24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

leong2084
post Apr 24 2010, 11:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ Apr 24 2010, 05:19 PM)
I juz back from some river with a few crayfish, but when i put in my tank. Less than 5 minutes, all eaten by my Aro...=.=
hmm.gif i'm still very puzzled how an aro can eat these hardshelled creatures...

there are many who said thiers get eaten as well....but its so hard...i mean...have you tried using your teeth and biting them uncracked etc before?

rclxub.gif
leong2084
post Apr 25 2010, 01:16 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ Apr 25 2010, 07:30 AM)
I also dont understand what u dont understand.. My Ex Green Aro and RTG now really like it.. Maybe the ones i caught in the wild not that hard? hmm.gif
>.<"

maybe i will need to see it to understand it...but just imagining it, the aro has to have a bite force so strong it will crack the hardshell of the crayfish to be able to get the meat inside >.<"

the way i picture it if i'm the aro, its like trying to bite on stone

not that i'm saying you are wrong or trying to offend or anything, i'm just trying to understand, its just like i said, i probly need to see it to actually understand sad.gif

wink.gif

Added on April 25, 2010, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(BenSow @ Apr 25 2010, 11:48 AM)
Im also looking for wat devil is looking for... a sump would make my tank much cleaner... And guys, if i feed my fish on minimum rations, it not only saves my money, it will also slow down the growth rate of my fish rite? this can also buy time for me to get my dad for getting a 6 footer...

Added on April 25, 2010, 11:50 amoo and wat equipment can i use to channel water to and from the sump tank below my tank?
what filtration are you currently using?

as for getting dad to buy the tank, i suggest showing your dad how badly you want it to get it.....nothing better than proving to your parents your worth.

Try taking up part time jobs during the weekends. For me during my schooling days i used to do like those data entry jobs, just type type type type type and gawd those days all crt monitor..can go blind wan...
Or you can try going to college/universities and opt in for freelancer/part time clerical jobs to help out the finance dept or be a librarian...i personally find these the easiest back then + u can learn a thing or two by observation of adults working life tongue.gif
there are many other jobs but those are the best few i'd recommend to get part time money. laugh.gif

But dont do it for show, do it liek you really want the money lol and while you're at it, remember that its all for your favorite pet!!
Once your dad see's his son being so hardworking he for sure will help you....nothing greater in the world for a dad than to see his own son maturing into a man. nod.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Apr 25 2010, 01:28 PM
leong2084
post Apr 25 2010, 03:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Apr 25 2010, 01:43 PM)
not sure who would take in me for a job though... i havent even started my PMR exams...

@pigpig - my aro is used to hunger oredy and its for his own good... if i feed more, he grows more and gets stunted in my small tank faster...
haha got plenty la tongue.gif
no worries wan, just take a look around the newspapers and jobstreet. To find part time job these days so much easier than it was when i was below 18 >.<"

@frenly
thats great biggrin.gif

have you included how ye gonna cycle the tank by the time the aro is to be put into the tank?

leong2084
post Apr 25 2010, 08:13 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ Apr 25 2010, 07:58 PM)
Next week i go catch again, record it down, let u see. Hahahaha
rclxms.gif yeah if you cud it will be great biggrin.gif
i cant seem to find any on youtube >.<

so nice lar you got river to catch these sorts of things....here we only have something if we travel far and have to pay for it summore zzzzz sad.gif
leong2084
post Apr 26 2010, 09:50 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 25 2010, 11:17 PM)
lol...went to catch fish at titiwangsa lake...caught a bichir there..quite big..i think it's 12" - 15"....i think next saturday night gonna go catch a king fish(huang di yu) for my aquarium...they sell the king fish for so damn expensive...where you actually can easily catch em...lol
blink.gif can catch bichir and fish at lake titiwangsa? i only know got a lot of turtle la :S

what bichir you caught ar?
leong2084
post Apr 26 2010, 10:27 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Apr 26 2010, 06:06 PM)
bro, i bought it with ah rock .....
will tapau this coming sunday
awaiting for my tank arrival tomorrow.
haha grats man biggrin.gif

do post pix for us ya tongue.gif

also how ye gonna cycle your tank by this sunday which you will be getting your aro right?

