8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

-kytz-
post Sep 15 2010, 06:50 PM

12,573 posts

IXUS 300HS f/2 manual cam
-kytz-
post Sep 16 2010, 01:48 AM

12,573 posts

Well, i always say : When there are 2 things (similar performance/specifications) you're headache about,just head down to a shop and test both of em' .Choose which feels better to you smile.gif

After all, it's you are the one handling the camera and not us. Some might like the chunkier D90 whereas some might prefer the smaller and nicer to hold in the hands 550D.

Just my 2 cents ya biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Sep 16 2010, 01:49 AM
-kytz-
post Sep 18 2010, 11:13 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(dante_plum @ Sep 18 2010, 10:59 PM)
Noob in DSLR wolrd

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera

Budget : RM1000 below

Preferable brandOffer : Offer me the brand  brows.gif

Type of photography u want to do : dunno + newbies in DSLR world

Just offer me ya...
Try 2nd hand smile.gif
-kytz-
post Sep 19 2010, 03:46 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ichibanana @ Sep 19 2010, 03:37 PM)
Awesome camera for those who don't wana go pro. Easy to use and can really take nice photos
I definitely wouldn't recommend it to someone who wants control over their camera,ease of use,accessibility to various settings like ISO,shutter speed and aperture

But if one doesn't bother with those stuff, and would go Auto all the time, by all means, NEX series is for you biggrin.gif

Personally, i didn't like it at all.Very very hard to use.
-kytz-
post Sep 20 2010, 12:49 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(yeehong89 @ Sep 19 2010, 04:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget : will save and make it to the camera
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : other Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : night, indoor
Any specific features u want? : if possible, higher iso since i dont prefer to use flash.
Hi there

Do state your budget yea smile.gif

QUOTE(mdlan @ Sep 19 2010, 11:03 PM)
is that good enough for 2nd unit Canon EOS 1000D with 18-55mm price RM1200 age of item around 1 year 7month i think, or should go for the new one instead..how much for the new one?

i'm new in this DSLR and love to own one DSLR after read all your guy feedback most of you recommend that either go for 1000D or D3000 for the new guy like me in other word orang baru nk blaja pasal DSLR ni..

and gonna use it for the long term
A brand new 1000D is RM1200 body onlywhereas a body+kit is around RM1500 but i'm not too sure about D3000 though

For me i'd always rather go for a brand new unit as i want everything to be new, no scratches,no marks,no smell shakehead.gif and with warranty!Especially Canon's 3 years warranty thumbup.gif Unless, you don't mind all those,then by all means,go for the 2nd hand if the deal is good smile.gif

You won't go wrong from choosing either brands as both are extremely good.Do also check out the camera itself and try feeling it in your hands.Which feels nicer?Which you could see yourself using,like you said,for a long term?If you still can't decide, do find out whether you have friends using DSLR?Sometimes, it's better to follow the same brand as theirs as you guys can share tips,especially lenses brows.gif , accessories.

Cheers

-kytz-
post Sep 25 2010, 09:22 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Rawks @ Sep 25 2010, 09:17 PM)
Should i get Nikon D5000 or Canon 550D for first timer? Just came back from a camera shop and the seller was recommending me 550D. A lot bought d5000 and after a few months they sell it off and upgrade. And i tried D90 and 550D and felt 550D was much clearer? Having doubts on getting D5000 or 550D. Help?
550D's real competitor is the D90., of course it beats D5000.

Just buy what you feel good about.No point forcing yourself to get something you don't like just because what others have told u nod.gif
-kytz-
post Sep 29 2010, 12:38 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 28 2010, 11:59 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact
Budget : 2k
Your Location : KL/penang
Preferable brand : any
Type of photography u want to do : good quality,better than normal digicam,if posible almost like a DSLR

Any specific models in mind? : G12
Any specific features u want? : i wan the camera with good photo quality,but i hate the bulky DSLR,i dun like to carry heavy stuff when go travel.

thx for the help
Just one question here: Yes or No to interchangeable lenses?
-kytz-
post Sep 29 2010, 07:17 PM

12,573 posts

Everyone's getting excited with the 60D pricing..u want to get poisoned? biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Sep 29 2010, 07:34 PM

12,573 posts

Go for it if you like

Articulating LCD screen for variable angled shots
Better build quality and firmer/nicer grip
Bigger body and heavier
Top LCD panel
Faster burst rate of 5.3fps
Better AF with 9 cross type points
Creative filters(meh i don't find this attractive at all tongue.gif )
Wireless flash trigger

