126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi V2, Tax Free island

Chuckiekey
post Nov 3 2010, 02:29 PM

Chuckie Cotton
1,502 posts

The cable car is scary to me, very very very high.
tishaban
post Nov 4 2010, 06:22 AM

3,615 posts

Anyone stayed at the Taj on Rebak Island before? Just wondering if you're "stuck" on Rebak Island? How often is the ferry back and forth and where do you park?

etigge
post Nov 4 2010, 10:46 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 4 2010, 06:22 AM)
Anyone stayed at the Taj on Rebak Island before? Just wondering if you're "stuck" on Rebak Island? How often is the ferry back and forth and where do you park?
smile.gif The free ferry or rather the speedboat operates till 7.00 pm ( I think ). The jetty is behind the Aquabeat (a closed own waterpark built by the infamous Tan Sri Ting family. The cement spec was not to par and leaking.) It is just a stone throw away from Langkasuka Hotel. Lots of parking space there even for a hundred buses. Rebak is a nice place if you are into quiet, undisturbed holiday. Down side, you only have one place to dine unless you want to spend hours taking the ferry services.
qwertyuiop
post Nov 4 2010, 11:40 AM

63 posts

I just back from langkawi from 31/10 till 3/11.
My advice is please check wheater before going there. It's raining 48 hours non stop the moment reach langkawi airport.

Got few tips for you guys.
Rent car with Teluk Yu holidays(04-9556992 or 012-4055364.) Innova for RM 110 perday. It's cheap. Don't go on peak season

Magrove tour. 2 hours tour is good enough. Look for Ali Long(019-4795323). Only RM 150 per boat for 2 hours trip. Go so many places like Bat Cave, Kilim Geo Forest Park, Eagle Feeding, Fish Farm

Eat at Wan Thai. RM 103 for 6 person. Food is good
tishaban
post Nov 4 2010, 08:17 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
smile.gif  The free ferry or rather the speedboat operates till 7.00 pm ( I think ). The jetty is behind the Aquabeat (a closed own waterpark built by the infamous Tan Sri Ting family. The cement spec was not to par and leaking.) It is just a stone throw away from Langkasuka Hotel. Lots of parking space there even for a hundred buses. Rebak is a nice place if you are into quiet, undisturbed holiday. Down side, you only have one place to dine unless you want to spend hours taking the ferry services.
Etigge, thanks for the info. I'll probably fall back to my old Sheraton, at US$45 per night with points it's a damn good bargain.

broken_heart
post Nov 6 2010, 07:43 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuiop @ Nov 4 2010, 11:40 AM)
I just back from langkawi from 31/10 till 3/11.
My advice is please check wheater before going there. It's raining 48 hours non stop the moment reach langkawi airport.

Got few tips for you guys.
Rent car with Teluk Yu holidays(04-9556992 or 012-4055364.) Innova for RM 110 perday. It's cheap. Don't go on peak season

Magrove tour. 2 hours tour is good enough. Look for Ali Long(019-4795323). Only RM 150 per boat for 2 hours trip. Go so many places like Bat Cave, Kilim Geo Forest Park, Eagle Feeding, Fish Farm

Eat at Wan Thai. RM 103 for 6 person. Food is good
Yes. u are right. I booked it early and will be flying to there tomorrow.
Checked the weather forecast and will be raining too.. :-(
Chester
post Nov 6 2010, 11:28 AM

2,380 posts

great escapade from kl blush.gif

This post has been edited by Chester: Nov 17 2010, 04:37 PM
mbj78
post Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM

211 posts

Booked the Hotel Azio already. RM115 for Deluxe Double. but they need credit card detail. it is normal.. ???
AskarPerang
post Nov 7 2010, 11:46 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(mbj78 @ Nov 7 2010, 08:29 PM)
Booked the Hotel Azio already. RM115 for Deluxe Double. but they need credit card detail. it is normal.. ???
Yup, that's normal.
Just in case you reserved / book the room already but end up not showing.
So they will have to charge your credit card for a "no show". Maybe full amount or partial depends on the penalty.
Greenyz
post Nov 10 2010, 11:18 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Nov 4 2010, 08:17 PM)
Etigge, thanks for the info. I'll probably fall back to my old Sheraton, at US$45 per night with points it's a damn good bargain.
Sheraton at 45USD that's quite a steal mate ...where you apply from .Mind to share the deal??
Going soon on Dec 5th.

