126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

tishaban
post Nov 30 2010, 08:26 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Nov 29 2010, 11:44 PM)
Yes, a lot nicer with detailed amenities/facilities used. Some partial seaview has done renovation and some are not.
I got the SPG partial seaview room. Maybe they did the regular rooms first? I didn't know they had renovated rooms, would've asked for it had I known.

Anyway I'll be trying out Andaman on the next trip early next year to complete the Starwood hotels in Langkawi biggrin.gif Still have enough points to go around, might as well use it up. Any tips?

Putraskyline
post Nov 30 2010, 02:58 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 30 2010, 08:26 AM)
I got the SPG partial seaview room. Maybe they did the regular rooms first? I didn't know they had renovated rooms, would've asked for it had I known.

Anyway I'll be trying out Andaman on the next trip early next year to complete the Starwood hotels in Langkawi biggrin.gif Still have enough points to go around, might as well use it up. Any tips?
Usually they will prioritized paid guest for the newly renovated room, leaving us gold or platinum behind for tired room tongue.gif

For the Andaman, you are using point to get Deluxe Rainforest? What I do is email them asking for privilege and upgrade right after I made a booking. I'm only stay there once (5nights) after Starwood takeover. Lucky at that time, I got chance to choose either Lanai or Seaview deluxe, probably because occupancy rate was low or SPG desk there does a good job for us. From what I know, normally they will upgrade till Treetop Deluxe only.
tomjonesgill
post Dec 2 2010, 05:56 AM

QUOTE(prem125z @ Nov 28 2010, 10:36 AM)
oh. can u provide hp num for car rental services? i plan to go on 3rd dec so i can book car from him  biggrin.gif
sure,, if u are going By Flight,, its the first counter in the air port,, i can get u the contact details if u want,, but my advice is,,try to bargain for cheaper price,,i heard u can go till rm 150 to rm 160 which i paid rm 180,, for that 3 days,,
stalkie
post Dec 3 2010, 11:41 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

QUOTE(McCabePlace @ Apr 25 2010, 11:03 PM)
Fresh lobster at Kauboi was RM120 for about 1kg (must pre-order) whereas this Wonderland's frozen lobster was RM150/kg!  Then they didn't know how to cook lobster or was trying to cook it in a way to cover its non-freshness!

Can't wait for my coming trip!  drool.gif
How do pre-order the lobster? Call when arrived in Langkawi? Order day can get by night or wait next day? Interested to know more since many recommend Kauboi biggrin.gif

Going this 27th Dec
etigge
post Dec 3 2010, 07:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Dec 3 2010, 11:41 AM)
How do pre-order the lobster? Call when arrived in Langkawi? Order day can get by night or wait next day? Interested to know more since many recommend Kauboi biggrin.gif

Going this 27th Dec
smile.gif Not susah mah! Lobster is available all the time. There's one suplplier that supplies live lobster to eateries. So, I don't think you have to pre-order. Sun Village in Pantai Tengah serves lobster daily. The boss is from KL named Jeffrey and most of their clientele is Japanese and as usual the guides gets a percentage. If you dine there on your own, maybe you can ask for a discount from the boss.

The whole lobster, I only like the legs, tastiest part of the lobster. I rather go for prawns in Langkawi rclxms.gif Prawns are the best there as they are caught locally.
ncj1991
post Dec 4 2010, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Aug 18 2010, 02:42 PM)
If u r looking for hotel at Pantai Cenang, then u better take Malibest Resort.. the price start from RM120 too
can u give me the contact number for malibest hotel??

Putraskyline
post Dec 4 2010, 07:11 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ncj1991 @ Dec 4 2010, 06:57 PM)
You don't have any browser?
etigge
post Dec 4 2010, 07:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ncj1991 @ Dec 4 2010, 06:57 PM)
Malibest Resort
Co. 632731-W

Lot 9, Pantai Cenang
Mukim Kedawang
07000 Langkawi

Tel: 04 955 8222
Fax: 04 955 2822

Arkadeuz
post Dec 4 2010, 10:05 PM

17 posts

Hi. I am finally going to Langkawi during this coming X'mas holiday.
Have a few questions to ask here. Hope u guys don't mind helping me out. The questions kinda weird tho..

I would like to know is the price of dining ware there is cheaper compared to elsewhere in the country?

Planning to buy dining ware while holidaying there..
Trying to imitate the "day trip designer" showing on TLC where the person go to every corner of the world just to buy an item for his house.. hehehe (but me with less budget of course).

Is the brand available there locally produce or do they sell international brand at a lower price too?

