8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

-kytz-
post Oct 11 2010, 02:16 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(mint87 @ Oct 11 2010, 02:04 AM)
no problem buddy  icon_rolleyes.gif
if u r asking which one is a better buy,i'd say the 60D..since the 60D offers more specs..but if u r saying that u r not going PRO and in terms of price wise, the 550D is cheaper by RM800-RM900..

if i were u,i wud go for 550D since its cheaper and slightly smaller/lighter,and i dont need the 60D new features (although the new features is really nice  brows.gif )

there are some difference between those 2 tho..(like the 60D is using pentaprism and 550D is use pentamirror)

for further details,here's some website

60D's specs - http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Canon/canon_eos60d.asp

550D's specs - http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Cano...non_eos550d.asp

enjoy!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Features which might make me get the 60D over the 550D are :

1)Better build quality,bigger grip and meatier body.Wider body-easier for the hands
2)Top LCD panel for easier access to settings, and also for "pro-ness" feel biggrin.gif
3)Articulating screen,great for variable angle shots, and can prevent "nose stains on the screen" tongue.gif
4)Better AF
5)Faster burst rate

So those are the 5 reasons, why i'll choose 60D over the 550D.RM800 top up whether worth it or not, we'll see~ brows.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2010, 09:36 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(m2yu @ Oct 14 2010, 09:19 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM 1800 - RM 2300 (body + lens)
Your Location : KL // Ipoh
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Night, Day, Macro
Any specific models in mind? : D3000 , EOS 1000D
Any specific features u want? : Live View (unfortunately D3k doesnt have), moveable AF point, stabiliser.

And this would be my first DSLR. If possible perhaps anyone can recommend another model? I'm open to opinions, and I'm not very good with stuffs like these. Thanks!
Try Nikon D3100,D5000

Or Canon 500D

QUOTE(fishermanz @ Oct 14 2010, 09:21 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : High End Digital Camera
Budget : RM1800
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : Canon,Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, Landscape, fast moving object
Any specific models in mind? :Nikon P100,Canon SX30IS
Any specific features u want? : adjust shutter speed, HD video recording, super zoom
Try Canon S95,Lumix LX5

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 14 2010, 09:36 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2010, 11:25 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Oct 14 2010, 10:17 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact Camera
Budget : RM1600 and below
Your Location : Melaka
Preferable brand : Canon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Night Shots
Any specific models in mind? : Canon S95, Canon S90, Sony TX1, Sony TX7
Any specific features u want? : Less Blurry at night shots
S95 rules em' all.Do include in LX5 and G12 also yea biggrin.gif

And for low light shots, the f/2.0 lens of the S95 and LX5 is immensely important, as you can get a higher shutter speed by a few stops,reducing the chances of getting blur shots.

QUOTE(lth_88 @ Oct 14 2010, 11:23 PM)
In terms of colour performance, 24-70L or 28-70L better?
Now im using 17-40L, can above these two lens win a lot in term of colour performance?

Actually im quite happy with 17-40L, but i prefer the focal length of 20++ -70~~
Do ask at Canon thread yea happy.gif Many sifu there to help out brows.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1588863/+840

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 14 2010, 11:27 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 17 2010, 01:55 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(impedance @ Oct 16 2010, 10:24 AM)
I was a user of LX3 and it served me well with landscape picture. I'm looking to get a camera which can do better portrait pictures but hopefully not getting into the DSLR range camera. What would be the suggestion?
What do you mean better portrait pictures?------>Bokeh?

And why not getting into DSLR may i ask?

-Size/weight issues
-Not willing to invest in lenses?
-DSLR controls are too complicated,thus the need for a simple camera?

QUOTE(natasha2301 @ Oct 17 2010, 11:07 AM)
Hi. Would like to seek advice from experts from this thread smile.gif

Before this, i've decided to get Nikon D3000 over Canon 1000D and Nikon D60. And that was before Nikon D3100 was released.
I know Nikon D3100 is good, better than Nikon D3000.

But I can't seem to want to get D3100 over D3000 cos of it's price difference. Am I making the wrong move here? Or is it like, I can play around with D3000 first, then upgrade to D3100 later on?
Well, obviously if your budget isn't good enough then your choice is only the D3000 right?And not even counting the accessories and lenses also smile.gif

And also, lenses play a much bigger role in Image Quality compared to bodies.And good ones usually cost a bomb too

QUOTE(Eric G @ Oct 17 2010, 11:29 AM)
I don't have much experience in using DSLR camera. But, is very impressed with the photos quality/effect taken by DSLR. Recently, I was attracted by Sony NEX-3 / NEX-5. I just wanted to know whether these 2 cameras are able to produce DSLR photo quality? Thanks!
Well, yea it can produce DSLR quality and DSLR ISO performance due to that large APS-C sensor.Other than that it totally fails.

