117 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 27/12 Hull City v Man Utd | 23:55 | ESPN

IcyDarling
post Dec 24 2009, 10:18 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Dec 24 2009, 11:15 AM)
agreed ... creative mid or playmaker is more crucial now ... & defender too, since a long list of injury crisis & that will be happen again & again this season
80m from Ronaldo,
trade owen+20m for Villa=balanced number of striker or unless u wan diouf to start regularly(is he a striker?)
Nani+10m for Angel Di Maria
simply ask Kaka come la tongue.gif - 40m

Added on December 24, 2009, 10:19 ami dun think we will be facing this again.. its probably fatigue accumulated from WC that made them so injury prone.

This post has been edited by IcyDarling: Dec 24 2009, 10:19 AM
nimrod2
post Dec 24 2009, 10:22 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

yeah it's actually a run of bad luck and weird conincidences to have 6-8 defenders out at the same time.

i dont think any team in the world can cope with that.
Zen-X
post Dec 24 2009, 12:22 PM

1,238 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Dec 24 2009, 10:15 AM)
agreed ... creative mid or playmaker is more crucial now ... & defender too, since a long list of injury crisis & that will be happen again & again this season
i wanna see another centre-back sad.gif
midfield is ok for me..as long as fletcher and carrick play there, not defense..
left-back? no need..evra de laet o shea fabio can do job there..
same goes to right back..neville brown o shea rafael...

davidlow7
post Dec 24 2009, 01:22 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Dec 24 2009, 12:22 PM)
i wanna see another centre-back sad.gif
midfield is ok for me..as long as fletcher and carrick play there, not defense..
left-back? no need..evra de laet o shea fabio can do job there..
same goes to right back..neville brown o shea rafael...
I am still okay with defense ...

Only attack mid I am a bit concern we lack a bit of creativity.

Something like what David Silva could add to us.. but his adaption to the league is also another concern.

Who knows he could be a hit like Torres in EPL as well.
nshady
post Dec 24 2009, 01:27 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Dec 24 2009, 01:26 AM)
I've had enough of the Berba discussion but how do you know that? We got lucky with Chelsea losing points against Everton and West Ham. We could have been 8 points adrift now. We will be having a different discussion should that have happened.

Rooney works best with another striker with a good finishing, coz he doesn't have one. Berba should stick upfront, messing with defenders and wait for Rooney's and the other midfielder's deliveries. Unless he starts doing that and stop trying to be fancy with that supporting striker role, I see no hope with that partnership.
Come on, we have berbatov, owen, rooney, macheda, welbeck and now Diouf. You want another striker, duh? doh.gif

First, why do you think he'll not get much chances after this? After rooney, he's the best striker around. Even if he plays as a supporting striker, he still score goals. He can choose not to pass and perform his flicks but opt to bring the ball forward then shoot. Then he'll probably not described as a supporting type-striker. Infact, he chose to play with his style. Owen was chosen ahead of berbatov was probably due to his recent form(his hattrick against wolfsburg).

Even if we sign david villa, if our midfield fails to feed him with great balls, he'll just end up being a striker who doesn't score much. I'm very happy with berbatov and rooney's partnership.

Even Owen has done quite good so far, since pre-season. We'll just deal with the defensive woes first.

I'd say we need someone who feeds them the ball. I don't expect a striker to get the ball in front of the defenders while being heavy-guarded and dribble into the box and score all the time.

SAF knows the best for them.

This post has been edited by nshady: Dec 24 2009, 01:56 PM
boxsystem
post Dec 24 2009, 01:43 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:22 PM)
I am still okay with defense ...

Only attack mid I am a bit concern we lack a bit of creativity.

Something like what David Silva could add to us.. but his adaption to the league is also another concern.

Who knows he could be a hit like Torres in EPL as well.
True. Silva to play on the flanks. And as for Torres, who knows that he might join us in the summer. laugh.gif

But I do have that feeling that SAF would make a sneaky move for Pato.

QUOTE(nshady @ Dec 24 2009, 01:27 PM)
Come on, we have berbatov, owen, rooney, macheda, welbeck and now Diouf. You want another striker, duh?  doh.gif

I'd say we need someone who feeds them the ball. I don't expect a striker to get the ball in front of a defender while being heavy-guarded and dribble into the box the score.

I'm guessing that most fans are frustrated with our recent losses. I don't think that we're having problems with our attacking force. Berbatov, Rooney, Owen, Macheda, Welbeck and Diouf are good enough. It's just that on certain games, our midifielders are nowhere to be seen.

