DG Smart Plan for Blackberry, RM68 Unlimited BIS!
MtV
Feb 15 2010, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 15 2010, 04:22 PM) I came across this: 26. Can my supplementary line sign-up for a Blackberry plan? Yes. You can tag on a Blackberry Unlimited plan for RM58 per month. As extracted: http://www.digi.com.my/blackberry/faq.doI wonder the primary line need to come sign the paper for the supplementary line to sign up blackberry plan
wufei
Feb 15 2010, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(MtV @ Feb 15 2010, 10:03 PM) I wonder the primary line need to come sign the paper for the supplementary line to sign up blackberry plan  I think yes, because digi wont have the record of the supplementary user. They fall back on the primary
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 07:32 PM
Rise and Shine
To all DiGi BB users, I would like to know if 3GB/month is sufficient for you? I would like to seek for your opinions before subscribing to this plan, my normal usage will be Facebook, WLM, pages surfing and emails reading.
Hopefully the new Bold 2 plan will be good.
ViRaViRa
Feb 16 2010, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 16 2010, 07:32 PM) To all DiGi BB users, I would like to know if 3GB/month is sufficient for you? I would like to seek for your opinions before subscribing to this plan, my normal usage will be Facebook, WLM, pages surfing and emails reading. Hopefully the new Bold 2 plan will be good. I thought you were currently subscribed to DiGi's 3G unlimited plan? No? DiGi BIS no tethering. You will not use even half of the bandwidth coz of that. So 3GB/mth will be more than enough
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 08:03 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 07:59 PM) I thought you were currently subscribed to DiGi's 3G unlimited plan? No? DiGi BIS no tethering. You will not use even half of the bandwidth coz of that. So 3GB/mth will be more than enough  No, I'm using DiGi Campus which offers unlimited download, has no 3GB or whatsoever restriction.  Alright, that sounds good.  How does the monthly quota calculation taken into account? Errm. Me pretty new to this BB thingy, can I say that I can't use my DiGi 3G on BB? I must subscribe to BIS? Because both are using different platforms?
ViRaViRa
Feb 16 2010, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 16 2010, 08:03 PM) No, I'm using DiGi Campus which offers unlimited download, has no 3GB or whatsoever restriction.  Alright, that sounds good.  How does the monthly quota calculation taken into account? Errm. Me pretty new to this BB thingy, can I say that I can't use my DiGi 3G on BB? I must subscribe to BIS? Because both are using different platforms?  It is same like DiGi 3G - 1 month starting from your billing date Yes, you need to subscribe to BIS to enjoy the "push" features  In a way, you will enjoy it, coz other than e-mails, features like facebook / MSN Messenger / Yahoo! IM etc are equally great & I am always connected ( I don't have problems like how I faced in my Nokia E71). This post has been edited by ViRaViRa: Feb 16 2010, 08:18 PM
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 08:47 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 08:14 PM) It is same like DiGi 3G - 1 month starting from your billing date Yes, you need to subscribe to BIS to enjoy the "push" features  In a way, you will enjoy it, coz other than e-mails, features like facebook / MSN Messenger / Yahoo! IM etc are equally great & I am always connected ( I don't have problems like how I faced in my Nokia E71). So in which way does the 3GB quota will be utilised? Let's say if I stream a video from Youtube? Will that 3GB taken into calculation upon my streaming? You are always connected to those messengers, will those take up 3GB quota too?
ViRaViRa
Feb 16 2010, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 16 2010, 08:47 PM) So in which way does the 3GB quota will be utilised? Let's say if I stream a video from Youtube? Will that 3GB taken into calculation upon my streaming? You are always connected to those messengers, will those take up 3GB quota too?  There is no proper indication whether video streaming is part of the 3Gb bandwidth because it uses totally different APN & not under BIS. (so at the moment you can assume that it is part of the 3Gb  ) As for e-mails & being connected to messengers 24 hours, it will not finish up your 3Gb quota. This is because, there is no activity (download/upload) while your messenger is left idle. It starts using your bandwith when you are chatting/connecting etc.
