly grab a 450D as they are very cheap now (2K) and as previously mentioned, a notch up from these two models. Therefore the wisest choice, if you want a DSLR and don't need the video, is to get a 450D.

Adding on, if you do find a 2nd had D80 in good shape, go for it. It is a very good intermediate-level camera too.
how important is a internal auto focus motor? would u recommend to buy a camera with that feature? and i would prefer to buy Nikon...

184 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:21 PM