Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

etigge
post Jun 1 2010, 12:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Jun 1 2010, 09:26 AM)
I found a snorkeling package <Whole day on Reef Platform/250m from Pulau Payar beach>, include:
hotel pick up & return
fresh water shower
snorkeling gears/equipments
changing room
buffet lunch
insurance coverage
rides in glass bottom boat
Catamaran
underwater chamber viewing
sundeck
RM195/adult. Is this worth?
It is OK as this is the Langkawi Coral package. They have their own catamaran and the boat ride is better than the lousy tin can ferries of the Sarawakian operators. Even the Sarawakian operators charge RM130 per pax and they give lousy lunches. So I think your package is OK. smile.gif
reddevil04
post Jun 1 2010, 03:47 PM

70 posts

Great stuff reading this thread. Great tips and experience from those who have been there. I'll be heading that way next week during school break
with my kids and have thought of taking them for the snorkelling experience.

There are two package available for Pulau Payar snorkelling. One is on the beach which is cheaper with packet lunch and the other is on a platform with
buffet lunch which cost more. Appreciate if someone who have had snorkelling trip to Pulau Payar suggest which is better, the beach package or the platform package?

As for the snorkelling equipments, do they have those snorkelling mask with power lenses for shortsighted people like me?

This post has been edited by reddevil04: Jun 1 2010, 03:48 PM
etigge
post Jun 1 2010, 10:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(reddevil04 @ Jun 1 2010, 03:47 PM)
Great stuff reading this thread. Great tips and experience from those who have been there. I'll be heading that way next week during school break
with my kids and have thought of taking them for the snorkelling experience.

There are two package available for Pulau Payar snorkelling. One is on the beach which is cheaper with packet lunch and the other is on a platform with
buffet lunch which cost more. Appreciate if someone who have had snorkelling trip to Pulau Payar suggest which is better, the beach package or the platform package?

As for the snorkelling equipments, do they have those snorkelling mask with power lenses for shortsighted people like me?

Off course the package provided by Langkawi Coral is better. They were formerly operated by Eden Group but it has changed hands now. They have their own catamaran for the trip from Kuah Jetty to Pulau Payar. The other operator use the ferries they used for the Kuala Kedah Langkawi, steel boats from Sarawak. Very uncomfortable and cramped. The catamaran of Langkawi Coral allows you to stand at ferry's rear and top deck when cruising, a plus point for those who are prone to seasick and also good for smokers tongue.gif

They also have their private floating poontoon with glass windows for underwater viewing and glass bottom boats. I think their meal is better and they do provide boat rides to the shore.

I don't think they have prescription goggles or mask for short sighted but anyway underwater the sights are magnified so I think you should be able to see. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 1 2010, 10:46 PM
ckuanglim
post Jun 2 2010, 08:56 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(reddevil04 @ Jun 1 2010, 03:47 PM)
You can contact info@gholiday.com for snorkelling package. I'm planning to go for snorkeling on 19June, how about you?
reddevil04
post Jun 2 2010, 09:18 AM

70 posts

Thanks etigge for your info.

I've pre-book the package B, which is to the beach and may consider reverting to the package A based on your info. However for a family of 4, it can be a bit
costly. But based on your info, I think it may worth every penny. nod.gif

ckuanglim,

I'll be heading there this weekend and taking the kids for the snorkelling experience. biggrin.gif
ckuanglim
post Jun 2 2010, 11:28 AM

595 posts

reddevil04,
Which agent that you booking for the snorkeling? How is the package and the price? I also not yet decide which package to go for...
reddevil04
post Jun 2 2010, 12:22 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ckuanglim @ Jun 2 2010, 11:28 AM)
reddevil04,
Which agent that you booking for the snorkeling? How is the package and the price? I also not yet decide which package to go for...
I got the package from my regular agent in Langkawi which I normally hire a car when I'm there for business. You can PM me and I'll be happy to pass you
the contact.
ckuanglim
post Jun 7 2010, 09:20 AM

595 posts

I got some friends here said mangrove tour can hire at either Tg Rhu or the Kilim Mangrove Tour jetty. Anyone know the price for full tour including mangrove and river cruise, bat cave, Barn Thai Restaurant for meals..?
TSstimix
post Jun 7 2010, 10:45 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

From the latest malfreemaps, Barnthai already classified as 'Closed"

From the mangrove jetty not far from Perdana Gallery, the boat package is ~ Rm180/boat (~ 2007)
etigge
post Jun 7 2010, 12:01 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 7 2010, 10:45 AM)
From the latest malfreemaps, Barnthai already classified as 'Closed"

From the mangrove jetty not far from Perdana Gallery, the boat package is ~ Rm180/boat (~ 2007)
sad.gif Barn Thai ...........sigh! Nice restaurant but lousy management. YTL doesn't want to give commission to boat operators for bringing guest but only allow them a meal for a boat load. How many times can a boat operator eat a day. That's why boat operators avoids Barn Thai. Are you sure they are closed? Anyway they were there since the first LIMA was organised. Been a long time and making a loss most of the times.