When there's no link between the defenders and attackers, everything just died in the middle. I am hoping for our defenders to recover from their injuries so that Fletcher and Carrick can be restored at the middle. I wouldn't mind Hargreaves to be listed in the lineup as well ..

Lets have our fingers crossed that everything will be in order from now on.

And I do think that 4-3-3 would be suited for both Berbatov and Anderson. No more of 3-5-2 please.
nshady
post Dec 24 2009, 01:51 PM

354 posts

You're right there boxsystem. Our midfield were nowhere to be seen. I'd be frustrated to get a striker because of that and blame that department for our recent losses. Rafael, Vidic, Brown and Neville should be back this weekend and I'd like to see fletcher+carrick back in midfield. We have 7 games in january which includes Carling Cup-Home and Away against city and FA cup against Leeds. Oh my god whistling.gif

This post has been edited by nshady: Dec 24 2009, 01:55 PM
nimrod2
post Dec 24 2009, 02:42 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

oh yeah by the way, merry christmas guys!

here's to wishing a great come back and an amazing year!
nshady
post Dec 24 2009, 02:50 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Dec 24 2009, 02:42 PM)
oh yeah by the way, merry christmas guys!

here's to wishing a great come back and an amazing year!
Merry Christmas.

Santa says he will speed up the recovery process of our defenders...

Ho Ho Ho...
pyroboy1911
post Dec 24 2009, 03:12 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 24 2009, 10:14 AM)
sir alex ferguson is married, and looks strong lol
Even if it is SAF who goes there, the sole reason is to get one of those prostitutes to play for the team! That guy breathes football man! laugh.gif
nshady
post Dec 24 2009, 03:53 PM

354 posts

Pfff...Sir Alex Ferguson is my "Sifu"...I know he wouldnt do that.
IIIaZer
post Dec 24 2009, 04:01 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Dec 24 2009, 03:53 PM)
Pfff...Sir Alex Ferguson is my "Sifu"...I know he wouldnt do that.
u are denying it coz your "sifu" didnt bring u along eh laugh.gif
nizamhameed
post Dec 24 2009, 04:39 PM

6,437 posts

boxing day ahead, we need to move on top of the table...
MyDevil
post Dec 24 2009, 04:40 PM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 24 2009, 01:43 PM)
True. Silva to play on the flanks. And as for Torres, who knows that he might join us in the summer.  laugh.gif

But I do have that feeling that SAF would make a sneaky move for Pato.
I'm guessing that most fans are frustrated with our recent losses. I don't think that we're having problems with our attacking force. Berbatov, Rooney, Owen, Macheda, Welbeck and Diouf are good enough. It's just that on certain games, our midifielders are nowhere to be seen.

When there's no link between the defenders and attackers, everything just died in the middle. I am hoping for our defenders to recover from their injuries so that Fletcher and Carrick can be restored at the middle. I wouldn't mind Hargreaves to be listed in the lineup as well ..

Lets have our fingers crossed that everything will be in order from now on.

And I do think that 4-3-3 would be suited for both Berbatov and Anderson. No more of 3-5-2 please.
Fletcher's job is to stop opponents from playing. And he is doing that very well. notworthy.gif
I thought Carrick can replace Scholes. But he is not creative and consistent enough. We still need Giggs in that department. Was hoping Ljajic can be our creative playmaker but it wasn't to be. Anderson is our best bet for now. He has all the ingredients to be a good playmaker and he is still young. May be, in the near future, we can see Petruci as well. For midfield, short term wise, we need Giggs to be fit and Scholes to find his form. Long term wise, I hope Anderson and Petruci can fulfill their potential.

My concern now is the defense. I think our defenders, Gary, Rio, Brown and Evans are too injury prone. sweat.gif
nshady
post Dec 24 2009, 06:01 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(IIIaZer @ Dec 24 2009, 04:01 PM)
u are denying it coz your "sifu" didnt bring u along eh   laugh.gif
blush.gif

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Dec 24 2009, 04:40 PM)
Fletcher's job is to stop opponents from playing. And he is doing that very well.  notworthy.gif
I thought Carrick can replace Scholes. But he is not creative and consistent enough. We still need Giggs in that department. Was hoping Ljajic can be our creative playmaker but it wasn't to be. Anderson is our best bet for now. He has all the ingredients to be a good playmaker and he is still young. May be, in the near future, we can see Petruci as well. For midfield, short term wise, we need Giggs to be fit and Scholes to find his form. Long term wise, I hope Anderson and Petruci can fulfill their potential.

