65 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Paint, buy where?

dotaboyy
post Nov 21 2018, 05:40 PM

45 posts

Need some advice here....
I am staying at a double stories house, at the ground floor bedroom... no direct sunlight but with individual toilet... humidity in the room usually hover around 70% +- and my wall starts to have mould stains....planned to repaint the wall...any recommendation to what paint should i use ?

did some research there are anti mould paintings around the market.. appreciate any sifus here can enlighten me...
TearsRainzz
post Nov 26 2018, 02:59 PM

104 posts

anyone have any comment on kansai paint quality?
brapa?
post Dec 4 2018, 10:27 PM

154 posts

my old house was painted with dulux glossy type paint last time. i dont use it anymore & rent it out, problem is tenants dont take care & got dirt + scratches all the time.

Can i use maxilite or jotaplast type paint to repaint the whole place ? will it stick ?

as it is much cheaper if i need to repaint in the future.
Crovoseas
post Dec 16 2018, 09:38 PM

353 posts

Hi guys, need some advice.

I plan to DIY and repaint my new condo yard (function as wet kitchen and place to hang wet clothes).

Went to a new hardware shop and the young boss told me to use Nippon weatherbond but it sounds weird to me. After my research, I found Nippon 3in1 and Nippon spot-less are more suitable for the purpose. Can anyone give advice? Thanks in advance.
SUSslimey
post Dec 16 2018, 11:29 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Dec 16 2018, 09:38 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice.

I plan to DIY and repaint my new condo yard (function as wet kitchen and place to hang wet clothes).

Went to a new hardware shop and the young boss told me to use Nippon weatherbond but it sounds weird to me. After my research, I found Nippon 3in1 and Nippon spot-less are more suitable for the purpose. Can anyone give advice? Thanks in advance.
Meh.
Practically anything can do.
I would use nippon easywash
Crovoseas
post Dec 17 2018, 02:40 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 16 2018, 11:29 PM)
Meh.
Practically anything can do.
I would use nippon easywash
Thanks. Will include it into my list. notworthy.gif
post May 27 2019, 03:19 PM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

sorry to revive old thread.
Anyone have price quoting for momento painting?
can we just ask random contractor to do the pattern?
cutemoney
post Aug 14 2019, 06:38 PM

42 posts

If I want to do DIY project on my apartment painting.
What’s should I concern/aware of?

Is undercoat equal to sealing?

The step is like this?
Sealing/under coat ->putty-> sanding -> 2 layers of finishing coat.
Correct me if I am wrong.
amduser
post Aug 14 2019, 08:25 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(cutemoney @ Aug 14 2019, 06:38 PM)
If I want to do DIY project on my apartment painting.
What’s should I concern/aware of?

Is undercoat equal to sealing?

The step is like this?
Sealing/under coat ->putty-> sanding -> 2 layers of finishing coat.
If your wall already painted then no need apply sealant also can

The step would be fixing imperfection on wall, filling up holes and smoothen the wall by sanding or grinding if you want

Then use acrylic emulsion paint as base coat then 2 layer of finishing coat or 1 layer of the colour of similar to base coat

Depends on the colour of your current wall, if it is dark colour and you want to paint to light colour you might need 2 or more layer of base coat to cover the colour so that your finishing coat don't look weird

If you are just repainting with the same colour you can directly go for finishing coat too
cutemoney
post Aug 14 2019, 08:59 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 14 2019, 08:25 PM)

The step would be fixing imperfection on wall, filling up holes and smoothen the wall by sanding or grinding if you want

Then use acrylic emulsion paint as base coat then 2 layer of finishing coat or 1 layer of the colour of similar to base coat

Depends on the colour of your current wall, if it is dark colour and you want to paint to light colour you might need 2 or more layer of base coat to cover the colour so that your finishing coat don't look weird

If you are just repainting with the same colour you can directly go for finishing coat too
My walls have many cracked/fine line. Think need to put putty to fill it.

So my steps should be
Putty -> sanding -> base coat -> 2 layers finishing coat
amduser
post Aug 14 2019, 09:19 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(cutemoney @ Aug 14 2019, 08:59 PM)
My walls have many cracked/fine line. Think need to put putty to fill it.

