[WTA] switch from rice to quaker instant oatmeal, is it possible? healthy?

TSWoodStock
post Nov 2 2009, 09:32 AM, updated 17y ago

543 posts

hi all.
due to busy life, i have no time cooking, and if possible, i dont want to eat outside..
due to some reasons, i am switching to full vegetarian now..

i have no rice cooker, and have no time to cook also, especially not convenient to cook in the office..
therefore, i am thinking to switch from rice to quaker instant oatmeal.

i will mix in hot water with this combination:
2 spoons of milo
2 spoons of omega milk
6 spoons of quaker instant oatmeal

for dishes, i will use boiled water to pour on to vegetable, tomato, carrot...
then directly eat these with oatmeal above as my lunch and dinner

in short, my lunch, dinner are quaker instant oatmeal (as combination above) + fresh vegetables (as how i prepare above)

is this possible? healthy?

This post has been edited by WoodStock: Nov 2 2009, 09:34 AM
Joey Christensen
post Nov 2 2009, 11:02 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

You can't skip eating rice forever, right? If it's interval-days done, then it would be okie.

Regards, Joey
genuinehuman
post Nov 2 2009, 11:20 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Nov 2 2009, 11:02 AM)
You can't skip eating rice forever, right? If it's interval-days done, then it would be okie.

Regards, Joey
I agree with Joey , If it's interval-days done, then it would be okay. . But meal like this , will be less delicious. You might want to try it out for few week and see how it goes .

This post has been edited by genuinehuman: Nov 2 2009, 11:21 AM
basSist
post Nov 2 2009, 11:28 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

It is possible to skip rice forever. Try to add more nuts, seed, soy for your protein source.

Where is your breakfast?
TSWoodStock
post Nov 2 2009, 12:19 PM

543 posts

Regards, Joey
at least weekday i have to do this la..
weekend, more free, i could cook rice lol

Added on November 2, 2009, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(basSist @ Nov 2 2009, 11:28 AM)
It is possible to skip rice forever. Try to add more nuts, seed, soy for your protein source.

Where is your breakfast?
have been taking this oatmeal as breakfast for past 2 years..
but for lunch and dinner, i add fresh vegetable lo..

This post has been edited by WoodStock: Nov 2 2009, 12:35 PM
frostworld
post Nov 2 2009, 01:28 PM

DD♥BB
563 posts

u never feel boring for eating this same thing for so long?
or you always have a change in the ingredient?
whymengy
post Nov 2 2009, 01:31 PM

104 posts

oats is definitely much healthier than rice. rice contains only empty calories.

question is, will u be able to take oats as a complete replacement? i know i cant smile.gif
cpteoh
post Nov 2 2009, 02:29 PM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

QUOTE(whymengy @ Nov 2 2009, 01:31 PM)

question is, will u be able to take oats as a complete replacement? i know i cant smile.gif
yes, i can.. why not?

This post has been edited by cpteoh: Nov 2 2009, 02:30 PM
hakimz
post Nov 2 2009, 02:42 PM

259 posts

i didnt take rice as my primary food for 5 months now.. but sometimes 1 day in 2 weeks i eat rice ar.. but mostly vege,bread,chicks,oat smile.gif
TSWoodStock
post Nov 2 2009, 02:43 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(whymengy @ Nov 2 2009, 01:31 PM)

yup, i have no problem with that..

euphoria88
post Nov 2 2009, 06:45 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Nov 2 2009, 03:02 AM)

Regards, Joey
agreed. btw, you need meat too, else, there's not enuff charbs.
kurtkob78
post Nov 2 2009, 07:15 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

remove the milo cause it contain trans fat ? why turn to full vege ? how long have u been full vege ?
Desvaro
post Nov 2 2009, 07:31 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 2 2009, 06:45 PM)
You're not helping.

Meat is not a main source of carbs, meat is a main source of PROTEIN.

TS wants to switch to full vegetarian, so learn to RESPECT the wish of TS.

Be abit more constructive by HELPING, not PROMOTING FALSE INFORMATION AND POSTING IRRELEVANT STUFF. There are many professional athletes who are vegetarians, some only eat fruits. So be quiet.

As for TS, if you feel that it's alright for you, then go ahead and do it. I'd just advice you to be extra alert and listen to your body during the 'transition time'. You know your body best, if you find yourself being too lethargic and not having energy, then perhaps you might need to do some modifications.

Also you might want to try adding in taufu.