Some other management shuld take over the operations. Is is such a waste and it is the only restaurant with such concept.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 7 2010, 12:02 PM
TSstimix
post Jun 7 2010, 12:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, Not really sure. Just got the info from the latest malfreemaps:

Skidd Chung
post Jun 7 2010, 04:42 PM

479 posts

Just came back from a 4D3N trip to Langkawi.

Cable car - Skywalk was closed for maintenance when I went up on Wednesday afternoon, but cable car can still take to the top.
Rented car from Teluk Yu car rental at the airport, RM200 for Wira Auto for my entire stay there, petrol was at "E" though.
Cenang beach was nice, but a bit dirty in the evening even though beach was deserted, found 1 dead jellyfish on the beach and a large fish as well.
Light rain experienced in the morning only on 2 out of 4 days there, after 11am would be sunny. So morning very cooling around the beach and pool.

Makan at :

Orkid Seafood at Cenang for dinner, nice restaurant and service is fast. Crowded even on weekday while the rest of the other restaurant like empty, recommended but order less for 2 persons because sometimes the fish is too big for 2 people to finish. Rice for 2 people they give 1 large bowl, so can't finish also. Steam fish Teochew style was tasteless, but the tiger prawn, oyster omelette and lobster was fresh and good. Next time I go I wouldn't order the tiger prawns and will settle for normal prawns because at RM16/100gm, the tiger prawns not really worth it to eat too much. Their normal prawns size all quite big as well so might as well settle for that for more pieces to eat.

Putumayo Restaurant for dinner, Very fast service and nicer ambience and environment. Food presentation is good and waiters are fantastic. Price about 5% more than Orkid. Recommended for couples and small groups. Food is very nice except the kung pau chicken we ordered, the chicken meat was tough although the sauce taste is nice. Overall a great dining experience.

Artisan's Pizza takeaway dinner, pizza is good but a bit pricy compared to Pizza hut. Small pizza enough for 2, large pizza enough for 3-4, but better eat at Orkid if all big eaters. Liked it but I think money is better spent on seafood to be honest compared to a pricy pizza.

Viva Italia for lunch, at night this place looks nice with their warm lighting. But we came for lunch a bit bright coz got no shades/blinds and the walls look like it needs a fresh coat of paint. No air-con, just fan so be prepared to sweat during lunch if the fan not facing you. Just had pasta here and it was good, price similar to what you expect to pay at TGIF for a plate of pasta. Don't really recommend this to be honest since it isn't anything special. No draft beer.

Laksa Kedah/utara/power etc. Street vendors normally sells these beside the roads with their cendol pulut. Tried and loved the Laksa power located near the airport facing the sea. Driving down from airport to Cenang, their stall will be parked on the right hand side of the road. Go to the one with most people eating. Ate this 3 times during my stay there. Tip, don't eat in hotel room as the fish smell is very strong.

rockasd
post Jun 7 2010, 06:15 PM

93 posts

want to ask. if i rent the car, is the car come with full petrol ?
idunnolol
post Jun 7 2010, 07:57 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(rockasd @ Jun 7 2010, 06:15 PM)
want to ask. if i rent the car, is the car come with full petrol ?
You buy car from showroom got full tank or not?
Putraskyline
post Jun 7 2010, 08:21 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jun 7 2010, 07:57 PM)
You buy car from showroom got full tank or not?
Sometimes got rclxm9.gif
idunnolol
post Jun 7 2010, 08:41 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jun 7 2010, 08:21 PM)
Sometimes got rclxm9.gif
buy from potong see got or not rclxms.gif , Btw putra, The contact you have for car rental, He have cheapskate car like kancil and wira or not
Chester
post Jun 7 2010, 08:49 PM

2,380 posts

hi guys, have you tried buffet in pelangi before? how was the taste and price?
Putraskyline
post Jun 7 2010, 09:07 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jun 7 2010, 08:41 PM)
buy from potong see got or not  rclxms.gif , Btw putra, The contact you have for car rental, He have cheapskate car like kancil and wira or not
He dont have but my friend rent Kancil from his friend before. Rm45/day.
anchovies93
post Jun 7 2010, 11:30 PM

902 posts

Am in langkawi. Can PM me for advise.

Added on June 7, 2010, 11:30 pmNot that i know so much . LOL

This post has been edited by anchovies93: Jun 7 2010, 11:30 PM
idunnolol
post Jun 7 2010, 11:52 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jun 7 2010, 09:07 PM)
He dont have but my friend rent Kancil from his friend before. Rm45/day.
Can you PM me his contact number and name?

126 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:36 AM