Is the price worth the hassle taking it back carefully (considering their fragile condition) to my hometown or should I just buy them at neraby store?

Thanks smile.gif
malaysia-asia
post Dec 4 2010, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(Arkadeuz @ Dec 4 2010, 11:05 PM)
Have a few questions to ask here. Hope u guys don't mind helping me out. The questions kinda weird tho..

I would like to know is the price of dining ware there is cheaper compared to elsewhere in the country?

Trying to imitate the  "day trip designer" showing on TLC where the person go to every corner of the world just to buy an item for his house.. hehehe (but me with less budget of course).

Is the brand available there locally produce or do they sell international brand at a lower price too?

Is the price worth the hassle taking it back carefully (considering their fragile condition) to my hometown or should I just buy them at neraby store?

Thanks smile.gif
Actually, I have seen Dining Ware in Kuah Town where the Duty Free Shops are. They sell a number of international brands there like Visions, Cornell and so on. It is much cheaper than buying in KL too. Usually I just buy the booze and chocolates from these shops but I am 100% sure they are available.

Just look out for those shops like mini supermarkets in Kuah Town that sell lots of Luggage Bags outside, tons of chocolates and liquor inside. Cannot go wrong and have a wonderful trip.

Regards,
David
Arkadeuz
post Dec 5 2010, 12:38 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(malaysia-asia @ Dec 4 2010, 11:34 PM)
Actually, I have seen Dining Ware in Kuah Town where the Duty Free Shops are. They sell a number of international brands there like Visions, Cornell and so on. It is much cheaper than buying in KL too. Usually I just buy the booze and chocolates from these shops but I am 100% sure they are available.

Just look out for those shops like mini supermarkets in Kuah Town that sell lots of Luggage Bags outside, tons of chocolates and liquor inside. Cannot go wrong and have a wonderful trip.

Regards,
David
Thanks for the info. I ll be staying at Bella Vista Hotel presumably located near the Kuah Town. Hoping to buy lotsa stuff for my home in a fraction of a price compared to KL.. Hopefully the town live up to its duty free name icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Dec 5 2010, 12:44 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Arkadeuz @ Dec 4 2010, 10:05 PM)

Trying to imitate the  "day trip designer" showing on TLC where the person go to every corner of the world just to buy an item for his house.. hehehe (but me with less budget of course).

Thanks smile.gif
There's a lot of difference in price. I made the mistake of not buying a set when I was staying there and am regretting now when I discovered the price difference. I am referring to Visions cookware. It is a bit outdated now and it chips when not careful upon hitting the faucet when you are washing it. Saga sells Noritake and I think it is prudent that you check the price here in KL before you go, so you know the difference.

I recommend Pyroflame. They are casserole dishes like pyrex and they can be put on flame like Vision and they can only be found in Idaman Suri and no where else as they import it themself. Don't worry about bringing back as tthey are securely boxed afterall they came from France and they are still OK. tongue.gif Bear in mind you are only allowed RM500 purchase for duty free entitlement but them Customs are quite lenient on cookwares as they harp closely on liquors and ciggies.
Holyboy27
post Dec 5 2010, 09:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 5 2010, 12:44 AM)
... Bear in mind you are only allowed RM500 purchase for duty free entitlement but them Customs are quite lenient on cookwares as they harp closely on liquors and ciggies.
You mean to say they usually don't allow tourists to buy more than RM500 of liquor, per person? A limit is imposed on the amount of things you can buy?

I'm looking to go to langkawi this month and am currently doing some research into the accomodation for 2 days 1 night. There's bayview hotel, langkasuka, malibest (looks promising but peak season). how about motels from this site, here

I'm not sight seeing, just shopping with a friend or two.. so it's good if I can get cheap accomodation. Bayview's superior room is around RM190. Any cheaper ones, around rm100-150 for a big room - (maybe the ones with chalets) in/near Kuah town? I read that Kuah is the best place for shopping.

And another thing I'm not understanding, renting cars. There's a difference between renting them at the airport and at the jetty? If I am going, I should be going via ferry so I would have to rent the car if I'm renting at the jetty? I would very much prefer to drive on my own although, i don't know places there..

Would you advise me to stay in somewhere cheaper but further from Kuah if it's available?

This post has been edited by Holyboy27: Dec 5 2010, 09:45 PM
etigge
post Dec 6 2010, 12:38 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Dec 5 2010, 09:04 PM)
You mean to say they usually don't allow tourists to buy more than RM500 of liquor, per person? A limit is imposed on the amount of things you can buy?

