129 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

ar188
post Jan 22 2008, 01:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 21 2008, 11:31 AM)
I think it depends on how long my sister's CRT TV can last.  tongue.gif  If it dies soon, then i'll hand her my current 32" Sammy R8 and get myself the PV70.
wah, some people's CRT after 30years also not kong yet wor..
cwl_ykh
post Jan 22 2008, 04:41 PM

5,114 posts

okay i will take a picture when i back home to show u all!! and i really did not notice it when i buy it!! and beside i just figure it out since im planning on to get a ps3... too bad!!
monyetbesi
post Jan 22 2008, 07:20 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 21 2008, 10:51 AM)
nyet, apa tak layan? me sat and sun seldom online lar
welwitchia, u not waiting? tempted ar?

my wife yesterday pijak my panny pv70... says the pioneer win in every aspect sad.gif
rx, wen my Dell's arrive will take pic post here can arr...
wanna show off woo....expensive liao...onli selected ensem2 guy onli can buy wor hahaha laugh.gif
everybody standback... laugh.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 23 2008, 06:52 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

Guys...between Samsung R8 and Sony Bravia (both 32 inch at RM2799 each), which would u guys recommend?

I'm planning to buy one for future consoles...Please give guidance happy.gif
prominen
post Jan 23 2008, 09:59 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 23 2008, 06:52 AM)
Guys...between Samsung R8 and Sony Bravia (both 32 inch at RM2799 each), which would u guys recommend?

I'm planning to buy one for future consoles...Please give guidance happy.gif
I think better take bravia since it can convert signal to 1080p...but it not so much different if use in 32 inch....
PhoenixByte
post Jan 23 2008, 10:03 AM

798 posts

What about Astro transmission? Which is better?
That is one of the feature that'll make my wife will agree to buy this biggrin.gif

(She said if i wanna buy PS3...better buy tv first which she can tumpang tengok smile.gif )

p/s: Prominen, r u the same prominen at Cari?
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 10:12 AM

11,809 posts

the upoconvert signal doent do anything
if i only had those option, i choose bravia too, sammy kalers just wouldnt do for me, and for astro wi ouldnt paired it with LCD, but since this is only a 32, i think not much harm done
kenny1807
post Jan 23 2008, 10:43 AM

164 posts

dude sharp aquas lc-32A53 can convert to 1080 signal??
prominen
post Jan 23 2008, 11:15 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 23 2008, 10:03 AM)
What about Astro transmission? Which is better?
That is one of the feature that'll make my wife will agree to buy this biggrin.gif

(She said if i wanna buy PS3...better buy tv first which she can tumpang tengok smile.gif )

p/s: Prominen, r u the same prominen at Cari?
yup the very same me...bout the astro thing I don't know which better since I only use my tv for gaming purposes only...

This post has been edited by prominen: Jan 23 2008, 11:27 AM
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 11:16 AM

11,809 posts

signal input nia, tats it
PhoenixByte
post Jan 23 2008, 12:29 PM

798 posts

RX,
What does nia mean? biggrin.gif

Prominen,
O..IC. I'm gaban there at Cari.

The offer lasts until Feb 28...I guess I still hv time to look around. 32 inch is so big for my living room already. BTW, If 32inch only, does it matter if I bought the cheaper Samsung ones, RM2499 (R7) and also the other cheaper one RM2299(forgot the series).
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 02:03 PM

11,809 posts

it means only/just
prominen
post Jan 23 2008, 02:41 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 23 2008, 12:29 PM)
RX,
What does nia mean? biggrin.gif

Prominen,
O..IC. I'm gaban there at Cari.

The offer lasts until Feb 28...I guess I still hv time to look around. 32 inch is so big for my living room already. BTW, If 32inch only, does it matter if I bought the cheaper Samsung ones, RM2499 (R7) and also the other cheaper one RM2299(forgot the series).
laaa kau ke gaban...angkat jer R7 tu, murah pon murah...
Lone*Wolf
post Jan 24 2008, 06:21 PM

1,442 posts

Hi Guys,

First of all, sorry if this question is in the wrong place but this thread is the closest to my question, and second, if this has been asked before, Ampun Tuankus and pls direct me to the right thread notworthy.gif

I would be getting a LCD TV soon. My question is very simple and general - which cable should I use composite or component? I know component cables are vey common and comes with any DVD players. But will buying a Composite cable enhance the picture quality (and what's the difference it makes?)

Thanks!!!