Shasinki now selling body only for RM3198 while 550D body goes for RM2198@Digital Mall.That's a 1k difference biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Sep 29 2010, 07:38 PM
-kytz-
post Sep 29 2010, 07:42 PM

12,573 posts

Digital Mall is in PJ nod.gif
-kytz-
post Sep 29 2010, 08:25 PM

12,573 posts

Freebies normally are 4/8GB memory card,screen protector,tripod,DSLR bag

But they're all cheapo ones tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 1 2010, 10:17 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Oct 1 2010, 10:01 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi-pro
Budget : reasonable price tag for a beginner
Your Location: Klang Selangor 
[b]Preferable brand :Any user friendly brand

Type of photography u want to do : Take down wonderful memories blush.gif
[b]Any specific models in mind? :Panasonic LX-5, Canon S90 or LX-3? I dont know sweat.gif
[b]Any specific features u want? : Not too bulky

I got no ideas on photography but interested to take it as a hobby wink.gif Is LX-5 a good camera?  Guys pls assist me... notworthy.gif
This two-----> LX5 and S95 are two really good PnS!They do manual controls, and also Auto if you're still new to photography smile.gif

Added on October 1, 2010, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 1 2010, 07:48 PM)
i am going for 60D order already. u can join me lol cant wait
Wait for me! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 1 2010, 10:24 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 1 2010, 10:56 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jeffdnp @ Oct 1 2010, 10:35 PM)
hi there! just want to have some opinions...

should i get EOS 550D 18-135 at ~RM3600 or should i get EOS 60D 18-55 at <RM3600 then buy another zoom lense later, or >RM4000 for EOS 60D 18-135?

this will be my first DSLR and my budget is below RM4k... im afraid that if i get 60D i couldnt handle it... and im not sure 18-55 is sufficient for me or good for normal use or not, coz i feel that the zoom range for 18-135 in 550D is quite good for me...

sorry if i confuse u all, coz im also confused which is better to buy...hehee...

thanks..
I'd recommend you to get the 550D if you don't need what the 60D's extra features as both offer similar image quality and ISO performance

Go for the 18-135 for better zoom range,else you can always opt for a 18-55 and 55-250 combination smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 1 2010, 10:57 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 4 2010, 12:35 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Oct 3 2010, 11:46 PM)
quick question: if never buy DSLR before, and stright skip to nex-3, it is a good move?
NEX3 is not a DSLR because it doesn't have a mirror inside but you do get DSLR quality due to the APS-C sized sensor, commonly found in DSLRs

Mind you, NEX3's control sucks big time.There are hardly any buttons for dedicated control like aperture,shutter speed and ISO and the menu system isn't any of DSLR standards.This EVIL camera is targetted to those upgrading from a PnS camera who wants better picture quality but retaining the usual menu system/simple button layout.Thus, IMO those cybershot shooters wouldn't find it that hard but for manual PnS users like me, it's a definite NO NO

In conclusion:

Get it if
1)You want DSLR image quality and ISO performance
2)You want a compact sized camera which somewhat fits into your pockets(16mm pancake lens)
3)You want the similar menu system as those PnS cameras,button layout somewhat similar without those confusing dedicated buttons

QUOTE(purple_licious @ Oct 3 2010, 11:48 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Digital Camera, point and shoot
Budget: rm700-800
Your Location:   selangor
Preferable brand :  canon/lumix/ any recommendations?
Type of photography u want to do :  for everyday random pics
Any specific models in mind? :  nope
Any specific features u want? :  can take nice pics in low light, >10mp, compact
Perhaps you might wanna take a look at the Samsung PL51.Seems good according to DCM mag

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 4 2010, 06:53 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM2000 or below
Your Location:   selangor
Preferable brand :  Priority to Nikon, second Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Showroom/Indoors
Any specific models in mind? :  None
Any specific features u want? :  No idea =P
Remarks: Actually the reason I'm asking this because my company would like to get a camera to photoshoot some kitchen sets and also customers'. He actually prefer getting something with wide angle lens kit (28mm) or something like that he mentioned. I'm a total newbie and he asked me to do some survey and to recommend him something. Please help guys! Thanks
Nikon D3000 and Canon 1000D.Both you can get for around RM1500 with 18-55 lens i believe smile.gif

Both cameras have crop sensors of 1.5x and 1.6x respectively so using a 18-55 lens, will effectively give a 27-28mm at it's widest which is wide angle also

Also, you might wanna ask him to look at UWA(ultra wide angled lenses)which are even wider, around 15-16mm, great for taking huge scenes