This post has been edited by Desvaro: Nov 2 2009, 07:32 PM
euphoria88
post Nov 2 2009, 08:07 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Nov 2 2009, 11:31 AM)
You're not helping.

Meat is not a main source of carbs, meat is a main source of PROTEIN.

TS wants to switch to full vegetarian, so learn to RESPECT the wish of TS.

Be abit more constructive by HELPING, not PROMOTING FALSE INFORMATION AND POSTING IRRELEVANT STUFF. There are many professional athletes who are vegetarians, some only eat fruits. So be quiet.

As for TS, if you feel that it's alright for you, then go ahead and do it. I'd just advice you to be extra alert and listen to your body during the 'transition time'. You know your body best, if you find yourself being too lethargic and not having energy, then perhaps you might need to do some modifications.

Also you might want to try adding in taufu.
who the heck r u again?
munkeyflo
post Nov 2 2009, 08:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Regards, Joey
My mom has skip eating rice for dinner since like so many years ago. But that was because she wanted to go on a diet. She goes for more protein than carbs.

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 2 2009, 06:45 PM)
Wrong. Meat is a source of protein like what Desvaro said, not carbs.
And TS is switching to full vegetarian la, as bolded.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Nov 2 2009, 08:21 PM
Desvaro
post Nov 2 2009, 08:46 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 2 2009, 08:07 PM)
who the heck r u again?
YOU MAD? Funny how when you spread misinformation and someone calls you out on it, you got for a personal attack instead huh?

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Nov 2 2009, 08:21 PM)
My mom has skip eating rice for dinner since like so many years ago. But that was because she wanted to go on a diet. She goes for more protein than carbs.
Wrong. Meat is a source of protein like what Desvaro said, not carbs.
And TS is switching to full vegetarian la, as bolded.
In fact, it's better and healthier to reduce carbohydrates at night. In many western countries, a lot of people don't even take carbohydrates past 7pm, and have an early dinner.

The carbs you eat for breakfast and lunch can be burned throughout the day, as you'll be active (walking, moving around etc). But carbohydrates you eat at night tend to be stored more as fat, because you're inactive at night.
euphoria88
post Nov 2 2009, 08:53 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Nov 2 2009, 12:46 PM)
YOU MAD? Funny how when you spread misinformation and someone calls you out on it, you got for a personal attack instead huh?
ok I know who r u d.

GB.

whymengy
post Nov 2 2009, 08:55 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Nov 2 2009, 02:43 PM)
yup, i have no problem with that..
if u can, then by all means go for it! smile.gif oats is definitely much healthier. we usually recommend diabetic patients to replace rice with oats. i dun see any reason that u shouldn't go for oats.
TSWoodStock
post Nov 2 2009, 11:00 PM

543 posts

thanks a lot all.
i learn a lot and it is very informative.
i have been vegetarian for 2 weeks, so far i feel ok, just sometime i would miss the KFC a lot.. blush.gif
i eat Tofu sometime when i pass by grocery store, but my daily main dishes are vegetable.
i did some jogging after back from working, working towards healthier lifestyle.

really appreciate all. it is very helpful.
frostworld
post Nov 3 2009, 04:04 AM

DD♥BB
563 posts

sobz i miss kfc alot too.
unhealthy..

btw tofu is very very healthy and of coz its nice.
just had my dinner full of toufu just now.

by taking only oat, body will gain fat? by storing too many energy?
Hamilton
post Nov 3 2009, 09:09 AM

158 posts

TS, I'm also currently on a no-rice diet with mainly fruits, oats, meats, fruits. I feel great, healthier and leaner now but of course have to exercise regularly la.

I used to be a vegetarian for bout 3 months like 5 years ago and its not fun at all. why are you trying to be one? money issue or religion or self-conscious? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hamilton: Nov 3 2009, 09:10 AM
TSWoodStock
post Nov 3 2009, 10:03 AM

543 posts

20% religion + 80% self-conscious

it's my own initiative to be vegetarian, to be healthier, but nothing special.

sometime when come to family gathering, my beloved mum cook kari chicken, prawn, i still eat like normal too.. nowadays everyone is busy working and their son/daughter, seldom have chance to gather and mum hardly cook like this already..
basSist
post Nov 3 2009, 11:35 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

i disagree that vegetarian is more healthier.

I believe vegetarian only can reduce the toxin source.
euphoria88
post Nov 3 2009, 03:28 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Nov 3 2009, 03:35 AM)
i disagree that vegetarian is more healthier.

