DG Smart Plan for Blackberry, RM68 Unlimited BIS!
friedbeef
Jan 19 2010, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(petepix @ Jan 18 2010, 11:36 PM) according to DiGi_Telco yes, because u will have to use other APN to get connected, coz blackberry.net won't work Just to clear the air abit from my 2weeks experience using Digi BIS 'Unlimited' their so call unlimited is only for access directly using the BlackBerry DEVICE and also MUST use APN: blackberry.net any other settings u will kena CHARGE PayAsYouUse (PAYU) including tethering, etc. i hv written a complain to them, stating other Telcos don't have such limitation. And this is such an inconvenience if one day your BB send for repair, u can't surf on other type of smartphones. (can surf but under PAYU plan) History has reveal to us, sending in a BB for fixing could take up to 4 month if u unlucky, only some lucky chaps manage to get a 1-1 swap You can YouTube for free under the digistrm APN, but yeah the tethering has a PAYU charge at the moment... but still without tethering is HALF the price of the other telcos. For fixing BB - I believe digi practice is always 1 for 1 swap so you shouldn't have that problem with inconvenience.
friedbeef
Jan 20 2010, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jan 19 2010, 08:57 PM) I am wondering, if I am a PAYU user and using non-BB device, can I use blackberry or digistrm APN in order to have unlimited internet? Nope, according to the FAQ on the site, it's only for BB device. Can I use the DG Smart Plan for Blackberry on another phone? No, at this point, you cannot. The unlimited data in the DG Smart Plan for Blackberry only applies for data used on a Blackberry, not by other devices. Please choose a suitable plan here if you wish to have unlimited data on another phone http://www.digi.com.my/internet/3g/index.html DO NOT use the diginet APN on a Blackberry or you will be charged 10sen/10kb
friedbeef
Jan 25 2010, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(debugger @ Jan 25 2010, 12:11 PM) Hi guys, based on the DiGi FAQ, it's definitely included as part of the package. http://www.digi.com.my/whatshot/promotions...berry/faq.do#33 Can I use YouTube on the Blackberry? Yes you can. Unlimited YouTube streaming is included as part of your Blackberry plan. In order to set up YouTube, please follow these instructions. Press: Menu → Options → Advanced Options → TCP/IP → Tick the checkbox to enable APN (If you see it) and type in digistrm in your APN. Leave the username and password blank. DO NOT use the diginet APN on a Blackberry or you will be charged 10sen/10kb
friedbeef
Jan 26 2010, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(cda @ Jan 26 2010, 12:31 PM) guys, im a celcom user now. am considering to buy bold2 with celcom (set only) and switch to digiberry. but when i check with digi, reception in my house area is not dat ok. should i proceed with digi or subscribe to celcom? celcom mahaaall maa! rm98 permonth. need ideas or recommendations.. tq DiGi of course. RM58 vs RM98 no contest.
friedbeef
Jan 29 2010, 07:03 AM

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jan 28 2010, 10:29 PM) I am still not sure what will be the consequences if I left the APN blank. Apparently blackberry.net APN will be pushed to the phone when your BIS is activated. There is no place to set it as blackberry.net or change it. So don't worry about leaving the APN blank. Based on my reading, the APN settings is the advanced options menu is just alternate an APN to support services which RIM doesn't support like YouTube. So to watch youtube, you got to set your APN as digistrm. Telcos like Starhub even charges for YouTube becos it uses a different APN, but DiGi giving free la if you use the digistrm APN. This post has been edited by friedbeef: Jan 29 2010, 07:23 AM
friedbeef
Jan 29 2010, 07:50 AM

