Headphones LYN Audiophile TT Discussion Thread V1, TT COMPELTED: Sep90 WB TT! NEXT?

TSEiraku
post Nov 22 2009, 02:34 PM, updated 16y ago

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Hey guys, opening a new thread here for impressions on 21 Nov's TT and also for planning of next year's event AND other events!

I can't do much yet because I have stuff to do today, but DO post your own impressions on the TT / ideas for the next meet here!

(UPDATE 13/12/09 - THREAD REORGANIZED A BIT, NOW A LITTLE BIT MORE SYSTEMATIC)

NOW PLANNING: Nothing.

NEXT GATHERING: Not yet planned.

PREVIOUSLY COMPLETED TT/MEET/GATHERING:

1) LYN Pseudo-Audiophile TT (LYP, 22/11/09) -
Impressions: HERE onwards.
Pictures: HERE.

2) Sep90 Welcome Back TT (Amcorp Mall, 11/12/09) -
Impressions: HERE onwards.
Pictures: HERE

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 13 2009, 02:30 AM
TSEiraku
post Nov 22 2009, 02:36 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

lol...
TSEiraku
post Nov 22 2009, 02:49 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Nov 22 2009, 02:45 PM)
Reposted from another thread:

I'll type some brief impressions before Eiraku updates.

-Beyer dynamics most comfortable cans ever. Referring to the DT880/DT990. I love both of them much better than the ATs. They sound pretty balanced, not as bright as I had expected. Decent tonal texture and weight. Would love to have these for casual use. HD650's death clamp is like shitttt.

-AT lots of WoW factor. W1000K has a very rich tone. Feels like fine dining. Some midrange colorization though. AD2000 on the other hand is super easy to drive on the technical level, but subjectively too airy and light tonally for my tastes.

-I still prefer the sound of the HD650 over the big cans that were there that day but I could be only half right due to the less than ideal environment in CoffeeBean.

-IMO, most of you listen too loud

-I like Compass default setup. "Boring" and airy sounding, a bit bright but this is the "signature" you get from typical folded cascode amplifiers.

-Don't have much time with the many IEMs and Earbuds. Too many a variety!!!!
Agreed on the W10VTG (corrected, thanks kuman bro)... It's like sinfully rich chocolate, and I'm one idiot who likes my chocolate to be flavoured (and my sound a tad coloured)... biggrin.gif

And about the loudness - agreed here... For me it's a side effect of too much mobile music with low-isolation IEMs (blame the PR2)... sweat.gif

And somehow I've taken a liking to the Senn signature.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 22 2009, 02:57 PM
TSEiraku
post Nov 22 2009, 09:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Waiting for bro light matter to pass me the pixxors...
TSEiraku
post Nov 23 2009, 07:14 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 23 2009, 06:31 PM)
WOOOI!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE ARE ALL THE PICTARS???

I DEMAND PICTARS!!!

PICTARS!!!

[/color]
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Patience bro... I suspect bro Light Matter is busy on his weekend off... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 23 2009, 07:15 PM
TSEiraku
post Nov 24 2009, 01:27 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

IINM, fred edi balik when the pic above was taken... sweat.gif

I'm the guy with the most ridiculous shirt... biggrin.gif

Thanks for the Pictars bro LM!
TSEiraku
post Nov 24 2009, 08:17 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Lols... Will update the FP with thar pictarz if I have the time, quite busy this week... sweat.gif

Anyhow, do continue throwing ideas for the next big TT on this here thread... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 25 2009, 02:18 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Lol... I'm always interested... Even though I'm more of an IEM guy... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 26 2009, 01:26 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Hey, the Eternas are here... biggrin.gif

Great buggers for the price... Kinda sounds like an SP1 on steroids... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 26 2009, 10:21 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Toasting them now. First Impressions: They sound great musically, but lack fine detail. The SP1 on steroids thing is actually the closest thing to the truth that I can say, lol.

Plus, they feel quite well built... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 26 2009, 10:22 PM
TSEiraku
post Nov 29 2009, 08:01 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

No problems here.

I'm aiming to cater for the IEM side of things other then taking care of the Pseudo-Can Jam thingy for next year.

Do continue talking about all things audio TT related here, will update FP accordingly!

TSEiraku
post Nov 30 2009, 02:08 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Or a hall / ballroom... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Dec 1 2009, 10:52 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I've fully committed myself to being an IEM guy, but what the heck... biggrin.gif

TT next week guys? Sep90's welcome back TT, lol... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Dec 3 2009, 11:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I'm still out on me hols, so nothing can be done as of yet... Coming back KL tomorrow though... biggrin.gif

On a side note, got myself a Hippo Shroom... Great clarity and surprising punch on the low side, really. Wanted to get the Hippo VB and ended up coming back with the Shroom - tells ya how good it is, lol.

Definitely not for the hardcore basshead though, it punches low and hard but there's like zero midbass + bass quantity is not really abundant... So the bass might sound a bit, well, lacking... sweat.gif

Though it did replace me Eternas for now, lol... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Dec 4 2009, 11:12 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I don't think bro Sep is back yet by Saturday, right?
TSEiraku
post Dec 4 2009, 10:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Dec 4 2009, 11:07 AM)
wow this thread grew until so large. Long time no update coz was too bz with my part-time job

so is the TT gonna be held next year or within this year ?
Next BIG and PROPER TT, next year... biggrin.gif

Now it's planning for "Sep90 welcome back and get poisoned TT"... laugh.gif
TSEiraku
post Dec 6 2009, 04:01 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

OMG, I knew I got sick at the most wrong of weekends... sweat.gif
TSEiraku
post Dec 7 2009, 10:14 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

As tomorrow I'm waiting for the Dell guys to come patch up my lappy... (AND I'm actually still recovering), I'd say this Saturday?

So, where do you guys think is best for a TT? Good location, less noise - preferably a cafe... hmm.gif

Where are you based Sep? I'm going to be coming from Shah Alam, so the entire Klang Valley is pretty much game... biggrin.gif

Updating FP to feature the new TT... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 7 2009, 11:09 PM
TSEiraku
post Dec 7 2009, 11:39 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Gardens somewhere? Amcorp? Sombody suggested akgmalaysia's place - need to contact him for that though...
TSEiraku
post Dec 8 2009, 10:02 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Roger, amcorp got starbucks/coffee bean leh?

0.0207sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:00 PM