Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

hueyseng84
post May 26 2010, 11:11 AM

881 posts

QUOTE(phenally @ May 25 2010, 03:08 PM)
anyone tried the mangroove tour?
How much is it per person and how long will the tour takes?
WHere to book it?
yeah, wanted to know bout this too...
but i think we can book it some where @ Kilim Jetty?

how long is the duration of the tour?
falcon27
post May 26 2010, 11:18 AM

38 posts

I just come back from Langkawi.
Just want to share a little thing about car rental.
Please be very careful when renting a car. Make sure the you have the official receipt from the counter.
I rented a Viva Auto for 3D2N for RM160.
At first i try to naggle and trying to get a kancil for RM120. He say have and give me a simple receipt. But he din tell me the kancil don't have permit. After i call the car owner then only know the car is not permit. So i go back to airport and get the viva.
To easier recognize, those car have a company logo on the body means is legal. Those don't have logo means not legal.
So good luck on renting car.
phenally
post May 26 2010, 11:33 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(falcon27 @ May 26 2010, 11:18 AM)
I just come back from Langkawi.
Just want to share a little thing about car rental.
Please be very careful when renting a car. Make sure the you have the official receipt from the counter.
I rented a Viva Auto for 3D2N for RM160.
At first i try to naggle and trying to get a kancil for RM120. He say have and give me a simple receipt. But he din tell me the kancil don't have permit. After i call the car owner then only know the car is not permit. So i go back to airport and get the viva.
To easier recognize, those car have a company logo on the body means is legal. Those don't have logo means not legal.
So good luck on renting car.
that is kinda expensive for viva at 160 !! shakehead.gif

I wonder what car i can get if its around 70 per day .
etigge
post May 26 2010, 02:28 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ May 26 2010, 11:11 AM)
yeah, wanted to know bout this too...
but i think we can book it some where @ Kilim Jetty?

how long is the duration of the tour?
biggrin.gif The tours is exactly what it says, you cruise in the mangrove riverways of Kilim/Kisap. They will take you cave exploring (albeit a short one) to look at bats, visit fish farms, eagle feeding and thru cave cruise if the tide is low. The limestone hills are magnificient if you never do it before. Another attraction is lunch in either Barn Thai Restaurant or on a fish farm cum floating restaurant but it must be arranged with the boatman.

Another more comprehensive package includes a boat ride out into the open sea to the islands in front of Tg.Rhu off Tg.Rhu Resort and 4 Seasons Resort to do a bit of fishing and swimming or snorkelling on a deserted island. It helps if you have an ultra zoom camera or binoculars as they will also take to to see flying foxes resting upside down hanging on the trees on one of the island. You can also opt for light fishing on one of these islands.

The basic tour on the first paragraph is about 2 to 3 hours (excluding lunch) and the latter takes about 5 - 6 hours.

The main jetty of this activity is Kilim Jetty (behind Galleria) in Jalan Kisap but you can also book it in Keng Chuan Motors behind CIMB bank in Kuah. This one is a bit higher in price but understandable as they depart from Kuah jetty and the boat ride is longer cruising through more waterways hence could be more entertaining. Thier boats are bigger and more comfortable, ask for their 32 footer Gulf Crafts. tongue.gif
falcon27
post May 26 2010, 02:45 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(phenally @ May 26 2010, 11:33 AM)
that is kinda expensive for viva at 160 !!  shakehead.gif

I wonder what car i can get if its around 70 per day .
Yes, about the JPJ catching. It is true but however those legal counter you found inside the airport is already allies with those illegal car rental people.
So normally if you want to book for a legal kancil(M) for RM60/70 per day, you need to base on your luck. If the car is still available. And base on the counter people say, those kancil is very old.. normally is more than 10 years. So the condition you need to consider. If you still bargine too much then they will give you those illegal car.
For me, i rather pay more exp to get a nicer and legal car instead of getting a cheap car but have many problem along the way which will ruin the trip eventually.
For my earlier budget for renting a car is RM100-RM120 for a Kancil. But after i come back from Langkawi, I no regret paying more RM40 in renting the legal Viva as it is a really nice and new car with nice air condition. With Auto transmission and also it is small, so car parking is very easy for me.