QUOTE(debugger @ Jan 29 2010, 07:47 AM) no..mine still charge eventhough changed APN to digistream..but they said will waived for next bill... I think yours exceptional case, not the norm, cos they were quite upfront in the FAQ that it is was part of the RM58, & that's why they waive your bill. This post has been edited by friedbeef: Jan 29 2010, 07:51 AM
friedbeef
Jan 30 2010, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Jan 30 2010, 11:44 AM) this plan really caught my eye. was hoping i could use unlimited email anywhere, so can email with my gf in sg, replacing our IDD sms that actually cost up to about Rm100+ per month at least. but then after what the TnC showed.. that its only free if the accesspoint is blackberry.net.. im having second thoughts.. is anyone using this DG smart plan paying ONLY rm58 for their bb usage? Im guessing blackberry.net APN isnt very accessible, or its laggy.. in the end we have to use their APN - diginet, no? Bb users please share your experience! Really appreciate it guys.. thanks  No, ALL BlackBerry services for all telcos in the world use the BlackBerry.net APN unless its for services it does not support like YouTube. Don't use diginet, use digistrm APN as officially stated by DiGi. BlackBerry APN is what runs all your push services, it also compresses data, caches it, and optimizes it and is not laggy at all. It's what makes the BlackBerry device such a joy to use
friedbeef
Feb 1 2010, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(xsi @ Feb 1 2010, 10:47 AM) sorry if this is not the right thread... planning to go for digi, since it is the cheapest...so far.. but contemplating between 8900 jave and 9630 tour...one with wifi only, and the other 1 with 3g only.. which 1 shud i go for if going for digi? My concern with no 3g is the browsing might be slow...? or is it Digi offer does not have 3g? sorry...i'm on Maxis Iphone with has everything...almost...  DiGi's 58 bucks plan is 3G compatible, no extra charges - but of course you only gonna get 3G IF your BlackBerry is capable of doing 3G la
friedbeef
Feb 12 2010, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(rmage @ Feb 12 2010, 11:03 AM) Does this mean we'll need to change to "digistrm.net" all the time whether we're watching youtube or not? Or "digistrm" for BB and "digistrm.net" for youtubing?  BB services by default always use blackberry.net APN (Its not listed in the advanced options - so don't look there - its in the phone by default you can't change it). If it is a service not supported by blackberry.net (like youtube), then it will go look for other APNs you have specified... like digistrm So ya digistrm only for youtube and other streaming services ...no such thing as digistrm.net
friedbeef
Feb 18 2010, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM) Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)  Actually hor... after 3GB they just throttle to EDGE-like speed... so technically it's unlimited usage at no extra charge....especially if you're on an 8520, which is EDGE all the time anyway.... so its completely seamless unlimited usage even after 3 GB... *woo hoo* Added on February 19, 2010, 12:04 pmQUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 16 2010, 11:03 PM) Maybe. I am sharing based on what I see as I do not want to mislead others (who knows, DiGi is actually only offering 3Gb for their BIS)  Yalo must typo la...I went back and check and they fix it to 3GB already. This post has been edited by friedbeef: Feb 19 2010, 12:04 PM
friedbeef
Feb 20 2010, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(LYW @ Feb 19 2010, 08:07 PM) eh guys. so i can sign up for a 30ringgit digi postpaid then suscribe this ah? No need buy the bb from them ? Don't even need to sign up for ANY postpaid plan la... straight can buy the data plan. Then with that data plan you can make calls with no minimum commitment. I advise you not to take the DG RM 30 plan if you wanna sign BB. DG Smartplan is a better deal... much cheaper for u. No need to buy device from them if you already have one.
friedbeef
Mar 26 2010, 06:42 AM

Smartplan. DG30 rates are more expensive and you have an RM30 commitment on voice.
Smartplan rates are cheaper and you have RM0 commitment on voice
Yes you should be able to MNP to subscribe... best plan on the market
friedbeef
Jun 9 2010, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Jun 8 2010, 11:16 AM) Diginet. else u can call digi help line to double confirm. I've confirmed with their customer service that it's diginet for RM68 packages, and digistrm for the older RM58 packages.
friedbeef
Jun 16 2010, 03:58 AM

No long term impact but depending on your intensity of use you will use your battery more than just using it for texting and calls, just like any other phone
friedbeef
Jun 28 2010, 10:25 PM

Digi of course... The smart plan also got discounts when your bill pass rm100.. The monthly commitment is crazy cheap
friedbeef
Jun 30 2010, 05:53 PM

DG Smartplan also can have subline ma... call your gf unlimited hours too  DG50 has 50 bucks voice commitment. DG Smartplan has zero voice commitment. Damn kau cheap
friedbeef
Jul 3 2010, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 3 2010, 04:31 PM) I've used the wordpress app for BB. Well, I don't prefer to use that. If your blog is less complicated ( a very simple blog) & you are familiar with codings, then you may give a try. My preferred way to blog on BlackBerry would be to use posterous, which can link to your wordpress. Turns your email into an awesome blog editor.
friedbeef
Jul 4 2010, 08:40 PM

Unless its a carrier locked or networked locked phone should be no issue. I've heard Verizon sets are giving problems with DiGi Maxis AND Celcom. I think best to avoid them at all costs.