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 4 2010, 12:36 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 4 2010, 06:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Oct 4 2010, 06:47 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Digital Camera
Budget: RM1.5k Max
Your Location: Selangor
Preferable brand : Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Travel, outdoor, landscape, cityscape & foods
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon Ixus 105
Any specific features u want? :  Can snap picture quickly without losing the moment, take nice pictures in the dark and at nite.
Any suggestions guys?
Low light Kings----->Canon S95 and Lumix LX5

-kytz-
post Oct 4 2010, 09:18 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(AronC @ Oct 4 2010, 09:04 PM)
3 different level DSLR, hardly to be compared together.
Depends, if you're really into photography, I prefer nice body with kit lenses. Save up for nice lenses later on. If body itself couldn't perform good, even you have a very good lens also useless. So you would just need to upgrade your lens but not body anymore. IMO.  smile.gif
Different level?How so?These 3 share similar image quality,so how can they be on different levels?We're not comparing a 5D mark 2 vs and entry level APS-C body here,neither a 1D mark 4 vs a 7D.

Aiya, what do you mean hor?Magnesium alloy body can produce better pictures than a plastic body izzit ? laugh.gif

Again said, how can a better build quality perform better?LOL unless you're talking about taking heavy knocks/drops here and there or in extreme weather until it's totally unusable liao, then i can understand.But what you mentioned i really cannot comprehend,seriously

I'd rather go for a 450/550D with an L rather than a 60D body with a "kit" anytime any day,even though i really like 60D body much more smile.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM)
the benefit in investing in lenses even u upgrade your camera u still can use back your lenses
Exactly, and also body tends to get outdated much faster compared to lenses

p/s to Mods: Isn't it time for a new thread? smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 4 2010, 09:32 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 4 2010, 09:57 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(shymx @ Oct 4 2010, 09:44 PM)
Sony Nex 3 or Panasonic LX5 ?
Both are of different levels,one is a compact interchangeable lens camera while the other is a high end Point and Shoot camera

The NEX3 will pawn the LX5 kao kao in image quality and ISO performance, and the ability to change lenses makes it a very capable camera as well

Go for the LX5 if --------> 1)You want a pocketable camera with good image quality,manual controls,but don't bother with "changing lenses"

Go for the NEX-3 if ------->1) You want DSLR picture quality in the form of a compact body,a relatively good ISO performance and also able to use different lenses to expand your creativity! smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 6 2010, 06:04 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ropt @ Oct 6 2010, 02:55 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: RM3.5k Max
Your Location: malaysia
Preferable brand : Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Travel, outdoor, landscape, cityscape & foods,human
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 60D, canon 550D, nikon D90
Any specific features u want? : good photo quality,take nice pictures in the dark and at nite,good HD video quality
Need advice on those
I'd definitely say either the 550D or the 60D because both can shoot in Full HD 1080p video,besides they shoot excellent still shots as well.

D90's image quality is also excellent but it only records video in 720p which is really more inferior than the 2 canons

My advice, try out both DSLRs first.Some like the D90's build quality and meaty grip,some prefer the Canon's design more, lay out of buttons, grip, and so on.

If you still can't decide, see what type of gear your friends have.If most of em' are Nikonians, isn't it better to follow them as well as they can share lenses/flashguns with you,plus tips and tricks to your system?Same thing for Canon kaki...IMO la tongue.gif

Added on October 6, 2010, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(Liuism @ Oct 6 2010, 03:23 PM)
still no one answer me yet
canon ixus 95 or canon powershot s95?
S95 mah

I already mentioned this two:

LX5 and S95 are low light kings.On a different level with other PnS

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 6 2010, 06:06 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 8 2010, 12:20 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 8 2010, 11:56 AM)
Hi, LX5 and NEX5 which one worth to buy ? I looking for a camera good in low light environment ..
Low light?

-------->NEX-5 all the way!I think can spam ISO3200 also whistling.gif

But it's a interchangeable compact camera, so you might be fustrated a bit with just the 1855.Investment in lenses is also a key to getting out the best out of it smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 10 2010, 10:35 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Ridergeek @ Oct 10 2010, 10:27 PM)
Hi there, I'm quite undecided about this would be really appreciate to get your opinions, which would be a better buy between Canon 550D and Canon 60D? In terms of price the 550d has dropped and its somewhat similar to 60d, but then if a little more you can get 60d with kitlens smile.gif. Not going pro, but i do really like their specs smile.gif. Thanks for your time.
Which would be a better buy, you ask? smile.gif

It all boils down to what you want or need. smile.gif If you want all the features 60D has to offer over the 550D,then by all means,that's the DSLR for you.If not, why bother paying another RM800 or so for features/stuff that you don't need right? smile.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

1.4522sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:54 AM