kychen
post Nov 12 2010, 12:37 AM

Hi, wanna ask an opinion on car rental, i will be arrive at airport, so would like to ask whether i should rent a car only when i arrive langkawi or through booking before i go? Which one is better? Besides, can we easily rent a car at airport? And if we book a car before arrive, will they send the car to airport for us to pick up? What should i prepare for the car rental and do we need to pay extra money for deposit + insurance?
tishaban
post Nov 12 2010, 09:09 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Greenyz @ Nov 10 2010, 11:18 AM)
Sheraton at 45USD that's quite a steal mate ...where you apply from .Mind to share the deal??
Going soon on Dec 5th.
Ah had a chat with someone else about this. This is with the Starwood Preferred Guest, points + US$45 for Sheraton (Category 3 hotel).
Westin is US$60 but I don't think it's worth it.

milenia98
post Nov 12 2010, 10:43 AM

is it possible to get kancil/kelisa manual for rm50 a day?
etigge
post Nov 13 2010, 11:54 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(kychen @ Nov 12 2010, 12:37 AM)
Hi, wanna ask an opinion on car rental, i will be arrive at airport, so would like to ask whether i should rent a car only when i arrive langkawi or through booking before i go? Which one is better? Besides, can we easily rent a car at airport? And if we book a car before arrive, will they send the car to airport for us to pick up? What should i prepare for the car rental and do we need to pay extra money for deposit + insurance?
There are counters and even touts at the airport. Don't worry, you will know them when you arrive. They rent cars like pasar malam traders. The cars are already parked in the parking lot so no need for deliveries. Also no deposit or insurance cover unless you ask for one or you want to pay them extra for deposit! Only thing please be very careful when you rent the car as any dents or accidents, very hard to negotiate especially if they are illegal rentals.
tomjonesgill
post Nov 13 2010, 01:19 PM

will be leaving on The 19/11,- 22/11, i think by Now i can become tourist guide in langkawi after research and research since 1 month,, cause first time going holiday smile.gif and want everything to be Perfect,, basically,, when u plan,, 1. Book Transport 2.book Hotel 3.what activities to do 4.where good and cheap makan 4. make a full complete list and to not complicate yourself,, just go and check it out as experience is the best way to discover , and relax

Flight +Hotel( federal Villa)= rm 1000k +,, cause going peak season thats why,, never mind learn from mistake
another rm 1 k to enjoy ,, hopefully wont spend all and come'

So far most happening place i found out was in pantai Cenang,and its also ,like in the middle of everywhere,, and most people stay here ,, below are a few things that you can do in langkawi,, from my research

KUAH TOWN

Basically it’s the main town In Langkawi,, Nothing Much to see but good place for Duty free shopping ,,that’s all ,, below are few places

For Duty free

Jetty Point Duty Free Complex

Saga Shopping Center

Perfume- Cote De Perfume

Wine- 16 Degree Wine Shop

Cigars- Cuban Attitude

PANTAI CENANG

located 25 km west of Kuah – Has this sandy beaches with Blue clean water, and places where most resorts ah ,, a lot of seafood makan Place,, nice place to chill Out

Place To See
Underwater World

Pantai Cenang Activities
Langkawi Indian Ayurvedic Massage
Any Many Other massage centers

Pantai Cenang Night Life
There is a stretch of Bars and Bsitros to chill Out

PANTAI KOK

Its at The Ouskirts abit ,, but have a number of activities

Activities
Cicli – Cycle Network Langkawi - More to Outdoor activities
Island Horses – Horse riding
Langkawi Cable Car
Telaga Tujuh - seven waterfall