So for money or value, judge by yourself.

fyi, i got another offer that time. Wira(M) = RM150. But i still pick Viva as it is smaller and is auto. smile.gif
Putraskyline
post May 26 2010, 05:32 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(falcon27 @ May 26 2010, 02:45 PM)
Yes, about the JPJ catching. It is true but however those legal counter you found inside the airport is already allies with those illegal car rental people.
So normally if you want to book for a legal kancil(M) for RM60/70 per day, you need to base on your luck. If the car is still available. And base on the counter people say, those kancil is very old.. normally is more than 10 years. So the condition you need to consider.  If you still bargine too much then they will give you those illegal car.
For me, i rather pay more exp to get a nicer and legal car instead of getting a cheap car but have many problem along the way which will ruin the trip eventually.
For my earlier budget for renting a car is RM100-RM120 for a Kancil. But after i come back from Langkawi, I no regret paying more RM40 in renting the legal Viva as it is a really nice and new car with nice air condition. With Auto transmission and also it is small, so car parking is very easy for me.

fyi, i got another offer that time. Wira(M) = RM150. But i still pick Viva as it is smaller and is auto. smile.gif
Goshh.....Why your rate so expensive? Its not on peak season, even Kasina also can get RM150/day for Wira at The Andaman.
ozak
post May 26 2010, 05:46 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(falcon27 @ May 26 2010, 02:45 PM)
So normally if you want to book for a legal kancil(M) for RM60/70 per day, you need to base on your luck. If the car is still available. And base on the counter people say, those kancil is very old.. normally is more than 10 years. So the condition you need to consider.  If you still bargine too much then they will give you those illegal car.

It is still too expensive. I pay rm80/day for a iswara during peak period CNY.

It doesn't matter what car to me. As I want to use it as point A to point B. I rather use the extra money for a nice room, food and beer. thumbup.gif
walio75
post May 26 2010, 06:12 PM

hmmm.. any recommendation for van rental (12 seater)? company or contact number ? Planning to rent for 3 days 2 night for this coming school holiday..

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by walio75: May 26 2010, 06:12 PM
Chester
post May 26 2010, 08:34 PM

2,380 posts

last year i 4d3n new savvy oni rm110..
Putraskyline
post May 27 2010, 02:01 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Some photo of my last week Langkawi trip. Sorry, I don't go anywhere except food.

Chester
post May 27 2010, 07:15 AM

2,380 posts

Putra, which hotel is that? going next month, havent book room tongue.gif
ckuanglim
post May 27 2010, 10:19 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 27 2010, 07:15 AM)
I'm going in June also.

This post has been edited by ckuanglim: May 27 2010, 02:15 PM
falcon27
post May 27 2010, 10:30 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 26 2010, 05:46 PM)
It is still too expensive. I pay rm80/day for a iswara during peak period CNY.

It doesn't matter what car to me. As I want to use it as point A to point B. I rather use the extra money for a nice room, food and beer.  thumbup.gif
I think you all had misunderstand me. For my Viva RM160 is for 3D2N. Not for per day. And my travel time is reach airport at 8.30am and go back on 3.30pm. Total of 55 hours. So is about RM65 per day.

This post has been edited by falcon27: May 27 2010, 10:32 AM
runemastertan
post May 27 2010, 10:40 AM

1,221 posts

Hi all. I will be going to Langkawi this Sat. I have looked around this thread and I did not found any answer so here;s my question.

Which shop sells original (not fake) liquor? We all know that Langkawi are full of fake liquor and only a handful of them sells the original. Speculations I got is the cheapest are usually fake, but I am not sure. Anyone who bought liquor there before, can you please help me?

Thanks a lot
TSstimix
post May 27 2010, 10:50 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Got fake liquor meh?? Most of the liquor there having almost similar pricing..well wth abit +- few $$.. I din notice any fake liquor there..well probabaly I'm too naive to differentiate & furthermore me alim type...haha dun really drink..

All reputable supermarket for sure genuine loh..such as wawasan, zeno Teoh Soon Huat, Kangkawi saga & etc..
wilson88
post May 27 2010, 10:55 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I was at Langkawi on 24-26 May (Non peak season). I rented an Avanza 1.5(A) for Rm100 per day.

Not sure someone has mentioned this before, you can save about Rm2 if you purchase the voucher from the tourism agency along Pantai Chenang for Underwater World and Cable Car ride.

