20 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Headphones Psuedo-Audiophile Teh Tarik Session, 21/11, 3PM @ LYP Food Court

SUSamon_meiz
post Nov 8 2009, 09:38 PM

686 posts

its ok.maybe somebody else might able to contact the manager? lets help bro Eiraku a bit smile.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 8 2009, 11:01 PM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

how bout we do at kl central.. the space quite big rite? haha.. if im not mistaken..
hoho1222
post Nov 8 2009, 11:49 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 11:01 PM)
how bout we do at kl central.. the space quite big rite? haha.. if im not mistaken..
Kl sentral starbucks is quite a good idea..
chicaman
post Nov 8 2009, 11:51 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

the parking rate is KILLING lol
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 11:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(hoho1222 @ Nov 8 2009, 11:49 PM)
Kl sentral starbucks is quite a good idea..
Starbucks, maybe, but the parking rate (as chicaman said) is killer and the area is generally FULL of people.

So, no go IMHO... sweat.gif

Good suggestion anyways, thanks!
chicaman
post Nov 9 2009, 12:08 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Well IMHO sat and sun LYP going to be fully packed with people. I used to work there and the crowd is pain in da @ss.

TimeSquare, what bout their food court? IIRC the place is quite big and not sure if there are many people or not though. (i havent been up there for quite sometimes already). TimeSquare is a potential place cause it may be crowded and it may also be less people at certain part of the mall. So if we could find a place with less people, it will be cool biggrin.gif

Besides, I am not sure if anyone could make it to the place or not. There is a mall at PJ SS2 Tropicana City Mall. The place is less crowded at during sat and sun, there are plenty of parking and the parking is cheap. There are also plenty of shops where we could sit there and order some drinks and start playing with these TOYS biggrin.gif but transportation could be a problem for those who do not posses transport.

Anyway just my suggestions. Can ignore it if it is a bad idea. Cheers!
Enigmatic
post Nov 9 2009, 12:15 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Try looking for options in Pavillion KL. Under worst case scenario, The Gardens next to Midvalley offers a good, quiet enviroment. smile.gif
chicaman
post Nov 9 2009, 12:22 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

MidValley area is going to be very very jam during sat and sun. Correct me if I am wrong.
SUSamon_meiz
post Nov 9 2009, 12:29 AM

686 posts

well,second on Times Square to be less pack.not as packed as LYP.
for the gardens,i dont know bout the parking(coz i went with KTM) but its super-less people even on weekdays.i been there for quite some time and its not crowded.i love head to mac studio and have headphone testing without worrying of annoying other people tongue.gif .
Enigmatic
post Nov 9 2009, 12:30 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 9 2009, 12:22 AM)
MidValley area is going to be very very jam during sat and sun. Correct me if I am wrong.
Ugh. True. Come to think of it, most places as described are pretty jammed during the mentioned period also. :S
chicaman
post Nov 9 2009, 12:36 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

the only place that is not jammed is Tropicana City Mall. But some ppl might have transportation issue though~

well this is just some suggestion, maybe should create a poll or something and let ppl vote biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 9 2009, 12:59 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 9 2009, 12:08 AM)
Well IMHO sat and sun LYP going to be fully packed with people. I used to work there and the crowd is pain in da @ss.

TimeSquare, what bout their food court? IIRC the place is quite big and not sure if there are many people or not though. (i havent been up there for quite sometimes already). TimeSquare is a potential place cause it may be crowded and it may also be less people at certain part of the mall. So if we could find a place with less people, it will be cool biggrin.gif

Besides, I am not sure if anyone could make it to the place or not. There is a mall at PJ SS2 Tropicana City Mall. The place is less crowded at during sat and sun, there are plenty of parking and the parking is cheap. There are also plenty of shops where we could sit there and order some drinks and start playing with these TOYS biggrin.gif but transportation could be a problem for those who do not posses transport.

Anyway just my suggestions. Can ignore it if it is a bad idea. Cheers!
Agreed about LYP being full with people on weekends. Main reason why I stopped going there on a regular basis and went to the PJ Digi Mall instead.