Pantai Tengah

Its Just beside pantai Chenang
Activities
Ocean
An unassuming hut along the Pantai Tengah expanse, Ocean arranges boating excursions to some of Langkawi’s beautiful islands, namely Pulau Beras Basah, Pulau Rebak Kecil, Pulau Singa Besar and others. Although its ‘office’ may be located in shabby outdoor surroundings, it’s a good place to get reasonable rates.
Opening Hours: 08:00 – 17:00
Location: Jalan Pantai Tengah (just outside the front gates of Awana Porto Malai Resort)

my fren just went last week,, the island behind awana porto malai around rm35,, and hopefully it stays the same

hopefully it's helpful to some of you ,, smile.gif

etigge
post Nov 13 2010, 11:51 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(tomjonesgill @ Nov 13 2010, 01:19 PM)
will be leaving on The 19/11,- 22/11, i think by Now i can become tourist guide in langkawi after research and research  since 1 month,, cause first time going holiday smile.gif and want everything to be Perfect,, basically,, when u plan,, 1. Book Transport  2.book Hotel  3.what activities to do  4.where good and cheap makan  4. make a full complete list and to not complicate yourself,, just go and check it out as experience is the best way to discover , and relax

Flight +Hotel( federal Villa)= rm 1000k +,, cause going peak season thats why,, never mind learn from mistake
another rm 1 k to enjoy ,, hopefully wont spend all and come'

So far most happening place i found out was in pantai Cenang,and its also ,like in the middle of everywhere,, and most people stay here ,, below are a few things that you can do in langkawi,, from my research 

KUAH TOWN

Basically it’s the main town In Langkawi,, Nothing Much to see but good place for Duty free shopping ,,that’s all ,, below are few places

For Duty free

Jetty Point Duty Free Complex

Saga Shopping Center

Perfume- Cote De Perfume

Wine-    16 Degree Wine Shop

Cigars-  Cuban Attitude
PANTAI CENANG

located 25 km west of Kuah – Has this sandy beaches with Blue clean water, and places where most resorts ah ,, a lot of seafood makan Place,, nice place to chill Out

Place To See
Underwater World

Pantai Cenang Activities
Langkawi Indian Ayurvedic Massage
Any Many Other  massage centers

Pantai Cenang Night Life
There is a stretch of Bars and Bsitros to chill Out
PANTAI  KOK

Its at The Ouskirts abit ,, but have a number of activities

Activities
Cicli – Cycle Network Langkawi  - More to Outdoor activities
Island Horses – Horse riding
Langkawi Cable Car 
Telaga Tujuh  - seven waterfall
Pantai Tengah

Its Just beside pantai Chenang
Activities
Ocean
An unassuming hut along the Pantai Tengah expanse, Ocean arranges boating excursions to some of Langkawi’s beautiful islands, namely Pulau Beras Basah, Pulau Rebak Kecil, Pulau Singa Besar and others. Although its ‘office’ may be located in shabby outdoor surroundings, it’s a good place to get reasonable rates.
Opening Hours: 08:00 – 17:00
Location: Jalan Pantai Tengah (just outside the front gates of Awana Porto Malai Resort)

my fren just went last week,, the island behind awana porto malai around rm35,, and hopefully it stays the same
hopefully it's helpful to some of you ,, smile.gif
Very meticulous planning! shocking.gif

You can plan but will it be fun like that? Anything can go wrong, biggrin.gif It is only quite basic,. You reach there, you rent a car. Check into hotel. Take a map and read through the threads here. Decide where to eat and visit. No need planning because rain or others like price difference or transport unavailability might put you plan into shambles. What if there's a long line at the cable car or something. I rather prefer free and easy. icon_idea.gif
nqfaq
post Nov 13 2010, 11:55 PM

77 posts

I miss this year trip, baby on board...huhu
tomjonesgill
post Nov 17 2010, 02:04 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 13 2010, 11:51 PM)
Very meticulous planning! shocking.gif

You can plan but will it be fun like that? Anything can go wrong, biggrin.gif  It is only quite basic,. You reach there, you rent a car. Check into hotel. Take a map and read through the threads here. Decide where to eat and visit. No need planning because rain or others like price difference or transport unavailability might put you plan into shambles. What if there's a long line at the cable car or something. I rather prefer free and easy.  icon_idea.gif
Hopefully it turns out well smile.gif,, ill Update youl on how it went ,, acoording to plan or NOT
cheokchuanyi
post Nov 17 2010, 10:01 PM

41 posts

hi,i wanna ask some question about car renting,will they send the car to specific hotel?
TSstimix
post Nov 17 2010, 10:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

So far all car rental started and ended at either Airport or the jetty..No sure such service but I think can be arrange with additional cost-lah..i.e driver sending the car to the hotel..Nothing is free haha

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:56 AM