Point of Interest which I think you should not waste your time there :
1) Crocodile Farm (Entrance fee: Rm10)
2) Beras Bakar
3) Black Sand Beach

POI which is highly recommended by me :
1) Cable car
2) Deer and Rabbit feeding @ Oriental Village (Entrance free but animal food is sold at Rm1 per packet, I enjoy feeding the deers tongue.gif)
3) Wildlife Park/Bird Park
4) Tanjung Rhu beach for sunset

etigge
post May 27 2010, 11:48 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ May 27 2010, 10:40 AM)
Hi all. I will be going to Langkawi this Sat. I have looked around this thread and I did not found any answer so here;s my question.

Which shop sells original (not fake) liquor? We all know that Langkawi are full of fake liquor and only a handful of them sells the original. Speculations I got is the cheapest are usually fake, but I am not sure. Anyone who bought liquor there before, can you please help me?

Thanks a lot
There are fakes and we can't guess which sells and which don't. But then again liquor licence is very hard to obtain and they don't really want to take the risk. One shop I don't recommend is Saga Shopping. They have outlets in Pulau Tioman too in fact they are the owner of KPLFS ferry services. They were the ones that made a huge ruckus in Tioman regarding the building of the jetty there.

It is more about what brand to avoid rather than what shop to avoid. All shops sells genuine liquor but sometimes one or two popular brand or type (eg. cordon Bleu) becomes flooded with fakes. The other day someone said they sell Johhy Walker with and without boxes meaning the syndicates are collecting boxes and bottles. They don't appear often anyway and because they are in 1 litre bottles as opposed to 75cl. on mainland, bottles are hard to obtain.

tongue.gif Or buy the 3 litre bottles, guaranteed no fakes. Got to pay tax though and they don't allow you to share entitlement. Eg. Me and GF, two person so 2 litres of liquor. They don't work that way. One person one bottle so 3 litres you pay for the extra 2 litres. tongue.gif

On the safe side, don't buy brandy or whisky, go for premium vodka, gin, liquers and that can guarantee that there are no fakes. Have you tried Belvedere Vodka thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: May 27 2010, 11:49 AM
ckuanglim
post May 27 2010, 12:01 PM

595 posts

I'm going in June, haven't book hotel. I'm looking for a budget room with double bed, A/C, attach bathroom with hot shower. Any suggestion? Thanks in advance.
runemastertan
post May 27 2010, 12:07 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2010, 11:48 AM)
There are fakes and we can't guess which sells and which don't. But then again liquor licence is very hard to obtain and they don't really want to take the risk. One shop I don't recommend is Saga Shopping. They have outlets in Pulau Tioman too in fact they are the owner of KPLFS ferry services. They were the ones that made a huge ruckus in Tioman regarding the building of the jetty there.

It is more about what brand to avoid rather than what shop to avoid. All shops sells genuine liquor but sometimes  one or two popular brand or type (eg. cordon Bleu) becomes flooded with fakes. The other day someone said they sell Johhy Walker with and without boxes meaning the syndicates are collecting boxes and bottles. They don't appear often anyway and because they are in 1 litre bottles as opposed to 75cl. on mainland, bottles are hard to obtain.

tongue.gif Or buy the 3 litre bottles, guaranteed no fakes. Got to pay tax though and they don't allow you to share entitlement. Eg. Me and GF, two person so 2 litres of liquor. They don't work that way. One person one bottle so 3 litres you pay for the extra 2 litres. tongue.gif

On the safe side, don't buy brandy or whisky, go for premium vodka, gin, liquers and that can guarantee that there are no fakes. Have you tried Belvedere Vodka  thumbup.gif
Thanks a lot for your insight.

No, i haven't. I am planning on the Smirnoff No.21 Vodka and Bacardi White Rum. I got a 1L Bols Blue Curacao before from Langkawi, and the only taste I can feel is the alcohol. But in accordance with what you said, Bols seems to be the cheapest among blue curacao, hence what I get. OR, I tasted wrong, since I didn;t have the opportunity to compare.

Will go for De Kuyper or Marie Brizzard next time.
Putraskyline
post May 27 2010, 12:10 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 27 2010, 07:15 AM)
The Andaman. Nice hotel if you are not going anywhere.

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:25 AM