My concern now is the defense. I think our defenders, Gary, Rio, Brown and Evans are too injury prone.  sweat.gif
We actually bought Carrick because of his passing abilities. He used to provide good long passes from midfield. But now he doesn't do much of it anymore, mostly just normal short passes. Giggs is our playmaker since CR left us and yes, Anderson is our best bet with his offensive part, long passes, moving forward with the ball and aggresiveness.

This post has been edited by nshady: Dec 24 2009, 06:34 PM
nakata101
post Dec 24 2009, 06:49 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Dec 24 2009, 06:01 PM)
blush.gif
We actually bought Carrick because of his passing abilities. He used to provide good long passes from midfield. But now he doesn't do much of it anymore, mostly just normal short passes. Giggs is our playmaker since CR left us and yes, Anderson is our best bet with his offensive part, long passes, moving forward with the ball and aggresiveness.
Ya, me also wonder why Carrick dint do much long passes ad. hmm.gif
kobe24bryant
post Dec 24 2009, 06:52 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Dec 24 2009, 02:11 AM)
walao..good to see you back here calvin..i thought you left lyn for good??
My word...I came in here to wish y'all a merry Christmas but hold that thought. I need a wank. A long and good one. shocking.gif
Makakeke
post Dec 24 2009, 07:26 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Dec 24 2009, 01:27 PM)
Come on, we have berbatov, owen, rooney, macheda, welbeck and now Diouf. You want another striker, duh?  doh.gif

First, why do you think he'll not get much chances after this? After rooney, he's the best striker around. Even if he plays as a supporting striker, he still score goals. He can choose not to pass and perform his flicks but opt to bring the ball forward then shoot. Then he'll probably not described as a supporting type-striker. Infact, he chose to play with his style. Owen was chosen ahead of berbatov was probably due to his recent form(his hattrick against wolfsburg).

Even if we sign david villa, if our midfield fails to feed him with great balls, he'll just end up being a striker who doesn't score much. I'm very happy with berbatov and rooney's partnership.

Even Owen has done quite good so far, since pre-season. We'll just deal with the defensive woes first.

I'd say we need someone who feeds them the ball. I don't expect a striker to get the ball in front of the defenders while being heavy-guarded and dribble into the box and score all the time.

Berba has got his chances alright, and he's choking with the pressure.

I think at some point (which I'm guessing at the end of the season), we have to admit Berba isn't the player that was intended to be. I'm still hoping that he'll prove me wrong. People said that that is his style, etc but the fact is he doesn't gel with Rooney! Like I said before, Rooney is a Gascoigne-like material. Works hard, strong, fast but lacks that magic in front of the goal. He used to have them with his flicks and finishing but ultimately he's not a finisher. Our only finisher materials are Berba and Owen but I've already laid out my points before.

Our midfielders are not producing the balls because they're playing as centrebacks! Granted that they play in their usual positions, we'll be in a much better shape as shown from early season.

It never hurts to have another striker, an experienced one especially. And as a club like Manchester United, we need great quality strikers. Diouf, Macheda, Welbeck are still in the learning process. For pete's sake, they're only under-20, how much do we expect from them? In the mean time, we only have 3 experienced strikers and one of them is Owen? Not to say that he's no good but he's not exactly as sharp as before, only a 3rd striker material.

I don't exactly care who we get the next round. Either way, it'll be beneficial for our squad. But let's not disregard the fact that we do need the goals. The 2 games we lost vs Villa and Fulham, we scored zilch. Is that only defensive problem or offensive?

Anyway, Merry Christmas all!
Pain_X
post Dec 24 2009, 07:44 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Dec 24 2009, 07:26 PM)
Berba has got his chances alright, and he's choking with the pressure.

I think at some point (which I'm guessing at the end of the season), we have to admit Berba isn't the player that was intended to be. I'm still hoping that he'll prove me wrong. People said that that is his style, etc but the fact is he doesn't gel with Rooney! Like I said before, Rooney is a Gascoigne-like material. Works hard, strong, fast but lacks that magic in front of the goal. He used to have them with his flicks and finishing but ultimately he's not a finisher. Our only finisher materials are Berba and Owen but I've already laid out my points before.

Our midfielders are not producing the balls because they're playing as centrebacks! Granted that they play in their usual positions, we'll be in a much better shape as shown from early season.