I believe vegetarian only can reduce the toxin source.
agreed. Esp when you're a very active person.
Desvaro
post Nov 3 2009, 11:06 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Nov 3 2009, 03:28 PM)
agreed. Esp when you're a very active person.
There are olympic greats who are vegetarians. The last time I checked, athletes are active people. And the last time I checked, oylmpics is serious business. And since you're so into swimming:

Amanda Beard - Won 200m Breaststroke in Athens 2004

Just google and you'll find that Carl Lewis and Al Oerter were vegetarians. Enough said.

Having an opinion is one thing (i.e. saying its healthier or unhealthier) but trying to back up facts by talking out of your a$$ when you can't differentiate between carbs and protein is completely different.

I've seen many of your posts lately (unfortunately). When it comes to health & fitness matters you generally butt in and give out wrong or irrelevant advice, acting as a little miss-know-it-all.

The best was still in cupid corner, you were called a 'dog that never stopped barking' even though you had 'knowledge on the inside story'.

That made me LOL.

This post has been edited by Desvaro: Nov 3 2009, 11:19 PM
DannGun
post Nov 3 2009, 11:35 PM

688 posts

TS, it is alright to replace rice with oatmeal. They are still carbs what! But try to have more protein and some fat in your diet. Otherwise it will result in weight loss.
Joey Christensen
post Nov 4 2009, 09:50 AM

3,651 posts

Earlier on I was asking if Thread Starter really wants to skip taking rice entirely by substituting it with oatmeal. From my initial posting, my thought was, it is known that the principal food of all Chinese is rice. As simple as that. Of course I know she/he can opt to discard eating rice for her entire life.

Hence, it's a question of reassurance for her that if she/he wants to practice his/her meal intakes. Just eat healthily and intelligently.

Regards, Joey
SueM11
post Nov 4 2009, 10:18 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Nov 2 2009, 09:32 AM)
hi all.
due to busy life, i have no time cooking, and if possible, i dont want to eat outside..
due to some reasons, i am switching to full vegetarian now..

i have no rice cooker, and have no time to cook also, especially not convenient to cook in the office..
therefore, i am thinking to switch from rice to quaker instant oatmeal.

i will mix in hot water with this combination:
2 spoons of milo
2 spoons of omega milk
6 spoons of quaker instant oatmeal

for dishes, i will use boiled water to pour on to vegetable, tomato, carrot...
then directly eat these with oatmeal above as my lunch and dinner

in short, my lunch, dinner are quaker instant oatmeal (as combination above) + fresh vegetables (as how i prepare above)

is this possible? healthy?
Your rice is no different from the quaker instant oat meal.
Both are high glycemic foods which mean they turn to sugar fast once they are consumed.
Other high glycemic foods are noodles, white bread and other processed foods.
If you want to take oats then buy the rolled oats. These are low glycemic and are slow to turn to sugar.
Instead of white rice go for brown rice.
bledig
post Nov 4 2009, 10:40 AM

262 posts

I kinda try that...just oats for lots of dinner and breakfast. I tell u after some time chap fan (rice) just tastes so fkin good biggrin.gif
TSWoodStock
post Nov 4 2009, 10:43 AM

543 posts

i thought rolled oats, need to cook? can just mix in the hot boiled water??
Joey Christensen
post Nov 4 2009, 10:49 AM

3,651 posts

It's very much like the rolled oats on my Granola bars. Yes, you can mix it in hot boiling water. It's very absorptive in nature.

Regards, Joey
dream-for-life
post Nov 4 2009, 10:49 AM

92 posts

eat everythings in moderate is the way to healthy lifestyle.
pizzaboy
post Nov 4 2009, 10:53 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(dream-for-life @ Nov 4 2009, 10:49 AM)
eat everythings in moderate is the way to healthy lifestyle.
You sound like a bloody health product salesman.
sweet_pez
post Nov 4 2009, 02:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Nov 2 2009, 08:46 PM)
In fact, it's better and healthier to reduce carbohydrates at night. In many western countries, a lot of people don't even take carbohydrates past 7pm, and have an early dinner.