Added on April 26, 2010, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(jamestan_85 @ Apr 26 2010, 03:07 PM)
Hi Guys,

I would like to ask anyone here who knows there to get good, cheap and big Fei Feng (phoenix) and Distichodus Sexifaciatus (Emperor/ 6 barred fish)? Im looking for it to complement my gold arowana. THank you.
lol no such thing as cheap when it comes to that man, so far the prices are about avg rm50 for small palm size, rm100 for double palm size and rm150 for 3ple palm size.
i know cuz i've actually been scouting around lol thinking of getting ff too but then again haih i sayang my bichirs....its either puckerlips kissy wissy fei feng fish or cool looking pirates look bichirs >.<"

Added on April 26, 2010, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(Devillsin @ Apr 26 2010, 05:41 PM)
how much does a cheap flowerhorn cost anyway xD
fah lau hon shakehead.gif
haha nice to hear from you again biggrin.gif

neways for flowerhorn i think its like dependent on 2 factors for its price....the size and shape of the tumor on its head and the digit visibility on the side of the body.
other obvious factors will be like its size lol.

imo flowerhorn is very monsterous looking, even more so than gar and pacu combined

This post has been edited by leong2084: Apr 26 2010, 10:44 PM
leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 01:05 PM

89 posts

dunno what you mean by lower floor, probly your house much nicer like in bangalow lol,

mine my room only has 1 flr and i keep it at one side while my bed is on the other side biggrin.gif
leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 04:25 PM

89 posts

oh haha, for me and pigpig we both keep in our bedroom biggrin.gif
quite the hardcore lol

There are pro's and con's with the keeping in bed room but in terms of feng sui i really no idea lol

with regards to feng sui, as long as i keep the fan blowing (fung) and water running (sui) in the tank then i have achieved fung sui oledy

LOOOOOOL
leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 05:20 PM

89 posts

in my opinion, follow your heart haha

But the area you wana keep the arowana and tank is best if you cud take a look around at the best place. Cuz these days so hot so you'll need to look around for places which arent affected by the heat comming from the outside so much and etc
Other factors will be human traffic - too much not good.
Noise levels - not near loud booming tv etc

Imo some sunlight is good but then there is the delima of water temp going too high cuz of the heat. Like mine ar...even if i close the curtains and no sunlight the temp is oledy at about avg 33deg.c :'(

also yeah close to source of wc is best lol no need to carry buckets around >.<

one of the greatest benefit for me is for keeping in my room is that its close to the bathroom where there is a water pipe linked to the dangki water above (water reserve).

This dangki water is basically aged water, which is best for wc usage hehe biggrin.gif
lower chance of chlorine poisoning ^^

in fact when i was totally newb about fish keeping, i actually didnt use any AC or conditioners and just changed the water with just the danki water a few times.....no issues and the fish was just as normal 0.0 - at that time it was just a goldfish bowl at my computer table loL

but eva since i learnt about the AC then i've been adding in the recommended dosages laaarr lol

was quite a shocker for me hahahahahaha

This post has been edited by leong2084: Apr 27 2010, 05:31 PM
leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 07:49 PM

89 posts

sometimes will put salt sometimes wont.

How are you gonna cycle the tank? or you gonna use used cycled filter media?
leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 09:23 PM

89 posts

hmnn i'm guessing your talking about a sump filter system. (usually lfs assume you want a sump neways)

ok i'm gonna need to be frank with you on this area but i really am hoping you not gonna take it offensively....i'm merely giving you advise so that you dont kill your hard earned rm few k arowana there...

Here are a few articles you really need to read up on first:

http://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquarium/cycling.php

http://animal-world.com/encyclo/fresh/info...cleAquarium.php

"If you already have an aquarium, or know anyone who has, you can use this mature bacteria colony to jumpstart a new one in your new aquarium. " - seriously no idea on this but u might wana ask around on this part as it might be a shortcut.

In this case try to get from the cycled medias from lfs you getting your aquarium from or from xlsa if they can provide.

Please do call rock or kok up to ask them about this and they will explain to you the steps on how to care into this area.

Trust me it is of utmost importance, do not take cycling of the aquarium lightly!!!
Most fish die to the high spikes of ammonia and nitrite/nitrate in the process of cycling the tank.
You might want to consider delaying the arrival of your arowana for a week or so.

leong2084
post Apr 27 2010, 11:18 PM

89 posts

@Devilisin
haha long time no hear from you mar, just like bruttha saif totally mia sad.gif

neways glad ye back making some noise hehehe

@Frenly
mmm using bacteria solutions definitely will help improve and shorten cycle start off time.

Not sure about psb bacteria.

The one i used to cycle my tank with was Nutrafin Cycle. Cuz it was cost efficient and i've trusted it for the day i started fish hobbying lol. I dun think xlsa sells nutrafin products but its up to you cuz there are so many recommended by others as well.

The current one i'm using to add in which i find a little costly is azoo 11 in 1. I use it mainly after doing filter media cleaning.

But what i can recommend about using the bb solutions to cycle the tank is to add it in daily for the first 2 weeks.

What will your arowana tank mates be? They might be usable for cycling haha.