It never hurts to have another striker, an experienced one especially. And as a club like Manchester United, we need great quality strikers. Diouf, Macheda, Welbeck are still in the learning process. For pete's sake, they're only under-20, how much do we expect from them? In the mean time, we only have 3 experienced strikers and one of them is Owen? Not to say that he's no good but he's not exactly as sharp as before, only a 3rd striker material.

I don't exactly care who we get the next round. Either way, it'll be beneficial for our squad. But let's not disregard the fact that we do need the goals. The 2 games we lost vs Villa and Fulham, we scored zilch. Is that only defensive problem or offensive?

Anyway, Merry Christmas all!
Dude,Berba is not choking man. I have to admit,i thought he would've scored more often,but his passing and interplay is really top class. Of course the flicks and back-heels dont work all the time,but when they do,it's great to watch.

However,i do agree with your point that it never hurts to have extra players. Players like Welbeck,Macheada,Diouf and even Owen should know their roles. I feel Owen is somewhat overrated,mainly because he's English. He does have the RVN qualities of appearing at the right place at the right time,but beyond that,i don't see how Owen will be able to spearhead or at least be a big part of our attack force.

Regarding the 2 defeats,it was a whole system collapse if you ask me. We looked terrible going forward,and the few chances the opponents had,they took it.
If anything,we need to start commanding the midfield more. There's no use bombing far range passes when the recipient has nowhere to go or no one to pass to after getting the ball.
Previously,we could just rely on CRon to conjure up some crazy runs down the middle or the touchline,but this year,with Valencia,he only goes to the right,and when he does cut in,usually its too late to try any early crosses.

In conclusion,i think we need to get at least 1 CB to cover the injuries ( I know most of our players will be back in Jan,but still) and at least one attacking player, be it David Villa,Silva or even Kaka. We've got 80 million,we know that much. This is not the time to stinge,when we've already lost 5 games this season.

This post has been edited by Pain_X: Dec 24 2009, 07:45 PM
TSalien2003
post Dec 24 2009, 08:03 PM

12,754 posts

Da Silvas back for Hull trip

Rafael and Fabio will be back to boost United's depleted defence against Hull on Sunday, Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed at Thursday's press conference.

Rafael has been sidelined since the home defeat to Besiktas last month with a foot injury, while Fabio returned from the bench at Fulham last week. Both Da Silva twins are set to be thrust into action at the KC Stadium to bolster a threadbare backline.

"We rushed Fabio back a little bit, but given the situation we find ourselves in sometimes you have to do that," admitted the boss. "Rafa's only trained for a few days but he will be involved on Sunday."

Sir Alex also confirmed Wes Brown and Nemanja Vidic should both be available for the home game against Wigan on 30 December, and that the Reds' medical team are working to get one of the centre-backs fit for this weekend.

"We're trying to get one of them fit for Sunday, but we'll have to see," added Sir Alex. "The young boy [Ritchie] De Laet did okay in the last game at Fulham until we lost the first goal.

"The power and the strength of [Bobby] Zamora made things difficult for us and we looked fragile from then on. It's understandable in a way - you can get away with playing midfielders at centre-back once or twice, but it proved to be very difficult for us at Fulham."

The United boss is expecting an equally tough game against an improving Tigers side, saying: "Hull will be encouraged by our injury problems, and I'm sure they'll have a go at us.

"We have to make sure we are better attacking-wise than we were at Fulham. We had quite a bit of possession, but didn't make a lot of chances. We have to improve the imagination of our play on Sunday."

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6644399

Players of the Decade: #7

Rio Ferdinand joined the Reds in July 2002 as the world’s most expensive defender and, over the course of the decade, he has developed into one of the finest on the planet.

After helping United reclaim the Premier League crown from Arsenal in his first season, the talented and cultured centre-half has gone on to become one of the Reds' most influential and consistent performers. His leadership qualities have seen him made skipper for club and country on numerous occasions; indeed he captained United to Champions League, Club World Cup and Carling Cup glory. He has also chipped in with valuable goals, perhaps most dramatically with an injury-time winner against Liverpool in January 2006.

Rio has consistently justified his world-class defender tag with a string of calm and collected displays and, over the last few years, has formed an imposing partnership with Nemanja Vidic. Both played a crucial role in the team's record-breaking clean-sheet run last season on the way to a third successive title.

Rio Ferdinand

Position: Defender
Appearances in the decade: 318*
Goals in the decade: 7*
Signed: 22 July 2002

Club World Cup: 2008
Champions League: 2007/08
Premier League: 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09
League Cup: 2005/06, 2008/09
Community Shield: 2003, 2007, 2008

*Correct at publishing date, 24/12/2009

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6644396