The carbs you eat for breakfast and lunch can be burned throughout the day, as you'll be active (walking, moving around etc). But carbohydrates you eat at night tend to be stored more as fat, because you're inactive at night.
Yeah, I agree. It's advisable to not eat (anything) at least 2 hours before going to bed. Can snack on fruits/ nuts though if craving is there. Otherwise just drink more water to keep stomach full laugh.gif

Hmmm lunch should be balanced meal... I'll eat whatever I want in small portions. I think I'll try to eat rice alternately. Say Mon, Wed and Fri where I have my yoga class - I'll take only vege and protein with some fruits later on without rice. Oatmeal might be good but dunno, never substitute it for dinner b4. Tuesdays, Thursdays and weekends I'll take some rice for dinner. hehe let me try it and see if it works laugh.gif
tracieMoo
post Nov 4 2009, 10:39 PM

58 posts

takes alot of discipline. I just had a cake for supper :S

as about the oatmeal, you could substitute it with couscous, and quinoa for a change. Ofcourse it would take some time to make them, but I'm sure there are times when you're a little more free to experiment with food.

If you're to go with oats, you could add some honey and cinnamon or raisins and fruits for a change. hope it helps wink.gif
sweet_pez
post Nov 5 2009, 03:14 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(tracieMoo @ Nov 4 2009, 10:39 PM)
takes alot of discipline. I just had a cake for supper :S

as about the oatmeal, you could substitute it with couscous, and quinoa for a change. Ofcourse it would take some time to make them, but I'm sure there are times when you're a little more free to experiment with food.

If you're to go with oats, you could add some honey and cinnamon or raisins and fruits for a change. hope it helps wink.gif
Discipline to keep going for classes/ exercise and resistance/ self-control towards food laugh.gif takes a lot more will power than one could imagine.

Quinoa's good, I have them for dinner sometimes. Basically it doesn't taste too different from rice (for me) except for a little 'wheaty' smell/ taste.
tennis4life
post Nov 5 2009, 05:54 PM

278 posts

I have quaker oats for breakfast lunch and dinner. Well I take my oats with anlene milk, raw wheatgrem milo and cinnamon.

btw, granola bars are just full of process crap. Even the general mills and luna bars contains high fructose corn syrup. shock:

Those bars are healthy? blush.gif
tracieMoo
post Nov 5 2009, 06:08 PM

58 posts

for me, I wouldn't suggest eating those bars. Get an apple, banana, or any fruit instead. Those bars are just full of carbs..

If you're really used to carbs for every meal I guess oats are fine..
I would prefer wholewheat bread instead for breakfast and some biscuits during tea XD
the rest would be vege n meat.. and a very small portion of dessert. I need it =P
ToxicSweets
post Jan 15 2010, 11:59 PM

15 posts

whats with the personal attacks going on in this thread O.o anyway thrs nth wrong with going vegan imho.its a good step towards health =p i would strongly recommend switching to rolled oats though as some1 pointed out,not as tasty as quackers but low glycemic food ftw~
tennis4life
post Jan 16 2010, 12:43 AM

278 posts

for me, I wouldn't suggest eating those bars. Get an apple, banana, or any fruit instead. Those bars are just full of carbs..

If you're really used to carbs for every meal I guess oats are fine..
I would prefer wholewheat bread instead for breakfast and some biscuits during tea XD
the rest would be vege n meat.. and a very small portion of dessert. I need it =P

of course I got eat other food also beside oats doh.gif I have a whole can of tuna in spring water and 5 egg whites for dinner . dude where is your protein. biscuit are just process carbs.
C-Note
post Jan 16 2010, 01:34 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

somebody here mentioned low-glycamic index food. Besides rolled oats,tortilla,wholemeal pasta,apple,pear and yogurt are also some of the low-GI food
basSist
post Jan 16 2010, 02:50 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jan 16 2010, 01:34 AM)
somebody here mentioned low-glycamic index food. Besides rolled oats,tortilla,wholemeal pasta,apple,pear and yogurt are also some of the low-GI food
Glycemic load would be a better measurement. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glycemic_load
kurt995
post Jan 16 2010, 11:51 AM

69 posts

yes it is possible, because like rice, oats gives you the carbohydrates u need. on the plus side, it has more fibre and can help you lower cholestrol. only that it gets kind of boring if you have it everyday. i'm a regular oat consumer too. what's best is try to vary you're carbo sources. say today and tomorrow u eat rice, the folloiwing day u get some potatoes, the next day, have some pasta (which is made from durum wheat).

This post has been edited by kurt995: Jan 16 2010, 11:52 AM
8kelvin
post Apr 29 2010, 03:08 PM

59 posts

i eating 10-grain rice with vegetables, beans, potato, mushroom, sea weed, sweet potata, pumkin, tomato, carrot in every alternate day.. Yoga every morning..

I feel healthy and and slim fit body now..

0.0927sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:34 PM