Like mine it gave it a good 4 weeks using my bichirs which i fed like i think they felt like kings =.="
and every day i just kept pouring in the 2L nutrafin cycle bb soln 40ml until it was finished while performing 30% wc weekly.

cuz feeding lots = poo poo lots = bb get to work lots

nitrosomonas and nitrobacter

(pour in bb containing all the bb types)
poo - (nitrosomonas bb work, nitrobacter and denitrification bb die cuz no nitrate and nitrite to work on)->ammonia is produced from the poo
ammonia spike occurs
[next day] (pour in bb which oledy containg all the bb)
ammonia - (nitrobacter comes into play(from the bb soln), while nitrosomonas continue thier job and denitrification bb still dying cuz no nitrite to work on) converts to nitrate

next day Nitrite spike occurs (pour in summore bb soln containing all the bb - nitrosomonas and nitrobacter continue working, denitrification starts to establish )
nitrobacter then continues to convert nitrite to nitrate, while all the other bb conitinue doin thier jobs

Nitrite spike occurs
pour in summore bb soln
denitrification bb come into play and converts the nitrites to hydrogen gas

pour in summore and you got the party going~ just make sure you got lotsa o2 being pumped in the water lol both the fish and the bacteria need it

well..thats what i think its like except just not in days but a few days each stage from poo to ammonia to nitrate to nitrite to nitrogen gas

so in conclusion, yeah imho using bb soln really helps to speed up the cycling process by providing the bb's straight in to quickly establish

Added on April 27, 2010, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(Frenly @ Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM)
excellent vid imo

i do have a sponge that when i wash i really am washing a lot of the chocolate blackish water out off....cuz i mainly use it for mechanical filteration more than bio lol, i let my 2 canisters do the main bio thingy.

Where do you stay? if you are close by i can squeeze some out and pass to your if you nearby lol
me is at o.u.g tongue.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Apr 27 2010, 11:29 PM
leong2084
post Apr 28 2010, 09:09 AM

89 posts

All good bruttha frenly biggrin.gif

Either bb soln / fishless method is good imo, but most important is to make sure that the tank is cycled before the arowana goes in biggrin.gif

hmnn Cheras lol, have to ask brutthas from around to see if they got any of that black juice to spare kakakaka

leong2084
post Apr 28 2010, 11:20 AM

89 posts

haha happy for you man, can feel your excitement and itchyness to get your tank and later your dragon!!

do take pix and let us know the updates yeah ^^
leong2084
post Apr 28 2010, 11:51 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Apr 28 2010, 10:44 PM)
ohh...i live in cheras.. lol...perhaps i can give ya some black juice...
frenly, my opinion la, i think your tank should be put in your living room if it's for feng shui purpose..coz, i think it will looks more grand, cause it will be like, when ppl enter your house, they will like, wow, big beautiful fish...and erm,

"As per the feng shui belief Arowanas are believed to possess capabilities to distinguish between an enemy and a well-wisher. It is believed that if the arowana in the aquarium shows aggression toward the visitor to house, he is an enemy; and if the fish remains calm, the visitor is a well-wisher." quote from wikipedia...

so i think living room is better for fengshui purpose..

the black juice a...i could only give ya on saturday, weekdays all work..i only back home at 10.30 everyday
hmm.gif this can be somewhat true ye know ~.~

cuz rite...i notice ar when my gf plotting to give me headache (without consciously knowing she is going to) my aro does get a bit aggressive and swim around rapidly >.<

other times when she comes in and gives me the lovely dovely wub.gif its very calm whistling.gif

hmm.gif Joking doh.gif LOL

imo just put it where you like it to be and which is most convenient for your viewing pleasure.

I dont trust all that feng sui things anymore, the feng sui practitioners these days are not the same as before.....now is like all sales feng sui type...the more you listen to them the faster your bank account money drop and the thinner your wallet gets.

The greatest feng sui of them all is your heart and mind.....believe in your instincts for we were all blessed with it right from the start and it is free!!
leong2084
post Apr 29 2010, 11:22 AM

89 posts

aiyoh its not cheap man >.<

nvr look down upon those you love and especially yourself!!
Love is priceless!!! haha

leong2084
post Apr 29 2010, 11:28 PM

89 posts

wao, nice biggrin.gif

lol mine the cc all packed in one washing bag at one corner, yours you put out with barrel design, nice looking hehe biggrin.gif

your ff kinda big oh tongue.gif
leong2084
post Apr 29 2010, 11:46 PM

89 posts

u mean when the ff go and try to eat the hikari it will make the aro go and eat the hikari and not let the ff eat it instead?
leong2084
post Apr 30 2010, 11:39 AM

89 posts

hey just wana ask you ar, for the ff rite, does it like eat like its kissing the food?

thus if the hikari sticks are floating on the water, it will go there and kiss kissss kiss kiss kisss....?
leong2084
post Apr 30 2010, 01:17 PM

89 posts

wwwwwaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh........niiiiiiiceeeeeeeee arr!!!!

y purple lights lol?

neways...do consider to cycle the tank first before adding in the arowana.

Shortest time ever in the world to cycle the tank is 1 week.

24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0532sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:52 AM