I'm looking to go to langkawi this month and am currently doing some research into the accomodation for 2 days 1 night. There's bayview hotel, langkasuka, malibest (looks promising but peak season). how about motels from this site, here

I'm not sight seeing, just shopping with a friend or two.. so it's good if I can get cheap accomodation. Bayview's superior room is around RM190. Any cheaper ones, around rm100-150 for a big room - (maybe the ones with chalets) in/near Kuah town? I read that Kuah is the best place for shopping.

And another thing I'm not understanding, renting cars. There's a difference between renting them at the airport and at the jetty? If I am going, I should be going via ferry so I would have to rent the car if I'm renting at the jetty? I would very much prefer to drive on my own although, i don't know places there..

Would you advise me to stay in somewhere cheaper but further from Kuah if it's available?
No, for liquor, you are entitled 1 litre per person and cigarettes is 200 sticks ONLY if you are there for 48 hours. sweat.gif I guess your 2 days, 1 night is not entitled unless you linger around until 48 hours has passed. The RM500 is a different entitlement and does not include the liquor and ciggies.

If you are renting a car, you can stay as far as you want afterall you need to return it where you rented it. There are so many hotels in Kuah and more on the outskirts and you are renting a car, so no worries there. There are certain hotels that won't go full like Panorama Hotel, Eagle Bay Hotel and even Seaview Hotel. nod.gif
Arkadeuz
post Dec 6 2010, 12:52 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 5 2010, 12:44 AM)

I recommend Pyroflame. They are casserole dishes like pyrex and they can be put on flame like Vision and they can only be found in Idaman Suri and no where else as they import it themself. Don't worry about bringing back as tthey are securely boxed afterall they came from France and they are still OK. tongue.gif Bear in mind you are only allowed RM500 purchase for duty free entitlement but them Customs are quite lenient on cookwares as they harp closely on liquors and ciggies.
Does that mean that Pyroflame can be only found in Idaman Suri, Langkawi and nowhere else in Malaysia? blink.gif Will definitely try to look for this shop. It is in Pekan Kuah rite? Hopefully the local can point me to that shop when I get there.

and thank god I neither smoke nor drink, so the $500 entitlement will go straight to gadgets and chocolate and more chocolate (funny tho.. the chocolate sold in the airport areas are sometimes more expensive than the ones sold outside eventho it is supposed to be duty free, hopefully that won't be the case in Langkawi)

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Dec 5 2010, 09:04 PM)

Yeah good question thumbup.gif Will there be any significant difference between renting at the airport and at the jetty?
And driving around Langkawi island is easy and pleasurable as I recalled 10 years back. But make sure you have at least one Island brochures in your hand. Just got my license that time and was the only one capable (got license) of driving, grabbed the available Islands' brochures and follow the map and visited every spot mentioned on it.. Fun!! If the brochures were so reliable back then, it must be better now icon_rolleyes.gif
TSstimix
post Dec 6 2010, 09:09 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I don't find any significant differences between renting at the jetty or airport. Almost similar and depending on your bargaining power.

There are ppl simply accept rack rate bcos dunwan to bargain but there are some bargain till RM30 for a kancil haha
Putraskyline
post Dec 6 2010, 11:30 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

I heard Langkasuka Hotel will become Four Points by Sheraton Langkawi. Anyone can confirm?
mugenz
post Dec 6 2010, 12:38 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

My latest car rental @ langkawi was RM120 for Nissan Sentra (latest model) for 3d 2n. Just outside of airport.

Just bargain, cars for them is like nothing because its tax free. They willing to rent it cheap for you so that they can quickly cover the small cost.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Dec 6 2010, 12:39 PM
bling*2
post Dec 8 2010, 11:25 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Dec 6 2010, 12:38 PM)
My latest car rental @ langkawi was RM120 for Nissan Sentra (latest model) for 3d 2n. Just outside of airport.

Just bargain, cars for them is like nothing because its tax free. They willing to rent it cheap for you so that they can quickly cover the small cost.
This is cheap. When is it?
Can i have the contact pls.

One day for nissan sentra they hike up the price to RM150 per day, jus becoz end of December is peak season.
Btw, i'm going on 28th.

mugenz
post Dec 8 2010, 01:02 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(bling*2 @ Dec 8 2010, 11:25 AM)
This is cheap. When is it?
Can i have the contact pls.

One day for nissan sentra they hike up the price to RM150 per day, jus becoz end of December is peak season.
Btw, i'm going on 28th.
i was 2years back already. I dont have the contact i just rent it off some random guy at the airport. You will be crowded by these people so u just stand and ask them who can offer the best deal.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0295sec    1.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:05 PM