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Jan 24 2008, 06:21 PM
Gahleon
post Jan 24 2008, 07:18 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jan 24 2008, 06:21 PM)
Hi Guys,

First of all, sorry if this question is in the wrong place but this thread is the closest to my question, and second, if this has been asked before, Ampun Tuankus and pls direct me to the right thread  notworthy.gif

I would be getting a LCD TV soon.  My question is very simple and general - which cable should I use composite or component?  I know component cables are vey common and comes with any DVD players.  But will buying a Composite cable enhance the picture quality (and what's the difference it makes?)

Thanks!!!
Of course component(red,green,blue) better, the one usually come with dvd player were composite(yellow,red,white).
Or you can use a even better one which was HDMI cable if your dvd player or next gen console support it.
Lone*Wolf
post Jan 24 2008, 08:06 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Jan 24 2008, 07:18 PM)
Of course component(red,green,blue) better, the one usually come with dvd player were composite(yellow,red,white).
Or you can use a even better one which was HDMI cable if your dvd player or next gen console support it.
Thanks for the first reply, Gahleon! rclxms.gif

My old DVD Player is pre-HDMI so no HDMI ... cry.gif

Anyway, back to Composite v. Component. I think I should make it clearer that I have already got Composite cables (free with any player blush.gif ) but should i buy the Component cable since i am getting a LCD TV? Heard the cheapo component cables (sub RM100) doesn't really make much difference fr the Composite ones and that I should get the RM200-RM300 ones to really make a difference. So, question is :-

1) What improvement Component cables have (over Composite)? (Resolution? Colour?). Is it really that apparent?

2) If there is big difference, then do i need to buy so expensive Component cable? Or the 'normal' ones will do? How much is the 'reasonable' price?

Thanks again thumbup.gif

hlyshgrsyd
post Jan 24 2008, 08:19 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jan 24 2008, 08:06 PM)
Thanks for the first reply, Gahleon!  rclxms.gif

My old DVD Player is pre-HDMI so no HDMI ...  cry.gif

Anyway, back to Composite v. Component.  I think I should make it clearer that I have already got Composite cables (free with any player  blush.gif ) but should i buy the Component cable since i am getting a LCD TV?  Heard the cheapo component cables (sub RM100) doesn't really make much difference fr the Composite ones and that I should get the RM200-RM300 ones to really make a difference.  So, question is :-

1)  What improvement Component cables have (over Composite)?  (Resolution?  Colour?).  Is it really that apparent?

2)  If there is big difference, then do i need to buy so expensive Component cable?  Or the 'normal' ones will do?  How much is the 'reasonable' price?

Thanks again  thumbup.gif
Trying to help u:
1. improvement: output more higher resolution and more colour contrast
2. just buy normal one first, if satisfy & realize then spend some money to buy HDMI player laugh.gif Sure will give u more satisfaction thumbup.gif
SSJBen
post Jan 24 2008, 11:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jan 24 2008, 08:06 PM)
Thanks for the first reply, Gahleon!  rclxms.gif

My old DVD Player is pre-HDMI so no HDMI ...  cry.gif

Anyway, back to Composite v. Component.  I think I should make it clearer that I have already got Composite cables (free with any player  blush.gif ) but should i buy the Component cable since i am getting a LCD TV?  Heard the cheapo component cables (sub RM100) doesn't really make much difference fr the Composite ones and that I should get the RM200-RM300 ones to really make a difference.  So, question is :-

1)  What improvement Component cables have (over Composite)?  (Resolution?  Colour?).  Is it really that apparent?

2)  If there is big difference, then do i need to buy so expensive Component cable?  Or the 'normal' ones will do?  How much is the 'reasonable' price?

Thanks again  thumbup.gif
1) Component splits its video signals through 3 cables instead of Composite's one. More over, the point in getting Component is to enable progressive scan and it is also the bare minimum to get 720p(HD) as well. Theres really a no brainer here, getting component is the way to go. Those RM100+ or even RM300 component cables are nothing but pure rip-offs. Just go to Jalan Pasar and pick up a no-name component cable for RM20. No difference what so ever.

2) As said, avoid buying expensive component cables(hell, avoid buying expensive video cables). A generic no-name RM20 component cable does just as well as an overpriced rip-off RM200 cable. I wouldn't pay more than RM50 for a component cable though.
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 10:22 AM

11,809 posts

one thing i learned, i used my composite cables as component, just any normal RCA will do, just make sure the kaler btwn the connecting ends matches, irregardless all ur cables in single kaler
CerebralRogue
post Jan 25 2008, 11:16 AM

287 posts

Finally made the decision to plonk down some cash on the 42PV70, will be getting it sometime next week.

Yo RX, do you notice some green motion blurs when you play fast paced games like COD4? I tried it out with the 360 over HDMI at the shop and when you do quick spins you sometimes see like green color motion trails.

129 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:44 PM