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 09:02 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 08:55 PM) There is no proper indication whether video streaming is part of the 3Gb bandwidth because it uses totally different APN & not under BIS. (so at the moment you can assume that it is part of the 3Gb  Â ) As for e-mails & being connected to messengers 24 hours, it will not finish up your 3Gb quota. This is because, there is no activity (download/upload) while your messenger is left idle. It starts using your bandwith when you are chatting/connecting etc. Alright, that clears up all my doubts.  I'm quite convinced with the 3GB FUP.  I shall anticipate the Bold 2 plan which will roll out on 1st March.  Last question will be is EDGE speed good enough for BB? My hometown only has DiGi EDGE, so will it have very significant difference? My DiGi Internet has very big difference la, it is like turtle speed back in hometown now.  p/s: It is 3GB not 3Gb. B = Byte. b = bit. 1 Byte = 8 bits This post has been edited by fruitie: Feb 16 2010, 09:04 PM
ViRaViRa
Feb 16 2010, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 16 2010, 09:02 PM) Alright, that clears up all my doubts.  I'm quite convinced with the 3GB FUP.  I shall anticipate the Bold 2 plan which will roll out on 1st March.  Last question will be is EDGE speed good enough for BB? My hometown only has DiGi EDGE, so will it have very significant difference? My DiGi Internet has very big difference la, it is like turtle speed back in hometown now.  p/s: It is 3GB not 3Gb. B = Byte. b = bit. 1 Byte = 8 bits  Sorry, I think you are wrong. It is actually 3Gb & not 3GB  Image below is for your reference. [attachmentid=1446257] EDGE is good enough for everything except for heavy internet surfing. Choosing Bold 2 is definitely a good choice as you can set it to 2G mode if you are not going to do heavy surfing. I wanted to buy Bold 2 as well but the price is..
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 10:24 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 09:39 PM) Sorry, I think you are wrong. It is actually 3Gb & not 3GB  Image below is for your reference. [attachmentid=1446257] EDGE is good enough for everything except for heavy internet surfing. Choosing Bold 2 is definitely a good choice as you can set it to 2G mode if you are not going to do heavy surfing. I wanted to buy Bold 2 as well but the price is..  I'm sure it is a typo, it is impossible to be 3Gb, even its DiGi Internet is 3GB.  3Gb is way too little.  All telcos are offering GB and none of them is offering Gb.   I hope the plan package will be good.
ViRaViRa
Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 16 2010, 10:24 PM) I'm sure it is a typo, it is impossible to be 3Gb, even its DiGi Internet is 3GB.  3Gb is way too little.  All telcos are offering GB and none of them is offering Gb.   I hope the plan package will be good.  Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)
fruitie
Feb 16 2010, 11:21 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM) Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)  Totally understood, will call them for clarification and talk to my friend who is the webmaster for DiGi homepage.  If 3Gb really  everyone will exceed the usage.
zero_hour
Feb 16 2010, 11:51 PM
im getting bb also,but maybe with celcom rm1/day,..add my yeah fruite
friedbeef
Feb 18 2010, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM) Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)  Actually hor... after 3GB they just throttle to EDGE-like speed... so technically it's unlimited usage at no extra charge....especially if you're on an 8520, which is EDGE all the time anyway.... so its completely seamless unlimited usage even after 3 GB... *woo hoo* Added on February 19, 2010, 12:04 pmQUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM) Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)  Yalo must typo la...I went back and check and they fix it to 3GB already. This post has been edited by friedbeef: Feb 19 2010, 12:04 PM
SUSLYW
Feb 19 2010, 08:07 PM

eh guys. so i can sign up for a 30ringgit digi postpaid then suscribe this ah? No need buy the bb from them ?
friedbeef
Feb 20 2010, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(LYW @ Feb 19 2010, 08:07 PM) eh guys. so i can sign up for a 30ringgit digi postpaid then suscribe this ah? No need buy the bb from them ? Don't even need to sign up for ANY postpaid plan la... straight can buy the data plan. Then with that data plan you can make calls with no minimum commitment. I advise you not to take the DG RM 30 plan if you wanna sign BB. DG Smartplan is a better deal... much cheaper for u. No need to buy device from them if you already have one.
Juan86
Feb 23 2010, 07:52 AM
DG Smart Plan for Blackberry
This post has been edited by Juan86: Feb 27 2010, 05:10 PM
llmcso
Feb 24 2010, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(Juan86 @ Feb 23 2010, 07:52 AM) My doubt : For blackberry plan i need to commit monthly rm58 + call charges ? but if i get an Iphone i need to commit rm58(internet) + rm50 (call plan) + call charges ? am i correct ? yup...."call charges" only apply if your usage exceed the RM50 commitment