-Very bad menu system,very bad usability
-Very very inadequate number of dedicated buttons for 3 basic settings and others:Aperture,shutter speed and ISO(In fact it doesn't even have)
-Limited choice of lenses

If you want a "true DSLR" then, don't bother about it.There are better stuff out there to play with like the Canon and Nikon DSLRs.

If you want something in between a PnS and a DSLR, then there's the M4/3 system cameras to think about also brows.gif

-kytz-
post Oct 18 2010, 01:22 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Oct 17 2010, 09:18 PM)
err... no one reply de?

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital compact camera
Budget : RM600 max
Your Location : Miri (Sarawak)
Preferable brand : Nikon, Sony, Canon, Olympus, Samsung, etc
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait or flowers (close-ups)
Any specific models in mind? : No  rclxub.gif
Any specific features u want? : Must have Li-ion battery
Sadly, most of us here are more well-versed with more expensive equipments,thus sometimes it's a bit hard to recommend cameras below RM1k.I don't think there are much to distinguish between them since there are less RnD invested for this market sad.gif

A camera shop might be the best place to ask for recommendations.They'll know what to suggest like megapixels( blink.gif ),face detection,IS,etc.

QUOTE(sentech @ Oct 17 2010, 10:08 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget:3000 or a bit more
Your Location:   malaysia
Preferable brand :  canon, nikon, sony,
Type of photography u want to do :  portraits, events
Any specific models in mind? : 
Any specific features u want? :
Canon: 500D,550D
Nikon:D3100,D5000
Sony: A33,A55,A550

3K budget including lens or what? hmm.gif

QUOTE(-Kouichi- @ Oct 18 2010, 01:07 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget:4000
Your Location: malaysia
Preferable brand : canon, nikon
Type of photography u want to do : static objects (more to close up shots)
Any specific models in mind? : nikon D90 or canon EOS 550D
Any specific features u want? :
Either one are excellent cameras.So it's just a matter of preferance biggrin.gif

550D with 1855 kit lens goes for around RM2.7k
D90 with 18105 is around RM3.3k

What do you mean by close up shots?-----> Macro?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 18 2010, 01:24 AM
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2010, 03:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(edmundck @ Oct 18 2010, 10:08 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Canon 50mm / 85mm Lens
Budget : RM2000
Your Location : KL 
Preferable brand : EF Lens...might also consider Sigma(but am afraid about focusing issues and the peeling...?) 
Type of photography u want to do : Snap my family portraits 
Any specific models in mind? : EF50mm f1.4 ; EF85mm f1.8 ; Sigma 50mm f1.4 
Any specific features u want? : Currently using Canon EOS 7D

THANKS...! rclxms.gif
Oh wait, i think it's better to ask for lenses recommendations in Canon EOS thread smile.gif

QUOTE(sentech @ Oct 18 2010, 11:35 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR include lenses like standard zoom and 50mm f1.8
Budget:3000 or a bit more
Your Location:  malaysia
Preferable brand :  canon, nikon, sony,
Type of photography u want to do :  portraits, events
Any specific models in mind? : 
Any specific features u want? :if it come with package with acc will be better
Canon 550D,Nikon D3100,D5000,Sony A550,A33,A55

Personally, i'd recommend the 550D with a 1855 for around RM2.7k.It has all the necessary juice for beginners biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jianh @ Oct 18 2010, 12:02 PM)
Hmm ok... I understand ... sad  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

EDIT

Ok actually that was asking on behalf of my cousin, and here goes a question of my own:

Type of camera/lens/accesories : any consumer DSLR Camera + lenses (Reco me a suitable lens please TQ haha)
Budget : RM3000 +-
Your Location: Sarawak, Malaysia
Preferable brand : Preferably Sony Alpha, but I would also like recommendations from Nikon, Olympus & Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Panning shots of cars, F1, landscapes, sunsets, evening beach
Any specific models in mind? : Sony Alpha a55, a33, Canon EOS 60D... anymore can recommend me?
Any specific features u want? : Nice coloring, nice bokeh, can record HD video
I'd suggest a standard zoom kit lens bundled with the body like 18-55.