So my steps should be
Putty -> sanding -> base coat -> 2 layers finishing coat
Yes correct, putty can fix fine line then sand it down for smooth finishing

What is the current wall colour and the colour you want to paint? If same colour just paint 1 coat of finishing coat is sufficient and can also save you some cost
WhitE LighteR
post Aug 15 2019, 02:50 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 14 2019, 08:25 PM)

what is the different between acrylic emulsion paint and finishing paint?
amduser
post Aug 15 2019, 04:38 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 15 2019, 02:50 PM)
what is the different between acrylic emulsion paint and finishing paint?
biggest difference is the price, acrylic emulsion 7L probably cost around RM50, higher end paint like Jotun Easy Clean cost around RM100 for 5L, Jotun Majestic around RM130 for 5L, i dont know about the price of those special effect paint, for price per liter definitely not cheap

acrylic emulsion might not have the color that you want, and higher end paint got those easy clean and anti fungus characteristic which acrylic emulsion doesn't have it

the finishing for acrylic emulsion is usually matte finish only, more expensive paint you can choose whether you want gloss, satin, semi-gloss or matte and they come in more color tone also

if both acrylic emulsion and an expensive paint is the same color and same finishing, you can hardly differentiate them from the surface only time will tell the difference, that's why a lot of painter will use acrylic emulsion because of the cheaper price
SHOfrE3zE
post Aug 18 2019, 12:14 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

need help to choose the right white colored paint for my house.

I've decided to go for Delux ICI paint but since there is so many shade of white offered, please recommend me a white paint for interior & exterior walls that is easy to clean and does not get dirty easily.

only white not something yellowish.
amduser
post Aug 19 2019, 10:35 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Aug 18 2019, 12:14 PM)
need help to choose the right white colored paint for my house.

I've decided to go for Delux ICI paint but since there is so many shade of white offered, please recommend me a white paint for interior & exterior walls that is easy to clean and does not get dirty easily.

only white not something yellowish.
Dulux Pure or Dulux EasyClean should be what you need

the color you can go to the shop and see the actual catalogue which is closest to the actual, the color you see online will come out different color depends on monitor and color calibration

SHOfrE3zE
post Aug 19 2019, 10:52 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 19 2019, 10:35 AM)
Dulux Pure or Dulux EasyClean should be what you need

the color you can go to the shop and see the actual catalogue which is closest to the actual, the color you see online will come out different color depends on monitor and color calibration
thanks but is it okay to pick a pure white color like the "White on White" as a wall color? will it easily get dirty even for EasyClean?
Left4Dead2
post Aug 19 2019, 01:51 PM

1,103 posts

Jotun Jotaplast Max vs Nippon Super Matex which one better for room ?

Jotun is much cheaper and more litter than Nippon though.

Both is matt finish and emulsion/water based
amduser
post Aug 19 2019, 01:53 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Aug 19 2019, 10:52 AM)
thanks but is it okay to pick a pure white color like the "White on White" as a wall color? will it easily get dirty even for EasyClean?
color is depends on your liking, dirt are easily visible on the wall no matter what paint you used, personally i will never recommend yellow or orange tone as it will make the house look old, but that's just my preference

since easy clean is matte finish, it will have those rough surface for dirt to catch on, but you can use stronger detergent or even thinner to clean it after the paint cures

if you really want those easy to clean one you can get those with gloss finish or sheen finish, satin/semi-gloss is fine too since smoother surface is easier to wipe and harder for dust to attach to

do you burn incense or smoke in the house? those will make your ceiling and wall become yellowish in future
amduser
post Aug 19 2019, 01:59 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Aug 19 2019, 01:51 PM)
Jotun Jotaplast Max vs Nippon Super Matex which one better for room ?

Jotun is much cheaper and more litter than Nippon though.

Both is matt finish and emulsion/water based
they are the same, acrylic emulsion is good for base coat or cover existing paint, for finishing layer, i will paint with at least a layer of Jotun EasyClean or higher spec paint

for ceiling you can use either acrylic emulsion that you prefer
Left4Dead2
post Aug 19 2019, 02:06 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 19 2019, 01:59 PM)
they are the same, acrylic emulsion is good for base coat or cover existing paint, for finishing layer, i will paint with at least a layer of Jotun EasyClean or higher spec paint

for ceiling you can use either acrylic emulsion that you prefer
Ya, my room already got yellow coat, now just want paint blue color. If that the case, i take the cheaper Jotun

65 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:29 PM