About the SS2 Tropicana mall, main issue is going to be transport; so no dice.

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 9 2009, 12:15 AM)
Try looking for options in Pavillion KL. Under worst case scenario, The Gardens next to Midvalley offers a good, quiet enviroment. smile.gif
Hmm. Pavi. Not that far from LYP either, though some of the more high profile attendees seem to have shown interest the meet at the beginning BECAUSE it was held in LYP.

And, I agree as to Gardens being a worse case scenario option, as it's relatively deserted most of the time.

------

Anyways, a new venue option to ponder:

The Times Square Food Court

- it's bound to have quite a number of people in it at any given time, but a quiet corner MIGHT be available for 20 or so pax (say, 4-5 tables); considering how HUGE it is. Especially post lunch-hour (2-3pm). Usually the far corner near the LYP Ramp Side lifts are relatively empty.

- Plus point is that we don't have to worry about freaking the management out, because it's not a SHOP/CAFE/RESTAURANT per se.

- Huge choice of whatever you want to drink/eat at okay prices.

- Minus point is it's at the highest shopping mall floor in BTS, so going up might be a tad tiring - though you can use elevators to cart the A/V equipment up. Also, securing plugs might be a problem.

ALSO, Chicaman is right. Back in those days when I used to regularly go to LYP like every weekend, I noticed that there are certain floors of BTS that are comparatively deserted. I still hope that's the case and they have a good cafe (that is STILL not bankrupt) up there in the more deserted bits of BTS.

----

As for a poll, would rig up something tomorrow... Need to go rest now... yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 9 2009, 01:06 AM
kamikraze
post Nov 9 2009, 01:26 AM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

if there are easy way to go to.. im ok with thar..
E1 - AKG
post Nov 9 2009, 09:27 AM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 9 2009, 01:26 AM)
if there are easy way to go to.. im ok with thar..
d upp flr of krispe doughnuts @ bts tongue.gif
dpo_99_sl
post Nov 9 2009, 12:48 PM

144 posts

wow, i'm interested to join if it's on the 21st
i only have beyer dt-231, xbrand2 and a cheap 1gb ipod shuffle......
I'm aiming for new toys recently as got some extra budget..... wonder any akg701 around hmm.gif
trying to go mid end right now, still unsure portable or desktop yet
maybe all the sifus' poison can help me in making my decision
E1 - AKG
post Nov 9 2009, 01:36 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(dpo_99_sl @ Nov 9 2009, 12:48 PM)
wow, i'm interested to join if it's on the 21st
i only have beyer dt-231, xbrand2 and a cheap 1gb ipod shuffle......
I'm aiming for new toys recently as got some extra budget..... wonder any akg701 around  hmm.gif
trying to go mid end right now, still unsure portable or desktop yet
maybe all the sifus' poison can help me in making my decision
u would do justice for d K701 w/o a proper player & headphone amp ... rclxub.gif
dpo_99_sl
post Nov 9 2009, 03:29 PM

144 posts

yeah, i do understand that without a decent amp and dac, k701 will not show its true colour
but seems like some sifu is bringing some serious stuff to this gathering, maybe they can lead me to another level.....coz i'm still very new in it and all my audiophile knowledge is gain just through reading rather than listening to them physically
"hearing is believing", and hope that i can find my preferred sound signature
TSEiraku
post Nov 9 2009, 09:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

A bit OT, but the RE0 is on sale on head-direct! Its only like RM300 SHIPPED right now!
-
Might not get it for myself though, being the basshead that I am.
coolice
post Nov 9 2009, 09:38 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 9 2009, 09:03 PM)
A bit OT, but the RE0 is on sale on head-direct! Its only like RM300 SHIPPED right now!
-
Might not get it for myself though, being the basshead that I am.
RE252 available to be purchased at the same time tongue.gif
chicaman
post Nov 9 2009, 09:41 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 9 2009, 09:38 PM)
RE252 available to be purchased at the same time tongue.gif
209USD Shipped? LOL

20 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top