Personally, i'd recommend the 550D which is around RM2.2k for body only.The rest can spend on good glass.

I've said this before: It all boils down to what you want or need. smile.gif If you want all the features 60D has to offer over the 550D,then by all means,that's the DSLR for you.If not, why bother paying another RM800 or so for features/stuff that you don't need right? smile.gif

-kytz-
post Oct 18 2010, 05:08 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(BlueBaby @ Oct 18 2010, 03:29 PM)
I'm really confused over my selection.That is,Canon EOS550D or the Sony A55.Which one do i get? Considering I'm just an amateur photographer with few months of experience.
QUOTE(jianh @ Oct 18 2010, 04:12 PM)
+1, would like to know more, as a noob myself too
I'd say Canon FTW for the HUGE user fanbase and the enormously large selection of fine lenses rclxms.gif

Besides, you get excellent service from Canon as well,1+2 warranty,CPS membership,workshops and competitions.Canon is also very friendly to their users biggrin.gif
Heck, they just recently conducted their PhotoMarathon which gave away RM30k worth of DSLRs rclxms.gif Grand prize was a 1D Mark 4 which costs around RM15k brows.gif

Mind you, buying a DSLR isn't just buying a DSLR.It's investing into the brand itself because you can't use lenses/flashguns/accessories from other Manufacturers except for 3rd party ones la tongue.gif And most people stay very loyal to the brand

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 18 2010, 05:14 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2010, 10:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(siawjf @ Oct 18 2010, 05:24 PM)
Budget: 3000-3500 (Include all the lens)
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon,Nikon and Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape / Potrait
Any specific models in mind? : 550D with 18-135 lens and 60D with 18-55lens
Any specific features u want? : Juz want to know with my price range....what model can I get for the best DSLR (tq)

Added on October 18, 2010, 5:28 pmWanna ask where should I go for cheap price with Canon 60D with freebies.....
I would say that 60D has Image Quality very similar to the 550D,but it has a better AF system and some other minor improvements.You can ignore the AF improvement if you aren't into sports or subjects that move very fast

Why not get just the 550D body and the remaining can invest in good glass?After all, it's mostly the lenses that contribute to Image Quality smile.gif

QUOTE(jianh @ Oct 18 2010, 05:42 PM)
Currently aiming Sony a55 that costs less than RM3000, so for extra I would like to invest in lenses...

but last week went to touch 60D & it's quite amazing, only that pricey sad.gif

Still, aiming for Sony a55 or the upcoming a560/580 series

I'm looking to shoot mostly panning shots of cars, and landscapes as well as beach and sunsets
I was also quite tempted by the 60D's build quality, fits my hands and it feels so goooooood blush.gif drool.gif

Haha at the end of the day, if it's just a choice between brands, then by all means it's up to you.Good luck smile.gif

QUOTE(sentech @ Oct 18 2010, 05:48 PM)
how about 60d 18-55 , a55 and d90 18-55...which would you recommend for me??
Personal opinion, get a cheaper body but invest in good glass.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 18 2010, 10:39 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2010, 11:32 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Sean94 @ Oct 18 2010, 11:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories: Prosumer/Super-Zoom Camera
Budget: <RM1500
Your Location: Ipoh
Preferable brand : Any Brand
Type of photography u want to do : Macro,Nature,Night,Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Canon PowerShot SX30 IS / Fujifilm FinePix HS10
Any specific features u want? : 10MP+, Full manual controls, user friendly

Any other model suggestion? hmm.gif
Canon S95,Lumix LX5,Nikon P7000

Why superzooms?A lot of image quality compromise here,not to mention poorer ISO performance

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 18 2010, 11:34 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 20 2010, 05:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ADVedder @ Oct 20 2010, 05:14 PM)
thanks guys... will check out both later.. really appreciate it! btw nikon equivalent to canon 60D?
straight take D7000 laaa~ biggrin.gif

-kytz-
post Oct 23 2010, 11:21 PM

12,573 posts

Budget:RM3k including accessories and lenses
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Can on
Type of photography u want to do : Everything biggrin.gif
Any specific models in mind? : 450D,550D
Any specific features u want? : Good ISO performance

Additional comments(Please bear with me sad.gif ):

Saw a good deal on a 2nd hand 450D body @ RM1.3k with 2 years+ warranty left.Budget below 3K.Initial target was a brand new 550D body@2.2k +2nd hand 1855 for around RM300 +accessories.If i get the 450D, i have around RM1.7k left which i could get a good lens like the siggy 30 f/1.4 or a Tammy 17-50 non VC.Both of which are definitely much superior than the 1855.But if i get the 550D, i can only afford a 1855 kitlens =(

I understand that the 550D has a much superior ISO limit and performance compared to the 450D, and a better metering system,FHD video recording and other really nice features.Oh ya, and that 18mp sensor! A fast lens like the siggy could probably compensate for the lack of ISO performance.Flashgun would be useful too.

And also, resale value of a 2nd hand body is higher than that of a brand new set.Heck,might be able to sell it off at the same price even!But a 2nd hand unit might be problematic and have some "hidden" problems,who knows? =D Brand new no need to say lar..

Haha reminds me of Kai's "expensive body with a cheapo lens or a cheapo body with an expensive lens".So what do ya guys recommend?Also, considering that i might upgrade my body in the future probably a few years time

Do advise =)

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 23 2010, 11:22 PM
-kytz-
post Oct 24 2010, 12:09 AM

12,573 posts

It will be my first body,i haven't gotten a DSLR ma-just lurking around Canon thread oni,hence maybe the confusion biggrin.gif

Will sell off my LX3 to fund either options,bye bye cry.gif You've served me well cry.gif

Really pening.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 24 2010, 12:13 AM
-kytz-
post Oct 24 2010, 03:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 24 2010, 12:22 AM)
lol. i'd take the canon 550D if i were you. much, much better specs. i have a 450D i know how sucky it is compared to 550D. oopsssssss. no offense 450D users =X

the kit lens is one of the best among the 3 big brands..and i'd suggest you save some money to get the VC version of the 1750..

and although the siggy is better in quality..how sure are you that you would like a prime?
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 24 2010, 12:41 AM)
In Kai's case... both are up-to-date bodies.

In your case... I'm with zstan on this, I'd still reckon the 550D and use the 18-55 IS (though $300 is a lil expensive).

Practice with the 18-55 IS first... you'd still be able to get more subject isolation and better low light capability than your current LX3.

ps: I just bought the 18-135mm today and if I can turn back time and to do everything all over again.. I would get the 18-135 kit.. since a jack-of-all-trade lens always have a place in the dry box. Now I dunno what to do with all the other lens I don't use anymore.
Thanks for the advice.

It still puzzles me though,body vs lens thingy but in the end of the day, i guess i'll be "happier" if i end up with the 550D+1855 combo mellow.gif

-kytz-
post Oct 24 2010, 07:33 PM

12,573 posts

Nissin Di622 Nikon mount.

Anyway,you can also ask at Nikon threads
-kytz-
post Oct 25 2010, 11:39 AM

12,573 posts

Go watch the digital rev video la. I CONFIRM you will drool.Serious biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 26 2010, 02:44 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ptit @ Oct 26 2010, 01:55 PM)
i would like to buy a canon full frame camera, beside 5d series is there any other canon series that offer full frame?
1Ds Mark 3
-kytz-
post Oct 29 2010, 08:46 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Oct 29 2010, 02:07 AM)
actually looking for DSLR ...

A580

D90

......... for future, cheap investment, D90 better. but heavy. and aged.

A580, sony A mount, less lenses choice or exp, flash....

hmm....... how?... dilemma, researching this both body
Do also consider the Canon 550D.It's pretty cheap and powerful,body only starting at RM2.2k thumbup.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 29 2010, 09:32 AM

12,573 posts

He added that blue rubber thingy for smoother zooming?

-kytz-
post Nov 1 2010, 08:04 PM

12,573 posts

Alpha A290,Canon 1000D and Nikon D3000

And for compact, mirrorless- NEX-3+pancake lens @ RM1.7k

Just a friendly reminder, do be aware what you're stepping into.DSLR isn't nice and smooth sailing for your wallet.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 1 2010, 08:06 PM
-kytz-
post Nov 4 2010, 12:39 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(gckhai @ Nov 4 2010, 12:16 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : below RM3000
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : any
Any specific models in mind? : 550D
Good choice! biggrin.gif

With that budget, you could get a 550D with 1855 lens @RM27XX.

Do insist for free gifts like a bag and filters! smile.gif

Anyway, if you're open to other brands, there's the Sony A33,A55,A580,Nikon D3100,D5000.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0747sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:07 PM